Stats: 3,150,310 members, 7,808,046 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 05:43 AM

Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human (3502 Views)

Top 20 Used Cars To Avoid / What Are The Pros, Cons And Costs Of Buying Salvaged Cars? / KNOW YOUR VEHICLE-STOLEN OR SALVAGED? CAVEAT EMPTOR (2) (3) (4)

Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by FATHERME: 9:50pm On Oct 18, 2008
jidody:

inema link=topic=179473.msg2951224#msg2951224 date=1224170277:

Hi bros,how are you today?please help me check out this vin.IHGCM66563A021779.

A CARFAX Vehicle History Report is based only on information supplied to CARFAX. CARFAX checked over 5 billion vehicle history events and found 25 record(s)  for this 2003 HONDA ACCORD EX (1HGCM66563A021779).

Owner One Vehicle History
Purchased: 2002
Type: Personal
Where: Pennsylvania
Est. miles/year: 4,745/yr
Est. length owned: 11/15/02 - 1/2/06
(3 years. 1 mo.)

Date: Mileage: Source: Comments:
11/15/2002      Pennsylvania
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Greensburg, PA    Registered as
personal vehicle
11/18/2002    12    Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
www.smailauto.com    Vehicle serviced
Pre-delivery inspection completed
Washed/detailed
11/18/2002      Dealer Inventory
Greensburg, PA    Vehicle offered for sale
12/10/2002      Pennsylvania
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Greensburg, PA    Title issued or updated
First owner reported
11/06/2003    6,090    Collision Repair Facility
Pennsylvania    Vehicle inspected after an
accident or other incident
Damage to rear
A vehicle inspection completed
by your dealer or professional
inspector is recommended

CARFAX began reporting information from this source on 05/06/2005.
11/11/2003      Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
Safety inspection performed
03/22/2004    7,600    Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
Oil and filter changed chassis lubricated
10/22/2004    10,745    Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
12/06/2004      Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
State inspection completed
Maintenance inspection completed
01/13/2005    11,635    Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
05/14/2005      Pennsylvania
Police Report
Crash #2005144548    Accident reported
in Westmoreland County
Involving right rear impact
Vehicle struck by another motor vehicle
Severe damage reported
Vehicle towed

CARFAX began reporting this information on 01/23/2008.
05/14/2005      Pennsylvania
Police Report    Accident reported

CARFAX began reporting this information on 03/19/2008.
06/20/2005    11,636    Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
10/21/2005      Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
11/01/2005    15,100    Pennsylvania
Inspection Station    Passed emissions inspection
01/02/2006    15,801    Dealer Inventory
Greensburg, PA    Vehicle offered for sale
01/03/2006      Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
Maintenance inspection completed
Washed/detailed
02/27/2006      Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-838-1200
www.smailauto.com    Vehicle sold
02/27/2006      Pennsylvania
Motor Vehicle Dept.
West Mifflin, PA    Vehicle purchase reported

Owner Two Vehicle History
Purchased: 2006
Est. miles/year: ---
Est. length owned: 3/7/06 - 8/2/07
(1 yr. 4 mo.)

03/07/2006    15,849    Pennsylvania
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Latrobe, PA    Title issued or updated
New owner reported
03/14/2006    16,750    Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
06/22/2006    22,199    Smail Auto Group
Greensburg, PA
724-837-4210
Washed/detailed
06/05/2007    41,071    Smail Honda Village
Greensburg, PA
724-836-6030
Manufacturer's recommended maintenance performed
06/23/2007      Pennsylvania
Police Report
Crash #2007075826    Accident reported
in Westmoreland County
Involving left side impact
Vehicle struck by another motor vehicle
Severe damage reported
Vehicle towed
Front airbag deployed

CARFAX began reporting this information on 01/26/2008.
CARFAX Airbag Tips

Owner Three Vehicle History
Purchased: 2007
Est. length owned: 8/2/07 - present
(1 yr. 2 mo.)

08/02/2007      Pennsylvania
Motor Vehicle Dept.
West Mifflin, PA    New owner reported
SALVAGE TITLE/CERTIFICATE ISSUED

A friend complained to me that he checked his car  Vin with exact result as in above ,no be the same car oh.

