Stats: 3,150,510 members, 7,808,866 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 06:18 PM

Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? - Foreign Affairs (1981) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? (4427957 Views)

Iran Vs Israel: Who Has The Strongest Military ? / Evidence That Putin Is Strongest Man And Obama Is A Filthy Whimpering Dog / Which Country Has The Strongest Economy In Africa. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1978) (1979) (1980) (1981) (1982) (1983) (1984) ... (2991) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Msauza(m): 8:59pm On Mar 28, 2015
NaijaPikinGidi:

Really? You really must be watching the ongoing killings across South Africa! Pray you don't join the scary numbers!

#AHEADNIGERIA

cool cool cool

STOP DREAMING, MOST KILLING OVER TIME HAPPENED IN NIGERIA.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 9:01pm On Mar 28, 2015
EVarn:
lol.southie don hear am for una hand oo...
But the attacks in yobe and gombe by 'you know who' were indeed a big surprise,i thought that they are in total disarray?,how come they are still organized enough to stage such a disturbance?,the SSS should be more proactive in order to prevent unnecessary casualties,they shouldnt thrust all the herculean tasks on our armed forces alone,the NA and NAF arent magicians.
on a brighter note,i hope you voted for continuity of progress,transformation and positive change?.lol.
lol. This is the big day for BH, it's what they've been fighting for all along. But they've failed

One last desperate attempt that eventuality came to nothing.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Msauza(m): 9:04pm On Mar 28, 2015

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by 14(m): 9:21pm On Mar 28, 2015

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by NaijaPikinGidi: 9:21pm On Mar 28, 2015

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by NaijaPikinGidi: 9:27pm On Mar 28, 2015
Southie Enugu man ... more of your mirror-image below!
=============

Every election since 1994 has had incidents of violent confrontations between supporters of rival political organisations. On Monday, January 13, 2014, State President Jacob Zuma had to call for supporters of all parties to desist from violence, while the Deputy President of the African National Congress reiterated the need for all parties to observe tolerance of political opponents and their right to campaign across the country. This comes in the wake of ANC supporters clashing with the police when they attempted to engage Julius Malema, leader of the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF), at Nkandla on the same day the ANC launched its election manifesto in Mbombela. Subsequently, the residents of the house Malema handed them have asked for protection, fearing for their lives.

When South Africans are not engaged in violence against one another, they scapegoat people identified as “foreigners”. The twenty years since the first democratic elections which ae celebrated as the advent of democracy and freedom by many, are blighted by regular “xenophobic attacks” against people seen to be from elsewhere in Africa.

During the worst waves in 2007 and 2008, thousands of non-citizens had to be accommodated in refugee camps. Myths about other Africans illegitimately and unfairly accessing resources and property that many South Africans think of as theirs – these range from jobs to land, and in a country where they are still seen as possessions, despite legislated equality, this includes women – are used by people when questioned about their motives.

============

http://www.enca.com/opinion/south-africa-history-violence

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by 14(m): 9:33pm On Mar 28, 2015
NaijaPikinGidi:
More of your mirror-image
=============

Every election since 1994 has had incidents of violent confrontations between supporters of rival political organisations. On Monday, January 13, 2014, State President Jacob Zuma had to call for supporters of all parties to desist from violence, while the Deputy President of the African National Congress reiterated the need for all parties to observe tolerance of political opponents and their right to campaign across the country. This comes in the wake of ANC supporters clashing with the police when they attempted to engage Julius Malema, leader of the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF), at Nkandla on the same day the ANC launched its election manifesto in Mbombela. Subsequently, the residents of the house Malema handed them have asked for protection, fearing for their lives.

When South Africans are not engaged in violence against one another, they scapegoat people identified as “foreigners”. The twenty years since the first democratic elections which ae celebrated as the advent of democracy and freedom by many, are blighted by regular “xenophobic attacks” against people seen to be from elsewhere in Africa.

During the worst waves in 2007 and 2008, thousands of non-citizens had to be accommodated in refugee camps. Myths about other Africans illegitimately and unfairly accessing resources and property that many South Africans think of as theirs – these range from jobs to land, and in a country where they are still seen as possessions, despite legislated equality, this includes women – are used by people when questioned about their motives.

