Stats: 3,150,296 members, 7,808,004 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 02:24 AM

Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group - Islam for Muslims - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Islam for Muslims / Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group (15375 Views)

Is This The Most Beautiful Mosque In Nigeria? / Kano City Mosque Bombing!! 400yrs Old History Broken / New Documentary On The Prophet (s) In Response To Anti-Islam Film (2) (3) (4)

Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by businesslawyer(m): 12:09pm On May 29, 2013
A mosque has been praised for serving tea and biscuits to English Defence League supporters after the far-right group arranged a demonstration there.

About six people turned up to protest at the mosque in Bull Lane, York, on Sunday and were invited inside to play football with worshippers.

More than 100 supporters of the mosque had gone there after learning of the planned EDL protest.

Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu said the mosque's response was "fantastic".

He said: "Tea, biscuits, and football are a great and typically Yorkshire combination when it comes to disarming hostile and extremist views."

'Proud moment'
Father Tim Jones, who went to the Bull Lane mosque, which is situated in his parish, said: "I've always known they were intelligent and compassionate people and I think this has demonstrated the extent to which they are people of courage - certainly physical courage and also a high degree of moral courage.

"I think the world can learn from what happened outside that ramshackle little mosque on Sunday."

Hull Road ward councillor Neil Barnes said it had been a "proud moment for York".

He said: "I don't think I'll ever forget the day that the York Mosque tackled anger and hatred with peace and warmth - and I won't forget the sight of a Muslim offering a protester tea and biscuits with absolute sincerity."

Fears over a demonstration grew after Yorkshire EDL Scarborough Division posted a message on its Facebook page calling for supporters to gather outside the mosque.

Imam Abid Salik said: "We did have a few people who did come to protest but when they came some of the members of the mosque went over and they engaged in a conversation.

"Some people went over with cups of tea and biscuits, they were talking for about 30 or 40 minutes and then they came inside, which was a really, really beautiful thing."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-york-north-yorkshire-22689552

24 Likes

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by vedaxcool(m): 2:56pm On May 29, 2013
Front page please!
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Katier00(f): 3:18pm On May 29, 2013
meaning
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by superior1: 3:19pm On May 29, 2013
Who wan drink poison??

16 Likes

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Joey82(m): 3:20pm On May 29, 2013
this is the direction humanity should be moving.
respect for people's belief and convictions.
hope our northern brothers in naija get to hear about this and take a cue.

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by mascot87(m): 3:21pm On May 29, 2013
BOKO BOYS and other insurgent groups in the world SHOULD Learn from this, the world would be a better and peaceful place for living

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by PAPAAFRICA: 3:22pm On May 29, 2013
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Kassidy90(m): 3:22pm On May 29, 2013
superior1: Who wan drink poison??
Na everybody go be a pretender like u...

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by WukedP(m): 3:22pm On May 29, 2013
we black men dnt play wit no lion
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Masanto: 3:23pm On May 29, 2013
The world will one day be a better place

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by PAGAN9JA(m): 3:23pm On May 29, 2013
May Nigeria become a Pagan NAtion. so we can serve 5-star food to our people.
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Summersland(m): 3:24pm On May 29, 2013
Allahu akbar

19 Likes

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by theripper3: 3:25pm On May 29, 2013
Did any body die after drinking that tea served by Infidels?

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by dejiswaggs(m): 3:27pm On May 29, 2013
wow thats all I can say!
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Nobody: 3:30pm On May 29, 2013
Lipton things...

Anyways, dem get luck say na Muslims. Go protest for front of Winners tommorrow on behalf of that slapped witch if ur mind reach...

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Inoknowbook: 3:30pm On May 29, 2013
And so? This is nothing but grandstanding. An opportunity for a photo op. What people will actually like them do, is to stop every form of hatred being preached by the imams in their various mosques all over the world. The woolwich incident was brought about by such preaching, and it's high time it was stopped. That would make more sense than this charade.

15 Likes

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Nobody: 3:34pm On May 29, 2013
About six people turned up to protest at the mosque in Bull Lane, York, on Sunday and were invited inside to play football with worshippers.

Mchtwwww
6 cups of Lipton wey carnation no dey am well well sef
Na Im we no go hia word?