Could auto gurus help me analyze the above report and what to look out for as time goes on.
The car looks neat and sounds good to our own understanding.

thanks for your contributions.
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by jenju(m): 10:19pm On Oct 18, 2008
I'm not sure I understand what you are asking. What do you mean by "Not the same car"? In the maintime here is the VIN report from Autocheck which provides the same service as carfax:

VIN:  1HGCM66563A021779 
Year:  2003 
Make:  Honda 
Model:  Accord EX 
Style/Body:  Sedan 4D 
Class:  Mid Range Car - Standard 

12/10/2002  GREENSBURG, PA  8  Motor Vehicle Dept.  TITLE (Title #:58277895)
REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL (Lien Reported) 
10/09/2003  GREENSBURG, PA   Motor Vehicle Dept.  REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL 
10/18/2004  GREENSBURG, PA   Motor Vehicle Dept.  REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL 
05/14/2005 PA Police Report ACCIDENT REPORTED (Case #:A011427599)
10/25/2005  GREENSBURG, PA   Motor Vehicle Dept.  REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL 
03/07/2006  LATROBE, PA  15,849  Motor Vehicle Dept.  TITLE (Title #:58277895)
11/29/2006  LATROBE, PA   Motor Vehicle Dept.  REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL 
08/02/2007  WEST MIFFLIN, PA   Motor Vehicle Dept.  TITLE (Title #:58277895)
JUNK VEHICLE 

If you own this car be very careful. Here is the definition of JUNK VEHICLE as contained in Autocheck's documentation:

The vehicle’s parts have been salvaged for reuse and the remainder of the vehicle has been destroyed or scrapped. This vehicle has been declared a total loss, is not road worthy and should not be titled again for use on the road

I think the definition speaks for itself.
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by Ivvie: 3:28am On Oct 19, 2008
`
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 5:52am On Oct 19, 2008
jenju:

I'm not sure I understand what you are asking. What do you mean by "Not the same car"? In the maintime here is the VIN report from Autocheck which provides the same service as carfax:

VIN: 1HGCM66563A021779
Year: 2003
Make: Honda
Model: Accord EX
Style/Body: Sedan 4D
Class: Mid Range Car - Standard

12/10/2002 GREENSBURG, PA 8 Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:58277895)
10/09/2003 GREENSBURG, PA Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
10/18/2004 GREENSBURG, PA Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
05/14/2005 PA Police Report ACCIDENT REPORTED (Case #:A011427599)
10/25/2005 GREENSBURG, PA Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
03/07/2006 LATROBE, PA 15,849 Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:58277895)
11/29/2006 LATROBE, PA Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
08/02/2007 WEST MIFFLIN, PA Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:58277895)
JUNK VEHICLE

If you own this car be very careful. Here is the definition of JUNK VEHICLE as contained in Autocheck's documentation:

I think the definition speaks for itself.

Jenju,
Junk has different meaning for different states. In California, junk is the same as Salvage. In as much as I pay attention to what all these reports say, I pay more attention to the vehicle itself. Alot of these reports have vague definitions mainly to cover the butts of the company (Carfax and Autocheck).
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by jenju(m): 9:34am On Oct 19, 2008
layifioren:

Jenju,
Junk has different meaning for different states. In California, junk is the same as Salvage. In as much as I pay attention to what all these reports say, I pay more attention to the vehicle itself. Alot of these reports have vague definitions mainly to cover the butts of the company (Carfax and Autocheck).

layifioren,

Thanks for your contribution. Note however that this particular car was registered in Pennsylvania and not in California. Besides, there is nothing vague about this definition: "The vehicle’s parts have been salvaged for reuse and the remainder of the vehicle has been destroyed or scrapped. This vehicle has been declared a total loss, is not road worthy and should not be titled again for use on the road"

The owner of this car is well advised to verify the structural integrity of the car with a trusted mechanic and body shop expert before feeling very comfortable riding his family in it. Better safe than sorry. If the said car had a rebuilt title, I'd feel more comfortable - it does not have a rebuilt title, it has a Salvage/JUNK title! I strongly advise the owner of this car to make sure the vehicle was fully fixed.

Cheers,
J
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by igwe11(m): 2:13pm On Oct 19, 2008
This an interesting topic,
Big up,
Can we also throw more lights on d implication of odometer rollback.
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 3:55pm On Oct 19, 2008
Jenju,
You are doing a great job my brother. Let me tell you what happened to me. I had a 2003 Acura TL-S. I knew the vehicle was salvage before I bought it. I bought it from a dealer in California and the dealer owns a body shop too. The vehicle was fixed by the dealer and I had a year warranty on it. When we looked at the Carfax and autocheck report, they had some things in the report that we knew were wrong. The only thing that had happened to the vehicle was the salvage issued because of the accident. Nothing else, no airbags went off, no flood, nothing. But in the report they had salvage/ junk and all kind of weird stuff. This vehicle had already been fixed and inspected. It already has a rebuilt title. It even went through a dealers inspection where they guaranteed it 100%. So what am I trying to say, when a vehicle is totalled by an insurance company, you can find all types of weird stuff on the report that are not true. In my case, I confronted Carfax and they send a report back that they were wrong and they fixed there mistakes. That's why I say you pay more attention to the vehicle than the report. I've owned 3 vehicles in the past with branded salvage and I had no problems with them. That's same reason why I say vague definitions. There are 3 reasons why a vehicle gets issued salvage title - accidents, mechinical or theft (vandalisation). I know you'll read in several places where they say a vehicle has to have 75% or more damage to be branded Salvage. That is one of the biggest lies there is. I've seen new vehicles with fender benders being issued salvage title before. Also, if a vehicle is stolen and the insurance company does not recover it within thirty days, a salvage title is issue when found. Just like I said earlier, these reports are sometimes misleading. Let's say your vehicle was issued a salvage title in August 2004 but it wasn't fixed till Feb 2005, that too might be an issue in the report. The report might show 2 accidents. As a matter of fact, I know someone who has a 2005 Accord that carfax showed that it had an accident even before it had any mileage recorded. Checking the reports are great but they should only be used with wisdom. I'm one of the people that check reports for people of this site. However, I've learnt alot about salvage vehicles and all these reports and I can tell you that they are worthless sometimes. Remember, over 3 out of 7 vehicles on the road has been in some sort of accident. If you need advise on how and what to look for when buying a branded salvage vehicle, I'm more than willing to help out. Been there done it
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by ziontrain: 4:06pm On Oct 19, 2008
@Layifioren,