============

http://www.enca.com/opinion/south-africa-history-violence

https://www.nairaland.com/2223442/boko-haram-beheads-23-people

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by NaijaPikinGidi: 9:49pm On Mar 28, 2015
14:

And how does this amount to electoral violence? You and Enugu man are visibly smarting in pain from the peaceful conduct of our elections and trying to dampen the resolve of Africa's biggest Democracy? Another South African bites the dust! Epic fail ... try again!

cool cool cool

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MduZA: 10:01pm On Mar 28, 2015

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by EVarn(m): 10:11pm On Mar 28, 2015
lezz:
lol. This is the big day for BH, it's what they've been fighting for all along. But they've failed
One last desperate attempt that eventuality came to nothing.
indeed,but what i am worried about is their ability to mobilize and locate soft targets in the NE,i expected all of them to be currently running helter skelter into cameroon and niger,i didnt expect smatterings of half baked reprisals,its shows that some of them still possess confidence,perhaps due to our lackadiasical attitude in terms of media awarness and lack of a concerted media offensive{abeg make una help us beg DHQ to release videos and pictures of battles in overtly dramatic details,lets take a cue from the photomaniac SANDF}.
It is time for the SSS to grab the elephant by the tusks,and relentlessly persecute these agents of destruction.The NA/NAF should be allowed to focus on mopping up operations,instead of chasing around renegade factions of the defeated jihadists;that should be the work of the DSS.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MduZA: 10:20pm On Mar 28, 2015
Evarn,is it true that officials in the city of Abuja are using torches to count the votes?

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by EVarn(m): 10:30pm On Mar 28, 2015
MduZA:
Evarn,is it true that officials in the city of Abuja are using torches to count the votes?
Where did you hear such preposterous rumours?,how can INEC officials use torches to count votes in the FCT of all places?!
Throughout the whole of Nigeria,there is steady power supply,moreso for the machines and devices that are being used to accredit,document and compile the votes.
Polling units that dont have power{due to topography or weather problems},make use of power generating engines.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 10:37pm On Mar 28, 2015
EVarn:
indeed,but what i am worried about is their ability to mobilize and locate soft targets in the NE,i expected all of them to be currently running helter skelter into cameroon and niger,i didnt expect smatterings of half baked reprisals,its shows that some of them still possess confidence,perhaps due to our lackadiasical attitude in terms of media awarness and lack of a concerted media offensive{abeg make una help us beg DHQ to release videos and pictures of battles in overtly dramatic details,lets take a cue from the photomaniac SANDF}.
It is time for the SSS to grab the elephant by the tusks,and relentlessly persecute these agents of destruction.The NA/NAF should be allowed to focus on mopping up operations,instead of chasing around renegade factions of the defeated jihadists;that should be the work of the DSS.
indeed. Time for the SSS and military intelligence to do clean up.
I'm also thinking they are laying too much emphasis on the polling units and leaving the outskirts of villages for easy picks for BH.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MduZA: 11:02pm On Mar 28, 2015
EVarn:
Where did you hear such preposterous rumours?,how can INEC officials use torches to count votes in the FCT of all places?!
Throughout the whole of Nigeria,there is steady power supply,moreso for the machines and devices that are being used to accredit,document and compile the votes.
Polling units that dont have power{due to topography or weather problems},make use of power generating engines.

BBCAfrica tweeted about this...
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by agaugust: 11:40pm On Mar 28, 2015
jln115:

Not even during the border war did we deploy more than 3000 soldiers, and we deployed Gripen jets,and Rooivalk attack helicopters during peace keeping missions.

