Stats: 3,148,766 members, 7,802,342 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 12:45 PM

How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing - Family - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing (968 Views)

South African Dad Throws His Baby To Prevent His Building From Being Demolished / 13 Things You Need To Teach Your “girl Child” At An Early Age / Here Is A List Of Things You Need To Teach Your Children Fast (2) (3) (4)

How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing by InformedLola(f): 6:11pm On Mar 25, 2016
Getting a young child to brush can be a very exasperating and frustrating experience for many moms and dads. In fact in many homes, it can be a tug of war when it's time to brush with more than one family member having to hold down the screaming and struggling little one. Recall the popular image below? Lol.

Below are some tips on how to get your kid to look forward to brushing instead of the other way round:

1. Start Early: This is the most important step. As soon as you see your baby's first little tooth, start gently cleaning it with delicate baby toothbrush that is made with soft nylon bristles and has a small head. You can also use a finger-brush. But remember that your baby's gum is very tender so be extra gentle. With this, by the time your baby grows into a toddler, he's used to the strange feel of a toothbrush in his mouth and more accepting of it.

2. Buy Tooth-brushing Videos: There are some animated videos out there that show kids how to brush in a fun way that adults might not have the time to create. Let your little ones watch these sort of videos often, and let them imitate the cartoon characters at their own pace. You can also let them watch it when it's time to brush.

3. Make Brushing Time Fun Time: You can sing the popular song 'this is they way I brush my teeth..." or their favourite song. Let them brush for you too and even bring their favourite toys into the fun. You can also get a fun tooth brush; one that looks like their favourite fruit, candy or cartoon character.

4. Act Excited Brushing Yourself: You know kids love to copy what adults do and appear to be enjoying. So, make sure you take your kid with you when you want to brush, with his own brush handy, and act like you totally enjoying brushing. He or she would be more interested in joining in.

Source: http://nigerianbaby..com.ng/2016/03/how-to-teach-your-baby-to-love-brushing_66.html

Got some interesting tips that have worked for you to add, please do so in the comment box so that we can all learn.

Re: How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing by bjprodint(f): 6:16pm On Mar 25, 2016
Thanks so much,my baby hates seeing her tooth brush,will try these tips and pray it works
Re: How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing by McCarlito(m): 6:23pm On Mar 25, 2016

Re: How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing by Nobody: 6:33pm On Mar 25, 2016
McCarlito:
In Nigeria everything must be done by fire by thunder
www.nairaland.com/attachments/3532450_boybrushing_jpeg_jpegf766667c624276340b75c478e9371f98
Ewooo!!! shocked looks like they are about killing the boy with tooth brush shocked
Re: How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing by ademega(m): 6:59pm On Mar 25, 2016
thanks for this
Re: How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing by Iolite(f): 6:01am On Mar 26, 2016
... And you think av not tried all these Now na 'fire by thunder' approach I dey. All the same thanks, let me go and get more brushing videos.
Re: How To Teach Your Baby To Love Brushing by Lolaabokoku(f): 1:50pm On Mar 26, 2016
Lolzz

8 Things You Should Not Joke About On April Fools Day / 15 Charts That Are Way Too Real For Anyone With African Parents / 70 Year Old Nigerian Man Mr Adeleye, His Seven Sons & Their Wives (photo)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19