Stats: 3,148,847 members, 7,802,710 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 07:39 PM

Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo (2284 Views)

Osinbajo To Lead FG Fact-finding Team To Tompolo’s Home Base, Other N’delta Area / Niger Delta Avengers' Letter To Tompolo / Letter From A Niger-Deltan to Tompolo (2) (3) (4)

Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 10:13am On Jan 21, 2015
http://www.osundefender.org/?p=207518

Two Britons Arrested over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold to Tompolo

A. K. A Tampolo

Davidson Iriekpen with agency report With the dust yet to settle over the procurement of seven gunboats by a private security firm belonging to ex-Niger Delta militant, Government Ekpemuplo, aka Tompolo, purportedly for the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), it has emerged that two British businessmen have been arrested on suspicion of bribing a Norwegian official alleged to have been involved in the controversial sale of the former naval vessels.
[b]According to the London-based Independent newspaper, a joint investigation by the City of London’s Overseas Anti-Corruption Unit (OACU) and their counterparts in Norway, Okokrim, examined how the former warships, including missile-torpedo boats (MTBs), ended up under the control of a former Niger Delta militant who now runs privatised national security contracts worth millions of dollars that have been authorised by the Nigerian president, Goodluck Jonathan.
Detectives from the OACU arrested a man in his early 40s at his home in Alfreton, Derbyshire, and a man in his late 50s at an address in East Molesey, Surrey.
The two are alleged to have made payments to a Norwegian civil servant totalling more than $150,000.
The money, in two separate transactions, is alleged to have been paid directly into the official’s personal bank account.
The cash is alleged to have helped secure the sale of the decommissioned Norwegian Navy ships by disguising the eventual destination of the warships.[/b]
Under Norway’s ethical foreign policy rules, the direct sale of the decommissioned warships to a private Nigerian company regarded as effectively running the country’s outsourced national coast guard, could have proved difficult.
With a general election in Nigeria scheduled for February, both the Norwegian Ministry of Defence and the country’s foreign affairs departments in Oslo, were likely to have asked for a lengthy political assessment of the export deal if the destination of the vessels had been fully known.
It is understood that the Norwegian authorities assumed their former naval MTBs, post-sale, would be converted to unarmed vessels and operate under European laws.

In addition to the two arrests in England, a business address in Surrey was also searched by the OACU with computer equipment and documents seized.
The UK police have not named the company involved, stating only that it was involved in “international risk management for the maritime industry”.
However authorities in Norway have said the arrested men are connected to a UK firm called CAS Global, which is headquartered in Walton-on-Thames, Surrey.
The firm described itself as specialising in “maritime services”.
CAS also has registered offices in Nigeria’s largest city, Lagos, in Tema in Ghana, and in Sierra Leone’s capital, Freetown.
Police in Norway have arrested a third man in Tonsberg on the country’s south west coast.
DCI Danny Medlycott, head of the OACU, said the operation was a “great example” of how his unit was working closely with other international enforcement partners “to combat bribery and corruption.”
Although the OACU have been involved in 150 corruption and bribery operations since it was established in 2006, its most high-profile success is Operation Cent, which resulted in the convictions of those involved in producing and selling fake “substance detectors”.
The “useless” devices, which had a £3m annual turnover, were sold around the world and marketed as capable of finding explosives.
The trial judge said the scam investigated by the OACU had “damaged the reputation of British trade abroad”.
The former Norwegian missile torpedo boats are now part of a private fleet under the control of Tompolo.
He was a militia leader in the 2009 Niger Delta insurgency that fought the Nigerian army and destroyed oil installations in widespread protests against corruption and mismanagement in the region’s high-value oil industry.
Since the uprising and following Jonathan’s first election victory in 2011, Tompolo’s security firm, Global West Vessels Specialist (GWVS), has won lucrative state contracts that have been criticised in some quarters as undermining the authority of the Nigerian Navy.
Okokrim – Norway’s National Authority for Investigation and Prosecution of Economic and Environmental Crime – were tasked with investigating how the sale of the vessels was fast-tracked to a UK-registered company but ended up in the fleet owned by Tompolo, who is a close political ally of the Nigerian president.
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 10:19am On Jan 21, 2015
Shades of the South-Africa "arms purchase" mess involving the FG and Oritsejafor. A rogue government that always acts in a rogue way to disguise its rogue intentions. How can any sensible Nigerian be contemplating voting for a Government that acts like a criminal mafia gang always?

