Stats: 3,150,297 members, 7,808,012 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 03:06 AM

Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money (23888 Views)

Timipre Sylva Chills In His Abuja Mansion After EFCC Released His Seized Houses / BREAKING: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports, Money / Court Rejects Saraki’s Protest Against Senate Forgery Suit (2) (3) (4)

Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by tommykiwi(m): 2:44pm On Feb 09, 2016
A Federal High Court in Abuja on Tuesday dismissed an application by leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra and founder of Radio Biaf‎ra, Nnamdi Kanu, for the release of certain items, including his British and Nigeria passports, which are in the custody of the Department of State Service.

Justice James Tsoho dismissed the application made orally by Kanu’s lawyer, Mr. Chuks Muouma (SAN), who had sought the release of the items because they would not be needed by the prosecution since they were not listed as part of exhibits to be tendered.

Apart from the passports, other items which Muouma sought to be released to the IPOB leader who is currently in detention at Kuje prison along with his two co-accuse, are cash sums of $2,200 and N87,000.Justice Tsoho, in dismissing the application for lacking in merit, insisted that the fact that the items were not listed as possible exhibits did not foreclose the possibility of their being later used by the prosecution as exhibits.

‎He then adjourned the case till February 19 for the hearing of an application by the prosecution for protection of its witnesses.

The judge, before adjourning the case, granted the request by the defence lawyer to the effect that relations of the accused persons be allowed in the court room subject to security screening and the capacity of the court room.

Kanu, David Nwawusi and Benjamin Madubugwu are being prosecuted on six counts of treasonable felony, unlawful possession of firearms and other offences bordering on their agitation for secession ‎of the Republic of Biafra from Nigeria.

‎Justice Tsoho had on January 29 denied bail to Kanu and the two other defendants and ordered that they remained on remand pending the period of their trial.

The judge in rejecting the accused persons’ bail application, held that they were not entitled to bail as they failed to challenge the allegation by the prosecution that they would continue to commit the alleged crime for which they were being prosecuted if granted bail.

Kanu was in the custody of the Department of State Service from the time of his arrest in a Lagos hotel on October 14, 2015 till January 20, 2016, when he was transferred to prison by an order of Justice Tsoho , shortly after he was arraigned along with two others.

Source.....http://www.punchng.com/breaking-court-rejects-kanus-request-for-his-seized-passports-money/

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Emmatdayo(m): 2:45pm On Feb 09, 2016
serves him right

34 Likes 1 Share

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by jinha(m): 2:46pm On Feb 09, 2016
next...

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by yemmynoni: 2:47pm On Feb 09, 2016
The zoo will show him what it is made up of

66 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by psquaret: 2:48pm On Feb 09, 2016
waiting him wan use his passport do while he is in prison. una think say una get sense abi? abi protest done finish. i once said it and i will say it again this is former Head of state under Military he has seen it all so nothing they move am and plus we well meaning Nigerian are 1000% behind him so no shaking. Jail him he is a prodigal son after getting everything from US ( Nigeria ) he now call us zoo what an insult?

72 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by KinkyAngela(f): 2:50pm On Feb 09, 2016
Chaiiiiiii Biafra don suffer

28 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by menix(m): 2:50pm On Feb 09, 2016
FG can't be so broke to be stealing from Biafrans...

Pls release his properties or u guyz no longer hold him captive...

17 Likes

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Owoloku1: 2:50pm On Feb 09, 2016
He's asking for passports at this time

It's like he wants bribe the warder with the money and escape from prison...let them watch him well

22 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Mutuwa(m): 2:50pm On Feb 09, 2016
lipsrsealed
Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by KinkyAngela(f): 2:51pm On Feb 09, 2016
Which Passport? Is it the British Passport, Nigerian Passport or the Biafran Passport?

Nnamdi Kanu, I am very sorry, the only place the Biafran Passport can get you to is inside the Kuje Prison. Even for Igboland sef if you no hold money, you con go carry Biafra passport go enter Ifesinachi; God is Good; Guo Motors; Ekene Dili Chukwu etc, say you wan travel, na stone dem go stone you

59 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Iroh88(m): 2:53pm On Feb 09, 2016
Ipod youths, when is the next rounds of morning exercises, would like to participate. cheesy

78 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by fiftynaira(m): 2:53pm On Feb 09, 2016
E never even start

A normal human being calling a country a z00 is the same human being now being held by that same z00...

