Stats: 3,150,008 members, 7,806,934 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 April 2024 at 07:18 AM

How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria (1732 Views)

Why Jehovah's Witnesses Are The Most United And Peaceful Religion In The World / Apostle Suleman Reacts To Shoprite's Looting In Nigeria Over Xenophobia In SA / Christian Prince Explains Islam (2) (3) (4)

How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by superhumanist(m): 7:19am On Feb 19, 2018
Anyone that has been to shoprite in Apapa or Ikeja would notice that there is usually a queue for the shoprite bread. The queue is usually long with arguments and frowns. It is interesting to note that shoprite bread is by no means the sweetest or the healthiest bread in town, even though it is good. In Lagos, there are so many bakeries and bread sellers. A lot of people actually drive past better bakeries to buy shoprite bread.

So, why is there a queue for this shoprite bread when it is not the best bread? Here are the reasons

1. It is popular and word of mouth goes far. People do some things because everyone else is doing it

2. Shoprite itself is foreign owned and good quality is assumed as a result

3. Shoprite is a big and profitable franchise and quality is assumed.

Religion is similar to this-

1. Many people follow religion because it is popular or because of other people- they were born to religious parents in a religious country. Rather than think for themselves and realise that shoprite bread is not the best and not worth queuing one hour for, they just follow the crowd. Many don't question religion.

2. Christianity and islam are two foreign religions and are elevated over African traditional religions. Just like shoprite is elevated because it is from abroad, christianity and islam are also seen in a different light- some Nigerians claiming to be jews, Jesus is painted as a white Italian man in churches, Nigerian muslims having Arab names and dying to go to Saudi for Hajj etc.

3. Nothing intoxicates human beings like money and power. Shoprite is a big organization with a lot of profit and hence, it is naturally trusted than many local bakeries. This is the same with religion- the pastors wield so much power and respect as a result of their money. God must have blessed them with private jets because they followed the religious principles.

Just like shoprite bread, religion is nothing special- one can always buy a different bread from a different bakery just like one can go to a different religion or temple or holy place.

Shoprite's quality is nothing but empty packaging as shoprite has been caught selling expired products. They also sell the cheapest of the cheap. If you dont believe, compare the rich-tea biscuits or kellogs cornflakes you buy from shoprite to those sold in the UK or US. People jjust assume that the quality is there because shoprite is big, foreign and profitable. This is how religion also sells itself with nothing but empty packaging from the pimped out pastors to the sexy ushers to the promises of heavenly rewards.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by Nobody: 7:37am On Feb 19, 2018
Ayam understanding you with my Koro Koro eyes

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by daomi(m): 7:52am On Feb 19, 2018
So if shoprite bread is not one of the best, can u name the best and 'sweetest'

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by hisgrace090: 8:00am On Feb 19, 2018
daomi:

This is the right question.

Show us the better bread let's try it.

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by SOFTENGR: 8:11am On Feb 19, 2018
I think what the OP is simply saying is: Follow the one that tastes best to you, not necessarily what seems best to many.

#foodforthought

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by blessedvisky(m): 8:13am On Feb 19, 2018
superhumanist:

Have you lent John the money bro?

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by superhumanist(m): 9:36am On Feb 19, 2018
daomi:

hisgrace090:

This is the right question.

Show us the better bread let's try it.

Wrong question. Man shall not live by (ShopRite) bread alone.

The holy spirit guides me to show you the unleavened heavenly bread that is called Butterfield.

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by superhumanist(m): 9:37am On Feb 19, 2018
SOFTENGR:
I think what the OP is simply saying is: Follow the one that tastes best to you, not necessarily what seems best to many.

#foodforthought

Nice. Simply put

Don't rely on people. Use your brain and follow the common sense.

