Nairaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / Login / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 1231886 members, 1620697 topics. Date: Tuesday, 02 September 2014 at 10:22 PM

Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work - Fashion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Fashion / Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work (157496 Views)

HAIR AND SKIN CARE PRODUCTS THAT WORK , WHERE TO FIND THEM AND PRODUCT SWAP / Reviews Of The Best Skin Lightening Products You Have Ever Used. / How Much Do You Spend On Beauty Products Monthly? (1) (2) (3) (4)

(0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) ... (27) (Reply) (Go Down)

Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 10:52am On Aug 22, 2009
The money I've wasted over the years on useless beauty products with posh names and extravagant promises they fail to fulfil maddens me when I think about it. Fully half of what's on the market don't work, some are by obscure Fly by Night laboratories out to make a quick buck,while the trusted names churn out the same products,changing labels and bottles and adding one or two useless ingredients. Some products work, but will take huge investments in time and money before you see results. And yet there are little known products that deliver the same rsults cheaper and much faster.

If a product works, let's know about it here. If it doesn't, bash it here so others can steer clear. Yes, some skin products'll work for some and dismally for others. But as a general rule, what works works for a great deal of people.

Share reviews of skin and beauty products you've used or are using, good and bad

1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 10:55am On Aug 22, 2009
NEUTROGENA DRY TOUCH SPF 85 SUNBLOCK.
5 STARS

You know how the higher the SP factor the greasier the sunscreen? I don't know how Neutrogena overcame this, delivering very high and effective protection in a light greaseless medium. I bought a pack of 2 and it promises to last and last. Number 1 Dermatologist recommended sunblock. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 11:00am On Aug 22, 2009
PHILOSOPHY HOPE IN A JAR
4 STARS

The smell takes some getting used to,but you stop noticing after a while. I use this as a daytime moisturiser and my skin texture and tone noticeably improved before I was halfway through the jar. But another friend used it and says she didn't see a difference. On many professional beauticians' top 3 list. Works works works

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 11:04am On Aug 22, 2009
OLAY REGENERIST DAILY REGENERATING SERUM
41/2 STARS

This has to be Olay's best product. It works.Be patient. Enough said.

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 11:07am On Aug 22, 2009
LIKAS PAPAYA SOAP
5 STARS

It works!
It clears blemishes. Excellent, award-winning product.

1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 2:44pm On Aug 22, 2009
LOREAL DERMO EXPERTISE DEWRINKLING AND ILLUMINATING SERUM (MATURE SKIN)
1 STAR angry angry

Bought this for my mum, and since I'm in my early thirties now, gave it a whiz myself. Disappointing. No difference I could see after using it every night for a month. angry The Olay serum is MUCH better.

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 2:58pm On Aug 22, 2009
MEDERMA SCAR REMOVER
4 STARS

Scars are notoriously hard to get rid of: acne, black spots, melasma, hyperpigmentation,stretch marks,surgical and injury scars.
This combination TRULY WORKS:

!. At home, do-it-yourself microdermabrasion, with a skin brush and an apricot scrub+ pure organic aloe vera mix. I part pure aloe to 3 parts Apricot scrub. 3 minutes scrubbing on each scar, varying application days: 4, 9, 3,10, 7,10,10,5,etc, so the skin has time to heal between treatments and doesn't get immune from regularly-spaced application days.
2. Apply Mederma scar remover on the treated spots every day, 3-4 times a day.

I started this 2 months ago, and my scars have faded. Another month or two and they'll be gone altogether. It might work for stretch marks, but you might need something stronger than Mederma to apply after scrubbing.

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 9:10pm On Aug 22, 2009
MELADERM PIGMENT REDUCING COMPLEX
5 STARS

It removes blemishes and hyperpigmented areas on skin, for an even skin tone. This is absolutely the best product for this in the industry. It contains Kojic Acid, Alpha-Arbutin, Niacinamide, Mulberry Extract, Bearberry Extract, Licorice Extract, Tego® Cosmo C250, Gigawhite, Lemon Juice Extract)
See http://www.civantskincare.com/meladerm.html
It's excellent, though it took longer than 2 weeks to see results. More like four.

