Stats: 3,150,367 members, 7,808,280 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 09:48 AM

Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. - Education (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. (57112 Views)

Afam Nduaguba Made It At Havard University, Graduates As Stellar Student / Obama Recognises, Commends 19-year-old Nigerian Harvard Finalist / Obama Recognises, Commends 19-year-old Nigerian Harvard Finalist [see Photo] (2) (3) (4)

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by Nobody: 11:04am On Mar 01, 2015
Nicely
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by enkay0525: 11:04am On Mar 01, 2015
mandozhero:
This is a good story. Just that if such a genius come down here, FG will give her one position and get corrupt like; Ngozi Okonjo Iwuala, etc.

Obama please, please keep her there till these our old and clueless corrupt politicians vanish from Nigeria.
You are so on point.
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by TopsyKrete: 11:05am On Mar 01, 2015
Really
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by adeblow(m): 11:05am On Mar 01, 2015
we are proud of you.
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by Nobody: 11:05am On Mar 01, 2015
Adehwale:
Nigerian genius, Saheela Ibraheem, 19, made history On Thursday, February, 26, when she was honoured with an official reception in the White House by the US President, Barack Obama and the First Lady, Michelle.

Saheela Ibraheem got into the Ivy League Harvard at the age of 15, where she is currently studying neurobiology — a branch of science that studies the brain — and has been listed among the “World’s 50 Smartest Teenagers.” She was also accepted for admission by 13 other top colleges in the United States, including the MIT, Princeton, Columbia, and six Ivy League institutions, choosing Harvard, she became one of the youngest students to ever attend the university. She will be graduating in May this year.

Speaking after an introductory speech by Ibraheem at the White House, President Obama stated that “there are a lot of teenagers in the world. Saheela is like one of the 50 smartest ones. That’s pretty smart. And she’s a wonderful young lady. She’s like the State Department and the National Institute of Health all rolled into one. And we are so proud of your accomplishments and all that lies ahead of you. And you reflect our history. Young people like you inspire our future.”

Ibraheem, who skipped two grades in school, said the key to success is figuring out what you love to learn as early as possible, which she did at the young age of five.

“If you are passionate about what you do, and I am passionate about most of these things, especially with math and science, it will work out well,” she told CBS 2s Cindy Hsu. In addition, Ibraheem speaks four languages that include Arabic, Spanish and Latin.

Her mother, Shakirat Ibraheem, said her daughter has been way ahead of the academic game since kindergarten — never cutting corners and trying to do everything on her own. “She’s like always independent,” she said. “I never get to help with her homework because she’d say ‘it’s my work mommy, not yours.’”

Ibraheem’s recognition and reception was part of the “Black History Month” celebration in the US, which comes up in February. The “Black History Month”, takes root from the activities of the “Association for the Study of African American Life and History.” Every year, Americans set aside the month of February to celebrate the central role that African-Americans have played in every aspect of American life especially the march for freedom and equality, jobs and justice, the Civil Rights Act, the Voting Rights Act, and some profound contributions African-Americans make in the American culture.

Present at the evening event were members of the US Congress, including Leader Nancy Pelosi, and members of the Congressional Black Caucus.

http://leadership.ng/news/414630/obama-recognises-commends-19-year-old-nigerian-harvard-finalist

Jonathan will never give this kind of people national award. He prefer to share if for nollywood celebrities that campaigns for him and his fellow good for nothing politicians .

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by xtophy(m): 11:05am On Mar 01, 2015
paolo96:
waiting for good luck to commend Fayose for his extraordinary rigging skill and Obanikoro for his Perfect criminal record.
Sai Buhari for good news.
can u just shut up for once... sai buhari koor, sai banangida niii...

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by Nobody: 11:05am On Mar 01, 2015
Adehwale:
Nigerian genius, Saheela Ibraheem, 19, made history On Thursday, February, 26, when she was honoured with an official reception in the White House by the US President, Barack Obama and the First Lady, Michelle.

