Stats: 3,150,587 members, 7,809,127 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 12:19 AM

Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? (1010 Views)

Help Me With This Chemistry Question. / How Will You Tackle This Clinical Chemistry Question. / Somebody Should Please Try To Solve This Chemistry Question And Get 1k (2) (3) (4)

Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by Vibesking(m): 3:12pm On Jan 22, 2015
The molar ratio of carbon to hydrogen of a volatile liquid compound is 1.2:0.12g of the liquid. On evaporation at STP gave 32cm^3 of vapour.
What is the molecular formula of the liquid?

State your process.
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by SomeHenro: 5:43pm On Jan 22, 2015
You need the mass of the vapour to solve that question.With the mass we can relate it with molar volume to get the molar mass and then get the molecular formular from the empirical formular.
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by Vibesking(m): 7:38pm On Jan 22, 2015
SomeHenro:
You need the mass of the vapour to solve that question.With the mass we can relate it with molar volume to get the molar mass and then get the molecular formular from the empirical formular.
uhmm... So whats the answer?
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by aboyaji(m): 9:43pm On Jan 22, 2015

Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by Vibesking(m): 9:53pm On Jan 22, 2015
wow.. so ya'al not able to crack this question? Where are engineers and Lab scientists?
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by aboyaji(m): 10:15pm On Jan 22, 2015
Siiiiiince you know the molar ratio of carbon and hydrogen, you come know the Stp too, how you no come know the molecular formula na? Go and look for it where you kept it.

Peace
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by Vibesking(m): 10:38pm On Jan 22, 2015
aboyaji:
Siiiiiince you know the molar ratio of carbon and hydrogen, you come know the Stp too, how you no come know the molecular formula na? Go and look for it where you kept it.

Peace
na so the question hard?
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by aboyaji(m): 6:05am On Jan 23, 2015
Vibesking:
na so the question hard?
patiently waiting for the answer
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by Vibesking(m): 11:15am On Jan 23, 2015
aboyaji:
patiently waiting for the answer
I do know we've got to look for the emperical formular before solving for the molecular formular. . But how do we derive the molar masses from the C and H since they are given in ratios..
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by aboyaji(m): 1:45pm On Jan 23, 2015
Vibesking:
I do know we've got to look for the emperical formular before solving for the molecular formular. . But how do we derive the molar masses from the C and H since they are given in ratios..
question for the gods.
Re: Can You Solve This Chemistry Question? by Vibesking(m): 2:32pm On Jan 23, 2015
aboyaji:
question for the gods.
lol.. Abeg carry pen nd start solving joor.

School Management System: Amazing And Unlimited, Does All Things Asap! / Mathematics Symbols To Be Use In 2015 WAEC May/june Exam / How Will You Explain Gaseous Exchange In Bacteria?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 11