Stats: 3,148,878 members, 7,802,836 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 10:54 PM

Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) - Health (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) (35378 Views)

Risk Factors Associated With Sudden Cardiac Arrest.. / Renal Failure: A Silent Killer / Renal Failure.. Know The Signs And Symptoms (2) (3) (4)

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by micfoley: 6:14pm On Feb 09, 2016
May God help us in this country
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by poiZon: 6:40pm On Feb 09, 2016
tmao d zombies will be attackng akpabio, come to uyo, the ibom specialist hospital is one facility I admire n work has resumed in earnest. more than 10 surgeries have been done in the hospital. but fashola's multibillion naira elephant edifice is rotting away, not even the electrical works is functional. yet he is the best thing that came out of the wasteland, even the dullard who knows nothing abt administration had to dump 3super ministries on the poor fellow.
1.5million dollars equipment not working after installation, so na taiwan dem go buy come. chai.....see scam.
dont blame dem o, when one opolo eye go detect for more than 15million people.
apc......scam

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Abagworo(m): 7:38pm On Feb 09, 2016
This is the fight Rochas Okorocha is having in Imo. Imo Government spent billions in building of standard General hospitals and wants to concession them for sustainability but it is being opposed. If the opposition succeeds then in a few years the hospitals will be run aground as a result of what we all call Nigerian factor.

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by sonnie10: 7:50pm On Feb 09, 2016
I do not know the details of this particular center but as a professional in this field, I can make certain educated guess at what is going on there.
Most importantly is the issue of technology; software copyright and export of technology. They did not think it through before going into the contract with the initial consultant. Like most things in Nigeria, they decided to cut corners; have expatriates install the equipment and then use home people to maintain and manage it. That was the recipe for disaster.

Unfortunately, it does not work that way. All modern biomedical equipment are computerized and require codes and periodic software upgrade. The right to repair is the sole property of the enterprise/vendor, they have remote access to all their equipment, and consider those codes as trade secret. Kind of intellectual property right. Facilities have to pay more in the long run to these vendors to keep equipment up and running and up to date. Believe it or not, whatever need to be fixed on that cathlab equipment can be remotely done from an offshore site. So, do not except the company to give out the troubleshooting code to Nigeria engineers.

Another area which might hindered the functionally of those equipment is stringent laws regarding transfer of technology at the consultants' home country. Certain technology are not allowed to be transferred/exported or they company might face serious regulatory sanctions. For those hoping that the company will give out the repair codes, it is impossible, never.

Lastly, the field of radiology is just being to again attention in Nigeria. Cath/catherization is an advance area in radiologic science, it is called Interventional Radiology. No Nigerian University is offering a course in that yet, and this is not an undergraduate level course. All the people working in that area are trained abroad, only a few come home after training. Others prefer to remain and work abroad where they were trained and usually offered employment. The few that come home are highly sort after by bigger and more functional hospitals. So, the result is lack of qualified personals to operate this highly sophisticated equipment.

As an illustration, follow on with these facts;
1)There are less than 3000 radiographer currently in Nigeria and they are almost all well employed
2) From the 3000, we are to get the ones who are willing to go for a post graduate studies
3) From 2 above, are those who will go abroad for this training
4) From 3 above, you get those who are willing to return home after training
5) From 4 above you get those who are willing to work in a non functional hospital.

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by phranseeqz(m): 7:52pm On Feb 09, 2016
sapiosexual1:

Thank-you sir. One has to consider whatever comes from the government as a lie until proven otherwise. That's the sorry state of my country

Sincerely, the lies that emanate from all these officials are appalling and sometimes scary. How will you say people employed to handle facilities left them because they can't handle them. Haba! What's wrong with training them . The simplest logical reasoning is that they are ineffective or 'dead on arrival' scraps.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by sonnie10: 7:52pm On Feb 09, 2016
Abagworo:
This is the fight Rochas Okorocha is having in Imo. Imo Government spent billions in building of standard General hospitals and wants to concession them for sustainability but it is being opposed. If the opposition succeeds then in a few years the hospitals will be run aground as a result of what we all call Nigerian factor.

True talk. But Okorocha is over doing it. Why sack the people that are already there in this hard economy?