Saheela Ibraheem got into the Ivy League Harvard at the age of 15, where she is currently studying neurobiology — a branch of science that studies the brain — and has been listed among the “World’s 50 Smartest Teenagers.” She was also accepted for admission by 13 other top colleges in the United States, including the MIT, Princeton, Columbia, and six Ivy League institutions, choosing Harvard, she became one of the youngest students to ever attend the university. She will be graduating in May this year.

Speaking after an introductory speech by Ibraheem at the White House, President Obama stated that “there are a lot of teenagers in the world. Saheela is like one of the 50 smartest ones. That’s pretty smart. And she’s a wonderful young lady. She’s like the State Department and the National Institute of Health all rolled into one. And we are so proud of your accomplishments and all that lies ahead of you. And you reflect our history. Young people like you inspire our future.”

Ibraheem, who skipped two grades in school, said the key to success is figuring out what you love to learn as early as possible, which she did at the young age of five.

“If you are passionate about what you do, and I am passionate about most of these things, especially with math and science, it will work out well,” she told CBS 2s Cindy Hsu. In addition, Ibraheem speaks four languages that include Arabic, Spanish and Latin.

Her mother, Shakirat Ibraheem, said her daughter has been way ahead of the academic game since kindergarten — never cutting corners and trying to do everything on her own. “She’s like always independent,” she said. “I never get to help with her homework because she’d say ‘it’s my work mommy, not yours.’”

Ibraheem’s recognition and reception was part of the “Black History Month” celebration in the US, which comes up in February. The “Black History Month”, takes root from the activities of the “Association for the Study of African American Life and History.” Every year, Americans set aside the month of February to celebrate the central role that African-Americans have played in every aspect of American life especially the march for freedom and equality, jobs and justice, the Civil Rights Act, the Voting Rights Act, and some profound contributions African-Americans make in the American culture.

Present at the evening event were members of the US Congress, including Leader Nancy Pelosi, and members of the Congressional Black Caucus.

http://leadership.ng/news/414630/obama-recognises-commends-19-year-old-nigerian-harvard-finalist

Dose she recognize her self has a nigerian...that's my question

GodMode:
God give some people brain please

GogetterMD:
Proudly Islam
undecided had it bin she was in nigeria were ya guyz penetrate 9 years old children at d age of 54 years old like ya prophet did will ya still open ya mouth and say proudly islam? Ogbenni, shez just fortunate she schooled abroad(USA) where sharia suckz. Islam shld be doing better dan dis, buh many grl child her being defiled by old fools all in d name of islam. Islam suckz undecided

22 Likes

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by ochoa(m): 11:06am On Mar 01, 2015
Good
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by brownlord: 11:06am On Mar 01, 2015
Yet yerima and his gang that are suffering from Pedophilia are busy bleeping other young Saheela Ibraheem we have in the north under the guise of religion.

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by MrHighSea: 11:06am On Mar 01, 2015
No bf for sure
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by hensben(m): 11:07am On Mar 01, 2015
If I hear, go review nairaland when obj was president you will see something as this...nothing consign GEJ for the achievement mr...Na bad thing say we Na naija she for achieve am. Huh
sanc2s:
Its only in Goodlucks tenure ul hear all this kind of good news. Jonathan till 2019
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by kstyle2(m): 11:07am On Mar 01, 2015
Meanwhile, nairaland chicks dey enta silverbirf cinema toilet dey snap pix...itz well

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by nairaman66(m): 11:07am On Mar 01, 2015
mandozhero:
This is a good story. Just that if such a genius come down here, FG will give her one position and get corrupt like; Ngozi Okonjo Iwuala, etc.

Obama please, please keep her there till these our old and clueless corrupt politicians vanish from Nigeria.
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by justiceman: 11:07am On Mar 01, 2015
This is good news, and should serve as an inspiration to many.
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by XBLadez: 11:08am On Mar 01, 2015
And this will hurt Buhari and his Boko haram kinsmen a great deal! They don't like education, and here a foreigner is recognising one of their own.
Shame on APC!

