Stats: 3,150,298 members, 7,808,012 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 03:19 AM

HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? (3202 Views)

If You Can Speak Yoruba, Talk It In Here. Everybody Is Invited! / If You Can Speak Yoruba, Talk It In Here! / If You Can Speak Yoruba, Talk It In Here! (2) (3) (4)

HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 4:58pm On Aug 01, 2013
i'd like to have a mail exchange with someone who talks one of this dialect or language to ask about words and the meaning of names, i found some document from bible but not a dictionary.
Thanks niko
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by Nobody: 11:45pm On Aug 01, 2013
Leggo!!!

Send a PM to "Abu Mikey"
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by Nobody: 11:54pm On Aug 01, 2013
am an edo man, maybe i can help out. so wat is ur stress?
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 1:45am On Aug 02, 2013
NathiNkosi: i'd like to have a mail exchange with someone who talks one of this dialect or language to ask about words and the meaning of names, i found some document from bible but not a dictionary.
Thanks niko
Binis/Edos are not in the bible. Maybe you meant our western and eastern neighbours who are from the middle east(some so claim).
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by tpia5: 3:11am On Aug 02, 2013
I'm very sure its hard to confuse bini with any other name, so the poster knows what she's talking about no doubt.

If her man told her all that while saying he's bini, then kindly help her out,
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by PhysicsQED(m): 4:04am On Aug 02, 2013
I think she meant that she found something like this:

http://worldbibles.org/language_detail/eng/bin/Bini
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 9:50pm On Aug 03, 2013
i intend prayers not bible, sorry. [ http://www.google.it/search?client=firefox-a&hs=fBP&rls=org.mozilla:it:official&q=bini%20language%20culture&psj=1&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.50165853,d.ZG4,pv.xjs.s.en_US.seW1cfrvSKg.O&biw=1024&bih=629&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=it&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=i2b9UYmYN4qYhQfLpIBI#um=1&client=firefox-a&hs=MW4&rls=org.mozilla:it%3Aofficial&hl=it&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=edo+bini+language&oq=edo+bini+language&gs_l=img.3...32880.39983.0.40578.17.17.0.0.0.0.218.2313.0j15j2.17.0.ernk_timecombined...0...1.1.23.img..9.8.1079.Cuv2F6HG6zE&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.50165853,d.ZWU&fp=246726b23138fbf&biw=1024&bih=629&imgdii=_ ] kisscopy all that without space go down until the first yellow cards

but i'd like to enter the grammar, can someone give me little help, writing me bini-english word by word, tell me when verbs are used and the order of frases.i saw on nairaland ''Ohame'', but i say ''i'm''+''hungry''
and than verb 'have' is not in bini my boy told me, so i'm asking how i replace in that.
SUBJECT and when use it, if not always when not (ex YOU on dis Forum posted IYE ME=My mum ERHA ME=My father
someone i know tell me it's wrong. Iye mwen is wright! so......
ADVERBS do u have any, and u use it when ..at the end or beginnin in the sentences(phrases)? and in the question u turn the SUBJECT AND THE VERBS TOO??(ex is he crazy)

make me the literal construction of bini phrases with exaxtly bini order in english . pls pls pls
Start with simple ones.
sleepy: Elo Nega Me
thirsty: Ame(Armen) ghun me(meh)
hungry: Ohame
tired: Egbe woh meh
sumthing is entertaining: Or nay mi wo rien rien <==so entartaining is all that??
beautiful nice: Or meh uan SOOOOOOOOO the sky is beautiful: okhun IS? or meh uan
sun: Ovwen
moon:
sky: Okhun!
home: Uwa or owa house
friends: Oko mehn and 1 friend? male or female?
neighbors:
car: Motor
fly: or Tin or=meaning
fat: or kpuno
thin: or woh kaka

translate me : 1.look at the sky 2.i saw my friends, 3.i see my friends 4.i'll se my friends and i'm goin to. 5you are fat, she is fat, he is fat. 6i go home, I'M AT HOME(DOIN MY THINGS) shocked but do it like this shocked
xx(i) Bleep(saw) x(My)xx(friend) OR I DON'T COMPREHEND HOW MAKE OTHER PHRASES ON MY OWN.
becouse ---tired: Egbe woh meh, so je suis fatigué é :i am egbe woh meh?
so when i say: fine, my dear, you re in trouble is: esa, Noyemwen me, ovbeen oba re edo unu?

