Stats: 3,143,505 members, 7,781,537 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 04:29 PM

The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK (43492 Views)

Difference Between Trump And Clinton Brilliantly Summed Up In One Cartoon / Effects Of Britain Leaving The EU / David Cameron Resigns As Prime Minister After Britain Votes To Leave EU (2) (3) (4)

The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by abdussalam(m): 11:25pm On Jun 08, 2016

What's the Difference Between England, Great Britain, and the UK?

first became aware of the confusion when I was using Stamps.com to mail out the Peeve Wars decks, it took me at least 20 minutes to figure out that if I wanted to mail something to England or Scotland, I needed to select Great Britain from the long list of countries.

Even then, I didn’t realize how much I didn’t know until I saw a diagram posted on the @copyediting account on Twitter that shows the relationship between the British Isles, British Islands, the United Kingdom, Great Britain, England, and so on.

Great Britain is made up of England, Scotland, and Wales. Add a fourth, Northern Ireland, and now you have the United Kingdom.

Add the Crown Dependencies and you have the British Islands, and add the whole island of Ireland and you have the British Isles.

On the image, you’ll see that Scotland is still part of the United Kingdom. Their recent vote for independence—to leave the United Kingdom—would have changed that, but the people voted to keep things as they are, so we don’t have to make new diagrams.

http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/education/grammar/whats-the-difference-between-england-great-britain-and-the-uk

80 Likes 20 Shares

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by mayorkyzo: 12:01am On Jun 09, 2016

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by rapidclaro(m): 6:41am On Jun 09, 2016

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Positivist: 7:26am On Jun 10, 2016
Amazing!
Lalasticlala!
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by MaleoPearls(m): 11:53am On Jun 10, 2016
Concise and elaborated. The diagram is enough explanation.

38 Likes

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by SmileXtraone: 11:53am On Jun 10, 2016
noted
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by NinaArsenal(f): 11:53am On Jun 10, 2016

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Ajusshi: 11:54am On Jun 10, 2016
tongue
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Nobody: 11:54am On Jun 10, 2016
Ok, educative sef

Please add the West African region of Africa using Naira (=N=) and lets appraise grin
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by queensay: 11:55am On Jun 10, 2016
oshey
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by ayoolataiwo(m): 11:55am On Jun 10, 2016
Hmmnm
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Ajusshi: 11:55am On Jun 10, 2016

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by salabscholar01(m): 11:56am On Jun 10, 2016
good
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Giyerte(m): 11:56am On Jun 10, 2016
Thanks for the info.
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by salabscholar01(m): 11:56am On Jun 10, 2016
ok
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by dauntless15(m): 11:56am On Jun 10, 2016
And you're just finding out? Where have you been hiding? Under a rock?

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by martineverest(m): 11:56am On Jun 10, 2016
United kingdom of great britain(england,scotland,wales and other islets like isle of man etc) and northern ireland

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by jayesmalling(m): 11:57am On Jun 10, 2016
now i knw. thank u

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by anonymous419: 11:57am On Jun 10, 2016
Booked
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Pavore9: 11:57am On Jun 10, 2016
Ajusshi:

But who no sabi dis na?

Many get it mixed up!

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Wonderboy1(m): 11:57am On Jun 10, 2016
Ok......good to know..
We always learn everyday...
Meanwhile for your diesel engine generators check here https://www.nairaland.com/3012099/order-tokunbo-diesel-generators-spare
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by kaey10(m): 11:57am On Jun 10, 2016
its ok...
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by wengerjay(m): 11:57am On Jun 10, 2016
Good
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by mickool(m): 11:58am On Jun 10, 2016
Interesting.. Nice one.

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Pheals(f): 11:58am On Jun 10, 2016
Thanks op... I understand naw
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Ajusshi: 11:58am On Jun 10, 2016
dauntless15:
And you're just finding out? Where have you been hiding? Under a rock?

U dea mind am.. Who dis don even epp since 1960?

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by LabourParty(m): 11:58am On Jun 10, 2016
Thats why the passport says :

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by adedayourt(m): 11:58am On Jun 10, 2016
educative
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by jaytime(m): 11:58am On Jun 10, 2016
Okay. That's informative.
Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by Situation001(m): 11:59am On Jun 10, 2016
25ťh to comment.. Nice one grin I'm climbing the ladder of success.. and thank God I learnt one thing just now..

Alhamdulillah..

Re: The Difference Between England, Great Britain, And The UK by IceMan85(m): 11:59am On Jun 10, 2016

Faces Of The Innocent Victims Of Flight MH17 That Killed All 298 People. / Putin Wins Russia's Election With Staggering 87% Of Votes (Photos) / Slaves Room In Ancient Roman City Unearthed By Archaeologists (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 13