Stats: 3,148,781 members, 7,802,418 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 02:03 PM

ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? (3104 Views)

Sunday Oliseh To Emerge As Nigeria's New Coach - BBC Sport / Which Nigeria U-17 Team Will You Consider The Greatest? ??? / Nigeria’s Super Eagles; The First African Team To Qualify For 2014 World Cup In (2) (3) (4)

ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 1:46pm On Dec 01, 2013
[b]YES,
Hypothetical...but what if Africa presented a single All-African team
like the USA.
I believe Africa would easily win the upcoming world cup in Brasil, of
course Africa virtually won France 98 with France (Zidane, dessaily,
Vierra, Henry.....etc)..But if Africa decided to present one team, i
feel the headache would lie in player selection due to the plethora of
exceptional soccer talents across the lenghts and breath of the
continent.

Here would be my take (my candid opinion)

Goalkeepers: Charles Itandje(Cameroun), Vincent Enyeama(Nigeria) Fatau
Dauda(Ghana)

Defenders:Emmanuel eboue(Ivory coast),Benoit Assou-Ekotto(Cameroun)
Kwadwo Asamoah(Ghana) Stopilla sunzu(Zambia) Madjid Bougherra(Algeria),
Kolo toure(ivory coast) Didier Zokora(Ivory coast) Michael Essien(Ghana)

Midfielders: Alex Song(cameroun), Yaya Toure(Ivory coast),John
Mikel(Nigeria) , Kevin Prince Boateng(Ghana) Andre Ayew(Ghana) Sulley
Muntari(Ghana), Pierre Emerick Aubameyang(Gabon), Victor Moses(Nigeria)

Attackers: Jonathan Pitroipa(Burkina Faso), Asamoah Gyan(Ghana), Samuel
Eto'o(Cameroun) , Mohammed Salah (EGYPT)

TECHNICAL TEAM: KWESI APPIAH(GHANA), STEPHEN KESHI(NIGERIA) HASSAN
SHEHATTA(EGYPT)

Oya, what's your take?? cheesy[/b]

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 1:54pm On Dec 01, 2013
my probable xi

1.Charles Itandje 2. Emmanuel Eboue 3. Benoit Assou-Ekotto 4.Didier Zokora 5. Stopilla Sunzu 6.Alex Song 7. Kevin-Prince boateng 8. Yaya Toure 9. Samuel Eto'o 10. Pierre emerick Aubameyang 11. Jonathan Pitroipa

formation 4 1 2 3

*******emmanuel eboue************Didier zokora****stopilla sunzu***************Assou Ekotto

*******************************Alex Song*****************************************

**********************Yaya Toure******************Kevin Prince Boateng******************

*****Jonathan Pitroipa**********Samuel Eto'o***************Pierre Emerick Aubameyang*************

mouth-watering kiss kiss

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by onila(f): 2:04pm On Dec 01, 2013
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 2:08pm On Dec 01, 2013
Walahi, your first 11 nor go fit beat Kenya
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 2:15pm On Dec 01, 2013
Theben: Walahi, your first 11 nor go fit beat Kenya

i said it's my opinion....where is your better opinion? cheesy
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 2:26pm On Dec 01, 2013
Here is my 23 man team list

Goal Keepers
Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide,(both Nig) Charles Itandje(cam).

Defenders
Kolo Toure(CIV), Emmanuel Eboue(CIV), Kwadwo Asemoah(GHA), Elderson Echiejile(NIG), Godfrey Oboabona(NIG), Kenneth Omeruo(NIG)

Midfielders
Ogenyi Onazi (NIG), John Mikel Obi (NIG), Yaya Toure(CIV), Didier Zokora (CIV), Alex Song(CAM), Andre Ayew(GHA), Chiek Tiote(CIV)

Attackers
Emmanuel Emenike(NIG), Pierre Emerick Aubumayang(GAB), Victor Moses(NIG), Didier Drogba(CIV), Gervinho(CIV), Samuel Etoo(CAM), Mohammed Salah(EGY)

