Stats: 3,148,891 members, 7,802,871 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 12:22 AM

Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo (10049 Views)

Ijebu Monarch Funso Omo–Ogunkoya Is Dead / Names Of Animal In Efik/ibibio / Celebrating Egbe Omo Yoruba (2) (3) (4)

Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by macof(m): 9:08pm On Aug 29, 2014
Benin City is a reserve of rich traditions and high reverence for the traditional monarch (Oba of Benin), who once led a powerful Empire.
One of such traditions is the habit of
addressing the Oba of Benin by various
appellations instead of his actual names as sign of deep respect and awe. It is no wonder, therefore, that the Oba of Benin
is known by several appellations.

Such appellations are:
Ovbi' Umogun Oza
The Child of the Oba whose mother hailed from Oza

Ovbi' Ekpen N' Owa

The son of the home leopard

Ovbi' Adimila

The son of Adimila

Ikeji Orisa

Second in command to the gods

Agbaghe, N'Ovbi Olokun

Olokun's son, the cynosure of all mortals

Abieyuwa N'Ovbi Odua N'uhe

The son of the wealthy Odua of Uhe(Ife).

Ovbi' Ada, Ovbi' Eben

The child of the owner of the Ada =
scimitar and Eben = royal sword, Edo
symbol of sovereignty.

Ovbi'Ekenekene ma deyo

The son of beauty that never fades.

Ovbi'Ekuaho N'Olo, Ovbi'Ekuabo N'Olo

The son of the rocky arm, the brave and
powerful

Ovbie Ikpinhianbo kpuru no Gb'oduma

The son of the short fingered man that
was still able to kill a lion

Nohien utete no gh'ughe s'omwan

The king on a hill, who sees more than
everybody

Ovbi'Oghonwan nei bun aro

The son of the fearless, who looks
without twinkling his eyes

Ovbi'ode, ode n'ohan ren mu' ete

The son of the warrior whose enemies
got frightened at the announcement of
the approach

Uku Akpolokpolo

The mighty that rules

Ovbi' Adolo no dolo uwa dolo utomwen/b]
The son of the wise judge and peace
maker who combined wisdom and
wealth with long life
[b]
Ovbi' oven owie no gbaisi

The son of the morning sun that covers
everywhere

Ovbi' Akpogunla, ogie no y'igho b'owa

The child of the womb of Akpogunla - the
warrior who fought big wars and built a
house of cowries

Oba n'osa

A king that is god

Ovbi' otolo n'olomi; Ologberonmwon nei rie iruen, ebo, ayemwinre eminiminimini

The son of the water controller, the son
of beauty itself, the starter of things and
the person whose reign saw people with
many tongues

These appellation are in cognissance of
the greatness of the Omo n'oba ne edo,
the Oba of Benin.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by crisycent: 10:45pm On Aug 29, 2014
Oba gha tor kpere

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by bigfrancis21: 12:02am On Aug 30, 2014
crisycent: Oba gha tor kpere

Oba gha tor kpere!

Ise!

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by fluteman: 5:33pm On Sep 02, 2014
macof:

Ovbi' Adimila

The son of Adimila

Ikeji Orisa

Agbaghe, N'Ovbi Olokun

Ovbi' Ada, Ovbi' Eben

The son of the water .
This is proof that bini kingdom is an offshoot of the Yorubas. Also, this "oriki" shows that Odua was Originally from Ife, as it confirms the bini monarch as a son to Odua of Ife

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by AreaFada2: 8:37am On Jul 31, 2020
macof:
Benin City is a reserve of rich traditions and high reverence for the traditional monarch (Oba of Benin), who once led a powerful Empire.
appellations instead of his actual names as sign of deep respect and awe. It is no wonder, therefore, that the Oba of Benin

Such appellations are:
Ovbi' Umogun Oza

Ovbi' Ekpen N' Owa

Ovbi' Adimila

The son of Adimila

Ikeji Orisa

Agbaghe, N'Ovbi Olokun

Ovbi' Ada, Ovbi' Eben

symbol of sovereignty.

