Stats: 3,143,458 members, 7,781,315 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 12:24 PM

Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? (24746 Views)

FG To Reintroduce Tolls On Federal Highways / Fashola Lists 44 Highways, 63 Roads To Be Constructed In 3-Year Plan / The Two New Highways To Akwa Ibom Ikpeazu Just Started Constructing (Pics) (2) (3) (4)

Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by SolaceAndexIII: 11:06am On Apr 30, 2016
DISCLAIMER: This topic refers to the route from Warri to Kano Only please.

I travelled recently from Warri to Kano and here are my observation about the HighWays:-
Southern Part
From Warri passing through Benin by pass, Ekpoma, Auchi, Okpella and Okene straight to Lokoja
POTHOLES: About 60% of the Road is filled with potholes, very dangerous I must say.
DOUBLE LANE: Less than 35% of the Road is double laned, Not good Either.
------------------------------
Northern Part
From Lokoja passing through Abuja, Niger, Kaduna and Zaria straight to Kano.
POTHOLES: Less than 20% of the Road is filled with Potholes, at least this is good.
DOUBLE LANE: Up to 90% of the Road is double laned, a laudable feat.

Thats my analysis, what's your opinion guys.
SOURCE: My Journey to the North.

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Movic1(m): 11:19am On Apr 30, 2016
Coz their roads re link directly to abj
Hear yourself! passing through abuja cheesy

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Xslaze3xd(m): 11:24am On Apr 30, 2016
Movic1:
Coz their roads re link directly to abj
Here yourself! passing through abuja cheesy
Okene and Lokoja are also linked to Abuja from the South, and they have very bad roads especially Okene

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Delphi(m): 11:28am On Apr 30, 2016
It's because of topography and climate. The composition of the subgrade on which the roads sit are different. The Southern's clay base are more failure prone because of its composition. Also, the volume/amount of rainfall (and traffic) on these areas is a significant causative factor to road failure. Know which of the two sides that has more rainfall and then know the side that the roads ought to fail more. There's also a lot that's beyond a layman's comprehension .

96 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Nobody: 11:30am On Apr 30, 2016
most contract that are carried out in the north r done without d cintractors needing to bribe a thousand and one entities but here in the south, any contractor will have to bribe virtually all the 'bribeable' individuals before he successfully completes the project...all the numerous bribes will affect thw project financially leading to substandard materials being used

199 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by tommykiwi(m): 11:37am On Apr 30, 2016
K
Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by izuch(m): 11:37am On Apr 30, 2016
I've always asked myself the same question and I'm yet to come up with a satisfactory answer.

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by apcmustwin(f): 11:38am On Apr 30, 2016
Before this turns into tribal bashing, we have to understand that the topography of North and South are different. Northern States are not predisposed to erosion and other weathering conditions that destroys road.

79 Likes

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by dapsoneh: 11:38am On Apr 30, 2016
My brother, leave that for God ooooo

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Nobody: 11:38am On Apr 30, 2016
My brother... Leave matter for Mattias

Hausa people (North in general) although are corrupt, don't forsake the needs of their own people cause they've got unity than elsewhere whereas southern people, even when asked to maintain their own village would eat the money.

Me am at Warri and I can't see the completed roads that uduaghan promised #voicemail.

88 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Nobody: 11:38am On Apr 30, 2016
Rock
Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by handie(m): 11:38am On Apr 30, 2016
Ministers of works 1999-2016.
Anthony Akhakon Anenih:1999–2003
Adeseye Ogunlewe, (July 2003–March 2006)
Obafemi Anibaba (March 2006–Sep 2006)
Cornelius Adebayo (Sep 2006–Jan 2007)
Hassan Muhammed Lawal (December 2008 -
March 2010)
Sen. Mohammed Sanusi Daggash(March 2010-July 2011).
Mike Oziegbe Onelememen(July 2011-May 2015).
Babatunde Raji Fashola(November 2015-date). In Nigeria's 17 years of democracy, Southerners have been ministers of works for 14 years.... And two of these ministers who accumulatively spent 8 years in office are from Edo state(a state with a high level of failed and bad federal roads).
Nigerian Presidents between 1999-2016: Olusegun Obasanjo(May 1999-May 2007)
Umaru Musa Yaradua(May 2007-May 2010]
Goodluck Ebele Jonathan(May 2010-May 2015)
Muhammadu Buhari(May 2015-date). The south have been in power for 12 of 16 years of Democracy. With this Evidence, Op the problem with Southern roads is the Southern leaders and elites.
ANOTHER BRILLIANT REASON GIVEN BY THIS BRILLIANT NLDER.
akigbemaru:
Nice observations to this writer!

