Stats: 3,150,523 members, 7,808,903 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 07:07 PM

Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix (1162 Views)

Oke & Olamigoke Win Gold & Silver Medals At All Africa Games Triple Jump Event / Blessing Okagbare Wins 200m Gold / Ese Brume Wins Gold In Women's Long Jump For Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Nobody: 9:16pm On Jul 05, 2013
Blessing Okagbare has won the Women’s Long Jump event at the IAAF Diamond League Grand Prix in the Swiss city of Lausanne.

The Nigerian jumped a remarkable 6.98 earning a +1.1 ahead of USA’s Brittney Reese (6.96 ) and Britain’s Shara Proctor(6.92). The 24-year old Nigerian has been in fascinating form this calendar year,putting up impressive shifts in all the eight diamond league meets.

Okagbare will carry Nigeria’s medal hopes once again,at the upcoming IAAF World Athletics Championship in Moscow,Russia.

She has thus earned 4 points in her race for the jackpot as well as the World Athletics Championships later this year.
http://allsports.com.ng/2013/07/05/okagbare-wins-long-jump-event-in-lausanne/

Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Nobody: 9:18pm On Jul 05, 2013
Yes ! Good for her.

May her haters quench
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Nobody: 9:22pm On Jul 05, 2013
^^
Yeah, she is on fire right now. I just hope she'll be able to win that elusive World Championship medal for Nigeria. The last time Nigeria won any medal at the championship was in 1999! shocked
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Nobody: 9:23pm On Jul 05, 2013
CFCfan: ^^
Yeah, she is on fire right now. I just hope she'll be able to win that elusive World Championship medal for Nigeria. The last time Nigeria won any medal at the championship was in 1999! shocked

1999 ? shocked We need to step up our game ! ASAP
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Afam4eva(m): 9:24pm On Jul 05, 2013
This girl in in hell right now. I hope she remains in hell till the next olympics. She will shock the world
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by luvablesam(m): 9:30pm On Jul 05, 2013
CFCfan: ^^
I remember. it was francis obikwelu dat won a silver 4 us in d 200metre event doh sadly he shifted allegiance to portugal afterwards n fizzled out.I hope she wunt be like dat
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Afam4eva(m): 9:34pm On Jul 05, 2013
luvable sam: I remember. it was francis obikwelu dat won a silver 4 us in d 200metre event doh sadly he shifted allegiance to portugal afterwards n fizzled out.I hope she wunt be like dat
Francis Obikwelu didn't go to Portugal and fizzle out. He became the fastest man in Europe.
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Nobody: 9:34pm On Jul 05, 2013
luvable sam: I remember. it was francis obikwelu dat won a silver 4 us in d 200metre event doh sadly he shifted allegiance to portugal afterwards n fizzled out.I hope she wunt be like dat

Amen! She deserves a medal for her efforts. Also, this win is extra special as she defeated the reigning Olympic champion in the event-Reese.
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Merkki(f): 10:10pm On Jul 05, 2013
I like this woman!!!!!

Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by Nobody: 10:15pm On Jul 05, 2013
Her 6.98 jump is also her Personal Best in the event.

Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by solomon111(m): 3:24am On Jul 06, 2013
Congratulations girl,the sky is your starting point.
Btw,i hope the Nigerian athletics federation will not rest on their oars.
There are more "blessing okagbares" in delta state and Nigeria as a whole.
Given the amount of talents we have, we should be challenging the jamaicans and the americans seriously.
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by akintun: 7:52am On Jul 06, 2013
She seem to have a problem with locating d take off board. Dat jump would have easily been a 7.10 . At d WC I think qualifying 4 d LJ final would be more difficult Dan getting a medal.
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by peleson: 9:22am On Jul 06, 2013
Pretty girl with energy
Re: Blessing Okagbare Wins Long Jump Event At Diamond Grand Prix by peleson: 9:23am On Jul 06, 2013
Pretty girl with energy
Up Naija

El Clasico: Barcelona Vs Real Madrid - LIVE (today Starting 20h GMT) (LINKS) / Outrageous, As Chelsea Demand N7.8 Billion For Mikel / Acting FIFA President,issa Hayatou Caught Sleeeping At His First News Conference

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 15