Stats: 3,150,385 members, 7,808,364 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 10:58 AM

PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. (1577 Views)

2019: Ezekwesili Confirms Interest In Presidency, Starts Red Card Movement / PMB Didn't Sack Former Sec To Govt Of The Federation Babachir Lawal. See Who Did / GE Confirms $2 Billion Investment In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by edoyad(m): 9:33pm On Oct 11, 2016

General Electric (GE) confirmed its a “keen interest” in acquiring a Nigeria railway concession project worth around $2 billion, Reuters reports the U.S. company said on Monday. Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari said this month that GE would be investing $2.2 billion in a concession to revamp, provide rolling stock, and manage some of the country’s…

http://www.businessdayonline.com/ge-confirms-interest-in-2bn-nigeria-railway-concession/

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by edoyad(m): 9:45pm On Oct 11, 2016
Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by DelGardo: 11:05pm On Oct 11, 2016
Because of sheer hatred Jonathan supporters, led by their two-faced cheerleader named Reno (Wendell Simlim) Omokri, will go to any length to discredit the strides Buhari is making.

Shame on the bad people.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by ogmask: 11:28pm On Oct 11, 2016
Where is that he-goat, Omokri. If you understand urhobo language you know what he is, a smelly he- goat.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by Progressive01(m): 11:57pm On Oct 11, 2016
Lalasticlala, Seun, Mynd44, this should feature on the home page to put to rest the lies being propagated by the enemies of this great nation.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by QuotaSystem: 12:09am On Oct 12, 2016
Again President Buhari is vindicated from the allegations of the Ugandan developers and their co-wailers across board.

That anyone would even think the President could be so petty as to peddle a cheap lie such as the one alleged simply to polish his image, is just juvenile, baseless and completely senseless.

Like say BuBu even send them sef grin

Fire on President Buhari the majority of Nigerians are behind you.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by designking: 12:14am On Oct 12, 2016
we are our own worst enemy. PMB is and always on track.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by CecyAdrian(f): 12:55am On Oct 12, 2016
One by one, all President Buhari's good actions that will begin to see the light of day putting to shame all evil eyes and thoughts

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by Amberon: 3:58am On Oct 12, 2016
The way you people just scream hatred baffles me. Admit it, Buhari has been a colossal failure. What good things has this administration done? Dollar is at an all time high. 4m people have lost their jobs. Economy is down with recession while he continues globe trotting.

I'll stop here for now.
DelGardo:
Because of sheer hatred Jonathan supporters, led by their two-faced cheerleader named Reno (Wendell Simlim) Omokri, will go to any length to discredit the strides Buhari is making.

Shame on the bad people.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by blackpanda: 4:04am On Oct 12, 2016
Useless lieing wailers

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by Blue3k(m): 4:06am On Oct 12, 2016
Amberon:
The way you people just scream hatred baffles me. Admit it, Buhari has been a colossal failure. What good things has this administration done? Dollar is at an all time high. 4m people have lost their jobs. Economy is down with recession while he continues globe trotting.

I'll stop here for now.

Its weird to that they think we're supposed to instantly believe something without any due diligence or confirmation. Why should we belive a number if company didn't confirm it at time.

blackpanda:
Useless lieing wailers

Nobody lied they just went off facts based on available information in front of them. It's been confirmed now.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by blackpanda: 4:16am On Oct 12, 2016
Blue3k:

Its weird to that they think we're supposed to instantly believe something without any due diligence or confirmation. Why should we belive a number if company didn't confirm it at time.

Nobody lied they just went off facts based on available information in front of them. It's been confirmed now.

Call it anything u like. Wailers remain useless liars

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by Pavore9: 4:28am On Oct 12, 2016
Blue3k:

There is wisdom in declaring something false ONLY AFTER the FACTS before one proves so.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by edoyad(m): 5:29am On Oct 12, 2016
blackpanda:
Useless lieing wailers

CecyAdrian:
One by one, all President Buhari's good actions that will begin to see the light of day putting to shame all evil eyes and thoughts

Nigerians have to realise the role of criticism in a Democratic system. I was also one of those who criticised Buhari based on the article printed by reuters on 4/10/2016. The article clearly stated that GM was investing only $150m in Nigeria as against the $2bn Buhari mentioned in his speech.
It's good that this clarification is out and my sincere apology to sarrki for calling him a thick skull. Sarrki tried to defend PMB that day but without any real evidence. Regardless, i apologize.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by kahal29: 5:53am On Oct 12, 2016
Hate will kill my people...... However many are the affliction of the righteous but the Lord delivers him all.

