Stats: 3,149,920 members, 7,806,674 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 08:32 PM

Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets (24642 Views)

Meet Chiamaka "Tomato Baby" Who Sells Tomatoes To Fund Her Education. Pics / Tomatoes The New Gold In Town: Nairalanders Becomes Tomato Importers / What Exactly Will Go Wrong If The CBN Floods The Economy With Dollars? (2) (3) (4)

Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by BrainnewsNg(f): 9:51pm On Aug 12, 2016
By Ekemini Ebekpo,

According to a Brainnews NG reporter, markets in Calabar, Cross River state capital, have once again been flooded with tomatoes from northern part of the country, after several months of scarcity.

A market survey by Conducted by Brainnews NG on Sunday showed that tomatoes from Zaria, Jos, Gboko and Kaduna were deployed in large quantities for sale in main market (Marian), Watt market and others in Calabar.

A basket tomato in the market now cost about N5,000 according to Brainnews NG report.

Source: http://brainnewsng.com/excess-fresh-tomatoes-floods-calabar-markets/

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by BrainnewsNg(f): 9:52pm On Aug 12, 2016

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Amberon11: 2:13am On Aug 13, 2016
ok
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by HungerBAD: 2:17am On Aug 13, 2016
Everything kicking back into place.

Gradually we will get there. Meanwhile, it is suspicious all wailers are on Vacation in this thread.

Oya make una say am na.

Say it, i said you guys should say UP BUHARI and his Agricultural Policies.

No need to be ashamed.

99 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by BrainnewsNg(f): 6:47am On Aug 13, 2016
HungerBAD:

Yes oooo

God will bring more goodnews in

Lalasticlala

41 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Pavore9: 7:03am On Aug 13, 2016
Good development. People should look into dehydrating tomatoes and make powder out of them when they are in surplus!

40 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by BrainnewsNg(f): 9:10am On Aug 13, 2016
Pavore9:
Good development. People should look into dehydrating tomatoes and make powder out of them when they are in surplus!

Nice idea

But, is it possible here in Nigeria?

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Pavore9: 9:32am On Aug 13, 2016
BrainnewsNg:

Nice idea

But, is it possible here in Nigeria?

Very possible as it can hygienically be solar dried. The first video is a mini solar dryer which any carpenter can couple.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHQBeV5IQA0

The second is how to re-constitute the tomato powder for use.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Me-fBeZHd8

12 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Nobody: 2:13pm On Aug 13, 2016
Wow.
Thank you APC

I know most of the problems Nigeria is facing is temporary.

Oh I forgot,
Na GEJ recent travel to Zambia helped Nigerians with this Tomato glut

37 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by lollmaolol(m): 2:13pm On Aug 13, 2016
Pavore9:

kenonze:
Wow.
Thank you APC

No praises yet dear!! This is nature way of blessing us, not aPc economic policy

However @Pavore9, this is a wise thought, Dangote tomatoes is actually on this, but we need more tomoto plants to cater for the raining days.if any

Thank Nature!!!

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Lordtrillion(m): 2:14pm On Aug 13, 2016
Good news

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by johnnychuks(m): 2:14pm On Aug 13, 2016
this is the season
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by jopretty(f): 2:15pm On Aug 13, 2016
I got a basket of tomatoes for 800 this morning in Kaduna. Waiting for other food items to follow in tomatoes step. Lol

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by sorepco(m): 2:15pm On Aug 13, 2016
Please wen in powder form what do u do with them? U fit use am 4 stew? Or do u mean paste? Intriguing tho.
Pavore9:
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by NORSIYK(m): 2:15pm On Aug 13, 2016
[b]
kenonze:
Wow.
Thank you APC

Are u normal?

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by emeka2847: 2:16pm On Aug 13, 2016
It has nothing to do with PMB.
Effect of good agric policies by Jonathan's government.

Wailers will claim. grin

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Goroz: 2:16pm On Aug 13, 2016
Shame on the ignorant morafuckars who blamed Buhari for the rot caused by Tuta absoluta cheesy

16 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Mustack: 2:16pm On Aug 13, 2016
That is what will happen in time to come... Everything will be cheap... For example there is data WOR among telecommunication... Just stand and watch

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Nobody: 2:16pm On Aug 13, 2016
Every Flooding was a hit back to back
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Spells(m): 2:16pm On Aug 13, 2016
Tomatoes my love... I so much miss u.

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by IDnoble1: 2:16pm On Aug 13, 2016
wow, wonderful, just like yesterday a basket was sold around 13 K.
Hope it can be processed in to puree and sealed in cans and sachets for exports and against the period of scarcity.
God bless our farmers.
God bless our country

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Goroz: 2:16pm On Aug 13, 2016
Thank you white Jesus
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Spells(m): 2:17pm On Aug 13, 2016
kenonze:
Wow. Thank you APC
at least pretend to have sense na

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by ucee64(m): 2:17pm On Aug 13, 2016
When supply exceeds demand price will fall. It will definitely still come down.
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by BE811APP: 2:19pm On Aug 13, 2016
nawa ooo

something that sold between 35-42k

well dis is the only improvement in Buhari's era..

We thank God!

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by dunkem21(m): 2:21pm On Aug 13, 2016
Imagine celebrating the news of tomato that has never been scarce for the past 16 years cheesy

One day, we will still celebrate dollar @N350 grin

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by stevebond007(m): 2:22pm On Aug 13, 2016
HungerBAD:

Gradually we will get there. Meanwhile, it is suspicious all wailers are on Vacation in this thread.

Oya make una say am na.

Say it, i said you guys should say UP BUHARI and his Agricultural Policies.

No need to be ashamed.
ABI NA, WE WILL, ALL STATES DON GROW RICE NOW!
We will get there.
THIS IS NOT THE TIME FOR HE IS HAUSA, I AM IBO, OR HE IS DELTA
THE TIME FOR NATION BUILDING IS NOW.

14 Likes

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Pavore9: 2:22pm On Aug 13, 2016
sorepco:
Please wen in powder form what do u do with them? U fit use am 4 stew? Or do u mean paste? Intriguing tho.

This video explains it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Me-fBeZHd8
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by policy12: 2:24pm On Aug 13, 2016
Now you won't see the wailers o...toh let the zombies own the thread then.

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by stano2(m): 2:24pm On Aug 13, 2016
We hope for the best
Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by Nobody: 2:25pm On Aug 13, 2016
Well, OK.

Meanwhile, somewhere around the world.....

Re: Excess Fresh Tomatoes Floods Calabar Markets by ANIEXTY(m): 2:26pm On Aug 13, 2016
When the LORD turned again the captivity of zion.......

Who Has Successfully Paid For Facebook Ads In Naira? / Naira Depreciates Barely 48 Hours After It Strengthened Against The Dollar / CBN Reduces Lending Rate To 11 Percent

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21