Nairaland ForumWelcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / Login / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 1063400 members, 1237176 topics. Date: Saturday, 25 May 2013 at 11:36 AM |
Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time (12199 Views)
African Footballers That Never Won Apoty Award / Nigeria’s 50 Greatest Footballers Of All Time By Supersports / Rank The Top 5 Nigerian Footballers Of All Time!! (1) (2) (3) (4)
(0) (1) (2) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) ... (22) (Reply) (Go Down)
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Sagamite(m): 10:46am On Jan 27 |
Reference: I would put skills/ability above throphies anyday. Throphies are a function of a team, skills is based on the individual. Otherwise, Gary Neville would be one of the greatest. And Austin Eguavon would be regarded as better than Diouf! |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by ballabriggs: 10:50am On Jan 27 |
Sagamite: Please kindly edit your list and add Ahmed Hassan's name to it. It is a big joke if that mans name is not on that list. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Reference(m): 10:50am On Jan 27 |
CAMEROONPRIDE: I'm crying actually, so you mean the guy won't make history despite everything he made for this continent? We are Africans before everything, transcontinental exploits shouldn't count that much when judging our players. C'mon dude. Let's be honest. Who wouldn't have wished for George Weah in his team anyday. You'd have gladly exchanged him for Patrick. Country cheated Weah. Club cheated Mboma. Not fair world eh. In terms of football would you rate FC Liberia to AC Milano. Not fair. No contest. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by CAMEROONPRIDE(m): 10:50am On Jan 27 |
Sagamite:You mean Afcon, World cup, confederation cup and Olympic are an inferior level? You are aware that these competitions reunite the best teams of each continent except 4 Afcon You can call the Afcon of today inferior but back then it was a great and hard competition. Ya it pained a lot? |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Freiburger(m): 10:51am On Jan 27 |
@ Sagamite, on what criteria did you rated Michael Essien (Ghana) and Samuel Kuffour (Ghana) before Rashidi Yekini (Nigeria)? |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by CAMEROONPRIDE(m): 10:53am On Jan 27 |
Reference:I know Weah he even played in Cameroon. But this is daylight robbery Songo'o can't be there and MBOMA ruled out na waaa ooo |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Jarus(m): 10:55am On Jan 27 |
Chanchit:Even Egyptians hardly rate Abu Treika among their Top 10, when they have Hassan Hosam, Ahmed Hassan, and other players of their golden generation. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Reference(m): 10:55am On Jan 27 |
Sagamite: Assessments are compounded. Sum of averages. You may do badly in one and exceptionally well in others and still fail or end up on top of the pile. It depends. Why I don't do skill is because it is part art, part technique, highly subjective. Not appreciated equally worldwide. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by J12: 10:57am On Jan 27 |
Sagamite: Mboma(and Geremi) was the most influential player in the Cameroonian team during his time and he won more titles for his team than Yekini. He also scored better goals than Yekini. Yekini's goals are mostly tap-in's, even Yakubu scores better goals. 1 Like |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Afam4eva(m): 10:58am On Jan 27 |
I'm coming up with my own ratings soon... |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by CAMEROONPRIDE(m): 10:59am On Jan 27 |
At his position he was the best ![]() Jarus: |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Brown Bread: 11:02am On Jan 27 |
slimghost: u r a complete joke wot impact did oliseh had, any sensible person will know Essien is miles ahead of oliseh. Tackling, running, strength, incredible goals ......etc. Essien have it more stop making a clown out of urself ![]() |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Jarus(m): 11:05am On Jan 27 |
CAMEROONPRIDE: I still can't believe you guys let PATRICK MBOMA out One season/Nation's cup wonder. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Acecube(m): 11:05am On Jan 27 |
dayokanu: I agree with most of the position except a few.guy you placed mikel above okocha,amokachi, ikpeba ? where are bk boys when you need them ![]() |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by CAMEROONPRIDE(m): 11:07am On Jan 27 |
J12:ohh Girl you know so much. Oga Sagamite why Geremi Sorel Njitap is not on your list? |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by CAMEROONPRIDE(m): 11:09am On Jan 27 |
Jarus:you probably didn't own a t.v or couldn't watch Afcon2000/2002 Sydney2000 etc sheii see disrespect. Mboma is now a one season wonder. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by ballabriggs: 11:09am On Jan 27 |
Jarus: You do agree you cannot make a list of "African Greats" without Ahmed Hassan on the list? Like they say, it is his list and so it is his opinion. However, I find it a bit disrespectful to the achievements of that man in the African game. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Reference(m): 11:10am On Jan 27 |
J12: But what happened in Europe. Yekini was top scorer for his portugese club for two seasons and a leading marksman in Portugal and in so doing taking a modest Vitoria Setubal to the UEFA (now Europa) cup. Scored Nigeria's first goal at the world cup in a team regarded as the tournament's most entertaining (not for Amokachi's dance moves though) |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Brown Bread: 11:13am On Jan 27 |