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by kahal29: 6:01am On Oct 12, 2016
GE Confirms Interest in $2bn Nigeria Railway Concession

FULL STORY

U.S. conglomerate, General Electric (GE), has confirmed that it has a “keen interest” in acquiring a Nigeria railway concession project worth around $2 billion.

President Muhammadu Buhari had during his independence broadcast to the nation disclosed that GE would be investing $2.2 billion in a concession to revamp, provide rolling stock, and manage some of the country’s railways.

“On railways, we have provided our counterpart funding to China for the building of our standard gauge Lagos-Kano railway.

“General Electric is investing two point two billion USD in a concession to revamp, provide rolling stock, and manage the existing lines, including the Port Harcourt-Maiduguri Line. The Lagos-Calabar railway will also be on stream soon,” the president had said.

Confirming the $2 billion investment yesterday, GE, in a statement to Reuters, said: “Given the size and scope of the proposed project, it is likely that the debt and equity commitments required from lenders, consortium partners and other co-developers will be in the range of $2 billion or more.”

It said the concession was in the formal procurement process.

Nigeria has been looking for partners to overhaul its aging railway system, which was mainly built by British colonial rulers before the country’s independence in 1960.

The country has also signed two deals worth around $5 billion with China Civil Engineering Construction Corp (CCECC), part of China’s state-owned railway construction firm, to modernise and build railways in the north and south of the country, the Ministry of Transportation said last month.

Growth in Nigeria – an OPEC member country whose economy has slipped into recession for the first time in more than 20 years after being hammered by low oil prices – has been stunted for decades by a lack of investment in roads and railways.

GE said the railway concession project came on top of around $150 million the firm was currently spending on capital expenditures in Nigeria as cited by a senior company executive last week.

Jay Ireland, Chief Executive of GE in Africa, told the FT Africa Summit in London that the $150 million would be used in development projects.

GE would also invest in oil and gas industry projects, he added.

Ireland said the Nigeria investment was part of a plan to spend $2 billion in Africa in the coming years.

http://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2016/10/12/ge-confirms-interest-in-2bn-nigeria-railway-concession/

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by kahal29: 6:02am On Oct 12, 2016
Amberon:

I'll stop here for now.

You are pained cos PMB has been vindicated. Try another lie

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by DaBullIT(m): 6:22am On Oct 12, 2016
Bad belle people will always hate, lie, wail, we do, cry, shout, protest anything Buhari is doing

We know thier type, I saw this info earlier too but didn't have the time to post it sooner

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by Amberon: 8:03am On Oct 12, 2016
Vindicated about strengthening the dollar back to $198? You're a dullard just like your president.
kahal29:

You are pained cos PMB has been vindicated. Try another lie
Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by ZombieMYND44: 8:18am On Oct 12, 2016
Seun mynd44. This should be on FP.

One of the wailing dundees lies have been bursted by some zombies
Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by rad1cal2: 8:38am On Oct 12, 2016
Jay Ireland, Chief Executive of GE in Africa, told the FT Africa Summit in London that the $150 million would be used in development projects.

GE would also invest in oil and gas industry projects, he added.

Ireland said the Nigeria investment was part of a plan to spend $2 billion in Africa in the coming years

What kind of useless reporting is this. grin. Who should we now believe ? grin

Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by amc: 9:16am On Oct 12, 2016
rad1cal2:

What kind of useless reporting is this. grin. Who should we now believe ? grin

Your brain is failing you. The $150m is for investment up to 2017, different from the $2 rail network concession. Have you ever heard of a whole rail network being built for only $150m?
Re: PMB Didn't Lie Afterall: GE Confirms Interest In $2bn Railway Deal In Nigeria. by nku5: 3:20pm On Oct 29, 2016
edoyad:
https://www.nairaland.com/3387063/reuters-uncovers-buharis-lie-ge#49900505

Where's nku5?

I dey here brah!

Nor vex this doesnt cut it for me. When you are dealing with a government that is big on propaganda and light on action you have to dig deep.

The reuters article I posted quoted GE Execs. Bros who is Thisday quoting?

Ministry/body In Charge Of Noise Pollution In Ogun State / Operation Python Dance Is Field Training Exercise – Army / Yoruba Man To Rule Anambra

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 36