Stats: 3,150,568 members, 7,809,070 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 10:21 PM

Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review - Phones (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review (37609 Views)

Gionee Marathon M6 Official Discussion Thread / Gionee Marathon M6 Full Specification / Please I Need Urgent Help With My Gionee Marathon M5 Plus, Anyone? (2) (3) (4)

Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by queenfav(f): 10:48am On Dec 18, 2016
dasphinx1:

Nice detailed review. One quick question, does the fingerprint scanner work right from when the phone display is off or you would have to wake the phone first then unlock via fingerprint unlock?
It works when d phone is unlocked...Just checked mine now.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by queenfav(f): 10:48am On Dec 18, 2016
dasphinx1:

Nice detailed review. One quick question, does the fingerprint scanner work right from when the phone display is off or you would have to wake the phone first then unlock via fingerprint unlock?
It works when d phone is unlocked with d display off...Just checked mine now.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by dasphinx1(m): 10:54am On Dec 18, 2016
queenfav:

Ok, thank you very much. That feature matters to me. smiley
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by queenfav(f): 10:54am On Dec 18, 2016
MrnovaLyn:
Am A Fan of Gionee the device is amazing... the issue here is
1.they should have stick to their own designs ( talking about the Line at the back.. that's Apple Shiit)
2.they should upgrade on their ear piece
3. the navigation should have lyt in dark situations.
thanks
Oga, those lines are not apple patent designs.. Those are external cellular antennas. Its believed that an external antenna gives far better reception than an internal one.The lines provides a Better route for the signal to get through the phone case.
As for the earpiece of gionee m6, the audio quality so good that it doesn't leave my house for my fear of it being misplaced or stolen. It has active noise cancellation, good bass and voice clarity.It makes me want to listen to music all day.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by directonpc(m): 10:56am On Dec 18, 2016
queenfav:
At bolded, do you mean when the screen is locked? Because working when the phone is unlocked sounds like the opposite.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by maasoap(m): 10:57am On Dec 18, 2016
ipledge10:
Chinko has no other name... tongue
The world is moving, things are changing fast, don't be left behind! This mentality and mindset has to change. Stop dashing money for brand name.

Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Hotdiamond(m): 11:00am On Dec 18, 2016
dasphinx1:

Ok, thank you very much. That feature matters to me. smiley
Stated it in the review. Just press the home button and the phone is on. Even when the display is off. Thanks.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Kiady16: 11:00am On Dec 18, 2016
maasoap:

The world is moving, things are changing fast, don't be left behind! This mentality and mindset has to change. Stop dashing money for brand name.
this would give what a Samsung can offer with better battery capacity and inbuolt security chip.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by queenfav(f): 11:01am On Dec 18, 2016
directonpc:

At bolded, do you mean when the screen is locked? Because working when the phone is unlocked sounds like the opposite.
Locked jare..sorry for d mix up, was calculating money.. lol..You just need to press d home key with your fingerprint well placed and it unlocks the phone.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Hotdiamond(m): 11:05am On Dec 18, 2016
MrnovaLyn:
1.they should have stick to their own designs ( talking about the Line at the back.. that's Apple Shiit)
thanks
The m6 is bundled with a noise Cancelling earphone. It's truly delivers an amazing audio experience.
The external speakers is Dolby certified. And delivers rich and loud sound. You can tweak the sound with the equalizer embedded in the music application.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by queenfav(f): 11:07am On Dec 18, 2016
maasoap:

Leave them.. I pity Nigerians. Even the forbes reviewer of gionee m6 shares your view:
"At US$406 (M6) and $434 (M6 Plus), the M6 is another good Chinese bargain. What can't be denied is that it's becoming harder and harder to justify dropping US$600 or US$700 on an Apple or Samsung phone when Chinese OEMs are selling solid-to-great devices for nearly half the price."
http://www.forbes.com/sites/bensin/2016/08/05/gionee-m6-review-if-youve-got-secrets-this-phone-is-for-you/#40615cc91b64

Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by shammah1(m): 11:09am On Dec 18, 2016
Decent review OP hotdiamond & shout out to queenfav wink. I'm glad to be using Gionee M5. It's almost perfect for it's price. Gionee have removed us from the over bloated pricing of other products such as HTC, iPhone, Samsung etc. It can actually stand head to head with them. The camera, display resolution and battery life are excellent and we'll equipped for Nigerian use. Most Nigerians aren't gadgets literate. They go for the name (what's trending) instead of carefully doing proper research before purchasing a gadget.