Good contribution. You can continue buying your salvaged cars and cars that have been marked as junk by CARFAX. I wish you happy and safe driving. However, I beg to differ regarding your statistics that 3 out of 7 cars in the US have been in some sort of accident. I will like to know your source of information because that is not the true for US cars. And if a car has been involved in an accident, it is not automatically given junk or salvaged title - it depends on how bad the accident is. I am sorry, I do not believe junk title is given to a car with fender damage - that cannot possibly be true in America, no I don't believe it - you will have to provide evidence sir. Also, if a car has accident history, it does not mean it's a bad car but buyer has a legitimate reason to know the history of the car he/she is buying, that is why CARFAX report is important. If you have an explanation for why the title of your car is salvaged e.g. due to theft, say so and provide evidence but buyer still needs to know the history of the vehicle. Think about it, of all clean-titled cars that are in the whole of America, should a dealer go for the ones with salvaged title or junk title because they are very inexpensive as no one wants them in America and then sell them as normal cars in nigeria? I don't think so.

For other Nairalanders, I will recommend you stay away from cars that have been marked as junk and salvaged. There are a lot more cars without problems out there than those with salvage and junk titles so why do you want to buy salvaged cars? The reason people buy salvaged cars and cars marked as junk is because they are very inexpensive in America and people value their lives here - I think my life is worth more than a cheap and inexpensive car. My 2 cents.

Modification after initial posting

You did not state your statistics are for nigeria so I assumed they are for US as we're discussing about US vehicles and CARFAX. Also, I have said it in one of my postings on nairaland not long ago that there is market in Nigeria for salvaged titled vehicles that have been properly repaired but that buyers should be given full disclosure - I just don't recommend that buyers should go for these types of cars for obvious reasons (nigeria factor).
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 4:13pm On Oct 19, 2008
igwe 1:

Big up,

Odometer rollback is a big time fraud. That's one good thing reports are for. Looking at the report you can tell if the odometer had been rolled back or not. The implication is that a vehicle would have gone thru more wear than posted. That is, if the original miles is 80,000 but it shows 24,000 and the new owner does not know about the roll back, then this affects the maintenance schedule which in the long run would affect the vehicle itself. Look at this report for example and tell me what you think

2001 MAZDA PROTEGE MP3
JM1BJ227310435768
SEDAN 4 DR 2.0L L4 PFI DOHC 16V
FRONT WHEEL DRIVE

06/15/2001       NICB    Vehicle manufactured
and shipped to original dealer  

07/28/2001    15    Florida
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Tampa, FL
Title #0083826677    Odometer reading reported  

08/13/2001       Florida
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Tampa, FL
Title #0083826677    Title issued or updated
First owner reported
Registered as personal vehicle  

Where: Florida  
Est. length owned: 12/5/02 - 9/22/06
(3 yrs. 9 mo.)  

12/05/2002    23,000    Florida
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Tampa, FL
Registration issued or renewed
New owner reported
Registered as personal vehicle
Vehicle color noted as Blue  

06/18/2003    95,000    Florida
Motor Vehicle Dept.Tampa, FL
Duplicate title issued  

Where: Florida  
Est. length owned: 9/22/06 - present
(2 years)  

09/22/2006    46,260    Florida
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Tampa, FL
New owner reported
INCONSISTENT ODOMETER READING  

Hmmm, hard to tell whether this reading represents an odometer rollback or a clerical error. Confirm the mileage with your dealer or qualified mechanic.  