When next I visit abuja I shall stop @ kuje "z00" to give nnamdi kanu BANANA.

Irony of life
#IamIgboNotBiafra

100 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by seunmsg(m): 2:56pm On Feb 09, 2016
Kanu better accept the reality that he won't be needing the passport for a very long time to come. He should get used to life at Kuje prison cos he's not going home anytime soon.

37 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by emamos: 3:05pm On Feb 09, 2016
seunmsg:
Kanu better accept the reality that he won't be needing the passport for a very long time to come. He should get used to life at Kuje prison cos he's not going home anytime soon
kanu wo gau

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Super1Star: 3:08pm On Feb 09, 2016
The toothless lion and lunatic bleaching yellow pawpaw wants to run away, having realise he has been abandoned by noise making ipods.

46 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by GeneralBiati(m): 3:11pm On Feb 09, 2016
if them like make them hold even his underwears, but if on 19 febuary,they do the expected,plan b will come to light

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Nobody: 3:12pm On Feb 09, 2016
Oluwa seun

5 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by HARDBUOI: 3:25pm On Feb 09, 2016
Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Nobody: 3:29pm On Feb 09, 2016
tommykiwi:
A Federal High Court in Abuja on Tuesday dismissed an application by leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra and founder of Radio Biaf‎ra, Nnamdi Kanu, for the release of certain items, including his British and Nigeria passports, which are in the custody of the Department of State Service.

Justice James Tsoho dismissed the application made orally by Kanu’s lawyer, Mr. Chuks Muouma (SAN), who had sought the release of the items because they would not be needed by the prosecution since they were not listed as part of exhibits to be tendered.

Apart from the passports, other items which Muouma sought to be released to the IPOB leader who is currently in detention at Kuje prison along with his two co-accuse, are cash sums of $2,200 and N87,000.Justice Tsoho, in dismissing the application for lacking in merit, insisted that the fact that the items were not listed as possible exhibits did not foreclose the possibility of their being later used by the prosecution as exhibits.

‎He then adjourned the case till February 19 for the hearing of an application by the prosecution for protection of its witnesses.

The judge, before adjourning the case, granted the request by the defence lawyer to the effect that relations of the accused persons be allowed in the court room subject to security screening and the capacity of the court room.

Kanu, David Nwawusi and Benjamin Madubugwu are being prosecuted on six counts of treasonable felony, unlawful possession of firearms and other offences bordering on their agitation for secession ‎of the Republic of Biafra from Nigeria.

‎Justice Tsoho had on January 29 denied bail to Kanu and the two other defendants and ordered that they remained on remand pending the period of their trial.

The judge in rejecting the accused persons’ bail application, held that they were not entitled to bail as they failed to challenge the allegation by the prosecution that they would continue to commit the alleged crime for which they were being prosecuted if granted bail.

Kanu was in the custody of the Department of State Service from the time of his arrest in a Lagos hotel on October 14, 2015 till January 20, 2016, when he was transferred to prison by an order of Justice Tsoho , shortly after he was arraigned along with two others.

Source.....http://www.punchng.com/breaking-court-rejects-kanus-request-for-his-seized-passports-money/
what is he doing with zoo republic passports and currency ...and why demand your zoo passport back ..long jail term await you sorry ass in zoo prison hard luck

29 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by KinkyAngela(f): 3:31pm On Feb 09, 2016
GeneralBiati:
if them like make them hold even his underwears, but if on 19 febuary,they do the expected,plan b will come to light
empty chest beater. Why wait till the 19th? Why dont you go carry out a prison break and release him today? We are tired of your endless ultimatum. Nnamdi Kanu is currently in an underground dungeon at Kuje prison, eating watery beans whilst you are here forming James Bond ontop Nairaland. Yeye dey smell

81 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by MonPro: 3:44pm On Feb 09, 2016
Kanu still remains a great man. If the DSS are still conducting investigation by this time, even with the video you guys have been yapping about, then it means the video is not admissible as an evidence of threat.
The FG looks more clueless in this case. Why haven't they jail him yet, if the video of him soliciting weapon is a super-evidence of treason?
They are just afraid of making the guy a hero, FG has no case here. Everyone except zombies can see that.

