Stats: 3,149,958 members, 7,806,772 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 11:20 PM

Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year - Education (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year (70135 Views)

Teacher Uses Extraordinary Chalkboard Drawing Skills To Teach Students Anatomy / An insight into my case(feedback) / Anatomy Student Of Uniosun's Death: Revealed True Story Behind It (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (20) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 1:39am On Nov 26, 2015
Khan1993:
So one of my followers commented here and here i am too. Nice insight. Ardently following. Actually needed a thread like this cos a fresher. Resuming next year In sha Allah. The medical group on NL havent been helpful lately. What they do is argue on MBBS VS BDS. I think am gonna like this place.
welcome bro, honored to av u....smiles

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 1:43am On Nov 26, 2015
Sorry guys that I av not been posting for a while. Incourse wahala. Boy gotta jack. Shifted to December 2 and 3.

Just to add tho, lectures av started on the head and neck...wow!!! MB is closing by. tommorrow I will explain wat the MB-ish is all about. Its the judgement day for med students.
Nyt y'all

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Thewhizzkid1(m): 7:12am On Nov 26, 2015
jargo89:
Sorry guys that I av not been posting for a while. Incourse wahala. Boy gotta jack. Shifted to December 2 and 3.

Just to add tho, lectures av started on the head and neck...wow!!! MB is closing by. tommorrow I will explain wat the MB-ish is all about. Its the judgement day for med students.
Nyt y'all
GOOD LUCK SIR!!
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 9:21am On Nov 26, 2015
jargo89:

Nyt y'all
no problem boss. Goodluck
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Adebolade(m): 11:18am On Nov 26, 2015
Op how many courses did you offer in year first semester year 2?
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by angiography(m): 1:56pm On Nov 26, 2015
Thewhizzkid1:

GOOD LUCK SIR!!
I love you bro....really. I love your desire for success and striving towards excellence.

I saw Ur post on student doctor forum.....and saw u can trade Ur ego for excellence- a lesson that worked for me

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Thewhizzkid1(m): 6:48pm On Nov 26, 2015
angiography:

I love you bro....really. I love your desire for success and striving towards excellence.

I saw Ur post on student doctor forum.....and saw u can trade Ur ego for excellence- a lesson that worked for me
I'm honoured sir. #Respect.
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by labodinho: 12:28am On Nov 27, 2015
Khan1993:
no problem boss. Goodluck
Hey bro.,when did u attend Adams College?
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Nobody: 4:01pm On Nov 27, 2015
Nice@op...just finished an anatomy test
To me anatomy will be a bit easy to study if the lecturers are nice but when lecturers come and form Bruce Lee in class.How do they expect us to learn?

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 5:17pm On Nov 27, 2015
labodinho:

Hey bro.,when did u attend Adams College?
last year/this year. I paraphrase by saying this year's jamb/Alevel class sir. Why do you ask?
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by labodinho: 6:54pm On Nov 27, 2015
Khan1993:
last year/this year. I paraphrase by saying this year's jamb/Alevel class sir. Why do you ask?
Oh,that's nice.I saw ur post on the medic thread asking sum1 if he/she is an adamite dats y I ask.I was an adamite too but long ago,2013.Nice meeting a fellow Adamite.
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 8:22pm On Nov 27, 2015
labodinho:

Oh,that's nice.I saw ur post on the medic thread asking sum1 if he/she is an adamite dats y I ask.I was an adamite too but long ago,2013.Nice meeting a fellow Adamite.
woow. Thats cool. This is the first time am coming across a fellow Adamite. Nice meeting. I guess you are in the university now. What course and school if i may ask
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by labodinho: 9:15pm On Nov 27, 2015
Khan1993:
woow. Thats cool. This is the first time am coming across a fellow Adamite. Nice meeting. I guess you are in the university now. What course and school if i may ask
Yea,in uni now.I'm in zoology,unilag.U're in mbbs,ui?
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 9:38pm On Nov 27, 2015
labodinho:
Yea,in uni now.I'm in zoology,unilag.U're in mbbs,ui?
Dentistry.

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 9:40pm On Nov 27, 2015
Vibra:
Nice@op...just finished an anatomy test
To me anatomy will be a bit easy to study if the lecturers are nice but when lecturers come and form Bruce Lee in class.How do they expect us to learn?

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by labodinho: 10:04pm On Nov 27, 2015
Khan1993:
Dentistry.
Good.Success on the Journey bro.
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 10:19pm On Nov 27, 2015
labodinho:
Good.Success on the Journey bro.
thanks man.

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by prahcetomi(m): 10:00pm On Nov 29, 2015
Following.....................
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 5:47am On Nov 30, 2015
What is this MB-ish exam, med students are always lamenting about.

What it's not:
*Menacing Bomb, Mechanical Bombardment, Mindblowing Blast....LOL

What it is:
Medical Board exam

You may ask: why would just an exam be this talked of? E wan hard pass jamb?