pword: rr compare oliseh to djemba djemba cus he is no where near the class of the boison. £24.4 million more expensive than Drogba. ![]() |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by J12: 11:16am On Jan 27 |
Jarus: The same with Yekini, One season nations cup wonder. I remember 94 world cup quite well, that nigga missed a poo load of goals that Emenalo worked hard to create. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Sagamite(m): 11:25am On Jan 27 |
ballabriggs: Because of what? A modern day player that hardly anyone knows? Speaks volumes of his ability. CAMEROONPRIDE: You mean Afcon, World cup, confederation cup and Olympic are an inferior level? You are aware that these competitions reunite the best teams of each continent except 4 Afcon What ever we were or are playing at afcon is inferior to what is being played in European leagues and World cup. Simples! Freiburger: @ Sagamite, on what criteria did you rated Michael Essien (Ghana) and Samuel Kuffour (Ghana) before Rashidi Yekini (Nigeria)? Yekini did not play at the highest level as these guys. These guys played at the highest level for a long time and they were key players to their team. Jarus: No mind the kids. Reference: I prefer subjectives as long as the subject giving opinion is intelligent. J12: Check your facts before you speak. Don't argue for for argument sake or just for the sake of being seen as still arguing. No 1, Yekini was God of his team in his time. No 2, NEVER say a player won or carried his team EXCEPT the player is an exceptional playmaker, outstanding goal machine or a keeper you can't beat. THOSE ARE THE ONLY PLAYERS that carry teams. Lets cut this silly arguments that a player is a good player in a team, hence he won this and that for them or he carried them to space. Only exceptional playmaker, outstanding goal machine or a keeper you can't beat are. Mboma was never any of those. Neither was a superb charismatic figure that scores vital last minute goals. No 3, Yekinis goals were mostly tap ins? Are you a joke? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiGSl8rMGB8 |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Jarus(m): 11:25am On Jan 27 |
Afam4eva: Name 2 African players that made WPOY list for 3 consecutive years other than Eto'o, Weah and Essien and is not in the list. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by bashy_demy(m): 11:26am On Jan 27 |
I know J.J Okocha will biting his finger now if he sees this, He will be blaming him for now signing for Manchester United then cos by now he would make alot of names and history |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by ActiveMan(m): 11:27am On Jan 27 |
Uche Okechukwu & Taribo West are the BEST for me oh, they played with passion, focus |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Baba-Ibrahim(m): 11:27am On Jan 27 |
One thing I'v noticed is that,it's never easy to prepare list of best players according to ranking.when Sepp blatter asked Pele of brazil to prepare the list of 100 best of all time, almost everybody felt like trampling on him when that list came out. People select their best sometimes based on emotions or depth of their knowlege |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Afam4eva(m): 11:29am On Jan 27 |
Jarus:So, how come the Essien who was named in the WPOY in 3 consecutive years never won the African footballer of the year? What title did he win personally as a footballer? |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Emelcee: 11:31am On Jan 27 |
And why is VINCENT ENYEAMA, IKE SHORUNMU and PETER RUFAI not in the list? |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Sagamite(m): 11:35am On Jan 27 |
Brown Bread: Well said! Acecube: guy you placed mikel above okocha,amokachi, ikpeba ? where are bk boys when you need them Okocha fcked DK's wife that is why he has incandescent hate for him. ![]() To be more serious, his rating approach is just faulty. If a player plays in a team in a major championship final, to DK, he is the greatest ever. CAMEROONPRIDE: ohh Girl you know so much. Neither is Taribo West, Radebe, Ikpeba, N'Doram, Hadji etc. He would be in top 50, it is not easy being in top 30. Reference: Some people think it is beans to score 90 goals in 108 matches. They buy that in the market. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by J12: 11:37am On Jan 27 |
Sagamite: Mboma was also God of his team. Also, if Mboma wasn't an outstanding goal machine, cameroon wouldn't have won the 2000 nations cup. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Sagamite(m): 11:38am On Jan 27 |
Afam4eva: This is another of the rubbish judgement tools? So Henry is also shyt because he did not win WPoY? Luis Figo and Kaka won it. Out of these 3, which would you first buy at their peak? |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by J12: 11:40am On Jan 27 |
Reference: Mboma was also a top scorer in the Japanese league. We weren't entertaining because Rashidi was part of the team. The team was generally good. |
| Re: Sagamite's Top 30 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time by Sagamite(m): 11:42am On Jan 27 |
J12: You are still arguing for for argument sake or just for the sake of being seen as still arguing. Mboma was NEVER a God for any team he played for. Mboma was NEVER as prolific as Yekini. Emelcee: And why is VINCENT ENYEAMA, IKE SHORUNMU and PETER RUFAI not in the list? Just shut up now! Don't say another word. |
(0) (1) (2) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) ... (22) (Reply)
Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men / The Williams Sisters Exhibition Match In Lagos (Pictures) / Nigeria Vs Colombia Friendly (1 - 1)
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2013 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See Privacy Policy & Nairalist. 107.20.129.212 |