05/30/2008       Florida
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Tampa, FL    Registration updated when owner moved
the vehicle to a new location  

10/19/2008       Mazda Motor of America, Inc.    No recalls open for repair  

In this situation, it's mostl likely not a roll back. It's impossible to put 72,000 miles on a vehicle within 7 months. That's like 10,000 miles per month which is like driving cross country atleast twice a month. So the transition from 23,000 in December 2002 to 46,650 miles in September 2006 makes more logical sense. One has to be "smarter" than the equipment it's using.
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by jenju(m): 4:13pm On Oct 19, 2008
igwe 1:

Big up,

Odometer rollback is a crime in the US and considered a fraud. Guilty people can be sent to prison for odometer fraud. Typically, the lower the mileage of a car, the more its value, thus the higher its selling price. Greedy and dishonest dealers rollback mileage so that they can defraud their customers - they sell them a car that is worth N900,000 for N1.8million while making the customer believe he/she got a great deal.  This kind of fraud is 100% preventable if customers have access to Carfax or Autocheck report on the car.

A few words of Salvage titled cars:
While Salvage titled cars can be rebuilt and become road worthy, I venture to say that a majority of those that are imported to Nigeria and Cotonou are death traps.  I see many of them at the ports when I deliver vehicles for shipment in the USA and I shake my head.  Thousands of those cars should only be good for scraps.  There are a few people who properly repair these cars and are honest enough to disclose the cars' condition to their customers. In my humble opinion, this is the exception and not the rule.

I've advised people that are close to me to simply stay away from Salvage titled cars in Nigeria. The risks are too high.  

layifioren, I had to come back and modify this post because I was typing while you were also making your post. There is definitely a market for Salvage cars, even in Nigeria. With honest people like you, that will repair them properly and provide full disclose to customers, the consumer will be well served. I'm sorry to say, however, that dealers like you are in the minority.

I think for the benefit of others, you should post any tips or guide you have on buying salvage vehicles. As long as dealers disclose that what they offer is a salvage titled vehicle, and customers use the tips and guide you provide, we shall all be better off.

Cheers,
J
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 4:20pm On Oct 19, 2008
ziontrain:

@Layifioren,

Good contribution. You can continue buying your salvage cars and cars that have been marked as junk by CARFAX. I wish you happy and safe driving. However, I beg to differ regarding your statistics that 3 out of 7 cars in the US have been in some sort of accident. I will like to know your source of information because that is not the true for US cars. And if a car has been involved in an accident, it is not automatically given junk or salvaged title - it depends on how bad the accident is. Also, if a car has accident history, it does not mean it's a bad car but buyer has a legitimate reason to know the history of the car he/she is buying, that is why CARFAX report is important.

For other Nairalanders, I will recommend you stay away from cars that have been marked as junk and salvaged. There are more cars without problems out there than those with salvage and junk titles so why do you want to buy salvaged cars? The reason people buy salvaged cars and cars marked as junk is because they are very inexpensive - I think my life is worth more than a cheap and inexpensive car. My 2 cents.

Ziontrain and Jenju,
Thank God for freedom. We can all make our choice. Damage done in Nigeria road in a year is even worse than some accidents. No need for quarelling. By the way, I studied Statistics and I did my research myself. "No need for control, everything is under alarm" smiley cheesy
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by jenju(m): 4:24pm On Oct 19, 2008
layifioren,

Please read my edited post above. I ask that you help us with tips and guide - I believe we can all benefit from your wealth of experience. No yawa at all.

Cheers,
J
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by FATHERME: 4:37pm On Oct 19, 2008
Thanks to you all for your wonderful contributions.

jenju:

I'm not sure I understand what you are asking. What do you mean by "Not the same car"?

the vehicle/vin in question is different from above but shares the same title as in above

i have to print & show him these contributions.
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 4:54pm On Oct 19, 2008
jenju:

layifioren,

Please read my edited post above. I ask that you help us with tips and guide - I believe we can all benefit from your wealth of experience. No yawa at all.

Cheers,
J

Jenju,
God bless you my brother.

Here are the steps, if you see a vehicle a you think it's a good deal, just relax and don't make rash decision. Remember, there are always good deals.

First, run a report on the vehicle without the sellers knowledge.
Then ask the seller if the vehicle have a branded title?

If it does and the seller says no, that means the seller is trying to hide something. Leave and look back no more

If the seller says yes, then ask for details and possible pictures

Then you take the car to a dealer for inspection. It might cost you a chunk but it's well worth it. Buying a car is risk taking and buying a branded titled vehicle is even worse.

The good thing is if the dealer backs the vehicle 100%, in case of wahala, you can take it back to them. If the seller itself is a dealer, then ask for some sort of warranty.