1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Chique63: 9:58pm On Aug 22, 2009
So,ow do i get dis organic aloe vera mix.
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 10:37pm On Aug 22, 2009
You can buy it at any supermarket or drugstore. A good apricot scrub. 1 small bottle pure aloe vera (not the type formulated for drinking).Goes for about $9 or N1100. 1 plastic skin scrub brush. Wouldn't recommend murdering some aloe vera plant and collecting its juice; too many different types.

1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Sissy3(f): 3:48am On Aug 23, 2009
REVIEW: KIEHLS ULTRA FACIAL CREAM:

PROS : I really like this cream. very moisturizing for my skin. not too heavy or less. just the right amount of moisture i need.

CONS: the only step back with this cream is tat it has no SPF. so i used it as a night cream instead. though some might find it a little heavy for a night cream. the price is bit hefty for the tiny jar it comes in, so that might be a problem for some.

RECOMMENDATION:  yes i do recommend the cream. me liked it and it's very light and moisturizes very well

1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by spikedcylinder: 3:05pm On Aug 23, 2009
Mad_Max:

OLAY REGENERIST DAILY REGENERATING SERUM
41/2 STARS

This has to be Olay's best product. It works.Be patient. Enough said.

How true. I used it for about 1 month last year. The good part was that I used it during winter when I was just sleeping in and not getting much sun. Loved my skin!
Using it in the Nigerian tropical weather was another thing though.

Since then, I've used Black Opal Papaya Body Butter which works just fine! smiley


1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by No2Atheism(m): 3:35pm On Aug 23, 2009
@spiky i know i am about to commit mortal sin, but if the truth be told, u and John Mikel Obi have a little bit of resemblance. shocked shocked shocked shocked
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by spikedcylinder: 3:41pm On Aug 23, 2009
I said that is not me!
Nawa.
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by No2Atheism(m): 3:52pm On Aug 23, 2009
spikedcylinder:

I said that is not me!
Nawa.



Yea right and the pope has never used his ding dong before grin grin grin
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by spikedcylinder: 3:54pm On Aug 23, 2009
Believe whatever you want to believe o.
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by No2Atheism(m): 3:58pm On Aug 23, 2009
spikedcylinder:

Believe whatever you want to believe o.

grin grin grin Yes i believe in the[b] flying spaghetti monster[/b] grin grin grin
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 6:39pm On Aug 23, 2009
spikedcylinder:

[color=#550000]How true. I used it for about 1 month last year. The good part was that I used it during winter when I was just sleeping in and not getting much sun. Loved my skin!
Using it in the Nigerian tropical weather was another thing though.
Since then, I've used Black Opal Papaya Body Butter which works just fine! smiley

You use a suncreen in tropic climes,right? Did Black Opal work the same as the Olay serum? Good skin fruit,papaya.

1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 3:54pm On Aug 24, 2009
MOROCCAN OIL
4 STARS

It conditions chemically overprocessed hair,detangles, and really softens hair. You can use an egg+aloe vera mix to condition your hair yourself, 20-40 minutes in a steam cap. Shampoo,towel dry and apply this oil,then style. A little goes a long way and it smells heavenly.

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT PRODUCTS FROM THESE COSMETIC RANGES ACTUALLY WORK?
Clinique
Mary Kay
Avon
Clarins
Elizabeth Arden
Makari
Diane Stalder
L'Oreal

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 8:44pm On Aug 27, 2009
JUICE RITE FRUIT AND VEGETABLE SUPPLEMENTS
41/2 STARS

It isn't JUICEPLUS,but it'll serve: 17 fruits and 17 vegetables in capsules, 60 capsules in each bottle, a motnh's supply. It's a great way to supplement diet and let your skin reap the benefits of fruits, which are ESSENTIAL for great skin,along with as much water as you can manage daily.