Ovbi'Ekenekene ma deyo

powerful

everybody

the approach

Uku Akpolokpolo

The mighty that rules

wealth with long life
[b]

everywhere

house of cowries

Oba n'osa

A king that is god

many tongues

the Oba of Benin.
E
Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 3:29pm On Jul 31, 2020
fluteman:

This is proof that bini kingdom is an offshoot of the Yorubas. Also, this "oriki" shows that Odua was Originally from Ife, as it confirms the bini monarch as a son to Odua of Ife

Can you prove it
Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 3:29pm On Jul 31, 2020
macof:

Such appellations are:
Ovbi' Umogun Oza

Ovbi' Ekpen N' Owa

Ovbi' Adimila

The son of Adimila

Ikeji Orisa

Agbaghe, N'Ovbi Olokun

Ovbi' Ada, Ovbi' Eben

symbol of sovereignty.

Ovbi'Ekenekene ma deyo

powerful

everybody

the approach

Uku Akpolokpolo

The mighty that rules

wealth with long life
[b]

everywhere

house of cowries

Oba n'osa

A king that is god

many tongues

the Oba of Benin.

Can you prove our oba is yoruba
Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by macof(m): 4:20pm On Jul 31, 2020
gregyboy:

Can you prove our oba is yoruba
Where did I mention that in the post you are replying to?
Anyway I don't need to answer your question
You yourself know the origin of your oba. So come off it

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by googi: 4:58pm On Jul 31, 2020
gregyboy:

Can you prove it

Show proof that the appellation or ORIKI is wrong.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by RedboneSmith(m): 5:18pm On Jul 31, 2020
macof:

Such appellations are:
Ovbi' Umogun Oza

Ovbi' Ekpen N' Owa

Ovbi' Adimila

The son of Adimila

Ikeji Orisa

Agbaghe, N'Ovbi Olokun

Ovbi' Ada, Ovbi' Eben

symbol of sovereignty.

Ovbi'Ekenekene ma deyo

powerful

everybody

the approach

Uku Akpolokpolo

The mighty that rules

wealth with long life
[b]

everywhere

house of cowries

Oba n'osa

A king that is god

many tongues

the Oba of Benin.

Which Oba's mother hailed from Oza? And would that be Oza-Aibokunla in Edo State or Oza-Nogogo in Delta State?

I know both Ozas are related, but I want to know if someone knows which side specifically in Oza this Oba's mother (who I suspect is Ewuare) hailed from.
Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 5:37pm On Jul 31, 2020
macof:

Where did I mention that in the post you are replying to?
Anyway I don't need to answer your question
You yourself know the origin of your oba. So come off it

Stop fooling yourself the story of benin-ife emerged after 1914 except you want to prove me wrong with proved dating from 15c to 1913

If you cant shut your trap oba has been the title of benin
The title ogiso is a mystical tales told by the benins to make their royalty divine there was never an ogiso... But oba

That is the kinglist taking by Roupell's 1899 a year after benin was invaded the king list never included oromiyan neither did Roupell's mentioned it in his book, after 1930s talbot took is own kinglist and included oromiyan, esekhure took is kinglist and absconded oromiyan

Bro our king never came ife stop priding your self
Ill gotten history

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 5:44pm On Jul 31, 2020
fluteman:

You're mad man which oba is yoruba are you high

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by davidnazee: 2:00am On Aug 01, 2020
googi:

Show proof that the appellation or ORIKI is wrong.

What is Oriki? we dont have that word in Edo language.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 7:29am On Aug 01, 2020
davidnazee:

What is Oriki? we dont have that word in Edo language.

This guy's arr insane they have not one day open a benin history book to read, all they have read is the benin-ife shit that emerged after 1914,

I dont even known the meaning of oriki is talking about

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by Nobody: 5:51pm On Aug 01, 2020
bini na yoruba abeg.
no difference between the two.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 10:10pm On Aug 01, 2020
MelesZenawi:
bini na yoruba abeg.

no difference between the two.