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by phranseeqz(m): 8:01pm On Feb 09, 2016
anonimi:

Probably REPAINTED scrap from oyinbo land to yoyo the eyes of our mumu people like the scrap metal Toronto trains that were bought with $1 billion World Bank loan that are yet to be seen in Lagos shocked embarassed undecided

Lol. Hope the scraps have arrived? Though I might not be totally against 'tokunbos' but, why go for ones that have exceeded their useful lives. Why go for trains of 30 years? Na casket them want buy? Afterall, they all go for latest rides and never think those they are serving (leading in Nigeria's case) deserve something close to new.

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by free13: 8:14pm On Feb 09, 2016
grin #one chance.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Nobody: 8:55pm On Feb 09, 2016
phranseeqz:

Sincerely, the lies that emanate from all these officials are appalling and sometimes scary. How will you say people employed to handle facilities left them because they can't handle them. Haba! What's wrong with training them . The simplest logical reasoning is that they are ineffective or 'dead on arrival' scraps.
My oga the tin tire me, I don't even know what to do with Nigeria again.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by lordmayor4(m): 9:48pm On Feb 09, 2016
Abeg they should not do anything there, it's our sporting complex now.
That's where we exercise and train
#Gbagada
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Reference(m): 9:55pm On Feb 09, 2016
phranseeqz:

Is it due to lack of maintenance? It was outrightly stated that most facilities weren't working (dead) on arrival. So how do u maintain what's dead? That will be another waste of resources

I just tire. The report clearly states that the equipment installed are non functional. Maintenance talk is just a mischevious way of diverting attention from the contract failure and possibly fraud involved.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by ajebuter(f): 10:02pm On Feb 09, 2016
Firefire:

I am very sure, one day APC lies and propaganda will come to an END.

Bi iro ba lo ni ogun odun, ojokan aje ojokan ti Ooto ma ba.

Cc: Ajebuter.

Truthful lips will be established forever, But a lying tongue is only for a moment. -Prov. 12:19

Ododo ati otito oro..

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Reference(m): 10:03pm On Feb 09, 2016
LagosEconomist:
Guys,

Please stop getting excited over a false report. I repeat this report is false.

The Cardiac & Renal Centre is probably the best medical facility in Nigeria today.

It started up in phases, with the renal & dialysis unit starting first. Today, they are the largest functioning dialysis facility in the country.

The ICU (Intensive Care Unit) is the best & only one of the few functioning ICUs in Nigeria today.

The Cath lab (for open heart surgery) is the last phase of the project. It is the only standard cath lab in West Africa (There is a mobile one in Ghana). It has not packed up, it has never been used. Due to the complexity of the equipment and specialist knowledge of the clinical personnel required, it was meant to be the last phase to pick up.

I know this because I provided financial advisory services to the Centre. I have dealt with Mr. Osewa, & he knows I am not a phantom.

As a matter of fact, Seun can nominate two people, & I can take them to the Centre at any time to verify that this report is trash.

Better get yourself a good lawyer. You and your gang are done. The opposition and press will eat you guys alive.

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by marv1: 10:14pm On Feb 09, 2016
Do u have comprehension problems? Read it well. They those equipments are not working and not that workers cant operate on them.
sapiosexual1:
This is a typical Nigerian problem, maintenance. Instituting and running such a sophisticated center requires alot of political will and commitment. I remember when Fashola commissioned the centre, I told my colleagues that it was a political stunt and an accolade grabbing act, used to drain Lagos money into his pocket.
I would however pick holes in the article, some statements there are far from the truth. Telling us that the Profs and Consultants abandoned the equipments cos they couldn't operate them is laughable at best and negates what the last correspondent said.

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by sonnie10: 10:18pm On Feb 09, 2016
LagosEconomist:
Guys,

The Cardiac & Renal Centre is probably the best medical facility in Nigeria today.

It started up in phases, with the renal & dialysis unit starting first. Today, they are the largest functioning dialysis facility in the country.

The ICU (Intensive Care Unit) is the best & only one of the few functioning ICUs in Nigeria today.

The Cath lab (for open heart surgery) is the last phase of the project. It is the only standard cath lab in West Africa (There is a mobile one in Ghana). It has not packed up, it has never been used. Due to the complexity of the equipment and specialist knowledge of the clinical personnel required, it was meant to be the last phase to pick up.

I know this because I provided financial advisory services to the Centre. I have dealt with Mr. Osewa, & he knows I am not a phantom.

As a matter of fact, Seun can nominate two people, & I can take them to the Centre at any time to verify that this report is trash.