Border war only 4,000 SADF men fought.....over 20 years ago grin grin

During peace keeping missions, South Africa has NEVER deployed artillery, tanks and jet fighters in your history, NEVER ! grin grin

When it come to real war, SANDF is a joke, your navy men are jokes too....cannot shoot straight grin grin
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by EVarn(m): 11:55pm On Mar 28, 2015
lezz:
indeed. Time for the SSS and military intelligence to do clean up.
I'm also thinking they are laying too much emphasis on the polling units and leaving the outskirts of villages for easy picks for BH.
on point,polling units should be manned by a joint force of the police,MOPOL and civil defence corps,while the DSS should provide intelligence coverage to forestall any attacks on polling centers,the only military job should be the airforce providing aerial surveillance and rapid transport of defence forces.we are overstretching our troops by deploying over 40,000 soldiers just to secure a few states.Troops shouldnt be unnecessarily distracted from tightening the choke-hold on BH,we musnt allow bros 'kau to escape to qatar through sudan.
On a grander note,i must commend the FG for ensuring safe,free and fair elections throughout the country{except for a few unfortunate glitches},Enemies of the federal republic will be put to shame.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by EVarn(m): 12:08am On Mar 29, 2015
MduZA:

BBCAfrica tweeted about this...
If you ever believe anything BBC reports,then your f00lishness is more severe than i initially suspected.
If INEC officials were counting votes with torch lights,then what was the BBC crew that gave the report using to observe?,were they also using torches?,or did the BBC reporters manage to stuff generators and a few gallons of petrol into their backpacks?
what a ridiculous report,even if you are being fed lies,dont you have at least a smidgin of common sense to decypher what is true and what is not?
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by agaugust: 12:15am On Mar 29, 2015
Msauza:
15 KILLED IN NIGERIAS POLLS.

http://www.nbcnews.com/news/world/gunmen-kill-15-nigeria-during-tense-election-n331871

ABUJA, Nigeria -- Boko Haram extremists killed 41 people, including a legislator, and scared hundreds of people from polling stations but millions voted across Nigeria Saturday in the most closely contested presidential race in the nation's history.

All the Boko Haram attacks took place in northeastern Nigeria, where the military Friday announced it had cleared the Islamic extremists from all major centres, including the headquarters of their so-called Islamic caliphate.

Nearly 60 million people have cards to vote, and for the first time there is a possibility that a challenger can defeat a sitting president in the high-stakes contest to govern Africa's richest nation.

http://www.ctvnews.ca/world/boko-haram-kills-41-disrupting-elections-as-millions-vote-in-nigeria-1.2301714

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by agaugust: 12:17am On Mar 29, 2015
14:

MduZA:

Nigeria is a terrible country...

Try this one....

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Nobody: 1:01am On Mar 29, 2015
agaugust:

During peace keeping missions, South Africa has NEVER deployed artillery, tanks and jet fighters in your history, NEVER ! grin grin

When it come to real war, SANDF is a joke, your navy men are jokes too....cannot shoot straight grin grin
Hahaha sometimes i wonder if you just pretend your so re.tarded or if you really are this re,tarded!
But any way, please explain how only 4000 men fought in the Border war?because what you are saying is that in 23 years no soldiers were ever rotated......at all!!!!!

And we did deploy Fighters to CAR in 2013
We also deployed the Rooivalk to the DRC with great success.
And why would we deploy artillery and tanks on peace keeping missions? We are fighting rebel forces equal to Boko Harm and f@cking them up.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Msauza(m): 4:14am On Mar 29, 2015
agaugust:

Try this one....

Photo shopped picture with a man not clearly a South African but either a Rwandan or west African man. There is no black culture in SA that allows people to paint their bodies like that in SA.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Msauza(m): 4:19am On Mar 29, 2015
agaugust:

Only 4000 South African Soldiers handled over 400 000 enermy soldier.

#FORWARDSAFOWARD.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by patches689: 5:03am On Mar 29, 2015
agaugust:

We just finished one with guided missile armed drones, and long range radar/thermal imaging aircraft...and we won ! Shame on you tongue tongue

Nigeria is the first African country to use these types of modern equipment in war, even mighty Egypt has never tried it yet !

Was the enemy armed with any modern equipment?

Have you faced integrated air-defence networks? VLS and artillery barrages? Engaged in Brigade sized armoured battles? Air assault? Enemy jet aircraft?