My M5 is new so I'd be patient with it. grin

Lastly, why did it took about a year for the M6 to be launched in Nigeria?
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by kushma(m): 11:12am On Dec 18, 2016
Hotdiamond:
[img]http:///a/img923/9647/ZfD3fs.png[/img]

Unboxing

Gionee has you covered right from the moment you unbox device. the contents include; the M6, a microUSB cable, a Noise cancelling stereo headset, a 2A power adapter, a flip case and a screen protector -not glass though.
[img]http:///a/img923/1657/EAmIsm.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img923/2954/JLqg8y.jpg[/img]

Design
The Gionee M6 is a refresh of the Marathon M5 with a few design modifications here and there. this is the best looking member of the Marathon series yet, it screams premium all round. available in two colours- gold and champagne. sadly my preferred black colour will not be available.

[img]http:///a/img922/3954/KuSwkK.jpg[/img]

the m6 is covered with metal with lines at lines at the back for the antennas.
At 152.3 x 75.3 x 8.2 mm, the M6 is slimmer than its predecessor and 25 grammes lighter at 180g. this is very noticable when held side by side.
the back glass curves inward at the edges and also at the front with the 2.5D glass construction- which was available in the M5 mini.
The aluminium at the back doesn't attract fingerprints at all but the glass up front attracts a lot of fingerprints and smudges but this is not really an issue since a simple wipe would take that all away.
the M6 feels more compact considering thr fact that it has the same screen size as its predcessor.

[img]http:///a/img923/2122/sBO7wj.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img923/5882/04DhQc.jpg[/img]

Display
The gionee maratho M6 comes with a 5.5 inch AMOLED display with FHD(1080 x 1920) resolution with a pixel density of 401ppi. for most people, this display size is the sweet spot for mobile displays. the diplay is indeed beautiful. this is mainly due to the infiite contrast that comes with AMOLED displays. Colours are saturated and vibrant. you can change the colour temperature in the settings too.
the display isn't the brightest in the market but it is bright enough to be legible under intense direct sunlight.

[img]http:///a/img922/3969/9mmroJ.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img923/6250/FgJraH.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img921/2669/7AdR1Z.png[/img]

this is not a Pixel or an S7 edge, it may not even be a yardstick in any of these segments but the M6 deserves high scores for its design and display.

Features and connectivity
Above the dispaly is the earpiece flanked by notification light and the 8MP front facing camera to the left and light and proximity sensor to the right.

[img]http:///a/img921/5097/3lNDxo.jpg[/img]

A home button is introduced to the M6 just like the m5 plus. it contains the speedy fingerprint sensor surrounded with a metalllic ring.

[img]http:///a/img921/4377/ZyZDO4.jpg[/img]

the volume contols, the power button sits and the dual micro SIM sits on the right side while the the microSD card slot sits on the left side.

[img]http:///a/img923/6388/BLgDo0.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img922/7370/l9sXoH.jpg[/img]

Up top the IR blaster returns to the the M6 together with a 3.5 mm headphone jack.
[img]http:///a/img922/1812/v3vU4G.jpg[/img]

the bottom of the phone soorts a speaker and a microUSB port

[img]http:///a/img924/1313/b0FK5h.jpg[/img]

At the back of the M6 lies the 13MP rear camera sensor a secondary noise cancelling microphone, a dual-LED flash and a Gionee logo

[img]http:///a/img924/5459/hfDdYH.jpg[/img]

connectivity options include
bluetooth 4.0
4G LTE cat 6
WIFI 802.11 b/g/n, cast screen
USB connectivity
IR blaster

User Interface and performance

the M6 runs on Android Marshmellow under custom skin amigo 3.5.0. this may not be the greatest UIs but it is an improvement upon the older versions - 3.1 and 3.2.
it is loaded with the Mediatek MT6755 Helio P10 with Mali-T860MP2. and so far its just a breeze. its fluid with no stutters or lags. this should be credited to the 4GB of RAM and the fast helio p10 processor. i am not into mobile gaming but i am very positive that the M6 can handle most of what ever is thrown at it.

