Stats: 3,148,451 members, 7,801,083 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 April 2024 at 10:46 AM

5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night (1624 Views)

Rare Pictures Of Nigerian Foods Shown In The Most Tantalizing Way / Here Are The Foods To Never Eat On An Empty Stomach / 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night (2) (3) (4)

5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by boman2014: 3:23pm On Jul 18, 2017
Amala and Ewedu

A food famous in the western region of the country, Amala and
Ewedu is almost a staple on the menu of most Nigerian
restaurants. While the soup is made with vegetable and spices,
Amala is made with yam powder. They both form an appetizing
combo, however, can be unfavorable to your stomach when
consumed late in the night. Although the meal digests very
easily, compared to other yam-based meals, it is urine inducing
and can bring a lot of interruptions and discomfort to your sleep.

Pepper soup

A favorite Nigerian meal usually served with rice or yam as a
side, pepper soup seems to be the perfect meal for times you
are hungry at night as it is perceived as a light meal, but you
may actually want to step away from it when you are craving
something to eat late at night. The pepper soup contains certain
spices and peppers that may upset your stomach and chemicals
that can also stimulate your senses, making it hard to fall
asleep.

Agege Bread

This would be easy to buy off of the streets if you getting back
late and you know you would not have the energy to cook or
microwave any major meal when you get home because it would
be too late already. While Agege bread would be satisfying when
eaten with tea, mayonnaise or butter late in the night, it contains
a lot of carbohydrate and sugar that spikes up your blood sugar
levels, causing your energy levels to spike and plummet,
disrupting your sleep in the process. There is also a chance that
you will likely wake up starving a few hours later or in the
morning due to the overproduction of insulin the sugar triggers.

Fries (yam, potatoes, akara)

If you have had dinner by 7 pm and you are still awake by 12pm
and you are hungry, you may want to indulge in light finger
food. The go to would be fried yam, plantain , potatoes or even
akara. While this food may seem like a light meal, they actually
are not. They are greasy heavy foods! They weigh on your
stomach and take a while to digest, leaving you feeling tired and
sluggish in the morning. Also, they do more harm to your sleep
than good. You may have to deal with stomach pains, cramps,
abdominal bloating, heartburn, and acid reflux, resulting in poor
sleep quality.

Ewa Agoyin

A meal made of beans paired with a spicy sauce made with Palm
oil and dried crushed chilies, Ewa agoyin is very tasty but a
horrible option for late-night snacking or eating.Not only can it
trigger heartburn, as well as upset your stomach, it can totally
sabotage a day of good eating and actually keep you from going
to sleep.

[img]http://4.bp..com/--7ui7whGVfU/TWR0S1XZlhI/AAAAAAAAAnI/0qtGjCyMr0s/s640/DSC04065.JPG[/img]

lalasticlala

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2016/06/5-nigerian-foods-avoid-late-night/
Re: 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by Chikelue2000(m): 3:25pm On Jul 18, 2017
OP must be an Ewedu man.... most of dis meal r popular in d west, get us a comprehensive list joor
Re: 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by ZeroUnity: 3:30pm On Jul 18, 2017
The first on the list made my day.... undecided undecided grin grin
Re: 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by jaysmallz(m): 3:34pm On Jul 18, 2017
Wow...i can't do without eating bread and/or ewa goyin at night o
Re: 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by boman2014: 3:38pm On Jul 18, 2017
Chikelue2000:
OP must be an Ewedu man.... most of dis meal r popular in d west, get us a comprehensive list joor
my guy, i am a nigerian
Re: 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by MasterKim: 4:03pm On Jul 18, 2017
Wetin u wnt make we dey chop now
Re: 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by Nobody: 8:22pm On Jul 18, 2017
The last one is quite true... Can even send a man to a journey of no return... cry
Re: 5 Nigerian Foods To Avoid Late At Night by maisauki: 3:12pm On Jul 19, 2017
What remains for us to eat? Eba, fufu, iyan? kole wek

Prepare Your Fruit Juice With Ease @ Home! / Which Of These Nigerian Food Do You Love Most? / Delivery Bus Available Readly For Tours Or Within The Lagos State

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 17