This is just a general rule I give people. For those that think salvage title vehicle are just cheap, well think again. And for those that think salvage vehicles are always write off, then you need to go to a salvage auction. Salvage branded vehicles normally don't cost more than 60% of the market value after they are fixed. The problem is that some people just buy these vehicles and they don't fixed them properly. Fixing and selling salvage vehicles is a big time business. One just need a sincere dealer which are rare to find
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by daimler: 7:32pm On Oct 19, 2008
pls coul u help me check this vin JHMCG554XXC013489. THANKS
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 11:35pm On Oct 19, 2008
daimler:

please coul u help me check this vin JHMCG554XXC013489. THANKS

1999 HONDA ACCORD LX
JHMCG554XXC013489
SEDAN 4 DR 2.3L L4 SFI OHV
FRONT WHEEL DRIVE

02/18/1999 12 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Fort Lee, NJ Title issued or updated
First owner reported
Registered as
personal vehicle

Purchased: 2005
Where: New Jersey
Est. length owned: 2/15/05 - 4/6/05
(1 month)

02/15/2005 76,461 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Jersey City, NJ
Title #BA20050460576 Title issued or updated
New owner reported

04/06/2005 139,248 Dealer Inventory Vehicle offered for sale

07/05/2005 139,257 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Jersey City, NJ
Title #BA20051860230 Title issued or updated
Dealer took title of this vehicle
while it was in inventory

Est. length owned: 8/23/05 - 5/2/06
(8 months)

08/23/2005 139,790 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Jersey City, NJ
Title #BA20052350264 Title issued or updated
New owner reported

05/02/2006 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept. TOTAL LOSS VEHICLE
Title or registration issued
to insurance company

05/02/2006 147,552 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Trenton, NJ
Title #V320061220216 SALVAGE TITLE/CERTIFICATE ISSUED

08/28/2006 Vehicle Exporter Vehicle exported from
New York, NY and imported to Nigeria

Was in an accident and seems like you've been using the vehicle for a while because it was exported to Nigeria in 2006. How has it been running?
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by Busybody2(f): 3:44am On Oct 20, 2008
FATHERME:

Owner One Vehicle History
Est. miles/year: 4,745/yr
Est. length owned: 11/15/02 - 1/2/06
(3 years. 1 mo.)
Owner Two Vehicle History
Est. length owned: 3/7/06 - 8/2/07
(1 yr. 4 mo.)
CARFAX began reporting this information on 01/26/2008.
CARFAX Airbag Tips

Owner Three Vehicle History
Purchased: 2007
Est. length owned: 8/2/07 - present
(1 yr. 2 mo.)

08/02/2007      Pennsylvania
Motor Vehicle Dept.
West Mifflin, PA    New owner reported
SALVAGE TITLE/CERTIFICATE ISSUED

jenju:

definition: "The vehicle’s parts have been salvaged for reuse and the remainder of the vehicle has been destroyed or scrapped. This vehicle has been declared a total loss, is not road worthy and should not be titled again for use on the road"

@ Layifioren

Can you consider this anomaly please.

Autocheck's report says the car totalled on 2nd of August 2007 or thereabout and should not be titled to go back on the road again because it is junk . . . yet CARFAX report shows that a third owner in US acquired the vehicle after this date and still had it as at 2nd of October 2008 undecided Obviously, the third owner fixed the car and put it back on the road, because it is preposterous to assume he bought the dismantled car to adulate as spares, with the hope of wishing dead bones would somehow rise again undecided

Autocheck had the car gone, dead and buried as at 08/02/2007, yet CARFAX still had the car listed as up and running a year and 2 months later, Isn't it advantageous if one wanted to do a VIN check to go for the up-to-date CARFAX report?
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by jenju(m): 4:25am On Oct 20, 2008
Busy_body:

@ Layifioren

Can you consider this anomaly please.

Autocheck's report says the car totalled on 2nd of August 2007 or thereabout and should not be titled to go back on the road again because it is junk . . . yet CARFAX report shows that a third owner in US acquired the vehicle after this date and still had it as at 2nd of October 2008 undecided Obviously, the third owner fixed the car and put it back on the road, because it is preposterous to assume he bought the dismantled car to adulate as spares, with the hope of wishing dead bones would somehow rise again undecided

Autocheck had the car gone, dead and buried as at 08/02/2007, yet CARFAX still had the car listed as up and running a year and 2 months later, Isn't it advantageous if one wanted to do a VIN check to go for the up-to-date CARFAX report?

Busy_body,

That was an interesting observation. You suggested that the third owner obviously repaired the car, but I'm not so sure that is accurate. Carfax did not report that the car was registered, inspected or that a rebuilt title was issued after a Salvage title was issued to the third owner. 

My best guess is that whoever imported the car to Nigeria, was this third owner. The said third owner probably patched it up and offered it for sale in Nigeria.

Layifioren may have a better explanation.