I can relate with what the OP is saying and I tell you from experience that the southern elites in most cases obstruct development or quality amenities allocated to them for selfish short lived gains.
The excuse that the reason facilities are better up North is because the North have ruled longer than other regions doesnt hold water. Federal character entails that all regions are represented at the center at every point in time. So if your representatives care about you then there ought be facilities on ground at least in the areas/sectors occupied previously or presently by a southerner in the south.

A guy was contracted by the government to upgrade and digitize a community secondary school in a remote community in Rivers state.The contract was to the tune of approximately 22 million naira, so you can imagine what that could do for a village school. The contract was from Abuja (Federal) so the contractor of Hausa descent, purchased the needed items (computers and electronic gadgets) and came down to Port Harcourt to execute the contract. He paid a ferry (as you need to cross a river to get to this community) and his gadgets where ferried across to the community. On getting to the community with his technicians to start installation, a group of boys accosted his team and apprehended him and seized his consignment. He explained to them what he was about to do and that the community was to be better off for it but they would not listen and insisted that he follows them to their rulers place. He went with them to see their Chief with the expectation that he would be reasonable and happy about what they have come to do. The Chief flared when they got to his house, he said why would the contractor be an Hausa man? ''so you collect money for contract and use only a quarter to execute the contract he said, go bring the contract paper''. All his explanations that all was well and that the contract is been executed with quality materials fell on deaf ear. When the contractor saw that those guys were not willing to release the gadgets, he pleaded with them that the contract paper was in his hotel room and that he would go get it.
The contractor a newbie in the game did not really understand their rationale and anger towards him, he thought maybe the reason they act like this is because of the Wururu attitudes of most Nigerian contractors, may be they really care that I do a good work?
The contractor picked the contract letter from his hotel room and was about returning to the community when a second thought crossed his mind. He went to a business center and reduced the figure on the contract and then rushed back to the community with the altered document.
The new document carried 15 million naira. The Chief on seeing the contract letter said he should go and bring the 15 million and forget the project, to which the contractor replied that only part of the money has been paid, and the balance was subject to the project completion and certification by the community. He also said that he had spent the initial funds to purchase the gadgets in their custody and there will be no way to come by 15 million naira. After much rigmarole the Chief said he should go and raise 7 million naira which he agreed to, but the contractors concern was on the certification and signing of his papers by the community authorities so that he could get his balance. The Chief said that should recover the money by selling the gadgets and that signing his papers is a none issue and that he would get the appropriate guys to sign the paper.
They arranged some of the gadgets and the Chief and community people took pictures in turns and made it seem like the gadgets had been fitted in the schools. The guys completion papers was signed afterwards and all the gadgets were released to him. Chief followed him to PH city with 4 boys to collect the money. He went to his bank, withdrew 7 million naira and gave to the Chief.
He went to Ogbunabali in PH afterwards and sold the gadgets for some discount. He made a fortune from this contract, but he was really worried about the attitudes of the southern elders...he would still have made profit if he had executed the contract.

The contractor said he executed contracts to upgrade, digitize schools in different communities in the North without problems or this kind of saboteurish behavior. So next time you see a good infrastructure in the North its because their ''village Chief'' did not demand for half the contract money instead of the project.

There are a million and one cases like this in PH for instance. Community people did not allow Amaechi to rehabilitate some terrible roads in like ''pure water Rumuodara area'' for instance,till he paid them some outrageous amount of money which he refused to pay. Eze gbaka gbaka wanted some amount of money before the road along Woji would be constructed; infact work started on that road not long after he died.
So before you blame the Northerners for all your woes, be aware that you (Southerners) are your own enemies. Southerners are very selfish and suffer from temporal myopia, their clarity decreases with distance (they dont see beyond their nose) and would sabotage for immediate gains the infrastructures on which their quality of lives depend on.

#IAMASOUTHERNERBYTHEWAY
God bless u @Akigbemaru

75 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Movic1(m): 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
Xslaze3xd:

Okene and Lokoja are also linked to Abuja from the South, and they have very bad roads especially Okene

Study diz piz! u will understand what i meant.