My brother, it really is. What you are required to know is close to impossible as it can be. And u are writing it for THREE courses and the awful 3 in 1 Anatomy is included. MB no be joke.

In my school, in each courses, 6 incourses are written. Incourses are lyk exams. The best 4 are chosen (I heard the 3rd and 6th are chosen compulsorily cos they are cummulative exams). The 4 scores which are over 100 are then added divided by 400 and multiplied by 30. This represents the MB's continous assessment. *imagine all hardwork, reading, exams and jubilations for results during the 18 month period of the preclinicals amount to only a possible 30 marks. And only the best get over 20, #insane*

This is what makes the MB a very important exam as it represents 70 marks in a go. It makes or break a med student. It determines his/her passage to the next stage. And what is the pass mark? 50....did I hear u say dats easy? its not even close to easy. The highest MB result in my school ever was 78. Respect to that dude. Amazing thing was he got distinction in all d 3 courses, something done only once b4 im.

#Moving on.....
There are 4 MBs to be done in med school. B4 I list, it is advisable I give a rundown of all the courses to be done in med school. That would be in my next visit here. Gotta sleep...2 days to my incourse....See ya

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Nobody: 4:20pm On Nov 30, 2015
Gotta sleep...2 days to my incourse....See ya[/quote] Success!
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Adebolade(m): 5:11pm On Nov 30, 2015
jargo89:
What is this MB-ish exam, med students are always lamenting about.

What it's not:
*Menacing Bomb, Mechanical Bombardment, Mindblowing Blast....LOL

What it is:
Medical Board exam

You may ask: why would just an exam be this talked of? E wan hard pass jamb?

My brother, it really is. What you are required to know is close to impossible as it can be. And u are writing it for THREE courses and the awful 3 in 1 Anatomy is included. MB no be joke.

In my school, in each courses, 6 incourses are written. Incourses are lyk exams. The best 4 are chosen (I heard the 3rd and 6th are chosen compulsorily cos they are cummulative exams). The 4 scores which are over 100 are then added divided by 400 and multiplied by 30. This represents the MB's continous assessment. *imagine all hardwork, reading, exams and jubilations for results during the 18 month period of the preclinicals amount to only a possible 30 marks. And only the best get over 20, #insane*

This is what makes the MB a very important exam as it represents 70 marks in a go. It makes or break a med student. It determines his/her passage to the next stage. And what is the pass mark? 50....did I hear u say dats easy? its not even close to easy. The highest MB result in my school ever was 78. Respect to that dude. Amazing thing was he got distinction in all d 3 courses, something done only once b4 im.

#Moving on.....
There are 4 MBs to be done in med school. B4 I list, it is advisable I give a rundown of all the courses to be done in med school. That would be in my next visit here. Gotta sleep...2 days to my incourse....See ya
wishing u huge success,+ i'm anticipating ur new post and also i want to know how u study effective

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 8:00am On Dec 15, 2015
Been a while everyone...deeply sorry...been so busy. well school on strike. #9ja tins. Will visit here more frequently now
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Profcamsey(m): 8:35am On Dec 15, 2015
jargo89:
Been a while everyone...deeply sorry...been so busy. well school on strike. #9ja tins. Will visit here more frequently now
give us more tory
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Adebolade(m): 8:51am On Dec 15, 2015
jargo89:
we are still here patiently waiting for updates.
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 10:01pm On Dec 15, 2015
Updates please!
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 8:47am On Dec 16, 2015
Lemme give u a brief run through the normal journey in med skul (nothing is normal in Naija).

As most know, gaining admission into med skul is tedious and very competitive, thus admission might require the following:
5 or more O'level credits including core science subjects (physics, chemistry and biology), maths and english.
A considerably high score in JAMB, especially in schools that compute the jamb score with post utme.
A high score in post UTME.
Knowing someone who knows someone (its Naija *sighs)
Graduating from a biological or medical related course e.g but not restricted to microbiology, biochemistry, anatomy, physiology and accepting the JAMB DE form.

Before choosing a preferred some tins should be considered such as:
* The licensed capacity of the school (this is found on MDCN's website); thus high standard schools esp federal ones have large admission quotas thus reducing the competition for spaces (well not really)
* State schools: Even tho they av restricted quotas, its easier to gain admission in states of ones indigineship due to preference and also many applicants will tend to drift towards fed schools leaving a lot of state schools open for less competition.
* MDCN licensed schools: this is the most important consideration as most students ignorantly choose schools whose license has been revoked and spend years in the school without being able to graduate. List of licensed schools are on the MDCN website too, choose wisely.