Yunji is this one of the northern parading as igbo
Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 10:26pm On Aug 01, 2020
macof:

Such appellations are:
Ovbi' Umogun Oza

Ovbi' Ekpen N' Owa

[s]Ovbi' Adimila

The son of Adimila
Ikeji Orisa

Agbaghe, N'Ovbi Olokun

Ovbi' Ada, Ovbi' Eben

symbol of sovereignty.

Ovbi'Ekenekene ma deyo

powerful

everybody

the approach

Uku Akpolokpolo

The mighty that rules

wealth with long life
[b]

everywhere

house of cowries

Oba n'osa

A king that is god

many tongues

the Oba of Benin.

Why is a Yoruba coward posting the praise name
Of the oba of benin there must be foul play here .....
Lol.... Yoruba just want to attach themselves to us by force, a tribe of 40millions are still begging to attach themselves with a 2 million tribe
The irony of life angry
One would think after we sacrifice their ancestors to appease our gods we would have been asworn enemy in modern times,and even next life

Abeg to disgrace you further please post the link of the article's lets everyone see if the stroked was really there initially or you added them and lets verify if its a Yoruba man that wrote the article tok

Nowere is the stroked use to praise the oba in benin

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by Nobody: 8:18am On Aug 02, 2020
gregyboy:

Yunji is this one of the northern parading as igbo

I hate liars.
even the current NBA president Olumide akpata is from edo state.

Abeg edos are just yorubas....both are linked heavily.
you answer names and still tell us an utopian story of been different..
congrats olumide.
all na win win for future oodua republic

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by laiperi: 3:24pm On Aug 02, 2020
Greyboy,

Why are you so bent on denying the obvious with illogical arguments and ursupation of Yoruba culture as yours e.g recently Itsekiri Ile-Ibinu, Ogboni, Okun or Oba?

This is too glaring. Unless you are not a real Bini, Edo form of Osu or outright slave of Oba.

Your denials and formation are too obsessive to be persuasive.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 3:57pm On Aug 02, 2020
MelesZenawi:

I hate liars.

even the current NBA president Olumide akpata is from edo state.

Abeg edos are just yorubas....both are linked heavily.

you answer names and still tell us an utopian story of been different..

congrats olumide.

all na win win for future oodua republic

Lol, you seem not to know history dont talk about benin history because you know nothing of it, so some igbos that have both benin and igbo name's what would you say benin are igbos

I see your Osagyfo98...... You came with your other account, if u pick a benin history to read you wont be making such mumuish statement

You're a Northern we will lumb yorubas to you when we finally pull out

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by laiperi: 9:58pm On Aug 02, 2020
Another Edo Yoruba named Emanuel Agbaje.

I guess Agbaje is another Edo name stlen by Yoruba grin

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by gregyboy(m): 11:41pm On Aug 02, 2020
laiperi:
Greyboy,

Why are you so bent on denying the obvious with illogical arguments and ursupation of Yoruba culture as yours e.g recently Itsekiri Ile-Ibinu, Ogboni, Okun or Oba?

This is too glaring. Unless you are not a real Bini, Edo form of Osu or outright slave of Oba.

Your denials and formation are too obsessive to be persuasive.

Am different from you, because i relearn everyday what i had previously learnt before,
But you, you're so afraid to relearn and accept truth dont worry i will bring the evidence to you alk soon

No one had argued the false benin-ife narrative than me, before now, but it was not aways adding up instead of attacking me Pick a benin history and research on it,

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by Emilokoiyawon: 4:06am On Aug 05, 2020
MelesZenawi:
bini na yoruba abeg. no difference between the two.