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by truthalways(m): 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
Ask Luggard undecided

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Texcoco(m): 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
[b] Because of gross neglect and decades of tribalism effeted by the northern rulers since the inception of this country...Tis the only reason why Northerners are more employable in the civil service and military...Strategic National institutions and facilities are placed in the North...Northern universities are better constructed and well funded than their southern counterparts...etc. The issue of road is far more neglible to the sense of entitlement most northerners have got as far who gets what in nigeria is concerned.This gross sense of entitlement pervades about our society and perception between boths parties albiet differently thus breeding a dangerous trend of importunity as you've git Fulani herds men with AKs wiping out communities whilst the authorities- populated with their kinsmen and those with huge stakes on these herdsmen due to cultural,religious or ethnic ties- are keen to look the other if not to assist and protect them from reprisals.....The issue of roads is nothing compared to the neo-colonialists and their importunity..[/b]

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by whirlwind7(m): 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
fcbonsai:
most contract that are carried out in the north r done without d cintractors needing to bribe a thousand and one entities but here in the south, any contractor will have to bribe virtually all the 'bribeable' individuals before he successfully completes the project...all the numerous bribes will affect thw project financially leading to substandard materials being used

We are discussing federal roads here.
The same process of awarding contracts holds for both north and south. Bribery is arguably involved, in whatever part of the country the contracts and construction work is getting done.

But federal, or trunk A roads in the north got more attention, especially during the military era. This is obviously because most heads of state in those periods were from the north, and contractors were more careful to do a proper job under military rule. Also, federal roads leading from Abuja to northern states were upgraded after Abuja became the capital.

Since 1999, when we returned to democracy, we have witnessed the level of corruption that made the military took over in the 80s. The federal government since 1999 is such a sorry example of how Africans cannot take charge of their destiny and properly govern themselves when they have no compulsion to do so. You would think that when Obasanjo was in charge, the Lagos-Benin expressway would be upgraded to world standard, but it never happened. Even, the road that leads to his farm and love nest at Ota was left in total disrepair. That's a typical African for you. Same thing with GEJ's tenure. Very little improvement. Southerners themselves are largely responsible for this disparity.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Kufie(m): 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
Maybe because of the heavy duty trucks in that region.. Maybe
Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by goingape: 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
SolaceAndexIII:
DISCLAIMER: This topic refers to the route from Warri to Kano Only please.

I travelled recently from Warri to Kano and here are my observation about the HighWays:-
Southern Part
From Warri passing through Benin by pass, Ekpoma, Auchi, Okpella and Okene straight to Lokoja
POTHOLES: About 60% of the Road is filled with potholes, very dangerous I must say.
DOUBLE LANE: Less than 35% of the Road is double laned, Not good Either.
------------------------------
Northern Part
From Lokoja passing through Abuja, Niger, Kaduna and Zaria straight to Kano.
POTHOLES: Less than 20% of the Road is filled with Potholes, at least this is good.
DOUBLE LANE: Up to 90% of the Road is double laned, a laudable feat.

Thats my analysis, what's your opinion guys.
SOURCE: My Journey to the North.

because we don't plant juju on roads and break roads and be pretending to repair it.

we also don't set road blocks to rob people. that's why our road is far better than the South.

we also don't do diabolical means to stop road construction.

18 Likes

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by 1freshdude: 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
I can relate with what the OP is saying and I tell you from experience that the southern elites in most cases obstruct development or quality amenities allocated to them for selfish short lived gains.
The excuse that the reason facilities are better up North is because the North have ruled longer than other regions doesnt hold water. Federal character entails that all regions are represented at the center at every point in time. So if your representatives care about you then there ought be facilities on ground at least in the areas/sectors occupied previously or presently by a southerner in the south.

A guy was contracted by the government to upgrade and digitize a community secondary school in a remote community in Rivers state.The contract was to the tune of approximately 22 million naira, so you can imagine what that could do for a village school. The contract was from Abuja (Federal) so the contractor of Hausa descent, purchased the needed items (computers and electronic gadgets) and came down to Port Harcourt to execute the contract. He paid a ferry (as you need to cross a river to get to this community) and his gadgets where ferried across to the community. On getting to the community with his technicians to start installation, a group of boys accosted his team and apprehended him and seized his consignment. He explained to them what he was about to do and that the community was to be better off for it but they would not listen and insisted that he follows them to their rulers place. He went with them to see their Chief with the expectation that he would be reasonable and happy about what they have come to do. The Chief flared when they got to his house, he said why would the contractor be an Hausa man? ''so you collect money for contract and use only a quarter to execute the contract he said, go bring the contract paper''. All his explanations that all was well and that the contract is been executed with quality materials fell on deaf ear. When the contractor saw that those guys were not willing to release the gadgets, he pleaded with them that the contract paper was in his hotel room and that he would go get it.
The contractor a newbie in the game did not really understand their rationale and anger towards him, he thought maybe the reason they act like this is because of the Wururu attitudes of most Nigerian contractors, may be they really care that I do a good work?
The contractor picked the contract letter from his hotel room and was about returning to the community when a second thought crossed his mind. He went to a business center and reduced the figure on the contract and then rushed back to the community with the altered document.
The new document carried 15 million naira. The Chief on seeing the contract letter said he should go and bring the 15 million and forget the project, to which the contractor replied that only part of the money has been paid, and the balance was subject to the project completion and certification by the community. He also said that he had spent the initial funds to purchase the gadgets in their custody and there will be no way to come by 15 million naira. After much rigmarole the Chief said he should go and raise 7 million naira which he agreed to, but the contractors concern was on the certification and signing of his papers by the community authorities so that he could get his balance and also how to raise the 7 million that they asked for. The Chief replied that he should pay the money and retrieve it by selling the gadgets, he also added that signing his papers is a none issue and that he would get the appropriate guys to sign the paper.
They arranged some of the gadgets and the Chief and community people took pictures in turns and made it seem like the gadgets had been fitted in the schools. The guys completion papers was signed afterwards and all the gadgets were released to him.
The Chief followed him to PH city with 4 boys to collect the money. He went to his bank, withdrew 7 million naira and gave to the Chief.
He went to Ogbunabali in PH afterwards and sold the gadgets for some discount. He made a fortune from this contract, but he was really worried about the attitudes of the southern elders...he would still have made profit if he had executed the contract.