Hello, I am available as a resource person in the cathlab field and willing to contribute to the development of health care practice in the country. I would be glad to receive and respond to PMs regarding professional ideas in the area of cath lab.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by InvertedHammer: 10:26pm On Feb 09, 2016
sonnie10:
I do not know the details of this particular center but as a professional in this field, I can make certain educated guess at what is going on there.
Most importantly is the issue of technology; software copyright and export of technology. They did not think it through before going into the contract with the initial consultant. Like most things in Nigeria, they decided to cut corners; have expatriates install the equipment and then use home people to maintain and manage it. That was the recipe for disaster.

Unfortunately, it does not work that way. All modern biomedical equipment are computerized and require codes and periodic software upgrade. The right to repair is the sole property of the enterprise/vendor, they have remote access to all their equipment, and consider those codes as trade secret. Kind of intellectual property right. Facilities have to pay more in the long run to these vendors to keep equipment up and running and up to date. Believe it or not, whatever need to be fixed on that cathlab equipment can be remotely done from an offshore site. So, do not except the company to give out the troubleshooting code to Nigeria engineers.

Another area which might hindered the functionally of those equipment is stringent laws regarding transfer of technology at the consultants' home country. Certain technology are not allowed to be transferred/exported or they company might face serious regulatory sanctions. For those hoping that the company will give out the repair codes, it is impossible, never.

Lastly, the field of radiology is just being to again attention in Nigeria. Cath/catherization is an advance area in radiologic science, it is called Interventional Radiology. No Nigerian University is offering a course in that yet, and this is not an undergraduate level course. All the people working in that area are trained abroad, only a few come home after training. Others prefer to remain and work abroad where they were trained and usually offered employment. The few that come home are highly sort after by bigger and more functional hospitals. So, the result is lack of qualified personals to operate this highly sophisticated equipment.

As an illustration, follow on with these facts;
1)There are less than 3000 radiographer currently in Nigeria and they are almost all well employed
2) From the 3000, we are to get the ones who are willing to go for a post graduate studies
3) From 2 above, are those who will go abroad for this training
4) From 3 above, you get those who are willing to return home after training
5) From 4 above you get those who are willing to work in a non functional hospital.
/
How do they even intend to power those pieces of equipment?

I have given up on Nigeria a long time ago.

One would think that with the geographical location of Nigeria and the sheer number of electrical/electronics engineers graduating
out of their secondary schools (sorry Universities) that Nigeria will be the champion of solar energy. Hell No! They are waiting
for the white folks to develop and then they import. Yet they will not fail to remind you that they are engineers. I believe education
in Nigeria is centered on "cram and vomit" and no critical thinking abilities among the so-called science graduates.

Coming to the issue of the medical center, it is obvious that the fund was embezzled and the source through backdoor backfired.
Any accountability? Any transparency? That in itself will be asking too much. I guess the country is overpopulated and the
nonchalant attitude towards life and social welfare is nature's way of exercising population control on the ignorant populace.

Cry not. God and nature are in control.

/

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by InvertedHammer: 10:36pm On Feb 09, 2016
LagosEconomist:
Guys,

/
There is no complexity involved. It is either you have trained hands or you don't. Even the so-called trained hands
cannot be trusted in my opinion because there are no checks and balances. Physicians in developed worlds are faced with
malpractice lawsuits that keep them in check against going off-grid. But without such oversight in Nigeria, going to these places
is like playing Russian roulette with one's life. You must understand that Nigerians have poor attitude to serious issues especially
the ones that will not provide immediate financial gratification with minimal effort.

Any interventional radiologist(s) that would pack up to work in Nigeria will be a suspect in my book. What are the motives?

\

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by ibedun: 11:33pm On Feb 09, 2016
anonimi:
Where is aressa and other praise singers on the thread about the "commissioning"
Where are the propragandists and scammers?

Lagos is not your state of Origin so why your headache? And yes you are a Nigetian but worry about Maiduguri for a change
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Nobody: 11:37pm On Feb 09, 2016
marv1:
Do u have comprehension problems? Read it well. They those equipments are not working and not that workers cant operate on them.

