Stats: 3,150,000 members, 7,806,917 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 April 2024 at 06:53 AM

Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know (51951 Views)

10 Whatsapp Tips & Tricks You Should Definitely Know In 2016 / 10 Whatsapp Tips And Tricks Everyone Should Know / Some COOL WhatsApp Tips & Tricks (My Guide ) (2) (3) (4)

Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by kingsamm(m): 2:05pm On Jul 10, 2015
Whatsapp is an instant messaging app for smartphones founded in 2009 by Brian Acton and Jan Koum both former employees of yahoo

Whatsapp was acquired by Facebook in april 2014 for a whopping sum of US$19 million.

Whatsapp currently has a total of over 800 million active users, which makes it the biggest instant messaging app in the world.
If you are one of the 800 million active users that use whatsapp, there are probably a few features that you either don't understand or simply find annoying!

Useful WhatsApp Tips and Tricks

How To Know If Your Message Has Been Read

At times, You send you send a messsage to a friend and when he doesn't reply after a long time, you start to wonder if he got your message, if he didn't or if he just chose not to reply?

To know if your friend received your message, simply check under the message you sent, you would see an icon.

If its just one tick, that means the message was sent but not delivered.
If its two ticks, it means your message was sent, delivered but not read.
And if its two blue ticks, then your messsage has been sent, delivered and read.

How To Get Back Deleted Messages

Imagine you accidentally delete an important message...That would be painful right?

What if I told you there is a way you can get back that lost message....pretty cool, huh?

One of the best improvements the new versions of the whatsapp messenger app have is the ability to backup and restore messages.

Every morning at 4am your whatsapp messages are automatically backed up, so if you wish to restore your deleted message you need to do it before then, or else your message history would backed up and your messages gone forever!

The easiest way to restore your lost message is by un-installing your whatsApp messenger app and re-installing it. While you are installing the app it will ask if you want to restore messages from saved back up, select yes and your message history for the last seven days would be restored along with the deleted message(s).

If you want to restore messages older than seven days on android, use ES FILE EXPLORER or any other similiar file manager app. Go to SD Card - WhatsApp - Databases to view your backups locate the back up you want to restore and rename it to msgstore.db.crypt then Go to Settings - Apps - WhatsApp click on clear data.
Run the whatsapp messenger app and restore when prompted and your messages would be restored!

Note : This works only on android devices.

How To Send Muliple Messages At Once

So, you have this important class assignment you wish to share with all your classmates and you do not have the time to send all the messages individually.
Do you know that you can send the message to all your classmates at the same time?

WhatsApp's broadcast feature allows you to send the same message to different people all at once.
The beauty of this feature is that, whatever message you broadcast would appear as a private message to all the receipents and no one will know the message was broadcasted.

For android, press menu and select "New Broadcast" then select all the contacts you want to receive the message then press Done at the top-right corner of your phone, now press Create also at the top-right corner.
With that your broadcast list been created now you just enter the message you want to broadcast and send it just like regular chatting and also the members of the broadcast list would receive the message.

When they reply the message, it will go to just you and not the full list.

How To Retain Your Chat History When You Switch Phones

So, you are planning to switch your Smartphone for that cool new one you saw at the store but are worried about losing all your chat history.
What if I told you that you can actually move your chat history from your old device to the cool new smartphone?
The backup and restore feature is coming into play again.
To move your chat history from the old to the new device all you have to do is;

If you use an SD card, go to Menu - Settings - Chat Settings - Back up. Back up your conversations.
If your back up is saved on your internal memory(phone memory) you just manually move it to your SD card.

Remove your SD card, insert it in your new phone.
Run WhatsApp messenger on your new phone and select restore when prompted.
And the chat history backed up on your SD card would be loaded unto your new phone.

How To Use WhatsApp Messenger on PC

If you have Google Chrome installed on your pc, go to whatsapp.com and follow the instructions there for your phone.