Cheers,
J
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 5:02am On Oct 20, 2008
layifioren:

1999 HONDA ACCORD LX
JHMCG554XXC013489
SEDAN 4 DR 2.3L L4 SFI OHV
FRONT WHEEL DRIVE

02/18/1999 12 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Fort Lee, NJ Title issued or updated
First owner reported
Registered as
personal vehicle

Est. length owned: 2/15/05 - 4/6/05
(1 month)

02/15/2005 76,461 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Jersey City, NJ
Title #BA20050460576 Title issued or updated
New owner reported

04/06/2005 139,248 Dealer Inventory Vehicle offered for sale

07/05/2005 139,257 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Jersey City, NJ
Title #BA20051860230 Title issued or updated
Dealer took title of this vehicle
while it was in inventory

Est. length owned: 8/23/05 - 5/2/06
(8 months)

08/23/2005 139,790 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Jersey City, NJ
Title #BA20052350264 Title issued or updated
New owner reported

05/02/2006 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept. TOTAL LOSS VEHICLE
Title or registration issued
to insurance company

05/02/2006 147,552 New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Dept.
Trenton, NJ
Title #V320061220216 SALVAGE TITLE/CERTIFICATE ISSUED

08/28/2006 Vehicle Exporter Vehicle exported from
New York, NY and imported to Nigeria

Was in an accident and seems like you've been using the vehicle for a while because it was exported to Nigeria in 2006. How has it been running?

I believe Jenju is right. Like I said earlier, junk means salvage in some states. According to carfax this vehicle is still road worthy if properly fixed. I really don't care much for autocheck anylonger because they tend to be more confusing. Cheers
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by Busybody2(f): 5:04am On Oct 20, 2008
jenju:

Busy_body,

That was an interesting observation. You suggested that the third owner obviously repaired the car, but I'm not so sure that is accurate. Carfax did not report that the car was registered, inspected or that a rebuilt title was issued after a Salvage title was issued to the third owner.

My best guess is that whoever imported the car to Nigeria, was this third owner. The said third owner probably patched it up and offered it for sale in Nigeria.

Layifioren may have a better explanation.

Cheers,
J

The confusing part is that the carfax report was not explicit enough in describing what sort of certificate was issued affter 08/02/2007 undecided

Autocheck said the car is a no go area after 08/02/2007 and the case was closed, a year and 2 months later, carfax is showing the car had an owner in the states. What I can't get my head round is that, what chance does a prospective buyer have of knowing whether the car is still in one piece and who does the person turn to if neither autocheck nor carfax can deliver undecided

If a car has been deemed not fit for purpose and is only good for scrap, is it possible to fix it in the US, without the knowledge of Carfax? Could this possibly be what happened in this case?
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by jenju(m): 5:27am On Oct 20, 2008
Busy_body:

The confusing part is that the carfax report was not explicit enough in describing what sort of certificate was issued affter 08/02/2007 undecided

Autocheck said the car is a no go area after 08/02/2007 and the case was closed, a year and 2 months later, carfax is showing the car had an owner in the states. What I can't get my head round is that, what chance does a prospective buyer have of knowing whether the car is still in one piece and who does the person turn to if neither autocheck nor carfax can deliver undecided

If a car has been deemed not fit for purpose and is only good for scrap, is it possible to fix it in the US, without the knowledge of Carfax? Could this possibly be what happened in this case?

Busy_body,

You asked very good questions.

What I can't get my head round is that, what chance does a prospective buyer have of knowing whether the car is still in one piece and who does the person turn to if neither autocheck nor carfax can deliver

If the car was ever fixed and put back on the road, there would have been an entry on Carfax for state inspection, or rebuilt title. In this case, none of those were posted. At the end of the day, we use whatever info we can find in carfax or autocheck, and more importantly, do our own independent verification to make sure that what we are buying is not a potential lemon.

I doubt that the car could have been fixed and back on the road without an entry in carfax. The exception is - the car was fixed, and then exported to Nigeria before it was ever registered or assigned a rebuilt title. Another explanation maybe that the car was actually repaired in Nigeria. In either case, the buyer is well advised to have a trusted professional verify the structural integrity of the car.

Cheers,
J
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by Busybody2(f): 5:47am On Oct 20, 2008
jenju:

Busy_body,

You asked very good questions.

If the car was ever fixed and put back on the road, there would have been an entry on Carfax for state inspection, or rebuilt title. In this case, none of those were posted. At the end of the day, we use whatever info we can find in carfax or autocheck, and more importantly, do our own independent verification to make sure that what we are buying is not a potential lemon.

I doubt that the car could have been fixed and back on the road without an entry in carfax. The exception is - the car was fixed, and then exported to Nigeria before it was ever registered or assigned a rebuilt title. Another explanation maybe that the car was actually repaired in Nigeria. In either case, the buyer is well advised to have a trusted professional verify the structural integrity of the car.