Coach
Stephen Keshi

Asst Coach
Akwesia Appiah
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by joseph1013: 2:31pm On Dec 01, 2013
bin gbagbo: [b]my probable xi

1.Charles Itandje 2. Emmanuel Eboue 3. Benoit Assou-Ekotto 4.Didier Zokora 5. Stopilla Sunzu 6.Alex Song 7. Kevin-Prince boateng 8. Yaya Toure 9. Samuel Eto'o 10. Pierre emerick Aubameyang 11. Jonathan Pitroipa

formation 4 1 2 3

*******emmanuel eboue************Didier zokora****stopilla sunzu***************Assou Ekotto

*******************************Alex Song*****************************************

**********************Yaya Toure***********
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 2:34pm On Dec 01, 2013
Theben: Here is my 23 man team list

Goal Keepers
Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide,(both Nig) Samuel Itandje(cam).

Defenders
Kolo Toure(CIV), Emmanuel Eboue(CIV), Kwadwo Asemoah(GHA), Elderson Echiejile(NIG), Godfrey Oboabona(NIG), Kenneth Omeruo(NIG)

Midfielders
Ogenyi Onazi (NIG), John Mikel Obi (NIG), Yaya Toure(CIV), Didier Zokora (CIV), Haruna Lukman(NIG), Andre Ayew(GHA), Chiek Tiote(CIV)

Attackers
Emmanuel Emenike(NIG), Pierre Emerick Aubumayang(GAB), Victor Moses(NIG), Didier Drogba(CIV), Gervinho(CIV), Samuel Etoo(CAM), Mohammed Salah(EGY)

your team has 6 defenders but 7 strikers? really?.. grin

ogenyi onazi? Haruna lukman who is not even invited by Nigeria? cheik tiote really? same-old drogba u mean? austin ejide? basically your team is one drafted out of subjectivity and i can pardon you but it lacks balance and isnt a true reflectiion of Africa's current bests

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 2:46pm On Dec 01, 2013
bin gbagbo:

your team has 6 defenders but 7 strikers? really?.. grin

ogenyi onazi? Haruna lukman who is not even invited by Nigeria? cheik tiote really? same-old drogba u mean? austin ejide? basically your team is one drafted out of subjectivity and i can pardon you but it lacks balance and isnt a true reflectiion of Africa's current bests
Ogenyi Onazi is our most reliable Midfielder. He has been very consistent for both Lazio and the Super Eagles. He should not only be in the 23 man list, he definitely would be a starter.

My inclusion of Lukman is due to the absence of credible options. His exclusion from the super eagles isn't for footballing reason. His ego is the reason for this. Needless to say he's more talented than Ghanaian aged midfielders.

My decision to pick 6 defenders is because some of my midfielders can effortlessly play the role of defenders and excel. Players like Zokora and Tiote are example of defenders/midfielders on my list.

As old as Drogba is, he's still among the top 3 African best strikers. Why do you think mourinho wanted him back when he took over at chelsea? I was even expecting you to dispute the inclusion of andre ayew in the midfield as he's the weakest among them all.
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 2:57pm On Dec 01, 2013
Theben:
Ogenyi Onazi is our most reliable Midfielder. He has been very consistent for both Lazio and the Super Eagles. He should not only be in the 23 man list, he definitely would be a starter.

My inclusion of Lukman is due to the absence of credible options. His exclusion from the super eagles isn't for footballing reason. His ego is the reason for this. Needless to say he's more talented than Ghanaian aged midfielders.

My decision to pick 6 defenders is because some of my midfielders can effortlessly play the role of defenders and excel. Players like Zokora and Tiote are example of defenders/midfielders on my list.

i will talk about ogenyi onazi later....but Lukman haruna, hey......i can list 20 fringe Ghanaian players that are better than this dude(objectively)...ok see, agyeman badu, christian atsu, anthony annan, derek boateng, quincy abeyie, emmanuel frimpong, solomon asante, albert adomah, prince buabeng, frank acheampong, etc etc but i didnt include all these because i was being objective. but talking of playing tiote in defence, which part of defencelol

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bizibrain(m): 3:00pm On Dec 01, 2013
@ op u just spoke my mind, but ur first xi player get K-leg oo, u put pitriopia,is dat nt d burkinable man wey no qualify or am mistaken, but u left out Africa 2013 goal poacher Emmanuel emenike.

