Stats: 3,150,480 members, 7,808,750 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 04:20 PM

Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect (1145 Views)

Abba Kyari Inserted 'Coordinator' Clause In Buhari’s Letter To NASS / Senate To Remove Immunity For President, Governors, Deputies / Pic: King Of Nigeria Adesegun Ademusiwa Paying His Respect To Canadian Military (2) (3) (4)

Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by tym92(m): 12:29am On Apr 27, 2015
What is your opinion about this;

A professor of Political Science and International Studies, Prof. Adesegun Ojo, has called on the President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari and the National Assembly to strengthen the anti-corruption agencies.
Ojo specifically asked the President-elect to remove the immunity clause that prevents a sitting president or governor to be prosecuted.
Ojo, who teaches at Fairleigh Dickinson University, New Jersey in the United States, stated that efforts should be made to make political offices less attractive in terms of monetary compensations.
He said, “We have to reduce the salaries and expenses of government officials by more than 75 per cent, enforce anti-corruption laws and punish violators of these laws. The immunity clause protecting governors and presidents must be removed and the impunity with which elected officials operate must be curbed as well. Overtime, the Nigerian electorate will get it and they have started on that road and the recent presidential election is the step in the right direction.”
The former three-time governorship aspirant in Ekiti State added that the urge to seek redress at the Election Petition Tribunals by politicians was as a result of the large-scale irregularities that usually followed most elections conducted in the country
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by Pebcak: 12:39am On Apr 27, 2015
That will go a looooooooooooooooong way in checking so many things
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by Caseless: 12:46am On Apr 27, 2015
It will be the 'bestest' move ever!
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by ki02020(m): 12:54am On Apr 27, 2015
I regard that as asking for too much from a presidential position.....but will appreciate if the immunity clause removal will apply to the legislatures since they are much in numbers and suspending one member for court cases will not really affect the house duty......those corrupt commitee HONs and senators
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by bashydemy(m): 1:25am On Apr 27, 2015
ki02020:
I regard that as asking for too much from a presidential position.....but will appreciate if the immunity clause removal will apply to the legislatures since they are much in numbers and suspending one member for court cases will not really affect the house duty......those corrupt commitee HONs and senators
Am not sure there is any immunity covering The Senate and MHOR.
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by CHM11: 1:31am On Apr 27, 2015
Even Mr Integrity Buhari wouldn't do this for fear of the unknown.
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by Motolank: 1:47am On Apr 27, 2015
CHM11:
Even Mr Integrity Buhari wouldn't do this for fear of the unknown.
You guys fought tooth and nails that he wouldn't be elected but ...
Now you are still hating... what is you People's fear, concern or problem??
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by CHM11: 1:51am On Apr 27, 2015
Motolank:

See this one!!!!

Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by Motolank: 1:58am On Apr 27, 2015
CHM11:

See this one!!!!
I will recommend that you eat a cube of sugar every morning, you will see that you will look younger compare to last 6mnts?

Pele

See wetin Baba wear? Isn't he adorable? He nailed it, he got Jonathan type of uniform

Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by akoaki(m): 4:06am On Apr 27, 2015
bashydemy:
Am not sure there is any immunity covering The Senate and MHOR.

True. Their immunity is limited to things they say or do within the confines of national assembly .
Re: Remove Immunity Clause-prof. Adesegun Ojo Called On The President Elect by tym92(m): 10:57am On Apr 27, 2015
Motolank:

i guess it is problem 4 dem bro...

Na Wa Oo! So Jesus Na Black Man? / Photos: Hausa Community In Ekiti State Attacked / A Nairalander Selfie With Goodluck Jonathan