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by alberto2k(m): 10:21am On Jan 21, 2015
FTC

Incase
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Howmon: 10:22am On Jan 21, 2015
When I ask for source I ain't talking Osun defender, it's like asking for sauce and some1 brings you a bicycle pedal!!!

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by alberto2k(m): 10:23am On Jan 21, 2015
Gbawe:
Shades of the South-Africa "arms purchase" mess involving the FG and Oritsejafor. A rogue government that always acts in a rogue way to disguise its rogue intentions. How can any sensible Nigerian be contemplating voting for a Government that acts like a criminal mafia gang always?

Bro, u create thread con be FTC again?

Nawa o
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Nobody: 10:27am On Jan 21, 2015
Howmon:
When I ask for source I ain't talking Osun defender, it's like asking for sauce and some1 brings you a bicycle pedal!!!
http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/two-britons-arrested-over-bribe-involving-gunboats-sold-to-tompolo/199755/

That's another source... Osudefender may have uplifted from this day

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 10:30am On Jan 21, 2015
Howmon:

Is thisdaylive.com a good enough source for you? Osun defender was only quoting others . Can you now pass your comment related to the substantive point of discussion? Failure to do this will confirm you are a TANdroid mischief-maker looking to jump to the automatic defence of GEJ through use of the tired modus operandi of trying to discredit the source of the news rather than tackle the message.

http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/two-britons-arrested-over-bribe-involving-gunboats-sold-to-tompolo/199755/

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by BRAV0O(m): 10:32am On Jan 21, 2015
See ? Lot of sh!!t happen like no other under gej , I don't no what they take us for , can u imagine

Pls who is tompolo ?

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Alphaoscar: 10:33am On Jan 21, 2015
Ghenghen!! Alarm blow finnaly.
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by egift(m): 10:38am On Jan 21, 2015
This administration dwell in corrupt practices.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 10:39am On Jan 21, 2015
Nigeria may be steeped in illegality and the worship of 'untouchables' who abet the government of the day but these two Brits are in serious trouble. They will reveal all they know which will come out eventually. Ibori can testify to this. There will now be many 'associates'of GEJ the British investigative authorities will be watching and monitoring tenaciously.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by doctokwus: 10:39am On Jan 21, 2015
There seemed to be a systematic plan by the GEJ govt to degrade and ultimately incacipate all arms of the military and to form an ethnic militia.
The failings of the nig military in the north east and the arming of tompolo and his band of thugs learnt credence to the theory of incapacitating the military;the disgraceful show by general olukolade in his press conference yesterday confirmed the degrading and ultimately the disgrace the nig military has become.
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by baybeeboi: 10:43am On Jan 21, 2015
APC
you neva get tired
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 10:45am On Jan 21, 2015
Alphaoscar:
Ghenghen!! Alarm blow finnaly.

In so far as it is the Brit, then "alarm blow" indeed. Ibori is a case study of the tenacity of the British investigative and security authorities when they have you on their radar. Let us remember Ibori was taken down for money laundering et al. The UK would not let it go and initiated an interpol request for the arrest of Ibori. This is more serious as it involves the acquisition of weapons illegally or deceitfully. This sort of thing tends to warrant the highest level of scrutiny. The UK is not South Africa.
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Curlieweed: 10:49am On Jan 21, 2015
What has this got to do with the "CertifiGate"? Is Tom Polo running for elective office?
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by RichDad1(m): 10:50am On Jan 21, 2015
GEJ & Abba slowpoke , Posterity will judge for the lives of innocent job seeking Nigerian youths that you wasted during the fake Immigration recruitment KILLING exercise. Your generations will suffer for it. cry cry cry cry cry cry cry

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by OrlandoOwoh(m): 10:53am On Jan 21, 2015
baybeeboi:
APC
you neva get tired
Your future is being messed with, you are saying rubbish.
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 10:53am On Jan 21, 2015
baybeeboi:
APC
you neva get tired

And you never develop shame or grow beyond your clannish outlook. Perhaps you now want to suggest the APC controls the City of London’s Overseas Anti-Corruption Unit (OACU) which snared the two Brits alleged to have given bribes which facilitated the dodgy purchase of gunboats by Tompolo who is a close associate of the Nigerian President.

