Stats: 3,150,476 members, 7,808,736 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 04:04 PM

A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix (64373 Views)

Just Got Bitten By A Rodent / Bitten By Any Of These Beefore? See Photo. / What To Do When You Or Someone Gets Bitten By A Snake (2) (3) (4)

A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 10:24am On Feb 16, 2015
These are wounds from the leg of a fisherman brought to our clinic after engaging in a fight with a very big hippo. According to our patient, the hippo attacked and destroyed their boat. He engaged in a fight with the hippo for over 30 minutes b4 finally escaping.
I will upload pix of the wounds b4 and after surgery. The surgical procedure is called debridement (surgical removal of dead tissues and foreign bodies).

According to my chief consultant, a bite from a hippo is more poisonous than a snake's bite.

4 Likes 5 Shares

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 10:34am On Feb 16, 2015
More

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Lagusta(m): 10:38am On Feb 16, 2015
mormoni:
These are wounds from the leg of a fisherman brought to our clinic after engaging in a fight with a very big hippo. According to our patient, the hippo attacked and destroyed their boat. He engaged in a fight with the hippo for over 30 minutes b4 finally escaping.
I will upload pix of the wounds b4 and after surgery. The surgical procedure is called debridement (surgical removal of dead tissues and foreign bodies).

According to my chief consultant, a bite from a hippo is more poisonous than a snake's bite.

This man is very lucky.....

If the hippo likes you, he would bite off an arm or a leg.....

If it hates you, it will bite off your HEAD!!!

Speedy recovery to the fisherman

But is this in borno state? Where??

50 Likes 2 Shares

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 10:41am On Feb 16, 2015
Lagusta:

This man is very lucky.....

If the hippo likes you, he would bite off an arm or a leg.....

If it hates you, it will bite off your HEAD!!!

Speedy recovery to the fisherman

But is this in borno state? Where??
Dr. Lagusta, he was biten in Cameroon. But the clinic is in Yola

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Vision4God: 11:29am On Feb 16, 2015
OMG waat
Feel so sorry for him

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 11:32am On Feb 16, 2015
Vision4God:
OMG waat
Feel so sorry for him
it's pathetic

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by idu1(m): 11:41am On Feb 16, 2015
embarassed

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Nobody: 2:50pm On Feb 16, 2015
Oh dear me, I'm glad it didn't kill him embarassed

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 3:13pm On Feb 16, 2015
isotonic:
Oh dear me, I'm glad it didn't kill him embarassed
i'm glad too. The man is strong, otherwise he wud have been history by now. At least he fought and escaped

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by ovalrose(f): 3:36pm On Feb 16, 2015
OMG!!! i didnt know hippos bite o. sorry to the man

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 4:04pm On Feb 16, 2015
ovalrose:
OMG!!! i didnt know hippos bite o. sorry to the man
They do bite, their bite na die sef.

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Wendy80(f): 7:49pm On Feb 16, 2015
My God, Such a brave man

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Divineluv14(f): 8:48pm On Feb 16, 2015
I didn't know hippos still exist

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 10:11pm On Feb 16, 2015
Divineluv14:
I didn't know hippos still exist
I tot the same thing my dear. I was shocked hearing 4rm d man, that he was biten by a Hippo. All my thought was that "Hippos are extinct" but they aint.

There is a hippo in Maiduguri's zoo, but not a big one though.

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Divineluv14(f): 10:22pm On Feb 16, 2015
mormoni:
I tot the same thing my dear. I was shocked hearing 4rm d man, that he was biten by a Hippo. All my thought was that "Hippos are extinct" but they aint.

There is a hippo in Maiduguri's zoo, but not a big one though.

I wish him quick recovery

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by billyG(m): 5:55am On Feb 17, 2015
i no no say hippo dey chew meat

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by mormoni(m): 7:28am On Feb 17, 2015
billyG:
i no no say hippo dey chew meat
stay there

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by HrtBrkSteve(m): 10:39pm On Feb 17, 2015
Sorry oo, fisherman
Kudos to the health official treating the wound, I can't stand the. Sight of the leg...hopefully he recovers soon..By d way, can he walk well again?

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Promking: 10:39pm On Feb 17, 2015
OMG
This is so sad!...

Now i believe the fact that says:

2,900 people are killed by these moody mammals annually in Africa. That roly-poly exterior is just to lure you in.

http://www.mnn.com/earth-matters/animals/stories/11-animals-more-likely-to-kill-you-than-sharks

Wish the man quick recovery

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by elantraceey(f): 10:39pm On Feb 17, 2015
I wish him quick recovery.

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by ichidodo: 10:39pm On Feb 17, 2015
This is what happen when you tick off Mother nature by roaming into an apex predator's habitat...a f**kery,that.
Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by AKMoney1(m): 10:39pm On Feb 17, 2015
Is he alive? shocked

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Allureoftheseas(m): 10:39pm On Feb 17, 2015
eeewww

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Vock(m): 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
jeez!! what's this... felt like puking
Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by konny1(m): 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
Eleyi gidi gan sad this is serious ooo. It is well

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by makzeze: 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
I and my family wish him quick recovery.

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by Nobody: 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
Sorry fisherman,get well soon.

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by tiamiyukunle69(m): 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
Lucky man.
Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by LordMecuzy(m): 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
Benue Fishermen for catch dat hippo

Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by siegfried99(m): 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
Omg! shocked
Re: A Fisherman Bitten By A Hippopotamus *pix by SailorXY: 10:40pm On Feb 17, 2015
speedy recovery
that's one mighty sore men! choiiii

Canada Joins US, Changes Rules For Nigerian Doctors, Others To Practice / I Have This Skin Problem And I Am About To Get Married (Graphic Photo) / Ebola: Nigerians Blast US FDA For Calling Its Experimental Drug, Pesticide

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19