Bini royalty is 100% birthed by Ife. Even the Oba knows it. Anyone that argues otherwise is under the curse of the Oba. cheesy
Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by fluteman: 11:07pm On Aug 05, 2020
gregyboy:

You're mad man which oba is yoruba are you high

You are a very stupid boy. learn how to respect your superior .......access to a cheap phone is no reason to be mannerless

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by macof(m): 1:21pm On Aug 06, 2020
gregyboy:

Stop fooling yourself the story of benin-ife emerged after 1914 except you want to prove me wrong with proved dating from 15c to 1913

The title ogiso is a mystical tales told by the benins to make their royalty divine there was never an ogiso... But oba

That is the kinglist taking by Roupell's 1899 a year after benin was invaded the king list never included oromiyan neither did Roupell's mentioned it in his book, after 1930s talbot took is own kinglist and included oromiyan, esekhure took is kinglist and absconded oromiyan

Ill gotten history

grin grin grin grin grin grin grin Since the whole "Ekaladeran is oduduwa" or "oduduwa is a Bini Prince" isn't catching on anymore, the new political history and revisionism is that the Ọmọnọba is not even connected to oduduwa at all grin

Funny miscreants

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by Edeyoung: 4:15pm On Aug 06, 2020
macof:

grin grin grin grin grin grin grin Since the whole "Ekaladeran is oduduwa" or "oduduwa is a Bini Prince" isn't catching on anymore, the new political history and revisionism is that the Ọmọnọba is not even connected to oduduwa at all grin

Funny miscreants

Lol, boy the research is an open research as stated by gregyboy, you should bring proves to counter him and not cheap talks

The question is how deep do you know both history or are you afraid to relearn history or accept truth,

Counter gregyboy with viable documents ascertain there was a connection as stated by historians,

The benin are tired of carrying yoruba since history times we conquered your ancestors is time we drop the load and face realities

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by TAO12: 3:54pm On Aug 07, 2020
gregyboy:

Ill gotten history
Shut your stinking lying mouth, @gregyboy aka @Edeyoung

I wonder where your rotten brain got 1914 from when Roupell himself who collected the data from Benin in 1897 stated clearly that the first Oba of Benin (Eweka1) is a Yoruba man from Ife.

Moreso, this specific data was already published as at 1903 by H. Ling Roth in his “Great Benin: Its Customs, Art and Horrors, F. King & Sons Ltd., 1903, p.7.

cc: macof, fluteman, Emilokoiyawon, laiperi, MelesZenawi, googi, RedboneSmith

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by Edeyoung: 6:54pm On Aug 07, 2020
TAO12:
Shut your stinking lying mouth, @gregyboy aka @Edeyoung

I wonder where your rotten brain got 1914 from when Roupell himself who collected the data from Benin in 1897 stated clearly that [b]the first Oba of Benin (Eweka1) is a Yoruba man from Ife
Moreso, this specific data was already published as at 1903 by H. Ling Roth in his “Great Benin: Its Customs, Art and Horrors, F. King & Sons Ltd., 1903, [b]p.7.
[/b]
cc: macof, fluteman, Emilokoiyawon, laiperi, MelesZenawi, googi, RedboneSmith

Can you make ths evidence to those claims available

I longef for you because you bring something new but you resumed with nothing but empty brain full of lies

You think am here, to be edo-centric, if you're yoruba centric, you aint impressing me

TAO11 go back and do a better research buy the books if needed to prove your point

I have other thread to see, dont waste my tine

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by TAO12: 7:43pm On Aug 07, 2020
Edeyoung:
Can you make ths evidence to those claims available

I longef for you because you bring something new but you resumed with nothing but empty brain full of lies

You think am here, to be edo-centric, if you're yoruba centric, you aint impressing me

TAO11 go back and do a better research buy the books if needed to prove your point

I have other thread to see, dont waste my tine
Don’t be dumb gregyboy, aka Edeyoung.

The evidence was provided at the very instant I substantiated the statement with its reference. I am not sure you realize what burden of proof is.