Make sure your phone is connected to the internet, I recommend you use WiFi because whatsapp web synchronizes with your phone. Select whatsapp web from menu in your phone's whatsapp messenger and scan the QR code in the browser.
you can now receive timely notifications and chats on your computer.

NOTE : ANDROID Users only!!.

Time Saving Tip

This is just something I remembered towards the end of the post the end of the post, thought I'll add it.

If you have a friend that you chat with all the time you can easily add a short-cut to the chat on your homescreen so instead of having to go through all the trouble of launching your whatsapp, blah, blah, blah, all you need to do is just click on the icon on the homescreen and it will lead you directly to chat.
That saves a lot of time.

To do this, open your whatsapp messenger on your phone go to chats, long press the contact you want to your homescreen then select "add short-cut to chat" .

Full post at http://www.naijatechs.com/2015/07/cool-whatsapp-tips-you-need-to-know.html?m=1

37 Likes 14 Shares

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by braimeddy: 2:15pm On Jul 10, 2015
Noted
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by chybykee(m): 2:28pm On Jul 10, 2015
Gonna help the Newbies

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by kolacoal(m): 2:33pm On Jul 10, 2015
INFINIX hot note @ a giveaway price. 22k call or whatsapp 07063089805

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by GuiltySpark343(m): 11:04pm On Jul 10, 2015
very informative...thanks for sharing

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by kingsamm(m): 2:54am On Jul 11, 2015
GuiltySpark343:
very informative...thanks for sharing

wink
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Nobody: 3:28am On Jul 11, 2015
Whatsapp on pc works on bb10 OS too
Do your research well don't just copy and paste

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Nobody: 5:04am On Jul 11, 2015
Thanks for sharing
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by fagbohun4j(m): 9:49am On Jul 11, 2015
Thanks for sharing. BTW, that infinix no be giveaway at that price o. I dey expect like 10k abi 12k.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by toluxa1(m): 12:54pm On Jul 11, 2015

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by adekzy: 2:04pm On Jul 11, 2015
Make sure your phone is connected to the internet, I recommend you use WiFi because whatsapp web synchronizes with your phone. Select whatsapp web from menu in your phone's whatsapp messenger and scan the QR code in the browser.
you can now receive timely notifications and chats on your computer.

NOTE : [
color=#990000]ANDROID Users only!![/color].

Works fine on BlackBerry too, diversified your research well enough.

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by O4KASIBEE: 3:01pm On Jul 11, 2015
Cool But this is More Useful for those that Cheats:
You have Your girlfriend and a Side chick , they're both on whatsapp ,Your Side chick sent a text that You should use Her Picture as Your dP, Don't Panic just do the following things:
Goto Settings, click Account , click Privacy, click profile Photo , Then select Only My contacts ( Only Numbers You saved On Your Phone will see your DP) Just go to your Phone Contact and Delete Your girl's Number.

It works like mad, if your girlfriend complains she's not seeing your Picture, Just tell her its the network, since she's your GF, She will Understand you...
#CheatPERFECTLY

56 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by saintTim(m): 4:21pm On Jul 11, 2015
HOW TO TELL HER YOU LOVE HER ON WHATAPP

Bebe I rove u talk ya own
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Mopolchi: 4:21pm On Jul 11, 2015
informative. Thanks op.
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by ichommy(m): 4:21pm On Jul 11, 2015
Thanks 4 d Information.
*Clear Throat* I want to sell my Play Station 2. Working in good Condition. Give away price 12K. whatsapp me 08091697424

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by arisekola77: 4:22pm On Jul 11, 2015
#chassis#new music alert
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by freeposting124: 4:22pm On Jul 11, 2015
Free ICT scholarship for you >> http://freeposting124..com
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Nicepoker(m): 4:22pm On Jul 11, 2015
Op what's cool about the tips this hot afternoon.
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by ichommy(m): 4:22pm On Jul 11, 2015
Interest?

