Stats: 3,148,639 members, 7,801,858 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 02:23 AM

Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? - Jobs/Vacancies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? (18145 Views)

What Is The Difference Between Curriculum Vitae And Resume? / 10 Words Never To Include On Your Curriculum Vitae / 6 Tips For Writing A Winning Curriculum Vitae (2) (3) (4)

Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Medley(m): 11:31am On Nov 11, 2016
There was an argument on a previous thread , where a nairalander included CGPA under his education am qualification. and I ask, on what grounds Will the inclusion of CGPA on ones CV be ragarded as a no no ?. I think it's a major selling point for a fresh graduate with little or no experience. what do one stand to lose for its inclusion. the only exception to this is when it's not a strong ( 2'1 or 2'2). can't you defend it? then why should one be afraid of it inclusion. you may leave out First class CGPA, the inclusion here is unnecessary. also. for vacancies where expererience and skill is required inclusion of CGPA is unnecessary. this is my .opinion.. what do you guys and ladies think?

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by yomibelle(f): 6:57am On Nov 13, 2016
unnecessary cos your qualification is stated.

by the way, made FTC finally

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by AntiWailer: 6:57am On Nov 13, 2016
It is bullsh**it

As u advance in career, u will remove it yourself.

As hiring manager, I am not interested in your CGPA,

Your skill set and class of graduation is enough for me.

I will give a First CLASS student with the same skill set as others a priority any day, any time but not 3.9 over 3.5.

22 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 6:57am On Nov 13, 2016
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by purplish(f): 6:57am On Nov 13, 2016
Rule of the thumb: Its only necessary when its impressive cheesy

25 Likes

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Deeypeey(m): 6:57am On Nov 13, 2016
U could include it there if u like...esp if its impressive(be sure u can defend ursef tho)
buh really,don't think CGPA is a strong selling point like it used to be..abi?
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by darkmarky(m): 6:59am On Nov 13, 2016
necessary! what do you have to lose? if you aren't getting the job you aren't getting it.

as a fresh graduate you need it
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Realhommie(m): 6:59am On Nov 13, 2016
It's totally unnecessary.. Who ask you? Who send you?

Infact..........

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by sylvar02(m): 7:00am On Nov 13, 2016
Wrong thread... Got nothing to do with cv...

So make I just dey here

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by living2013(m): 7:01am On Nov 13, 2016
If you have a strong 2.2 like 3.441 as CGPA and you want to apply for a job that requires 2.1, you can put it to try your luck.

If your CV is articulated with relevant information in a contructive/appealing manner, you may be considered

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Chudichu(m): 7:01am On Nov 13, 2016
I think just the class of degree is alright. If you feel your cgpa on your resume would give you an advantage, go for it.

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by legendsilver(m): 7:02am On Nov 13, 2016
It is necessary and its not necessarily necessary.

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by VickyRotex(f): 7:02am On Nov 13, 2016
It's not really necessary especially if it's not so good.

But here, it's good to include it for some jobs as some of those jobs are competitive and "some"employers base their shortlisting on that.

Some employers will even send you an email to state your CGPA.

So it totally depends.

But like someone said, Most experienced jobs, doesnt require it.

It only gives an upper edge when youre a new graduate.

After years of experience, your skillset is all that matters most.

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:02am On Nov 13, 2016
No be by CGPA. Iheanacho no get CGPA but he can employ a first class graduate as a gateman. Make money and forget that trashy paper called certificate undecided

23 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:04am On Nov 13, 2016
yomibelle:
unnecessary cos your qualification is stated.

by the way, made FTC finally

what have you now achieved making "FTC finally"?
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by GoldenJAT(m): 7:04am On Nov 13, 2016
Cgpa or not... CV way go find itself 4 dustbin will gladly be picked from there.
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by agbajemm(m): 7:04am On Nov 13, 2016
Not really necessary
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:05am On Nov 13, 2016
Realhommie:
It's totally unnecessary.. Who ask you? Who send you?

Infact..........
the question of "wetin concern you" should be directed to you instead.

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by kayceeD2(m): 7:06am On Nov 13, 2016
Abi na third class u grad wit

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:07am On Nov 13, 2016
Unnecessary...my candid opinion.
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Realhommie(m): 7:10am On Nov 13, 2016
lexiconkabir:

the question of "wetin concern you" should be directed to you instead.
gringringrin

You know how e dey go for NL na.... But why should it be directed to me instead
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Phi001(m): 7:10am On Nov 13, 2016
If you feel it's impressive enough, include it...
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:11am On Nov 13, 2016
[size=16pt]This is how you know those that have UGLY cgpa: Anybody that says it is unnecessary with an angry/hostile tone[/size] grin grin grin grin

18 Likes

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:15am On Nov 13, 2016
Realhommie:
gringringrin

You know how e dey go for NL na.... But why should it be directed to me instead

e no concern you if another person decide to add cgpa for cv....

#JustPlayingAroundThough
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:17am On Nov 13, 2016
Realhommie:
It's totally unnecessary..
Who ask you?
Who send you?

Infact..........
See them grin
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Hdz4luv: 7:18am On Nov 13, 2016
I no wan vex with employers of dis era

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by ednut1(m): 7:20am On Nov 13, 2016
not necessary. ur job performance has nothing to do with grade
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:23am On Nov 13, 2016
[size=18pt]Watch how those 2.2 graduates will start saying it's unnecessary grin

Na me do una grin grin[/size]

Ayam proud of my cgpa o grin

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Realhommie(m): 7:26am On Nov 13, 2016
lexiconkabir:

e no concern you if another person decide to add cgpa for cv....

#JustPlayingAroundThough
Yea sure... But for me, if i were an employer, that'll be a huge turn off..

What's ur opinion?
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Chartey(m): 7:27am On Nov 13, 2016
patriotic9jaboy:
No be by CGPA. Iheanacho no get CGPA but he can employ a first class graduate as a gateman. Make money and forget that trashy paper called certificate undecided

I was waiting for that idiotic comment. Dem ask simple question e don dey call Iheanacho. Do you know the number of aspiring footballers still playing on sand sand pitch with grey hair after 20 years of hoping?
The surest way to financial success is still academic success. Rate may not even be up to 50% but things like football have rates like 1%.

To the question, if it's 4.44 like that gentleman's please include it. Your CV should have things that will positively distinguish you from the others and such a CGPA is one. If it's however close to or even below the median point of that degree class then there's no need.

19 Likes 1 Share

Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Nobody: 7:28am On Nov 13, 2016
It's not necessary. What if the person reading the cv na third class e get? U don enter am. wait till they invite you for an interview.
Re: Including CGPA In Curriculum Vitae Or Resume, Necessary Or Unnecessary? by Realhommie(m): 7:28am On Nov 13, 2016
MadKid:
See them grin
Where them dey? Who dem be? gringrin..

After A Long Day Of Job Hunting / Global Management Trainee Programme 2021 At Anheuser-busch Inbev / Apply For The Chevron Nigeria Limited Internship Recruitment 2018