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Gamine(f): 2:58pm On Sep 09, 2009
Kiehl! now thats a great product
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by africhika(f): 2:41am On Sep 10, 2009
if you wanna reduce ur pores, USE ORGANIC ALOE VERA GEL

if cools ur skin. it's soo soothing. my skin loves this stuff. it just drinks it up.
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Nobody: 11:51pm On Sep 10, 2009
I just got Meladerm. Kai, the container is so small for the amount. angry grin Hope it works. Otherwise I'm coming for your head. cheesy grin
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by spikedcylinder: 11:17am On Sep 11, 2009
I'm a fan of body butters. . . . embarassed smiley

Boots Extracts Fair Trade Mango Body Butter

Fruity smelling, made of real shea butter and doesn't have the sticky feeling common with many body butters. Hydrates and moisturises the body instantly!


1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by spikedcylinder: 11:25am On Sep 11, 2009
Moa's Green Balm.

For the skin, hair and lips. I use it mostly for my hair. . .to de-tangle and de-frizz.
Also good for rashes, eczema. . . .etc.


Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by spikedcylinder: 11:51am On Sep 11, 2009
The Body Shop Honey & Oat 3 in 1 Scrub Mask

The particles of oatmeal grains and the honey work together to refine the skin's surface and leave it moisturised. It will smooth and decongest pores without irritating your skin.


Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by spikedcylinder: 2:23pm On Sep 11, 2009
Marks and Spencer Lemon Shower Cream

This zingy shower cream is it! I really like the thick consistency of this cream as a small amount goes a long way and it smells great, just like lemon meringue!


Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Gamine(f): 4:01pm On Sep 11, 2009
Body shop has many great products.

like @spikedcylinder's Mango extract . .

this coco butter is heavenly

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Nobody: 8:21pm On Sep 13, 2009
Nice, but what works for you might not work for another.

Nourishing coconut milk products works fabulously.




Secret Scent Expression Cherry Mischief
[img]http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41orV4yS6hL._SL500_AA280_PIbundle-4,TopRight,0,0_AA280_SH20_.jpg[/img]
Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Nobody: 9:14pm On Sep 13, 2009
Neutrogena Make-Up Remover Cleansing Towelettes Refills




Clearasil StayClear Daily Pore Cleansing Pads

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by MadMax1(f): 9:36pm On Sep 13, 2009
stillwater:

I just got Meladerm. Kai, the container is so small for the amount. angry grin Hope it works. Otherwise I'm coming for your head. cheesy grin

lol don't mind these thief-thief cosmetic coys. I know it's small,but it is not ipara naw. It's for hyperpigmented areas of skin only. And if it's a part that gets sun exposure, don't forget a good sunscreen. I used it twice daily for four weeks and it totally worked. Another friend used Makari Caviar Face Lightening for acne-induced facial pigmentation and swore by it.But the darned thing costs $52 and is so tiny you might need a microscope to view the contents. Meladerm is safe and works.Just stretch it out by force.  

Gamine:

Kiehl! now thats a great product
Sissy recommends it as a moisturiser. But she says its pricey so it must do more, but what does it do exactly? I'm already eyeing it greedily.  Good name brands,FLGators,but you're not saying why they're better than the rest.

1 Like

Re: Product Reviews: Stop Wasting Money! Beauty Products That Actually Work by Nobody: 9:54pm On Sep 13, 2009
Mad_Max:

 Good name brands,FLGators,but you're not saying why they're better than the rest.
LOL, you're right.

Gimme some minutes. Will brb to add the "reason"

(0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) ... (27) (Reply)

Beautiful Bedroom Pictures | How You See Bedrooms? / 10 Natural Ways To Achieve A Smooth Skin / Ear Piercings!

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2014 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See Nairalist and How To Advertise. 89
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.