Stats: 3,143,139 members, 7,780,069 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 09:13 AM

A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations - Properties (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations (18409 Views)

Filling Stations For Sale In Lagos /Ibadan / Ekiti State / List Of Filling Stations For Lease In Lagos / Gas Explosion In Filling Station In Ogun Kills 2 & Injures Several Others (Pics) (2) (3) (4)

Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Zenlife: 8:21am On Jul 24, 2017
ikorodureporta:
Why are filling stations built with event centres/halls? I'v seen two around ketu, & yesterday, i spotted a Christ Embassy church in a Mobil filling station @ ikorodu (pishure with-held undecided ) ......and the govt aint talking abt this trend

Of course, they wouldn't.
ASSHOLE thinkers.
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Reference(m): 8:30am On Jul 24, 2017
Nothing wrong with that as long as safety protocols are observed. Even oil rigs have kitchens, flow stations have canteens and refineries have joints. Every gas station I know is close to something that it threatens.

Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Elcuba: 8:37am On Jul 24, 2017
GMBuhari:
Mr personal person

Event center still make sense , wetin me no understand na why filling stations go dey get bar or dey sell alcohol

No be just alcohol o , na chilled Alcohol , wey be say , you put am inside car from Ibadan go Lagos , the drink go still get ice

Shooo , na wetin happen sef ?

one area on outskirts of Lag, i don buy best there , the thing cold die so tay na my co workers dey ginger me make i enter 180 for that road wey no bam

same thing for IB ,

same for Akoda , Ede , that filling station dey always get something we col weh weh

And what's wrong in filling station selling alcohol?
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by higherpower: 8:39am On Jul 24, 2017
ikorodureporta:
Why are filling stations built with event centres/halls? I'v seen two around ketu, & yesterday, i spotted a Christ Embassy church in a Mobil filling station @ ikorodu (pishure with-held undecided ) ......and the govt aint talking abt this trend

Good observation but it's Siting Not citing
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Nobody: 8:41am On Jul 24, 2017
GMBuhari:
Mr personal person

Event center still make sense , wetin me no understand na why filling stations go dey get bar or dey sell alcohol

No be just alcohol o , na chilled Alcohol , wey be say , you put am inside car from Ibadan go Lagos , the drink go still get ice

Shooo , na wetin happen sef ?

one area on outskirts of Lag, i don buy best there , the thing cold die so tay na my co workers dey ginger me make i enter 180 for that road wey no bam

same thing for IB ,

same for Akoda , Ede , that filling station dey always get something we col weh weh
Even abroad, filling stations has grocery stores where u can buy your chilled drinks... So your drink argument holds no water.
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by NLProblemChild(m): 8:42am On Jul 24, 2017
ikorodureporta:
come Lagos island u go see tired
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by colossus91(m): 8:56am On Jul 24, 2017
Keneking:
Na only Lagos you can see all these nonsense
nope the one i know of sef is at the outskirts of lagos has mr biggs and all peeps going to redemption camp would know better grin
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by GMBuhari: 8:56am On Jul 24, 2017
When they say abstinence is the best , You stop to dey >Bleep ?
Elcuba:

And what's wrong in filling station selling alcohol?
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by GMBuhari: 8:58am On Jul 24, 2017
Nma27:
Even abroad , filling stations has grocery stores where u can buy your chilled drinks... So your drink argument holds no water.

That's the difference, so it holds water
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by three: 9:07am On Jul 24, 2017
Nma27:
Even abroad, filling stations has grocery stores where u can buy your chilled drinks... So your drink argument holds no water.

Grocery Store is different from event centre/eatery
Nigeria is different from abroad (responsiveness to incidents)

Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Lordtunji(m): 9:10am On Jul 24, 2017
I see a lot of ignorant people here, what's wrong with having a store in a filling station? An eatery or fast fast restaurant isn't bad either, its even the norm in foreign countries.
As per the issue of churches; as long as there are sufficient parking lots for the church members, I see no problem.

PS: I'm a town planner
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Nobody: 9:17am On Jul 24, 2017
what do you expect from the ignorant and careless nigerians who scoops petrol dripping from a petrol tanker that had accident. the fastest way to commit suicide
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by nnokwa042(m): 9:26am On Jul 24, 2017
three:
I have witnessed a location where a RESIDENTIAL BUILDING was converted to a FILLING STATION.

Located in a built up residential area with poor traffic movement for trailers or normal passenger vehicles.

Accident waiting to happen.

Lives waiting to be lost
here fill in station is under residential building but let not try it in Nigeria, never hear that filling station here catches fire for more than 10 years
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Nobody: 9:30am On Jul 24, 2017
ikorodureporta:

First off this is not a new development. There is a hotel on top of a petrol station in toyin street that has been there for over 10 years. An environmental impact assessment was carried out and the design was allowed.

Such designs are common abroad, particularly on freeways.

Such petrol stations generally have deeper underground tanks and a whole plethora of fail safe devices which makes them more expensive to build than conventional stations.

Having said this, anyone is at liberty to decide whether a particular risk is too high for them and to act accordingly. I would therefore not criticize you for not using one of such stations. I only want to correct the impression that these represent administrative oversights or errors. This is not true. These designs must comply with stringent conditions for such builds.

Have a great week.
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Nobody: 9:38am On Jul 24, 2017
Lordtunji:
I see a lot of ignorant people here, what's wrong with having a store in a filling station? An eatery or fast fast restaurant isn't bad either, its even the norm in foreign countries.
As per the issue of churches; as long as there are sufficient parking lots for the church members, I see no problem.