On first boot you are greeted with the stock launcher with no issues. if you are a lover of the stock launcher, there are a bunch of preinstalled apps like the chameleon to change the look and feel. But i quickly set it up with the trusted NOVA launcher.

[img]http:///a/img922/1261/9zUv5z.png[/img]

[img]http:///a/img921/3923/V6tIzH.png[/img]
also you can also change the look of your recent apps
[img]http:///a/img921/5582/ZfU1YJ.png[/img]

[img]http:///a/img924/8693/eXLpH4.png[/img]

On first oot you have 51GB of free storage left and 2.8GB of RAM left.

[img]http:///a/img921/2712/x2kVwe.png[/img]

[img]http:///a/img922/8237/6qYNgh.png[/img]

Runing two apps side by side( split screen) has been introduced here. though this is a welcome feature it is limited to a number of applications.

[img]http:///a/img924/5949/FJS2VR.png[/img]

In the gallery app there is a new feature called 'trash' that saves any deleted picture for 7 days. though you can permanantly delete any picture by going to the trash folder in the gallery.

[img]http:///a/img921/6836/vHKO2v.png[/img]

Finally, the fingerprint sensor performs flawlessly and it's very fast. you pick up the phone and push the home button with your registered finger, the phone unlocks instantly. you can add up to five fingers.

Camera
Gionee opted for the 13MP IMX 258 sensor from Sony and an 8MP snapper for the selfie lords.
the 8mp selfie cam does well in low light also with a cool feature ' the screen flash'. although you'd want to take pictures in a well lit environment.

[img]http:///a/img922/9127/UjQYCN.jpg[/img]
without screen flash

[img]http:///a/img922/6530/OfVy2T.jpg[/img]
with screen flash
outdoor selfies shines with the M6. images came out bright and vibrant with a lot of detail.

[img]http:///a/img924/3047/F6pOC4.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img921/188/RKsWZN.jpg[/img]

Thanks to the powerful hardware on the M6, the shooting experience felt responsive with minimal delays between shots.

All the images produced are rich in detail, very good colour reproduction and adequate dynamic range.

[img]http:///a/img923/6190/cn4UCk.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img922/1461/yq7vVC.jpg[/img]

SAMPLE HDR SHOT

[img]http:///a/img923/9995/gYbegQ.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img922/6267/MPggem.jpg[/img]

the M6 shoots FHD videos with the rear camera and 720p videos with the front cam

Battery Performance
The battery in the M6 is 5000mAh pared down from 6000mAh in the M5 but this doesnt really mean a poor battery performance.The direct result of this is a thinner and lighter phone. the P10 chip promises a 30% more energy efficient than older MTK SoCs so nothing is lost.
I was able to squeeze out more than 5 hours of screen on time afer about 15 hours of usage with 66% battery left. That translates to two days of moderate usage though those numbers will vary with different usage habits.

[img]http:///a/img923/6858/EgAmbp.png[/img]

The Gionee M6 supports "fast" charging which is achieved with the bundled 2A charger. Full charge takes about 1hour 30mins. Though you can disable this feature but who would?

[img]http:///a/img924/2497/KsSa5I.png[/img]

What's Cool
the camera
Amazing Display
Fluid Performance
dedicated SD card slot
its light weight
IR blaster
excellent battery life

Whats not cool
No black colour option

final thoughts
The M6 series has never been this expensive at launch. but the ergonomics and the features matches the price. If you are a M5 user or a power user, the m6 is totally worth every Kobo spent. it retails at ₦120000

KEY SPECS

http://www.gsmarena.com/gionee_m6-8234.php

In get front flash?
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by dasphinx1(m): 11:14am On Dec 18, 2016
MrnovaLyn:
thanks