Unilorin?
saintTim:
U
Mopolchi:
i
saintTim:
U

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by ifeelgood: 4:22pm On Jul 11, 2015
Pls how do i take my babe to Dubai with money for hotel but no money for flight?
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Chuukwudi(m): 4:23pm On Jul 11, 2015
Cool
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Nobody: 4:23pm On Jul 11, 2015
O4KASIBEE:
Cool But this is More Useful for those that Cheats:
You have Your girlfriend and a Side chick , they're both on whatsapp ,Your Side chick sent a text that You should use Her Picture as Your dP, Don't Panic just do the following things:
Goto Settings, click Account , click Privacy, click profile Photo , Then select Only My contacts ( Only Numbers You saved On Your Phone will see your DP) Just go to your Phone Contact and Delete Your girl's Number.

It works like mad, if your girlfriend complains she's not seeing your Picture, Just tell her its the network, since she's your GF, She will Understand you...
#CheatPERFECTLY
cheesy cheesy cheesy
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by ichommy(m): 4:23pm On Jul 11, 2015
Nicepoker:
Op what's cool about the tips this hot afternoon.
cheesy no light for your area ni?
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Kingbilo(m): 4:23pm On Jul 11, 2015
W
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by oscarjulliet: 4:24pm On Jul 11, 2015
A PEEP INTO AN IBADAN WOMAN'S PHONE BOOK:

*Iya Deji alaso
*Nuru eleran
*Kamoru Onigi
*Iya Monsurat elepo.
*Iya Lekan eleja
*Saidi onisu
*Iya Ijesha oniru
*Basiru oni moto
*Sola omo baba Basira
*Basira oniponmo
*Suraju olokada
*Oriyomi alalubosa
*Bose Tailor
*Gbenro agbero
*Noimo olororo
*Iya Luku Oloka
*Akanke alakara eebo
*Sola tisha
*Baba Wale Nepa
*Iya Biliki elepo
*Baba Aduke alagunmu jedi
*Iya Wasiu onifufu
*Morufu riwaya
*Iya Olobi agba
*Baba Tawa alajo
*Alani kafinta
*Buroda Tunde birikila
*Moomi Oloole
*Buroda mi Alani
*Iya mi elesuru
*Baba ilu eebo
*Bello Olopa jeko jeko
*Suberu ologbon ori
*Buroda Yellow
*Baba elero alogi
*Solo agbegi lere
*Grace pupa
*Poolu asona
*Baba onifoto
*Gambari onisuya
*Demola Fokanaisa
*Godi omo ibo
*Alhaji agbe kanga
*Baba gbegi lodo
*Biodun repeara
Laisi mekaniki
Basiru alago
Iyabo ologede
Mufutau Babar
Tunde Alaso
Taiye agbero
Jelili alapata
Ramota alagbo
Akani tailor
Labake elewa
Suraju olomi
Ishola rekoda
Baba beji onisegun
Asabi Oni gari
Peju alata
Teju elewe
*Risi olonje
*Alao alawin .......

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by tintingz(m): 4:24pm On Jul 11, 2015
Mtcheeew... I know all these already.

Except one. tongue
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Lovexme(m): 4:24pm On Jul 11, 2015
Seen. Nothing new.
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by carzola(m): 4:24pm On Jul 11, 2015
wink

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by tsdarkside(m): 4:24pm On Jul 11, 2015
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by docphresh(m): 4:24pm On Jul 11, 2015
nothing new here.
Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by Robinhood477: 4:24pm On Jul 11, 2015
very good

Re: Cool Whatsapp Tips You Need To Know by dicksonadams(m): 4:25pm On Jul 11, 2015
Please how can I work in whatsapp

Glo Introduces New Mega Data Plans / TECNO Camon 15 Premier (N95,000) Vs Camon 12 (N53,500) Speed Test (photos) / Android Porn App Takes Secret Photos Of Users

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44