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 9:06am On Dec 16, 2015
100 level
This level is spent in the faculty of science, where med students learn basic science subjects such as physics, chemistry, biology and the school's general courses. After this year, students are then transferred into faculty of basic medical science usually close to the school's teaching hospital. In most skuls, requirement for transfer is gettin above 50 marks in all courses. those who default will be dropped into other medically related courses. Even afta admission, no one is yet a doctor.

200 level/1st semester 300 level
This is spent in the Faculty of Basic Medical Science, where 18 months is spent. During this period, med students stop using the normal school calendar....holidays are cut short to few weeks and you are expected to learn wat BSc. students are to learn in 3 years in 1 and a half years. This period is called the pre-clinical period as you learn mostly thru your texts and not allowed to learn with life patients. Dead cadavers are your friends now tho...lol. Courses learned are:
* Gross anatomy
* Embryology
* Histology
* Biochemistry
* Physiology
* Genetics.

2nd semester 300 level in most skuls is for the community medicine period where med students are posted to rural regions and learn basic statistical and demographic study of medical information.

8 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 9:28am On Dec 16, 2015
After the 300 level, the part 1 MB exam is written. to move to the next stage, 50 marks or above must be attained. This is where the fun begins (or end).
What happens to those who fail?
* Those who fail one of the exams will hav a resit in a rearranged MB few months later. If passed, they are allowed to move to the next level. If failed, then a repeat.
* Those who fail two or more will have an outright repeat and thus spend another 18 months learning anatomy and co again. if passed, they move to the next level. If failed, there is anoda repeat. Anoda failure after this, and the student is dropped from the program.....phew....

400 level
This is spent in the teaching hospital but the courses are still a little preclinical. It is usually refered to by students as Path/Pharm as courses are branches of Pathology and Pharmacology. They are:
* Medicall Microbiology
* Parasitology
* Chemical Pathology
* Pharmacology
* Forensic Medicine etc.

500 and 600 level
This is the clinical proper where what you av learned in the classes is practised on real patients. The wards become your laboratories and the patients your specimens. Courses includes:
Internal medicine ---- study of internal organs
Obstetrics ------- study of birth delivery
Gynecology -------- study of the female reproductive organs
Surgery ------ cut, cut and cut....lolzzzz
Pediatrics ----- study of the neonates (little babies)

Induction
This is the iced cream on the cone. this is when you become a doctor (well not licensed yet). The induction ceremony is usually a proud moment when you take in alll the joy of eventually passing thru med skul. it is usually a beautiful moment

That said, congrats to my senior colleagues on their Induction today.....#soar high doctors

19 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Adebolade(m): 5:09pm On Dec 16, 2015
jargo89:
100 level
This level is spent in the faculty of science, where med students learn basic science subjects such as physics, chemistry, biology and the school's general courses. After this year, students are then transferred into faculty of basic medical science usually close to the school's teaching hospital. In most skuls, requirement for transfer is gettin above 50 marks in all courses. those who default will be dropped into other medically related courses. Even afta admission, no one is yet a doctor.

200 level/1st semester 300 level
This is spent in the Faculty of Basic Medical Science, where 18 months is spent. During this period, med students stop using the normal school calendar....holidays are cut short to few weeks and you are expected to learn wat BSc. students are to learn in 3 years in 1 and a half years. This period is called the pre-clinical period as you learn mostly thru your texts and not allowed to learn with life patients. Dead cadavers are your friends now tho...lol. Courses learned are:
* Gross anatomy
* Embryology
* Histology
* Biochemistry
* Physiology
* Genetics.

2nd semester 300 level in most skuls is for the community medicine period where med students are posted to rural regions and learn basic statistical and demographic study of medical information.
can you still recollect the topics you covered in your first semester 200level under each course listed?
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by prahcetomi(m): 2:03pm On Dec 21, 2015
We are waiting for more updates
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by Khan1993: 9:32pm On Dec 22, 2015
Sir Jargo, you got me confused where you said 200lvl/1st semester. Is there no 2nd semester here. And again boss, i thought physiology, biochemistry and anatomy are offered in 200lvl only. More light please. Gosh! Where are my manners? Good evening bro
Re: Drey's Anatomy: An Insight Into My First Preclinical Year by jargo89(m): 12:08pm On Dec 23, 2015
Khan1993:
Sir Jargo, you got me confused where you said 200lvl/1st semester. Is there no 2nd semester here. And again boss, i thought physiology, biochemistry and anatomy are offered in 200lvl only. More light please. Gosh! Where are my manners? Good evening bro
smiles, goodevenin...I meant first semester 300 lvl. d 2nd sem for 300 level is usually spent in my school doing community medicine. Physiology nd co. Are studied for 18 months which involves d whole 200 level nd 300 level 1st semester...hope its more clearer?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (20) (Reply)

Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-akoko: Post Ume Date Is Out! / 2017/2018 Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma (aau) Aspirants (official Thread) / OAU Student Dressed As A Sexy Nun Turns Heads

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57