Am sure none of those defender is as sharp as omeruo dat stop drogba frm scoring several tyms in afcon.

Immediately after afcon 2013, caf releases dere first xi player, 5 super eagle player made d list, emmanuel emenike, efe ambrose, vincent enyeama, john obi mikel, victor moses. I was expecting @ least 3 of dem in ur first 11.

Even enyeama currently enjoying 13 clean sheet in 15 appearance and @ d verge of making history 4 lille is nt ur 1st chioce golie.

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by joseph1013: 3:01pm On Dec 01, 2013
I'm in a hurry now, so would come back to list my best 23! But any African 11 that does not include Enyeama, Mikel and Emenike, with Keshi being the Coach is incomplete. #Gbam
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 3:07pm On Dec 01, 2013
bizibrain: @ op u just spoke my mind, but ur first xi player get K-leg oo, u put pitriopia,is dat nt d burkinable man wey no qualify or am mistaken, but u left out Africa 2013 goal poacher Emmanuel emenike.

Am sure none of those defender is as sharp as omeruo dat stop drogba frm scoring several tyms in afcon.

Immediately after afcon 2013, caf releases dere first xi player, 5 super eagle player made d list, emmanuel emenike, efe ambrose, vincent enyeama, john obi mikel, victor moses. I was expecting @ least 3 of dem in ur first 11.

Even enyeama currently enjoying 13 clean sheet in 15 appearance and @ d verge of making history 4 lille is nt ur 1st chioce golie.

i respect your opinion and analogy...but remember bayern munich won the last champions league but will their players dominate the current world xi? i pretty doubt that....so please do a more objective analysis and come back cheesy
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Nobody: 3:11pm On Dec 01, 2013
__________Enyeama___________

Ambrose____Omeruo___Mensah___Asamoah

_______Mikel____Onazi____Toure____

_______Moses___Aubemeyang____Emenike.

4-3-3.
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 3:18pm On Dec 01, 2013
CFCfan: __________Enyeama___________

4-3-3.
Bros abeg replace Mensah with Oboabona or Kolo Toure biko.
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 3:18pm On Dec 01, 2013

4-3-3.

grin grin grin where does omeruo play currently and how experienced is he? remember the world is a congregation of the bests in the world(ronaldo, ribery, messi, robben, rooney etc) can omeruo stand his own against these big names? i have my doubts

i dont know if its john mensah or jonathan mensah you mean. i am sorry for both of them since their current form wouldnt make them good enough for an all African 11.

the problem Kwadwo asamoah may have is the fact that, juve play a 3 man defence and anytime Asamoah is played as a left-back in a 4-man defence, he struggles

mikel and onazi have no business in an all African holding with the likes of Alex song, sule muntari, nathan sinkala, didier zokora, and the likes

emenike and moses are not bad, but they are inexperienced as compared to Asamoah Gyan, eto'o and mohammed salah cheesy

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 3:24pm On Dec 01, 2013
Op, i just remember i unintentionally omitted Alex Song. Haruna has been replaced with song. Hope you're cool now?
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by bingbagbo(m): 3:28pm On Dec 01, 2013
Theben: Op, i just remember i unintentionally omitted Alex Song. Haruna has been replaced with song. Hope you're cool now?

it isnt just lukman who is not deserving in your squad, but echiejile, oboabona, drogba, onazi, ejide and tiote are all not of an African xi quality with all respect cheesy

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 3:34pm On Dec 01, 2013
bin gbagbo:

it isnt just lukman who is not deserving in your squad, but echiejile, oboabona, drogba, onazi, ejide and tiote are all not of an African xi quality with all respect cheesy
So you think those Ghanaians you mentioned on your list are better than these players? Anyway, you aired your opinion on the African players you believe would represent us well, i did same. Is it a must that my opinion align with yours?
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 3:38pm On Dec 01, 2013
Starting 11

Enyeama

Kwedwo Asemoah -- Oboabona -- Kolo Toure -- Emmanuel Eboue

Ogenyi Onazi -- Mikel -- Yaya Toure

Moses -- Emenike -- Aubumayang
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Nobody: 3:47pm On Dec 01, 2013

4-3-3.