add all u want<3
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 10:20pm On Aug 03, 2013
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin lipsrsealed BLEP= X X X

but also the pronunciation is hard a loooot for me
they say they dont understand, i read like english cry cry cry
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 11:03am On Aug 05, 2013
Sleepy- Ovbe(sleep) gbe (beats) mwen(me).
Le ga mwen -around me.
Dizzy- ehe hia le ga mwen(every thing is going around me).Does not equate SLEEPY.
Thirsty- Ohan amen gbe mwen
Amen khon mwe.
Eho mwe kaka.
I am hungry for water
I want water
My throat is parched
Hungry- Ohanmwen gbe mwen
Hunger beats me.

Will be back to sort out the complexities in dealing with natural needs in Edo language.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 1:01pm On Aug 05, 2013
ok thanks i got it....
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 1:01pm On Aug 05, 2013
grin can u also tell me what 'owo khan 'me' means? and is edo or yoruba
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 2:39pm On Aug 05, 2013
NathiNkosi: grin can u also tell me what 'owo khan 'me' means? and is edo or yoruba

He is in love! That is Edo/Bini for " my wife" You are not doing badly at all regarding Edo language.
How about saying back to him " Odo mwen, n'odomwen". I promise you unforgettable nights after!
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 7:08pm On Aug 05, 2013
Double
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 7:16pm On Aug 05, 2013
Ighi ghe ore iso (ukhun) ina beghe avbe ose mwen.
When I looked up (ukhun) at the sky(iso)I saw my friends (ose- orsay).
AVBE before a noun turns it to plural and even if already plural.
OKHUO-WOMAN
IKHUO- WOMEN
AVBE IKHUO-WOMEN
OSE does not have a plural of its own unless with AVBE.
ORE before ISO above is because the Edos believe that everything has a heart or a focal point.
OREDO.This shows the heart that lies within EDO.
Just saying in Edo "ighi ghe iso" gives the listener a vast focusless sky(it is complicated!) impression.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 8:14pm On Aug 05, 2013
I will see my friends

I gha beghe avbe osemwen

GHA is for future .

I gha be owa (I will build a house)

I gha de imoto (I will buy a car ,auto vehicle)
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 8:22pm On Aug 05, 2013
I am going to( intention)
I Gha ...then the verb(same as WILL discussed above)

I am going to (direction)
I rhie Eko (I am going to Lagos)
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 8:41pm On Aug 05, 2013
You are fat!
U kpolo! (negative)
U wa kpolo (good fat)

He,she,it (no gender pronoun in Edo language) Some animals have gender nouns.

O kpolo (he,she,it) no gender
O wa kpolo.

You are fat ( ukpolo) will not really make sense in Edo language because the person you say such to is in your presence. There must be a word at the end to soften the harshness.
Ukpolo,nia.
Ukpolo,sha.
Ukpolo,kherre. And so on.

Ukpolo. The tone is also important. Could be endearing. Could be in awe.

Ukpolo gbe- you are too fat. Extreme.
Okpolo gbe- he,she,it is too fat.

Okpolo could be said of someone in ones presence but the statement, though about the fat person,is most likely said to a third party or the wind.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 9:09pm On Aug 05, 2013
Go home.
Gha rrie owa .

