Stats: 3,143,460 members, 7,781,332 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 12:37 PM

Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? - Music/Radio - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? (42544 Views)

Is Nas The Greatest Rapper Or What? / Is Nas Still Rap's Best Lyricist? / Nas Vs Jayz (2) (3) (4)

Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by spikelord(m): 3:00pm On Dec 04, 2005
There has been so much controversy over [his nationality]. I don't think Nas is a Nigerian, or what do you have to say?
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by layi(m): 4:41pm On Dec 04, 2005
Ok ..erm. Nas has got Nigerian blood flowing through his veins. Oludara (Nas' father) is Nigerian But i don't think Nas claims to be Nigerian because the father himself grew up in Mississipi (sp?) and gave birth to Nas there in the States.

He's got Nigeria blood but he aint Nigerian.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by lauryn(f): 6:12pm On Dec 04, 2005
Nas is not really nigerian, it's just that his parents believe their forefathers were enslaved from nigeria
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by buckeye(m): 8:08pm On Dec 04, 2005
i dont count him as a Nigerian, even his father(Oludara) is not claiming to be a Nigerian.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by spikelord(m): 10:08pm On Dec 04, 2005
I believe he originally is from Nigeria but he claimed not to be a Nigerian cuz he was never born in Nigeria.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by theORAKU(m): 1:03pm On Dec 05, 2005
This is my Number 1 Rapster u talking about.

just like Layi said, his father has nigerian blood but Nas was born in the states.

i think he is just another african american.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by Oyinhoney(m): 11:25pm On Dec 07, 2005
Yea i think so cuz i had heard his name is adebayo naz somthin' jones.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by buckeye(m): 7:32am On Dec 08, 2005
Nasir Jones
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by kaya(m): 6:40pm On Dec 08, 2005
well is full name is nasirudeen oludara jones
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by Oracle(m): 12:40am On Dec 09, 2005
Let him be whateva he is or he wants to be
all i know is that guy rhymes
he's just too much
he's too good

Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by nana(f): 12:40pm On Dec 09, 2005
Born Nasir Jones.This is his website addy: www.iamnas.com
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by tuxpow3r(m): 6:20pm On Dec 09, 2005
Yea i think so because i had heard his name is adebayo naz somthin' jones.
well is full name is nasirudeen oludara jones

You guys crack me up!

Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by da808cutie(f): 8:52pm On Dec 09, 2005
when did his name become Adebayo again

Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by Oracle(m): 5:37am On Dec 10, 2005
his site is something else
it was designed out of this world
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by tiwa(f): 3:47pm On Dec 12, 2005
Either they were enslaved or not they (oludara the father and Nasiru the son are both Nigerians) by Nationalaty though Nasiru grew up in the states and the father is lost in the states. They are bare Nigerians.
Peace out.....
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by BabyCakes(f): 12:00am On Dec 20, 2005
Who cares? Even if Nas real name was Chukuemeka Okereke, he wouldnt do squat for us!! Look at Sade Adu?? How Nigerian can you get?? But she doesnt wanna know! Lets focus on our own and leave all these Diaspora peeps!
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by menike(m): 1:09am On Dec 20, 2005
Nas real name is : Nasir Jones , his "Pop" travelled to his Africa and lived in Mozambique visited Nigeria and claim his Nigerian. That's were "Oludara" come from .

In our block in Queens , Nigerians reside there so we kinda know some shitz but Nigeria.

It's New York Guys.

Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by tiwa(f): 11:10am On Dec 20, 2005
I guess that's his probz if he wants he should claim it tough; or if he wants he shouldn't that's his buz.

Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by theORAKU(m): 1:23pm On Dec 20, 2005
whatever he claims 2 be or He is..... the guy is a deep and tite rhymist.

shikena.

Kind regrads.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by demmy(m): 5:34pm On Dec 20, 2005
Nas is not a Nigerian. As menike rightly said his father changed his name Olu Dara after he travelled to Africa. Listen to Brigding the Gap. Its on there.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by buckeye(m): 6:09pm On Dec 20, 2005
theORAKU:

whatever he claims 2 be or He is..... the guy is a deep and tite rhymist.

shikena.

Kind regrads.

True talk
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by Taf1(m): 8:58am On Dec 26, 2005
At his wedding they actually included some Nigerian rituals. He has Nigerian blood from both his parents but more ith his mother. A lotta those 'African American' guys have Nigerian roots, confirmed and co-signed.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by spikelord(m): 7:32pm On Dec 26, 2005
He is a Nigerian. I believe he is a Nigerian
take it or leave it....
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by menike(m): 7:51pm On Dec 28, 2005
Damn can't believe yall be trippin'

Straight dawgs Nas isn't Nigerian by any means dude grew up in Queens and his Dad was born in Mississippi so Oludara or late "Mama Nas " isn't Nigerian .

Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by buckeye(m): 8:25pm On Dec 28, 2005
who cares if hes a nigerian or not? i like his flows thats all.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by spikelord(m): 2:23pm On Dec 29, 2005
Then where did Oludara as a name come from?
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by menike(m): 5:31pm On Dec 29, 2005
Oludara is a name Nas pop got cuz he once lived in Africa .

(Can believe I gat to type 20 time B4 yall get dis )

Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by kackod(m): 5:46pm On Dec 29, 2005
he is really a nigerian but has his nationality from d states
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by gracious(f): 7:17pm On Dec 29, 2005
@menike, Nas is not nigerian. neither is his dad. His dad adopted the name Olu Dara. U know all these african american that are trying to find their heritage. when they meet original africans, they beg u to tell them about africa, the culture etc and then they even take names etc. that is exactly the case with NAS.  and NAS dad never lived in Africa... they don't even claim africa or nigeria.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by debanjee(m): 6:16am On Dec 30, 2005
x
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by buckeye(m): 7:24am On Dec 30, 2005
gracious:
they don't even claim africa or nigeria.

thank u jare, i dont even know what his nationality got to do with his music.
Re: Is Nas Truly a Nigerian? by Oracle(m): 6:04am On Jan 05, 2006
i dont know what he is but im a big fan

Tiwa Savage Performance At King Charles III Coronation Concert (Video, Photos) / Headies Awards 2018: Live Updates (12th Headies) / American Pia Mia Stole Phyno’s Song "I'm A Fan"

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21