..It was also learnt that most consultants, professionals and doctors employed by the centre had left since they could not operate the facilities.
Chief Executive Officer of the Centre, Prof. Babatunde Green, also confirmed the situation to the committee

Sorry broh, what's your IQ, 35? Remind me ur secondary school's name.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by sonnie10: 12:00am On Feb 10, 2016
sapiosexual1:

but operating the facility is different from operating the equipment

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by hoodmenconcepts: 12:28am On Feb 10, 2016
washerey! coming soon...
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Rhea(f): 4:03am On Feb 10, 2016
[size=18pt]Why won't it grind to a halt when Buhari's doctor is in London, and Nigerian doctors have been in and out of strike like leg in and out of trouser. A cath lab is a life saving investment in any country, and we just let one go to waste. It is really heart breaking[/size]
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Nyceguy92: 4:28am On Feb 10, 2016
[quote author=dre11 post=42765717]

Projects of this magnitude require experts.
Equipping the centre required that the specifications of all equipment be stated and strictly followed, even the gauges of electric wires.
The monitoring and supervising team must have been novices so the contractor "dealt" with them.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Rilikoko(m): 7:07am On Feb 10, 2016
I don't know the motive of the writer of this piece but it sure is a big fat lie.just this past month,my father Inlaw was rushed down to Gbagada general hospital due to cardiac arrest he suffered on his way to work.he was transferred to this cardiac and renal center this writer claimed has packed up where he did series of tests with some of these equipments said to not function.I could have been one of the gullible commenters to the this post too if I wasn't at the center recently,believe me when I tell u even the lobby and corridors of the center are well ventilated with AC talk less of the operating rooms and lab.am very glad and grateful that such an advanced center could be found among us here which saved my father inlaw's life,he was discharged within a week
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by marv1: 7:30am On Feb 10, 2016
Ur IQ is 3.5. Kids all over the place with no regard.
sapiosexual1:

Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Nobody: 2:23pm On Feb 10, 2016
Abagworo:

Does he need to shut down all the General Hospitals and Private hospitals to concession something that has not been fully built?
Does he need to retrench all the Hospital Management Board Staff to do his nonsense?
Does the police need to fire tear-gas canisters on Consultants heads for Rochas to concession his white elephants?
Abagworo, whatever you are being paid to defend such illegality against your parents, relations, kit and kin is not worth it.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Nobody: 4:07pm On Feb 10, 2016
sonnie10:

but operating the facility is different from operating the equipment
My oga what makes up the faculity, walls, structures?
Do you operate structures? In a hospital setting, you operate people, and what's used to operate people? Isnt it the equipments?
Extrapolate.
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Nobody: 4:46pm On Feb 10, 2016
dem don use d building launder money wat do u expect
Re: Lagos Cardiac Renal Facilities Pack Up(pic) by Tequilah: 1:30pm On Feb 11, 2016
LagosEconomist:
One final word.

At the moment, due to the success of the dialysis unit, the capacity may soon be increased. It is already the largest functional dialysis facility in the country.

The management of the facility is not connected to Duex, Tinubu, Fashola or the Government, and it is probably the only government owned medical facility in Nigeria that generates revenue for the government at any level (local, state or federal).

If they want to get this sham of a journalist, they easily can, as most of the report is a flat out lie. I expect him to either be retracting the story with an apology, or getting fired like the other crook that manufactured an article about an interview with Itse Sagay.

How many people have been treated at the dialysis centre since inception till date? How many cases have been handled in the entire complex? Can you provide statistics and referrals from patients who have successfully used these facilities? And when will the Cathlab section be fully operational? What exactly is keeping it from being used? Lack of specialist personnel? Or inadequate technical knowledge? Kindly clarify.

InvertedHammer:

/
There is no complexity involved. It is either you have trained hands or you don't. Even the so-called trained hands
cannot be trusted in my opinion because there are no checks and balances. Physicians in developed worlds are faced with
malpractice lawsuits that keep them in check against going off-grid. But without such oversight in Nigeria, going to these places
is like playing Russian roulette with one's life. You must understand that Nigerians have poor attitude to serious issues especially
the ones that will not provide immediate financial gratification with minimal effort.

Any interventional radiologist(s) that would pack up to work in Nigeria will be a suspect in my book. What are the motives?

\

Hmmnn....food for thought! undecided

503 New COVID-19 Cases, 280 Discharged And 15 Deaths On July 7 - (14,435 Tested) / My Sister May Die Soon, I Am Sad / Ibanga Bassey Etang Died Of Coronavirus Disease - NDDC

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 88