You have not fought any modern war
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by patches689: 5:05am On Mar 29, 2015
agaugust:

20 000 X 25 years =

The only joke here is that Nigeria has never fought a modern war against a uniformed opponent

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 6:54am On Mar 29, 2015
EVarn:
on point,polling units should be manned by a joint force of the police,MOPOL and civil defence corps,while the DSS should provide intelligence coverage to forestall any attacks on polling centers,the only military job should be the airforce providing aerial surveillance and rapid transport of defence forces.we are overstretching our troops by deploying over 40,000 soldiers just to secure a few states.Troops shouldnt be unnecessarily distracted from tightening the choke-hold on BH,we musnt allow bros 'kau to escape to qatar through sudan.
On a grander note,i must commend the FG for ensuring safe,free and fair elections throughout the country{except for a few unfortunate glitches},Enemies of the federal republic will be put to shame.
with this successfully held electoond, BH will lose a lot of maral and motivation.

Enemies of Nigeria never wanted this election to hold. BH can now be decisively crushed without the pressure and anxiety the pre-election militarily campaign had.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MduZA: 7:12am On Mar 29, 2015
EVarn:
If you ever believe anything BBC reports,then your f00lishness is more severe than i initially suspected.
If INEC officials were counting votes with torch lights,then what was the BBC crew that gave the report using to observe?,were they also using torches?,or did the BBC reporters manage to stuff generators and a few gallons of petrol into their backpacks?
what a ridiculous report,even if you are being fed lies,dont you have at least a smidgin of common sense to decypher what is true and what is not?

you are unnecessarily showing your anger...
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 7:18am On Mar 29, 2015
DieVluit:

I also would be mortally wounded if I were Nigerian. So shamed by your inability to build a functioning society. The product of Nigeria's society is clearly messed up, looking at your response here. And like I said, if you mess up these elections, like you mess up everything, South Africa will come and save you.

We are already worried that you couldn't complete a simple election in one day like a capable country. You had to go an extend it because of "delay".

Useless.

I understand why you are defensive when wished good luck.
coming from a country that has the highest violence and räpe in the world, a country where HIV infected adult have the hopes of curing themselves by the ra.ping of 3 and 4 year old infants....you have the lack of shame to come here to talk.

Little wonder your country makes the highest synagogue attendance. And you must have left your queue waiting for the magic touch to cure you of your socio-psychological malady which all the Anglo-dutch integrated schools have failed to do.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by patches689: 7:42am On Mar 29, 2015
lezz:
coming from a country that has the highest violence and räpe in the world, a country where HIV infected adult have the hopes of curing themselves by the ra.ping of 3 and 4 year old infants....you have the lack of shame to come here to talk.

Little wonder your country makes the highest synagogue attendance. And you must have left your queue waiting for the magic touch to cure you of your socio-psychological malady which all the Anglo-dutch integrated schools have failed to do.

As has been proven many times, South Africa isnt even in the top 10 for Violence and Rape
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 7:55am On Mar 29, 2015
patches689:

As has been proven many times, South Africa isnt even in the top 10 for Violence and Rape
of course, with 89 murders per day, you managed to bleep many war ravaging countries. You can drop me your usual doctored sources that has reduced the significance of sources in nairaland to irrelevance.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MikeCZAR: 8:07am On Mar 29, 2015
Henry120:

After suffering heavy casualties, so they can run away.

Pig, you can't shoot, you can't fight, but snorting......... that's something you can very well do.
After the battle.

They stood their ground fought hard and forces seleka to negotiate.

The force commander went to the air port several times to check if it was still opened.

SA forces didn't suffer heavy casualties.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by EVarn(m): 8:28am On Mar 29, 2015
lezz:
with this successfully held electoond, BH will lose a lot of maral and motivation.
Enemies of Nigeria never wanted this election to hold. BH can now be decisively crushed without the pressure and anxiety the pre-election militarily campaign had.
on point oga mi,Elections had been an hindering block for our troops,now that it is grounding to an halt,i'm expecting the iminent captures of shekau,it is inevitable that the remnants of them will run into niger,cameroon and chad{where they originally belong},many will even join ISIS in libya and sudan.Nigeria will alway have the threat of terrorism for decades to come,i expect the DSS to have its hands full for the next 20 years.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MikeCZAR: 8:29am On Mar 29, 2015
agaugust:

Only around 3700 were deployed for operations in 87-88.

South Africa rotated its troops deployed in Namibia.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1978) (1979) (1980) (1981) (1982) (1983) (1984) ... (2991) (Reply)

African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread / Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 73