Cheers,
J

Thanks for taking time out to respond. All I know is that if I request and pay for a carfax report and it comes back with Salvage Title/Certificate Issued, without actually stipulating whether it was a rebuilt certificate or a certificate of destruction that was issued, katakata go burst cool
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by Ivvie: 6:05pm On Oct 21, 2008
`
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by jenju(m): 6:10pm On Oct 21, 2008
Ivvie:

You are to consider AutoCheck over Carfax. AutoCheck is Texas DPS' meant for non-governmental use. Carfax is independently owned.

Salvage, Junk and Rebuilt are all the same. The VIN to the vehicle is dead. It has been stated as End Of Life. Why is it still on the road?

There is nothing on earth to justify a car that has been salvaged. To verify structural integrity of a vehicle is impossible without the right lab tests. Is is very expensive as well. The frame for instance when compromised (even perturbation) will require annealing to restore it to its original strength to weight ratio after straightening. This isn't something you find in a garage or the back of your home. It's a big loss buying or owning something that has been worked on. You cannot get rid of it at its book value without being dishonest.

Most of those salvage vehicles come with too much baggage. That's why, as a general rule/preference, I stay away from them. I never buy them, or resell them.
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 7:04pm On Oct 21, 2008
Ivvie:

You are to consider AutoCheck over Carfax. AutoCheck is Texas DPS' meant for non-governmental use. Carfax is independently owned.

Salvage, Junk and Rebuilt are all the same. The VIN to the vehicle is dead. It has been stated as End Of Life. Why is it still on the road?

There is nothing on earth to justify a car that has been salvaged. To verify structural integrity of a vehicle is impossible without the right lab tests. Is is very expensive as well. The frame for instance when compromised (even perturbation) will require annealing to restore it to its original strength to weight ratio after straightening. This isn't something you find in a garage or the back of your home. It's a big loss buying or owning something that has been worked on. You cannot get rid of it at its book value without being dishonest.

Please show me how the "VIN is dead", "stated end of life" and not supposed to be on the road?
We've been down this road before. Everyone has their choice but don't make it like salvage vehicles are some horrible vehicles and no one in their right mind buys or sells rebuilt titled vehicles at market value. Structural integrity! Do you own a body shop? Like I said, your opinion is fine but don't bad mouth rebuilt title vehicles as if they are no good. If you had a bad experience that's understandable. Go ask those that own or know about auto body shops (like me) and they'll tell you things you never knew including all those so called clean vehicles that has been in the body shops but not shown in the famous Carfax and Autocheck. Enjoy amigos
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by gamechange(m): 8:34pm On Oct 21, 2008
Thanks all, this is enlightening.
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 11:49pm On Oct 21, 2008
Oh one more thing. It's hard to distinct when a vehicle is issued salvage because of accident or theft. i order words, it won't specify. In some cases that I've seen, the last thing it shows is salvage title issued and they were theft recovery. Normally, the insurance company issues salvage title to the vehicle if it has been stolen for 30 days or more regardless of the level of vandalism. So if all you see as the last thing is salvage title issued then it could be a theft recovery (talking in the case of cars in Nigeria). If in the US then the car would have to go through inspection again before being issued rebuilt which will then show in the reports. Ok, I have to stop. Too much of this vehicle and report thing in my head!
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by Ivvie: 3:44am On Oct 22, 2008
`
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 5:41am On Oct 22, 2008
Ivvie,
Well, you are as wrong as wrong comes. You stated yourself that Junk is same as Salvage and Rebuilt but then you say the VIN is dead. Salvage and junk mean the same sometimes but they don't ever mean rebuilt. Maybe you don't really understand what these terms mean and goodness gracious how does a VIN die? Please tell me where I said salvage is better than a non-salvaged one. Please show me where I proved that. You come up with all these stupid metallurgical jargon that just doesn't rhyme. How about you know what you're talking about before you start talking about all these your "unibody" and "structural" nonsense. Read and understand what people are saying before you just start pounding away on your lifeless keyboard.

N.B: People opt for salvaged vehicles because people like you won't use them and they know they'll get it cheaper. One man's thrash is another man's treasure cheesy grin wink smiley
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by igwe11(m): 7:21am On Oct 22, 2008
My understanding here is that both salvage and clean cars could be useful to us but the questions are:-
1. Do we use them where they are supposed to be used?
2. Do we rebuild them to use ourselves or to sell to others to use?
3  Does the person buying such car know the history surround his car?
4. Is the price worth it, if that's the case the buyer must know in order not to cause confusion out there with one of clean title?

To those that  say that Vin may not facilitate the sell of their vehicle if made known on this site, this is lie unless you want to sell the car beyond its value , i know some Nigerian accident cars that are sold in the market today either for spare parts use or God knows any other reason depends on the level of the impacts.

In conclusion, everybody wants to get the best deal but no body wants to die young. i Will rather prefer to see the original picture of that salvaged car before the repair was effected.