17 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by SamJed(m): 3:54pm On Feb 09, 2016
Hmm
Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by shaddoww: 3:57pm On Feb 09, 2016
I cum dey pity dis guy now, karin kapo, ase ko de Ile ejo.

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by sammyj: 3:59pm On Feb 09, 2016
The Dilector hasn't seen anything. By the time the zoo is done dealing with him he will know that jangle has matured. Zoo he must stay he is not going no where after bragging about being the Mandela of his kindred !!! grin shocked grin

23 Likes 1 Share

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by SLIDEwaxie(m): 4:02pm On Feb 09, 2016
You want a Nigerian passport?

That's an irony...but not surprised.

I know that ojukwu alsoncame back as a Nigerian... He even voted sef...

Jeez...you guys are disoriented!

36 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by Nobody: 4:02pm On Feb 09, 2016
Does he need to enter the prison with ECOWAS passport of which Nigeria is a signatory undecided

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by themilanway(m): 4:04pm On Feb 09, 2016
MonPro:
Kanu still remains a great man. If the DSS are still conducting investigation by this time, even with the video you guys have been yapping about, then it means the video is not admissible as an evidence of threat.
The FG looks more clueless in this case. Why haven't they jail him yet, if the video of him soliciting weapon is a super-evidence of treason?
They are just afraid of making the guy a hero, FG has no case here. Everyone except zombies can see that.

Why haven't they jail yet?When they eventually do,you will be 1st to wail cheesy grin

The difference between you and your albino looking scammer is freedom.He can no longer run his mouth cheesy cheesy grin

The"Zoo"is ra.ping his bushy anus cheesy grin cheesy grin

44 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by MonPro: 4:11pm On Feb 09, 2016
SLIDEwaxie:
You want a Nigerian passport?

That's an irony...but not surprised.

I know that ojukwu alsoncame back as a Nigerian... He even voted sef...

Jeez...you guys are disoriented!

Can't you read? he want's his British passport. He doesn't use a nigerian passport. A British passport grants visa-free access to more 197 countries. Nigerian passports can only grant you visa-free access to few countries mainly west african countries and some other hell-holes. No sane person uses nigerian passport nowadays. My uncle is married to a beautiful Finnish lady, he is now a citizen of finland after meeting the rigourous requirement, he travels to 120 countries visa free including the US and Britain.

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by blazetitov: 4:15pm On Feb 09, 2016
Nonsense. what kind of dumb request is that? Kanu should sack his lawyers again jor. Release his British passport so that he can escape jail with the help of unpatriotic elements? By the way, he should be finding comfort in his Biafra passport. I learnt one can use the 'passport' to visit any country in the world undecided undecided undecided undecided

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by MonPro: 4:15pm On Feb 09, 2016
themilanway:

Why haven't they jail yet?When they eventually do,you will be 1st to wail cheesy grin

The difference between you and your albino looking scammer is freedom.He can no longer run his mouth cheesy cheesy grin

The"Zoo"is ra.ping his bushy anus cheesy grin cheesy grin

You've had your precious 'video evidence' for more than 3 months now. Yet you can not use it to jail him for treason? Why all the noise then? Your FG look very confused and clueless here, not kanu.

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by gbengaizzy(m): 4:17pm On Feb 09, 2016
IPOD foolish Youth, even when they know and see that they are loosing out, they still continue in their foolishness.

"If a man (IPOD YOUTH) realize he's a fool and Repent asking for forgiveness, same man (IPOD YOUTH)shall be saved but If a man (IPOD YOUTH) realizes he's a fool and continue in Same path, same man (IPOD YOUTH) SURELY I tell you shall perish In his foolishness.

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Court Rejects Kanu’s Request For His Seized Passports And Money by LesbianBoy(m): 4:19pm On Feb 09, 2016
Buhari is a bastard! He should set the mumu nnamdi kanu free na! undecided

Saraki’s Loyalists In Federal Executive Positions To Be Sacked, Says Lai Mohamme / Ondo 2020: Why I Didn't Pick Agboola Ajayi As Running Mate - Eyitayo Jegede / President Buhari Visits UN Secretary (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38