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by Certifiedboss: 11:08am On Mar 01, 2015
Adehwale:

Congrats to her and I feel proud to ready this... BTW, My sister got her PhD at the age of 26.. Will she be occupying somewhere in history?
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by bcity: 11:08am On Mar 01, 2015
Japhet04:
Nonsense

you are walking when a presido is talking to you

see her teeth angry
jeleosy she is d winner n u r a losser

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by personal59: 11:10am On Mar 01, 2015
Poooooo to bad to everybody including the reporter cos we can all se she is a muslim can even speak Arabic the best language in the world so there she is not a terrorist neither u call her a Muslim genius Bleep all of u that associate islam with terrorist cos
A
M

A

M
U
S
L
I
M

A
M

N
O
T

A

T
E
R
R
O
R
I
S
T

Islam is peace (Asalam alaeikun waramatulahi wabarakatu) to all that believe in my view

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by GogetterMD(m): 11:10am On Mar 01, 2015
OREMUSSANCTUS:
undecided had it bin she was in nigeria were ya guyz penetrate 9 years old children at d age of 54 years old like ya prophet did will ya still open ya mouth and say proudly islam? Ogbenni, shez just fortunate she schooled abroad(USA) where sharia suckz. Islam shld be doing better dan dis, buh many grl child her being defiled by old fools all in d name of islam. Islam suckz undecided
Ignored. Next

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by bosteps: 11:11am On Mar 01, 2015
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by emonye6(m): 11:11am On Mar 01, 2015
Congrats to her ,but obama looking like ..what is in this one mind
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by LewisO: 11:12am On Mar 01, 2015
Good to hear.
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by DandyK: 11:12am On Mar 01, 2015
Wow! That's remarkable.... Wish her the best.
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by koife(m): 11:14am On Mar 01, 2015
Sai Gej, transformation even to american soil.. grin
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by GogetterMD(m): 11:15am On Mar 01, 2015
XBLadez:
And this will hurt Buhari and his Boko haram kinsmen a great deal! They don't like education, and here a foreigner is recognising one of their own.
Shame on APC!
APC this, PDP that? If only you could use 5% of your intellect, your parents effort on their education of you both morally and academically wouldn't have been a waste. Any of Buhari's children wey no go school?

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by DandyK: 11:15am On Mar 01, 2015
Certifiedboss:

Congrats to her and I feel proud to ready this... BTW, My sister got her PhD at the age of 26.. Will she be occupying somewhere in history?
PhD,@ 25? Where?
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by Nobody: 11:16am On Mar 01, 2015
GogetterMD:
[b]Proudly Islam [/b]

I knew this was coming, every positive story on nairaland becomes partisan either religious or tribal. I'm expecting proudly Hausa very soon.
You're just going to reinforce American suspicion and reservations about the poor girl as she's muslim. Do you think the Americans will eventually put her in a sensitive position in the future being "proudly Islam" as you put it.
To most Americans "proudly Islam" translates to "proudly extremist" so please let's leave this out and just celebrate the girl.

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by brownlord: 11:16am On Mar 01, 2015
OREMUSSANCTUS:

So on point, meanwhile a friend told me the reason allah married up to 4 wife was because he did to help those women i.e married a begger and old women so as to care for them ( Don't know if this is true )

Meanwhile our brothers in the north are running after 8 and 9 years, catching them young from their mothers womb and still deny them freedom as they must remain in door or dress like masquerade while the men run round different hotel bleeping more young girls.

Smh for islam

Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by tsdarkside(m): 11:16am On Mar 01, 2015
thunder fire obama bin laden.... angry angry angry
Re: Obama Recognises, Commends 19 Year Old Nigerian Havard Finalist. by GogetterMD(m): 11:16am On Mar 01, 2015
sanc2s:
Its only in Goodlucks tenure ul hear all this kind of good news. Jonathan till 2019
Na Goodluck Jonathan pay for her school fees nah, and na him dey help am write her exams. Retardeen oshi

Ugwo Anacletus Of FUTO Wins N228Million In Entreprenuerial Challenge / Pictures That Show That Cheating In Exams Is On A Whole Other Level. / List Of Waec Centre Numbers For All The Schools In Nigeria

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46