I know some faulty cars will take close the price  of brand new to comeback to normal b/4 they were given the salvage/junk title but the seller never effects the 100% repair in hungry of profit. Let the repair once in us be backed up with rebuilt title and while i advice any buyer not to go for the once done in this country unless you 're a witness to the repair.

when the problem starts the seller must give you 110 possible causes  to vindicate (him/her)self.
and you 're to believe .
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by layifioren(m): 8:07am On Oct 22, 2008
igwe 1:

My understanding here is that both salvage and clean cars could be useful to us but the questions are:-
1. Do we use them where they are supposed to be used?
2. Do we rebuild them to use ourselves or to sell to others to use?
3 Does the person buying such car know the history surround his car?
4. Is the price worth it, if that's the case the buyer must know in order not to cause confusion out there with one of clean title?

To those that say that Vin may not facilitate the sell of their vehicle if made known on this site, this is lie unless you want to sell the car beyond its value , i know some Nigerian accident cars that are sold in the market today either for spare parts use or God knows any other reason depends on the level of the impacts.

In conclusion, everybody wants to get the best deal but no body wants to die young. i Will rather prefer to see the original picture of that salvaged car before the repair was effected.

I know some faulty cars will take close the price of brand new to comeback to normal b/4 they were given the salvage/junk title but the seller never effects the 100% repair in hungry of profit. Let the repair once in us be backed up with rebuilt title and while i advice any buyer not to go for the once done in this country unless you 're a witness to the repair.

when the problem starts the seller must give you 110 possible causes to vindicate (him/her)self.
and you 're to believe .

Sincerely, you make alot of sense to me. The essense of people pursuing salvage title vehicle is for the fact that they are cheaper. I'll give you some links educate people. Salvage titled vehicle are not just write off. If a vehicle is deemed to be unsafe even with repair (same as wrecked beyond repair), they issue them certificate of destruction. People please visit these links, read about these vehicles listed and make any and very comments you have

[url]http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cars-Trucks___Infinity-G35-S-2007-Salvage-Rebuildable-No-Title-G35S_W0QQitemZ260299903276QQddnZCarsQ20Q26Q20TrucksQQddiZ2282QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item260299903276&_trkparms=39%3A1%7C65%3A1%7C240%3A1318&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245[/url]

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=220292264740

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=280278981783

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280269362238
Re: Impacts Of Salvaged Cars To Human by igwe11(m): 8:59am On Oct 22, 2008
Exactly what we are talking about but for naija, they will hide the history and keep buyer in doubt.

See how this dealer presents the case here:-

[b]2007 INFINITY G35S

VIN: JNKBV61EX7M718955 

Inspection: Inspected

Warranty: Unspecified

Vehicle title: Salvage

Condition: Used

3.5L V6 Engine, 6 Speed Manual Transmission, Navigation, Integrated Bluetooth Phone, Push Button Start, Automatic H.I.D Headlamps, Power Door Locks, Dual Folding Power Mirrors, Power Windows, Power Steering, Rear Defroster, Courtesy Lights, Active Cruise Control, Digital Information Center, Vanity Mirror, Cup Holders, Floor Mats, Power Tilt And Telescoping Steering Wheel, Dual Zone Front Climate Control, Auto-Dimming Rear-View Mirror, Front and Rear Center Arm Rest, Clock, Compass and Outside Temperature Guage, Black Heated Leather Reclining Bucket Seats, 2 Driver Memories, Bose AM/FM/Compact Flash MP3/Satellite Ready/CD Changer Stereo, Steering Wheel Controls for the Stereo, 3 Button Homelink, Interval Wipers, Keyless Entry, Security System, Leather Steering Wheel, Tinted Glass, 18" Alloy Wheels And New Michelin Pilot Sport Tires ($1200), 3 Point Rear Seat Belts, 4 Wheel Disc Brakes, Anti-Lock Brakes, Traction Control, Automatic Seat Belts, Child Proof Door Locks, Drivers and Passenger Airbag And Side Airbag. 2 Remotes And Keys, This is a Extremely Nice Infinity It Runs And Drives Perfect!

This car was lightly wrecked and State Farm bought the customer a brand new one since this one was purchased new within 12 months. For some reason they canceled the GA title and wrote it off. We bought it after the car was repaired by the Infinity dealership. I cannot even tell where it was wrecked. It would require for you to obtain a bonded title in your state. This will save your thousands on an almost perfect car!  This car books out for almost $30,000 with only 13 k miles. We have had the car inspected and  serviced, can't even find a scratch on it, it is that nice![/b]

That's how to advertise on internet.

This Abandoned Toyota Avalon XX30 Might Have Been Stolen / Allowing This.... To Fail, Would Cause You A Fortune / Pls Help: Car Engine Turns Off And Dies When Car Is Put In Drive Or Reverse.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 135