I am at home.
Irre owa.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 10:07pm On Aug 05, 2013
THANK YOU GUYS, i apreciated i start to progress, i hope that the pronunciation is correct!!!
where the accents go? in europe we have a lot of close pronounce, so
they told me they dont understand again.
Like i dont understand always the pidgin english

i put out that::::::::::: ghe gbe oyunmwun!!
orho gha se efe
owo khan mwen
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 10:24pm On Aug 05, 2013
NathiNkosi: THANK YOU GUYS, i apreciated i start to progress, i hope that the pronunciation is correct!!!
where the accents go? in europe we have a lot of close pronounce, so
they told me they dont understand again.
Like i dont understand always the pidgin english

i put out that::::::::::: ghe gbe oyunmwun!!
orho gha se efe

From the above,you are either Edo or someone else wrote that. No one learns a new language via proverbs. Not even all native speakers are versed in it.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 10:46pm On Aug 05, 2013
i even dont understand english well so i translate but i guess it's nice what u wrote that way.
i put some words after i perceived the meaning but while for english i have online help, for bini i have only forum, and friends, but friends are not my dictionary 24per hours and not all know how to write, as they talk i cant understand

so i'm askin you if what i put has a meaning or not

Evbin ogbon ero gbe otiti--a new thing excites. otiti-is? excitement? undecided undecided undecided
i know evbeen oba re edo unu 2
need difference between evbin and evbeen
between unu and uhun
then how 2 means ''you know then you are in trouble'' oba is not KING?
re?
Agbon(world) vban(be??) rhe(re??)
KE??
udu re? heart is udu or re

uyi khion ose
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by OdenigboAroli(m): 11:12am On Aug 09, 2013
Old boy,Edo hard ooo
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 10:26pm On Aug 09, 2013
Odenigbo Aroli: Old boy,Edo hard ooo

See your mouth. Anyway sha,those of us from progressive traditional homes and OTO EGHODO born do not see it your way. Na di ones way dey form or born outside.
Let me give you a hint about Edo girls.
If in the process of having an amorous affair with an Edo girl,ask if she is from an OTO EGHODO home. If yes,run.
You see those girls that can fight naked in broad daylight at Ring Road and other public places without shame,ninety-nine percent of them are from OTO EGHODO.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by eziza: 1:09am On Aug 10, 2013
bokohalal:

If in the process of having an amorous affair with an Edo girl,ask if she is from an OTO EGHODO home. If yes,run.
You see those girls that can fight naked in broad daylight at Ring Road and other public places without shame,ninety-nine percent of them are from OTO EGHODO.

I respectfully disagree because you seem to be giving "Oteghodo" which is a form of a courtyard a negative connotation.

If anything, those who grew up in Oteghodo lived a compound with some social structure and understanding, and they are generally from a family that is privileged because you cannot create an Oteghodo out of a tiny compound.

I think those who grew up in a passage "face me, I face you" house is what you are looking for.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 2:02am On Aug 10, 2013
eziza:

I respectfully disagree because you seem to be giving "Oteghodo" which is a form of a courtyard a negative connotation.

If anything, those who grew up in Oteghodo lived a compound with some social structure and understanding, and they are generally from a family that is privileged because you cannot create an Oteghodo out of a tiny compound.

I think those who grew up in a passage "face me, I face you" house is what you are looking for.

Eziza rhe!
I grew up in neither. My partner did . Do ghe ezo vbe igbina everytime. Odenigbo Aroli, i don talk my own o. If you like no believe. Na you sabi.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by eziza: 3:00am On Aug 10, 2013
bokohalal:

Eziza rhe!
I grew up in neither. My partner did . Do ghe ezo vbe igbina everytime.

looool...funny. Izigha weya ze ose, ghe mue yan Oteghodo.
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 10:15pm On Aug 11, 2013
i dont need a translation in english becouse it doesn't exist,
Ighi ghe ore iso (ukhun) ina beghe avbe ose mwen.
When I looked up (ukhun) at the sky(iso)I saw my friends (ose- orsay)

u dont help me becouse ighi dont means when, ina = i, beghe=saw, avbe=my ? ?