Apple did not start the line (external antennas) at the back thing, HTC actually did, from the HTC One M7. Apple actually copied the design.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by justhenry(m): 11:16am On Dec 18, 2016
I got my girl the Gionee m5 mini and ever since that black friday buy, she has stopped carrying USB chargers all around in her purse. I currently use the Gionee m5. Its so so wow! Its a phone for men.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by kushma(m): 11:19am On Dec 18, 2016
Am using gionee m5 plus and am not seeing any different BTW their two will like to know a major different.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by queenfav(f): 11:28am On Dec 18, 2016
[quote author=kushma post=52035935]Am using gionee m5 plus and am not seeing any different BTW their two will like to know a major different.
http://www.phonearena.com/phones/compare/Gionee-M6,Gionee-Marathon-M5-Plus/phones/10192,10062
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Ghostmachin3: 11:30am On Dec 18, 2016
queenfav:
Well done @op...You covered all the basics..To assist him, gionee m6 guarantees maximum privacy like no other phone! The phone has a dedicated vault app named "Private Space." It hides photos, text messages, contact lists, files/documents. Once you put something in here, the information disappears from the rest of your phone.There's no way anyone can gain access to these info unless the person can get into the private vault by unlocking it via fingerprint sensor or passcode.

NB:Guys in the house, you can buy for that special lady in your life.. show her some love this xmas.
Yea,you heard me!
Don't miss this opportunity to own a Queenzhair weave.
..all i need for this x-mas is a gionee marathon m6 or m5
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by queenfav(f): 11:37am On Dec 18, 2016
Ghostmachin3:
..all i need for this x-mas is a gionee marathon m6 or m5
God will do it brother.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by 2kurupt(m): 12:38pm On Dec 18, 2016
sexfabregas:

bia who is this one? so all this rubbish specs that you can easy get on another phone for 70 to 80k is whatis making you jump for joy? it's too early to be retarďed please.

This is Sunday no need to insult yourself, kindly mention the smartphones between the 70 to 80k price range with similar specs.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by 2kurupt(m): 12:58pm On Dec 18, 2016
Kiady16:
this would give what a Samsung can offer with better battery capacity and inbuolt security chip.

Please say what you know. Mention a Samsung phone whose spec comes close to this then tell us it's price let's see.

It seems you & that sexfabregas guy last visited a phone shop since 2014
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by twicenoni(m): 1:06pm On Dec 18, 2016
queenfav:
Well done @op...You covered all the basics..To assist him, gionee m6 guarantees maximum privacy like no other phone! The phone has a dedicated vault app named "Private Space." It hides photos, text messages, contact lists, files/documents. Once you put something in here, the information disappears from the rest of your phone.There's no way anyone can gain access to these info unless the person can get into the private vault by unlocking it via fingerprint sensor or passcode.

I can access it once ur phone is unlock leave the rest for me I can bet it with you I will access all your private content grin

NB:Guys in the house, you can buy for that special lady in your life.. show her some love this xmas.
Yea,you heard me!
Don't miss this opportunity to own a Queenzhair weave.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Floridax(m): 1:11pm On Dec 18, 2016
gionee user interface too ugly....chia!!
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by godsveryown(f): 1:17pm On Dec 18, 2016
2kurupt:

undecided This guy you had to quote the while stuff just to write this? Imagine everybody starts quoting the entire review angry angry

You'll never see a decent HTC mid range with half of these specs for this price.
120k for Chinco that will be hanging upandan? It's definitely not wisdom.

@OP Best review I've seen in a long while on the phone section. The device seems perfect too but lemme ask, is there any protective glass? (Inbuilt & not just tampered glass that is)
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by MilesLamar(m): 1:21pm On Dec 18, 2016
Zenas212:
Is this phone better than tecno Phantom 6 plus?

I can't say, buh if u want to compare any phone with tecno phantom 6+ it should be Gionee m6+.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Zenas212(m): 1:24pm On Dec 18, 2016
Is there Gionee m6 plus at the moment?
MilesLamar:

I can't say, buh if u want to compare any phone with tecno phantom 6+ it should be Gionee m6+.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by MilesLamar(m): 1:25pm On Dec 18, 2016
Zenas212:

Not yet boss, hopefully it will be out by January.
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Kiady16: 1:26pm On Dec 18, 2016
Zenas212:
no m6 plus but m6 mirrow might be launched
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by kushma(m): 1:33pm On Dec 18, 2016
[quote author=queenfav post=52036133][/quote] have checked it not seeing anything just tell me what gionee m6 can do and m5 plus can't do? Like a special thing
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Nobody: 2:05pm On Dec 18, 2016
queenfav:

Oga, those lines are not apple patent designs.. Those are external cellular antennas. Its believed that an external antenna gives far better reception than an internal one.The lines provides a Better route for the signal to get through the phone case.
As for the earpiece of gionee m6, the audio quality so good that it doesn't leave my house for my fear of it being misplaced or stolen. It has active noise cancellation, good bass and voice clarity.It makes me want to listen to music all day.
tnks for the clarification
Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by Icecream4U(m): 2:06pm On Dec 18, 2016
Hotdiamond:
[img]http:///a/img923/9647/ZfD3fs.png[/img]

Unboxing

Gionee has you covered right from the moment you unbox device. the contents include; the M6, a microUSB cable, a Noise cancelling stereo headset, a 2A power adapter, a flip case and a screen protector -not glass though.
[img]http:///a/img923/1657/EAmIsm.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img923/2954/JLqg8y.jpg[/img]

Design
The Gionee M6 is a refresh of the Marathon M5 with a few design modifications here and there. this is the best looking member of the Marathon series yet, it screams premium all round. available in two colours- gold and champagne. sadly my preferred black colour will not be available.

[img]http:///a/img922/3954/KuSwkK.jpg[/img]

the m6 is covered with metal with lines at lines at the back for the antennas.
At 152.3 x 75.3 x 8.2 mm, the M6 is slimmer than its predecessor and 25 grammes lighter at 180g. this is very noticable when held side by side.
the back glass curves inward at the edges and also at the front with the 2.5D glass construction- which was available in the M5 mini.
The aluminium at the back doesn't attract fingerprints at all but the glass up front attracts a lot of fingerprints and smudges but this is not really an issue since a simple wipe would take that all away.
the M6 feels more compact considering thr fact that it has the same screen size as its predcessor.

[img]http:///a/img923/2122/sBO7wj.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img923/5882/04DhQc.jpg[/img]

Display
The gionee maratho M6 comes with a 5.5 inch AMOLED display with FHD(1080 x 1920) resolution with a pixel density of 401ppi. for most people, this display size is the sweet spot for mobile displays. the diplay is indeed beautiful. this is mainly due to the infiite contrast that comes with AMOLED displays. Colours are saturated and vibrant. you can change the colour temperature in the settings too.
the display isn't the brightest in the market but it is bright enough to be legible under intense direct sunlight.

[img]http:///a/img923/6250/FgJraH.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img921/2669/7AdR1Z.png[/img]

this is not a Pixel or an S7 edge, it may not even be a yardstick in any of these segments but the M6 deserves high scores for its design and display.

Features and connectivity
Above the dispaly is the earpiece flanked by notification light and the 8MP front facing camera to the left and light and proximity sensor to the right.

[img]http:///a/img921/5097/3lNDxo.jpg[/img]

A home button is introduced to the M6 just like the m5 plus. it contains the speedy fingerprint sensor surrounded with a metalllic ring.

[img]http:///a/img921/4377/ZyZDO4.jpg[/img]

the volume contols, the power button sits and the dual micro SIM sits on the right side while the the microSD card slot sits on the left side.

[img]http:///a/img923/6388/BLgDo0.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img922/7370/l9sXoH.jpg[/img]

Up top the IR blaster returns to the the M6 together with a 3.5 mm headphone jack.
[img]http:///a/img922/1812/v3vU4G.jpg[/img]

the bottom of the phone soorts a speaker and a microUSB port

[img]http:///a/img924/1313/b0FK5h.jpg[/img]

At the back of the M6 lies the 13MP rear camera sensor a secondary noise cancelling microphone, a dual-LED flash and a Gionee logo

[img]http:///a/img924/5459/hfDdYH.jpg[/img]

connectivity options include
bluetooth 4.0
4G LTE cat 6
WIFI 802.11 b/g/n, cast screen
USB connectivity
IR blaster

User Interface and performance

the M6 runs on Android Marshmellow under custom skin amigo 3.5.0. this may not be the greatest UIs but it is an improvement upon the older versions - 3.1 and 3.2.
it is loaded with the Mediatek MT6755 Helio P10 with Mali-T860MP2. and so far its just a breeze. its fluid with no stutters or lags. this should be credited to the 4GB of RAM and the fast helio p10 processor. i am not into mobile gaming but i am very positive that the M6 can handle most of what ever is thrown at it.