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by hahn(m): 1:44pm On Feb 19, 2018
daomi:

Ever been to Frenchies? smiley

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by superhumanist(m): 1:56pm On Feb 19, 2018
hahn:

You know better thing grin

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by hahn(m): 5:39pm On Feb 19, 2018
superhumanist:

You know better thing grin

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by sonofluc1fer: 5:40pm On Feb 19, 2018
hahn:

My man....

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by hahn(m): 5:49pm On Feb 19, 2018
sonofluc1fer:

My man....

wink
Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by Greatzeus(m): 6:57pm On Feb 19, 2018
superhumanist:

Wrong question. Man shall not live by (ShopRite) bread alone.

The holy spirit guides me to show you the unleavened heavenly bread that is called Butterfield.
Guy,are you seriously comparing Butterfield to ShopRite bread
ShopRite bread as the highest rate of stock turnover in the country that is they don't bake and transport to middle men( roadside sellers,shops or wholesalers). They bake and sell immediately,then bake again to meet the next batch of demand from customers.
Go to ShopRite ikeja by 8amt to 10am,you will get hot bread,10am to 12 noon fresh bread, by 1 pm it's out of stock, another batch is being bake,you will have to wait. That's the circle about 3hrs,it's gone in the shelve.
But Butterfield and others are sold and resold,passed from iyarisi to mama Chinedu etc, it sleeps in people's houses and shops,carried by different persons with doubtful hygiene.
The weight of ShopRite bread is like times 3 of Butterfield,but the money is just 1.5 x of Butterfield.
The only bread in the country that comes close to ShopRite bread is Big treat, classic and reputable.

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by superhumanist(m): 7:13pm On Feb 19, 2018
Greatzeus:

Guy,are you seriously comparing Butterfield to ShopRite bread
ShopRite bread as the highest rate of stock turnover in the country that is they don't bake and transport to middle men( roadside sellers,shops or wholesalers). They bake and sell immediately,then bake again to meet the next batch of demand from customers.
Go to ShopRite ikeja by 8amt to 10am,you will get hot bread,10am to 12 noon fresh bread, by 1 pm it's out of stock, another batch is being bake,you will have to wait. That's the circle about 3hrs,it's gone in the shelve.
But Butterfield and others are sold and resold,passed from iyarisi to mama Chinedu etc, it sleeps in people's houses and shops,carried by different persons with doubtful hygiene.
The weight of ShopRite bread is like times 3 of Butterfield,but the money is just 1.5 x of Butterfield.
The only bread in the country that comes close to ShopRite bread is Big treat, classic and reputable.

Well Butterfield is delivered directly to my area 3 times a week. No queues, nothing.

Butterfield is always soft and I never eat it with butter.

The best thing about it is that it can be okay for almost 2 days in the fridge.

Try putting ShopRite bread in the fridge overnight. Stone.
Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by CAPSLOCKED: 9:09pm On Feb 19, 2018
daomi:

I GUESS YOU'VE NOT TRIED SHOPLEFT BREAD.
Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by superhumanist(m): 7:29pm On Feb 21, 2018
CAPSLOCKED:

I GUESS YOU'VE NOT TRIED SHOPLEFT BREAD.

ShopDown instead angry angry

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by GoodMuyis(m): 8:41pm On Feb 21, 2018
superhumanist:

ShopDown instead angry angry
SHOPUP and SHOPMORE
All of una wey wack bread your poo go hard pass coconut

Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by superhumanist(m): 10:56am On May 30, 2018
GoodMuyis:

SHOPUP and SHOPMORE

All of una wey wack bread your poo go hard pass coconut

That is why one eats a balanced diet with fruits and other things
Re: How Shoprite Bread Explains Religion In Nigeria by whitelotus: 7:12am On Jun 02, 2020
Interesting

A Time Worship Speaks (photo) / Sign Fireman Miracle Crusade At Abijo-lekki, Lagos, Nigeria Causes Stampede! / Pastor Wife Rained Curses On Members For Not Contributing Money For Her Birthday