i need this===>I khue ne, I bath have
ore=

1 then if it's possible how i say i WOULD?
and if the verbs change i'd say i would.... if

2 HELP OUT to me=mwen, to u, to us
3 irhie gie(or this verb change?)

I ehèn guogho erere khin na
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 10:16pm On Aug 11, 2013
want=?
i found: Akhue tomorrow oyiThief khian,walk oweLeg,broom re iren mue uhunHeadmwun
gbe against emwin thing,
E,is re nu will uhunmwun e ra gualo-when in pursuit of a thief, I'M NOT SURE WHERE 'WANT' IS

the thief does not stop and say that he just hit his head against something because it is the head you want.

----gha rhe(=came) vba--- (where 'it' is in the sentence)
we re vbo khian (-he/she) =>?? I'M LOSTo0 i know: khian-re=come back not re-khian DAYUM

i rie? number- i go number
i gha setin= i will go--is i COULD? right?
Omo nowe iye oghi ren vbie,iren vbe also vbie cry iren why u dont wrote i ren? he will
Ighi ghe ore iso ina beghe avbe ose mwen. i ghi= i let? can u remake literal translation?
When I looked up (ukhun) at the sky(iso)I saw my friends (ose- orsay).

hey Hun i studied!
in another chat u wrote becouse=rhunmwunda couse=uhunmwun
gbe=again is used also as against ; emwin=thing is used also as something wink
o=he/she

A gha sẹ Ẹdo, Ẹdo rree for whom gha(will go) in edo, edo state is far
account is ekpety or there is another term?

i found this for the pronunciation http://typecraft.org/tc2wiki/User:Ota
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by NathiNkosi: 2:53am On Aug 12, 2013
bokohalal do u have a social network account? i would have a translation of my private sms when i had to write back instead of searching thruought proverbs and yr old forum, u are the only one who speak itwink Please give me a contact
Ewe ma no Goat us is
ma=us so 'to us' could be ma?? no=it'is
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by OdenigboAroli(m): 2:53pm On Aug 12, 2013
bokohalal:

See your mouth. Anyway sha,those of us from progressive traditional homes and OTO EGHODO born do not see it your way. Na di ones way dey form or born outside.

I think I know what is Oto Eghodo: It like a big compound where you have a lot of families living together with shrines on every corner,old grandma and grandpa. These families usually belong to Ogboni confraternity and they will have the signs on the entrance door.

Dude,Benin people don't have problem with displaying their fetish stuff. I have a lot of stories about Benin. But I love Benin girls...I get along with them very easily. Do you know Okhoro very well ?
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 3:47pm On Aug 12, 2013
NathiNkosi: bokohalal do u have a social network account? i would have a translation of my private sms when i had to write back instead of searching thruought proverbs and yr old forum, u are the only one who speak itwink Please give me a contact
Ewe ma no Goat us is
ma=us so 'to us' could be ma?? no=it'is

enoma.aidegue@yahoo.ca
Re: HELP Someone Who Can Speak Or Understand Bini ? by bokohalal(m): 4:05pm On Aug 12, 2013
Odenigbo Aroli:

I think I know what is Oto Eghodo: It like a big compound where you have a lot of families living together with shrines on every corner,old grandma and grandpa. These families usually belong to Ogboni confraternity and they will have the signs on the entrance door.

Dude,Benin people don't have problem with displaying their fetish stuff. I have a lot of stories about Benin. But I love Benin girls...I get along with them very easily. Do you know Okhoro very well ?

Odenigbo,do you not think that the claim of flagrant display of Ogboni symbol in front of oto eghodo houses is a bit wild?
Okhoro is not my neck of the woods. The now dilapidated State Library was about the closest I got to the area.
Only problem with Bini girls is if they love you you are in trouble. Na allbody and everything. She fit even pay and buy you.

Why Do Calabar People Names Sounds Like Past Tense? / What criteria should determine a bride's dowry? / O Ni Fete Competition!

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57