You TANdroids are hardly exposed. All you know is courtesy of the browser on your phone so I don't expect your world stretches beyond shouting "APC" over every revelation of wrongdoing the Nigerian government is involved with. Countries like the UK do not care about your political Parties when the integrity of their security safeguards are breached by syndicated international criminality.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 10:55am On Jan 21, 2015
OrlandoOwoh:

Don't mind him. I can't believe how clannishly r.etarded GEJ and PDP fans can be sometimes.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 11:22am On Jan 21, 2015
This is why we need a brave and focused President under an upright and sincere leadership system that will ensure every arm of government has 'bite', focus and the determination to always do what is right for the nation regardless of whose Ox is gored. More should have been made of this purchase. Now, as has happened before with cases like the Halliburton and Ibori saga , those who do things properly in their Country will once again highlight the rot in Nigeria.

Imagine an important part of our legislative arm which should be entirely independent, i.e the lower house, saying they "faulted" the handing over of pipeline protection contracts to Tompolo yet they could do nothing about it. Now Nigeria is experiencing its highest level of oil theft ever while those charged with preventing this from happening can only pontificate inpotently. We cannot continue like this and no decent Nigerian would want us to.

http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/concern-mounts-in-house-over-tompolo-s-purchase-of-gunboats/197157/

Concern Mounts in House over Tompolo’s Purchase of Gunboats

19 Dec 2014

Receives report of constitution review friday
Muhammad Bello in Abuja

Despite the explanations provided by the Nigerian Navy and the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) on the procurement of seven gunboats by an ex-Niger Delta militant, Government Ekpemupolo, alias Tompolo, for the maritime agency, the House of Representatives on Thursday expressed concern over the development.

The House said it was not comfortable with the way and manner in which a private coastal security company owned by Tompolo procured the seven gunboats recently.

The House spokesman, Hon. Zakari Mohammed, told journalists that the development was fearsome, thus propelling the lower chamber to consider the probe of the purchase of the military hardware by the ex-militant on resumption in January 2015.

“This is a cause for concern. We have gotten certain systems wrong in the country. The development is scary and worrisome. We thought such procurements are handled by the navy.

“On resumption, the relevant House committees will look into it to know the facts of the matter.

“The individual (Tompolo) was paid to protect our waterways, but the irony is that we still have a lot of leakages. The House of Representatives faulted that contract but our reservations were buried in sentiments,” Mohammed said.

In a separate development, the National Assembly will friday receive the conference report of the review of the 1999 Constitution, which was earlier transmitted to state Houses of Assembly for their votes and concurrence.
The constitution amendment bill is expected to show the voting patterns from the 36 state assemblies on the proposed 71 amendments.

The National Assembly had amended portions pertaining to legislative immunity, local government autonomy, state creation, indigeneship and citizenship dichotomy, independent candidacy in elections, the budgetary process, life pensions for National Assembly heads, the role for traditional rulers, local government autonomy, and separation of the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation from the Minister of Justice, among others.

The Chief of Training and Operations of the Nigerian Navy, Rear Admiral Austin Oyagha, at a press briefing in Abuja on Wednesday said reports that Tompolo had acquired gunboats, initially misreported as warships, were untrue.

He explained that the said gunboats belonged to NIMASA and were being manned by personnel of the Nigerian Navy from the maritime component of the service, in consonance with a pact between the agency and the navy.
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 11:45am On Jan 21, 2015
BRAV0O:
See ? Lot of sh!!t happen like no other under gej , I don't no what they take us for , can u imagine

Pls who is tompolo ?

Another criminal tuned into a power-broker by an unfit and accidental President who subscribes to the idea that criminal-minded elements should be tasked with the duty of leading a nation. We have a functional Navy yet Tompolo is buying gunboats "on behalf of Nigeria" using clandestine mafia-style methods. I really cannot wait to see the back of GEJ. Nigeria is now a horrid joke under this ultra-woeful President.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by skyfall: 11:49am On Jan 21, 2015
Anything Jonathan and his criminal gang touch is definitely tainted with fraud and criminality.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Howmon: 11:52am On Jan 21, 2015
2sExy1:

That's another source... Osudefender may have uplifted from this day

Hahahaha, pls b4 u remove machete it's GMB/PYO '15 oh.