The contractor said he executed contracts to upgrade, digitize schools in different communities in the North without problems or this kind of saboteurish behavior. So next time you see a good infrastructure in the North its because their ''village Chief'' did not demand for half the contract money instead of the project.

There are a million and one cases like this in PH for instance. Community people did not allow Amaechi to rehabilitate some terrible roads in like ''pure water Rumuodara area'' for instance,till he paid them some outrageous amount of money which he refused to pay. Eze gbaka gbaka wanted some amount of money before the road along Woji would be constructed; infact work started on that road not long after he died.
Alams despite looting millions of pounds from his people died in a hospital in PH.. the point is why couldnt he build a state of the art hospital close to himself (in Bayelsa) with a fraction of his loot?
So before you blame the Northerners for all your woes, be aware that you (Southerners) are your own enemies. Southerners are very selfish and suffer from temporal myopia, their clarity decreases with distance (they dont see beyond their nose) and would sabotage for immediate gains the infrastructures on which the quality of their lives depends on.

#IAMASOUTHERNERBYTHEWAY

67 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by ShineuEye: 11:39am On Apr 30, 2016
Buhari as PTF chairman spent 80% of PTF money doing up northern roads. Northerners ruled Nigeria for 44yrs and you expect their roads to be substandard?

Read this 2010 article by a Yoruba man
As PTF Chairman, you were an ethnic champion with the way projects under your supervision were executed. The Lagos/Ibadan Expressway, Shagamu/Benin Expressway and their Ibadan/Ilorin counterpart became death traps because you deliberately ignored these national arteries of commerce and social mobilisation due to a myopic vision of ‘punishing’ the Yoruba Nation for standing up to Abacha.
http://saharareporters.com/2010/11/13/open-letter-general-muhammadu-buhari

14 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by GodMode: 11:40am On Apr 30, 2016
K

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Young109(m): 11:40am On Apr 30, 2016
Why? I don't know
Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by XaintJoel20: 11:40am On Apr 30, 2016
Okada abeg drop me here make I chuk mouth for this matter.

1. Most of our contractors and government agents down south are extremely corrupt.
2. Substandard materials.
3. The geographical location. South tend to have more rainfall which damages the roads.

With these few points of mine, I hope I have been able to convince and not confuse my opponents that northern roads are better due to these reasons...

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Fugazi: 11:41am On Apr 30, 2016
Boko harams won't see this one to bomb o, na innocent Enugu people dem wan attack.

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Fugazi: 11:41am On Apr 30, 2016
goingape:
because we don't plant juju on roads and break roads and be pretending to repair it.

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by KingEbukasBlog(m): 11:41am On Apr 30, 2016
Northerners dont travel like the Southerners do

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by DrSuleiman100: 11:41am On Apr 30, 2016
Kwuption is more in the south than in the north
Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by Moheat(m): 11:42am On Apr 30, 2016
Simple! Bcause they had most number of years as president. Go won, Muritala, Shagari, Buhari, IBB, Abacha, Abdulsallam, Ya'ardua and again Buhari. If you combine these years, they ruled us for close to 30yrs+.

Re: Why Are Northern Highways Better Than Southern Ones? by netafric: 11:42am On Apr 30, 2016
Difference in climate (less rain fall), different soil and roads in the north get less use because there are fewer cars, probably fewer people and much less industry.

6 Likes 2 Shares

N4.7bn Arms Funds Traced To Obanikoro, Fayose —EFCC / Amaechi Visits Plateau, Inspects Ongoing Work At Heipang Inland Dry Port, Jos / Provision Of 40,000 E-mails: The Achievement Buhari's Media Aide Is Trumpeting

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67