PS: I'm a town planner
that's not the point, the point I believe Is the carelessness of nigerians, some one might light up a cigarette after getting drunk and the whole place will go up in fire. in an environment were people are safety conscious and abide by the rules of health and safety ( unlike in nigeria ) it's no problem eating, drinking and clubbing in a petrol station
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Martin0(m): 9:50am On Jul 24, 2017
gypsey:
that's not the point, the point I believe Is the carelessness of nigerians, some one might light up a cigarette after getting drunk and the whole place will go up in fire. in an environment were people are safety conscious and abide by the rules of health and safety ( unlike in nigeria ) it's no problem eating, drinking and clubbing in a petrol station
ahahahahahahahaha chai aaa na wa oo gypsey tell dem ooo,people go just see truth and hide it,
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Teeboi56: 10:10am On Jul 24, 2017
ikorodureporta:
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Teeboi56: 10:13am On Jul 24, 2017
ikorodureporta:
No be Nigeria, a free country anybody can do anyhow
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by staggerman(m): 11:00am On Jul 24, 2017
As a safety professional, I do not agree with the op.
The risk of visiting a petrol station is very low.... That's why you can visit or send kids to buy petrol without first requesting for the fire service to be on standby

As long as you have all hazards under proper control, and risked reduced to As Low As Reasonably Practicable (ALARP), you have nothing to worry about.

Most petrol stations are designed to be safer than your domestic kitchen.
Yet you freely walk in and out of your kitchen, ignite your cooker, without fear of the open flame.
You probably have your dining and sitting room close to your kitchen.
Your kitchen is also part of your house, and not detached from the main building.
As per having fire detectors, gas detectors, fire extinguisher and fire blanket in your kitchen to deem it safe, that's story for another day.

Enjoy your day
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by DBlackCeazer(m): 11:08am On Jul 24, 2017
I ve seen a bakery inside a gas station.
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by three: 12:27pm On Jul 24, 2017
greenpasture:

First off this is not a new development. There is a hotel on top of a petrol station in toyin street that has been there for over 10 years. An environmental impact assessment was carried out and the design was allowed.

Such designs are common abroad, particularly on freeways.

Such petrol stations generally have deeper underground tanks and a whole plethora of fail safe devices which makes them more expensive to build than conventional stations.

Having said this, anyone is at liberty to decide whether a particular risk is too high for them and to act accordingly. I would therefore not criticize you for not using one of such stations. I only want to correct the impression that these represent administrative oversights or errors. This is not true. These designs must comply with stringent conditions for such builds.

Have a great week.

Can you vouch with your word that this structure the OP complained about has been properly certified?

Can you vouch that ANY such structure in Nigeria has been properly certified?

Feel free to list those you know
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by three: 12:29pm On Jul 24, 2017
staggerman:
As a safety professional, I do not agree with the op.
The risk of visiting a petrol station is very low.... That's why you can visit or send kids to buy petrol without first requesting for the fire service to be on standby

As long as you have all hazards under proper control, and risked reduced to As Low As Reasonably Practicable (ALARP), you have nothing to worry about.

Most petrol stations are designed to be safer than your domestic kitchen.
Yet you freely walk in and out of your kitchen, ignite your cooker, without fear of the open flame.
You probably have your dining and sitting room close to your kitchen.
Your kitchen is also part of your house, and not detached from the main building.
As per having fire detectors, gas detectors, fire extinguisher and fire blanket in your kitchen to deem it safe, that's story for another day.

Enjoy your day

Kindly apprise which safety certification you possess to enable cross referencing with your stated assertions
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Nobody: 1:27pm On Jul 24, 2017
three:

Can you vouch with your word that this structure the OP complained about has been properly certified?

Can you vouch that ANY such structure in Nigeria has been properly certified?

Feel free to list those you know

I can certainly vouch for the petrol station cut hotel on Toyin. I have first hand knowledge of the impact assessment report for that location.

Look there is a lot wrong with Nigeria but I wont go into polarity based argument mode and say nothing works. I won't go there with you. Polarity is simple; yes and no, black and white - facts require a lot more work - because there is a lot more grey.
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Nobody: 2:09pm On Jul 24, 2017
Abeg wipe craze komot for him body angry angry
ikorodureporta:

sharrap there....u gonna burn on earth b4 u gt to hell. What kind of misplaced priority? I said events centre/ large gathering of people...If CE happens to be among, i shldnt talk abt it??
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by Nobody: 2:13pm On Jul 24, 2017
U called him bingo undecided was confusing coz u agreed but why the bingo
EgunMogaji:

Even though I was agreeing with your position?

Well, thank you very much Sir.
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by andyanders: 3:39pm On Jul 24, 2017
What of Mobil Filling station at Ikeja, housing an hotel with about 4 floors.
Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by ikorodureporta: 6:10am On Aug 14, 2017
Here's the pix...

Re: A Dangerous Trend I've Observed In Filling Stations by true2home(m): 1:19pm On Oct 17, 2017
BINGO seen as Negative!!! ;DLMAOF

EgunMogaji:

I would never do that Sir.

It's a regional thing I guess.

Bingo is used to mean correct, exactly, etc

No worries. I'll find a way to go on with life somehow sad

Documents You Must Know In Real Estate Business / Arson - My House Deliberately Set On Fire (pics) / How Much Will It Cost To Design And Build Twom 3 Bedroom Bungalow

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47