Gbawe:

Is thisdaylive.com a good enough source for you? Osun defender was only quoting others . Can you now pass your comment related to the substantive point of discussion? Failure to do this will confirm you are a TANdroid mischief-maker looking to jump to the automatic defence of GEJ through use of the tired modus operandi of trying to discredit the source of the news rather than tackle the message.

Bro, a fellow brother just can't rely on Osudefender as a source of authentic news with the current state of our polity. My opinion about em has been that of propaganda and exaggeration. I'm not a saTANic agent and will never be. I'm for change anyday. Travelled 640km from gidi to cop this. They can't deal.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by gists: 12:05pm On Jan 21, 2015
Only under a clueless GEJ will a militant be this powerful. Not even Abacha could have plunged Nigeria into an abyss of corruption and insecurity like this.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 12:23pm On Jan 21, 2015
gists:
Only under a clueless GEJ will a militant be this powerful. Not even Abacha could have plunged Nigeria into an abyss of corruption and insecurity like this.

Indeed. Entirely correct.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 12:25pm On Jan 21, 2015
skyfall:
Anything Jonathan and his criminal gang touch is definitely tained with fraud and criminality.

Yes. Sadly, it is all to the disgrace of Nigeria. The biggest black nation on earth now run like a criminal gang of petty and inept crooks.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by FOLYKAZE(m): 1:59pm On Jan 21, 2015
Gbawe:
Nigeria may be steeped in illegality and the worship of 'untouchables' who abet the government of the day but these two Brits are in serious trouble. They will reveal all they know which will come out eventually. Ibori can testify to this. There will now be many 'associates'of GEJ the British investigative authorities will be watching and monitoring tenaciously.

I have the believe that you are the owner of Osundefender. Am I right?
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by baybeeboi: 2:56pm On Jan 21, 2015
OrlandoOwoh:

after all,the only people that happen to be a threat to my future are the APC lunatics
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by baybeeboi: 2:57pm On Jan 21, 2015
Gbawe:

And you never develop shame or grow beyond your clannish outlook. Perhaps you now want to suggest the APC controls the City of London’s Overseas Anti-Corruption Unit (OACU) which snared the two Brits alleged to have given bribes which facilitated the dodgy purchase of gunboats by Tompolo who is a close associate of the Nigerian President.

You TANdroids are hardly exposed. All you know is courtesy of the browser on your phone so I don't expect your world stretches beyond shouting "APC" over every revelation of wrongdoing the Nigerian government is involved with. Countries like the UK do not care about your political Parties when the integrity of their security safeguards are breached by syndicated international criminality.
if this had come from the PDP,u wld say it's a fabricated lie abi?
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 4:58pm On Jan 21, 2015
FOLYKAZE:

I have the believe that you are the owner of Osundefender. Am I right?

Yes you are. Any problem?
Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by Gbawe: 5:10pm On Jan 21, 2015
baybeeboi:

if this had come from the PDP,u wld say it's a fabricated lie abi?

Does this come from the APC? Let us get real. Whatever our issues in Nigeria, other Countries do not exist to pander to our APC-PDP beef. They simply deal with the criminal conduct Nigerians sometimes engage in on their soil to protect the integrity of their own security system. It is in Nigeria we make everything an APC and PDP thing without recourse to common sense or standing up for what is right and proper.

Bottom line is that it appear Tompolo colluded with some dodgy Brits to buy gunboats which would ordinarily not have been sold to him had he followed official and legal procedures. This begs the question why Nigeria is engaged, through Tompolo, in what appears to be shady acquisition of weapons when we should have official channels to use for these sort of acquisitions. Whichever way we look at issues the FG stands indicted of reducing Nigeria to a Banana Republic where our armed forces can be bypassed and relegated to mere onlookers as very sensitive duties are then handed over to militants who are glorified criminals and guns-for-hire mercenaries . No serious nation does this and this development is another example of how GEJ is turning Nigeria into a joke.

Re: Two Britons Arrested Over Bribe Involving Gunboats Sold To Tompolo by FOLYKAZE(m): 5:15pm On Jan 21, 2015
Gbawe:

Yes you are. Any problem?

Nope.

Senate Presidency: David Mark Under Pressure To Join APC / What A Nairalander Had To Pass Through Because Of Rochas Okorocha (photo) / We Found Corruption Everywhere – Ahmad Joda

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60