On first boot you are greeted with the stock launcher with no issues. if you are a lover of the stock launcher, there are a bunch of preinstalled apps like the chameleon to change the look and feel. But i quickly set it up with the trusted NOVA launcher.

[img]http:///a/img922/1261/9zUv5z.png[/img]

[img]http:///a/img921/3923/V6tIzH.png[/img]
also you can also change the look of your recent apps
[img]http:///a/img921/5582/ZfU1YJ.png[/img]

[img]http:///a/img924/8693/eXLpH4.png[/img]

On first oot you have 51GB of free storage left and 2.8GB of RAM left.

[img]http:///a/img921/2712/x2kVwe.png[/img]

[img]http:///a/img922/8237/6qYNgh.png[/img]

Runing two apps side by side( split screen) has been introduced here. though this is a welcome feature it is limited to a number of applications.

[img]http:///a/img924/5949/FJS2VR.png[/img]

In the gallery app there is a new feature called 'trash' that saves any deleted picture for 7 days. though you can permanantly delete any picture by going to the trash folder in the gallery.

[img]http:///a/img921/6836/vHKO2v.png[/img]

Finally, the fingerprint sensor performs flawlessly and it's very fast. you pick up the phone and push the home button with your registered finger, the phone unlocks instantly. you can add up to five fingers.

Camera
Gionee opted for the 13MP IMX 258 sensor from Sony and an 8MP snapper for the selfie lords.
the 8mp selfie cam does well in low light also with a cool feature ' the screen flash'. although you'd want to take pictures in a well lit environment.

[img]http:///a/img922/9127/UjQYCN.jpg[/img]
without screen flash

[img]http:///a/img922/6530/OfVy2T.jpg[/img]
with screen flash
outdoor selfies shines with the M6. images came out bright and vibrant with a lot of detail.

[img]http:///a/img924/3047/F6pOC4.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img921/188/RKsWZN.jpg[/img]

Thanks to the powerful hardware on the M6, the shooting experience felt responsive with minimal delays between shots.

All the images produced are rich in detail, very good colour reproduction and adequate dynamic range.

[img]http:///a/img923/6190/cn4UCk.jpg[/img]

SAMPLE HDR SHOT

[img]http:///a/img923/9995/gYbegQ.jpg[/img]

[img]http:///a/img922/6267/MPggem.jpg[/img]

the M6 shoots FHD videos with the rear camera and 720p videos with the front cam

Battery Performance
The battery in the M6 is 5000mAh pared down from 6000mAh in the M5 but this doesnt really mean a poor battery performance.The direct result of this is a thinner and lighter phone. the P10 chip promises a 30% more energy efficient than older MTK SoCs so nothing is lost.
I was able to squeeze out more than 5 hours of screen on time afer about 15 hours of usage with 66% battery left. That translates to two days of moderate usage though those numbers will vary with different usage habits.

[img]http:///a/img923/6858/EgAmbp.png[/img]

The Gionee M6 supports "fast" charging which is achieved with the bundled 2A charger. Full charge takes about 1hour 30mins. Though you can disable this feature but who would?

[img]http:///a/img924/2497/KsSa5I.png[/img]

What's Cool
the camera
Amazing Display
Fluid Performance
dedicated SD card slot
its light weight
IR blaster
excellent battery life

Whats not cool
No black colour option

final thoughts
The M6 series has never been this expensive at launch. but the ergonomics and the features matches the price. If you are a M5 user or a power user, the m6 is totally worth every Kobo spent. it retails at ₦120000

KEY SPECS

http://www.gsmarena.com/gionee_m6-8234.php

infact, I will be getting this phone tomorrow cos of this review

Re: Gionee Marathon M6 - Nairaland Review by ddjay: 2:14pm On Dec 18, 2016
nice phone but y d Samsung button na

Top 5 Most Popular Mobile Phone Brands In Nigeria 2015 / Differences Between Android And Window Phones / 'MTN Now Drinking Data With Straw'

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 85