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by theripper3: 3:37pm On May 29, 2013
babyosisi:

Mchtwwww
6 cups of Lipton wey carnation no dey am well well sef?
Na Im we no go hia word?

I knew they weren't dat munificient. Bloody terrorists. Lipton 10naira na him make we no go hear word. MuSlums sef.

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Nobody: 3:38pm On May 29, 2013
I no know book:
And so? This is nothing but grandstanding. An opportunity for a photo op. What people will actually like them do, is to stop every form of hatred being preached by the imams in their various mosques all over the world. The woolwich incident was brought about by such preaching, and it's high time it was stopped. That would make more sense than this charade.

ThAnk you
That is the message they need to hear
The ideology that bred these monsters is present within the walls of their mosques
But BBC wants to tell us about a freaking cup of tea
By the time the next beheading occurs in the streets of UK again,maybe they will upgrade from tea to Bournvita

13 Likes

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by lat4real: 3:39pm On May 29, 2013
babyosisi:

Mchtwwww
6 cups of Lipton wey carnation no dey am well well sef
Na Im we no go hia word?

No offence, but is your brain too dull to comprehend the message

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Plutarch: 3:39pm On May 29, 2013
vedaxcool: Front page please!

Front page because you know this is a rare deed or news?
@topic,this is a good news. At least we have more of this and less of suicide bombings,plane hijacking,killing etc then the world will be more PEACEful undecided.

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by naptu2: 3:40pm On May 29, 2013
This is the right way to go about things. We've had a few cases where similar things happened in Nigeria (example, the subsidy protests), but the sad thing is that many Nigerians reason with their emotions (hate, fear and anger). There are also a lot of uneducated people here. If you add to the mix politicians, muslim scholars and pentecostal pastors that want to increase their followership by preaching hate, division and "us versus them", you'll understand why we have the problems we have at the moment.

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by angelTI(f): 3:49pm On May 29, 2013
If only d deed would b emulated by all others of their kind.....
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by AdekunleBalogun: 3:51pm On May 29, 2013
I no know book:

Nah wah for u oooo... Islam doesn't kill but people do.

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by GooseBaba: 3:51pm On May 29, 2013
Lmao...!! If this one happen for naija now dem go say na hunger dey worry the protesters... Because na whitey people begin dey rationalize thinz...

Like some said they should stop the imams preaching hate... Then just maybe we all might drink that correct tea without suspicion..everybody grab your left butt cheek, raise your right hand and say amen..!! cheesy

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Nobody: 3:55pm On May 29, 2013
Religion of Peace cool grin
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by mu2sa2: 3:55pm On May 29, 2013
the_ripper3: Did any body die after drinking that tea served by Infidels?
You die first. Infidel of the worst calibre.

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by AbuMikey(m): 3:56pm On May 29, 2013
♍Ɣ mama say make i nor d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ put eye ƒό̲̣̣̣̥r̲̅ food..
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Nobody: 3:59pm On May 29, 2013
PAGAN 9JA:
May Nigeria become a Pagan NAtion. so we can serve 5-star food to our people.
i dnt think nigerians can become pagan again, christianity/islam has shattered everything. The least nigerians can convert to, are either atheism,agnosticsm etc
Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Nobody: 4:00pm On May 29, 2013
...Smart muslims,they bought and bribed the skin heads with cups of tea..samples should be taken and checked for ricin.

...Lesson for churches up there in the northern part of Nigeria,when next,they see or hear multitudes of Almajiris chanting ..allahkubar,allahkubar....approach them,talk to them,offer them gallons of kunu or zobo.

Re: Mosque Offer Tea To Protesting Anti-Islam Group by Nobody: 4:03pm On May 29, 2013
babyosisi:

ThAnk you
That is the message they need to hear
The ideology that bred these monsters are present within the walls of their mosques
But BBC wants to tell us about a freaking cup of tea
By the time the next beheading occurs in the streets of UK again,maybe they will upgrade from tea to Bournvita
lwkm! This gal too funny grin

Ramadan: Sultan Directs Muslims To Look For New Moon / The Ruling On Using Perfumes Which Contain A Certain Amount Of Alcohol. / One Apple Leads To His Marriage. A Beautiful Story!