Stats: 3,150,514 members, 7,808,877 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 06:25 PM

Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV - TV/Movies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV (563 Views)

Picture Quality Of TSTV: Bein Sport HD Live On Tstv / Some Funny Reactions On TSTV (pictures/quotes) / TSTV Launches In Nigeria: Channels, Packages, Subscription & Decoder Prices (2) (3) (4)

Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV by Thevirus: 8:08am On Oct 08, 2017
At first, it sounded like a badly-intentioned prank. I mean, how ingenious is a name like TSTV which sounds like a parody of DSTV? But there is indeed going to be another satellite television company providing direct to home services to Nigerians. TSTV (Telcom Satellite TV) was formally launched on Sunday, October 1, 2017, which was also Nigeria’s Independence Day. Not sure if there was any symbolism intended; you know, like TSTV liberating Nigerian TV viewers? But who is TSTV anyway? In their own words on their website, this is how they describe themselves, “TSTV Africa is a wholly-owned Nigerian innovative pay TV operator.”

As far as arrivals go, TSTV surely arrived in a blaze of glory. Among other things, this wholly -Nigerian company has snagged a three-year tax-free package from the Federal Government as announced by the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed at the launch. In return, TSTV is promising, “refined offerings of novel Pay As You View Subscription, Pause Subscription, Complimentary Internet service, video call and an array of amazing TV channels with premium entertainment, informative and educative programmes that cut across all genres.”

Now, as far as expectations go, they are high right at this moment. Not that many people need much convincing to be excited at the arrival of ‘cheap’ (if that’s your thing) or ‘affordable’ or ‘flexible’ satellite TV. Even me, at this point in my household, I could do with a much cheaper subscription. I certainly am paying for more than I need. At the very least, give me something more flexible. Really, almost everyone fits into (or can appreciate) any of these categories. If not directly for themselves, for family members perhaps.

So we can get it out of the way that TSTV does sound very attractive. But before we get too high on expectations, there are a few things we need to unpack. First, let’s look at the marketing of TSTV as this ‘wholly Nigerian’ deliverer Superman company. We’ve been down that road before. The defunct HITV was promoted as being wholly Nigerian. Not only that, it was touted as the redeemer, giant killer. One prominent business newspaper did a front page story on how HITV was coming in to set broadcasting standards. Before it had even existed for a few months! Technically, no matter how promising a business venture looks, especially one in which someone else has a considerable head start, doesn’t it make sense to operate for a while before making gargantuan claims?
READ FULL TEXT:http://thevirusnewsonline.com/?p=711

Re: Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV by wtfcoded: 8:13am On Oct 08, 2017
3 years tax free for tstv. Nice one from the government.
Re: Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV by amnesty7: 8:18am On Oct 08, 2017
OK. Thank you for Oga Dstv. We will still buy the TStv, parody or not. And how will the failure of someone stop another from succeeding?
Re: Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV by hisgrace090: 8:24am On Oct 08, 2017
I hope they quickly learn from others mistakes .
Re: Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV by kcy(m): 8:39am On Oct 08, 2017
nothing to learn from yr trash
Re: Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV by PetrePan(m): 8:43am On Oct 08, 2017
I feel like beating u
Re: Before We Get Too Tigh On TSTV by internationalman(m): 8:55am On Oct 08, 2017
is this thing like a Nigerian version of DSTV.

Apple Tv For Sale! / #BBNaija: Vandora & Dee-one Have Been EVICTED / Bbnaija Saturday Night Party Outfit (video)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 11