Nice one but Oboabona should replace omeruo or mensa..Micheal Essien for Mikel and Asamoah Gyan for Aubemeyang.
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by safarigirl(f): 4:25pm On Dec 01, 2013
Theben:
So you think those Ghanaians you mentioned on your list are better than these players? Anyway, you aired your opinion on the African players you believe would represent us well, i did same. Is it a must that my opinion align with yours?
gbam! That OP list get K-leg and polio join. Omeruo should make the first XI as a defender. That guy would pull a 'Suarez' for his team if he had to. I'm not conversant with African football as a whole so I don't know the positions certain non-Nigerians play i.e more Nigerians will be on my list. if I had to make a list: GK- Enyeama, Samuel Itandje, Barry Boubacar, . Defenders- Bance, Echiejile, Kolo Toure, Jordan Ayew, Omeruo, Efe Ambrose. Mid-fielders- Yaya Toure, K.P Boateng, John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, Essien, Ogenyi Onazi, Aboutrika. Strikers- Emenike, Demba Ba, Gyan, Drogba, Pitroipa, Cisse, Eto'o
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by safarigirl(f): 4:29pm On Dec 01, 2013
gbosaa:

Nice one but Oboabona should replace omeruo or mensa..Micheal Essien for Mikel and Asamoah Gyan for Aubemeyang.
Michael Essien replace Mikel? Niqqa what fuckery are you spewing? Essien that has been loaned to the bench for the season? He isn't even youthful enough

Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Nobody: 4:30pm On Dec 01, 2013
i am reading these lists and can see a lot of bias depending on where n africa u r from. choose players who are good AT THE MOMENT not the ones with potential. grin
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by safarigirl(f): 8:55pm On Dec 01, 2013
bboiabb: i am reading these lists and can see a lot of bias depending on where n africa u r from. choose players who are good AT THE MOMENT not the ones with potential. grin
what did you expect?
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by adegwurulez(m): 9:05pm On Dec 01, 2013
this thread should be in jokes section. An african team where enyeama isn't the first choice goalie. emenike isn't in that squad, lyk seriously? bin, we both know the only ghanaian deserving of a spot there is kp boateng. so because there was no space for essien in midfield you had to bring him in as a defender. we all know how that worked out in real madrid. bin pls revisit that list asap, it isn't worthy of repin africa
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by Theben(m): 9:09pm On Dec 01, 2013
adegwurulez: this thread should be in jokes section. An african team where enyeama isn't the first choice goalie. emenike isn't in that squad, lyk seriously? bin, we both know the only ghanaian deserving of a spot there is kp boateng. so because there was no space for essien in midfield you had to bring him in as a defender. we all know how that worked out in real madrid. bin pls revisit that list asap, it isn't worthy of repin africaGhana
Fixed cool
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by adegwurulez(m): 9:23pm On Dec 01, 2013
Theben:
Fixed cool
lolz... and they'll be the first to shout "this coach is biased" now look at the squad he wants to present if given the chance
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by naijanoni(m): 10:31pm On Dec 01, 2013
@OP What is boateng doing in ur XI ?.Victor moses should replace boateng.He is arguably d best natural winger we have in africa now.
Re: ONE AFRICA !!! (which African team will emerge from the prelims? by naijanoni(m): 10:35pm On Dec 01, 2013
Micheal essien is already a finished player.He shouldnt be in any starting XI.If it was 4yrs ago,he should be d 1st name on dat list,but not now dat he is a reserve player at chelsea.
And how is salah more experienced than emenike or moses ??.

New Coach And New Super Eagles / Livescore18.com—the Best Livescore Sites! / Super Eagles Qualifying Hopes Solely Hangs On Best Loser Spot

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 52