H. Ling Roth, Great Benin, Its Customs, Art and Horrors, F. King & Sons Ltd., 1903, p.7.

The book is available free in digital form online. I also have a copy.

In case you’re wondering, I didn’t give birth to you. So stop feeling entitled that I must provide you with books.

Although I may choose to assist you and your parents, it’s you and your parents’ responsibility — not mine — to provide you with books.

My burden of proof is to substantiate any claim I make with the relevant statements and their appropriate references. And I have done exactly that.

It then becomes your burden, and not mine, to check up the material and cry bitterly at your regular corner; or return here to prove that the material does not contain what I have attributed to it.
Furthermore, my comments are not directed at you per se. So stop getting too excited, you’re actually a nobody. grin

My comments are intended to expose you to everyone as the blind, sad, desperate, insecure, bigoted, lying Bini propagandist that you are.

My comments are intended to allow sane readers follow-up on the referenced materials so as to acquaint themselves with historical information.

cc: macof, fluteman, Emilokoiyawon, laiperi, MelesZenawi, googi, RedboneSmith.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by Kirigidi(m): 3:47pm On Aug 09, 2020
gregyboy:

Ill gotten history
Please stop that! The Ogiso Dynasty was very real. I am Urhobo and our migration history is centered around the Ogiso era and not the Oba Dynasty. Urhobo-Isoko history tells of migration of our ancestors from ancient Udo when it was under the Ogiso Dynasty. The Binis may have lost records of the Ogiso period, but the story of the Ogisos is still very strong in Urhobo-Isoko folklores and ancient stories. Infact, we are more familiar with the Ogiso story than with that of the Oba, because much of Urhobo-Isoko ancestors have left (due to the crises that followed the collapse of the Ogiso Dynasty) before the emergence of the Oba Dynasty. Up to date, there is more mention of ancient "Udo" town (which was the capital the kingdom ruled by the Ogisos known as Aka kingdom) than "Benin" in Urhobo-Isoko folklores because as at the time our ancestors migrated to our present locations the name "Benin" has not come into use.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by TAO12: 4:37pm On Aug 09, 2020
Kirigidi:
Please stop that! The Ogiso Dynasty was very real. I am Urhobo and our migration history is centered around the Ogiso era and not the Oba Dynasty. Urhobo-Isoko history tells of migration of our ancestors from ancient Udo when it was under the Ogiso Dynasty. The Binis may have lost records of the Ogiso period, but the story of the Ogisos is still very strong in Urhobo-Isoko folklores and ancient stories. Infact, we are more familiar with the Ogiso story than with that of the Oba, because much of Urhobo-Isoko ancestors have left (due to the crises that followed the collapse of the Ogiso Dynasty) before the emergence of the Oba Dynasty. Up to date, there is more mention of ancient "Udo" town (which was the capital the kingdom ruled by the Ogisos known as Aka kingdom) than "Benin" in Urhobo-Isoko folklores because as at the time our ancestors migrated to our present locations the name "Benin" has not come into use.
@Kirigidi: Please note that the comment of the guy whom you just quoted is a manifestation of his internal troubles, viz. cognitive dissonance.

The only reason he has chosen to delude himself to this extent is so that he can avoid the next obvious truth — which is the fact that a foreign monarchy from Yorubaland (i.e. the ‘Oba’ monarchy) came at some point in history to supplant his indigenous Edo monarchy (i.e. the ‘Ogiso’ monarchy).

He is deluded, brace yourself.

Re: Praise Names Of Omo N'oba N'edo by ralphorb(m): 2:28pm On Oct 15, 2022
fluteman:

I’m happy you noticed all the eulogy. Even Omo is Yoruba language, which means a child. Child is called Ovbi in Benin language

Why Do Yorubas Classify Every Other Nigerians As Igbo / We The Ikwerre Are Igbos By Ikechukwu A. Ogu(interesting Write Up) / LASG Announces Saturday, May 2nd 2015 As New Date For Lagos Carnival

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 130