Stats: 3,150,435 members, 7,808,559 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 01:26 PM

Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) - Phones (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) (6398 Views)

Guys, Share The picture of the Home Screen On Your Phones. / Rate My Battery, Screen On Time (sot) / Share Your Screen On Time (SOT) Here (2) (3) (4)

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Mystiq25(m): 8:07am On Apr 20, 2018
Hhenryy:

I can't see your SOT.
OK here is another shot. From 4pm yesterday to 8am today 16 hours on battery, SOT is 5 hours.

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 8:17am On Apr 20, 2018
Mystiq25:
OK here is another shot. From 4pm yesterday to 8am today 16 hours on battery.

Alright, seen..... For now it's still a draw between hot 5 and redmi 4X. Both delivering 12hrs plus with 19/20% battery remaining. Let's see the beast that will beat the record. Itel and Tecno 5000mah users should come and take the test
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by 2kurupt(m): 9:04am On Apr 20, 2018
Hhenryy:

This your write-up got me furious. Do you understand SOT analytics at all And you don't pay attention to details either. it is obvious you didn't go through the details in the thread because if you did, you won't come-up with this silly write-up

you are just regurgitating and I hate repeating my self. Putting ON/OFF the phone does not affect SOT reading. I have explained that to one guy here. The SOT will pause and continue reading whenever your screen is ON. If i sleep off without switching the phone OFF, the SOT will not read either
And I hope you know that standby power consumption is very minimal? If i leave it ON throughout the night, the maximum i usually lose is 1%. But I like switching off my phone at night unless i forget.

And who told you that mine went down to zero? are you blind? Or can't you see that my battery was on 19% when I took the screenshot? Or you don't know how to read the corresponding graph

Your use of abusive words & semantics doesn't make you sound smart but rather shows your rather weak level of intelligence.

You insisting that turning off a phone all thru the night (over 6hours) won't influence the Screen On Time(SOT) of same phone really gave away your ignorant thinking. Quick question: Does a phone on standby dissipate the battery?
Am sorry I can't afford to waste my time on you then.

I do understand why you're squealing like a kid whose candy has been taken though. Get over it! there will always be better power efficient devices than your phone.

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 9:11am On Apr 20, 2018
2kurupt:

Your use of abusive words & semantics doesn't make you sound smart but rather shows your rather weak level of intelligence.

You insisting that turning off a phone all thru the night (over 6hours) won't influence the Screen On Time(SOT) of same phone really gave away your ignorant thinking. Am sorry I can't afford to waste my time on you then.

I do understand why you're squealing like a kid whose candy has been taken though. Get over it! there will always be better power efficient devices than your phone.

Continue ranting and whining under anonymity...

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by 2kurupt(m): 9:14am On Apr 20, 2018
Hhenryy:

Continue ranting and whining under anonymity...

Anonymity?? grin grin am sure you don't even know what that means.

Holla when you grown up kid

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 9:23am On Apr 20, 2018
2kurupt:

Anonymity?? grin grin am sure you don't even know what that means.
Holla when you grown up kid

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Nobody: 2:35pm On Apr 20, 2018
Burst head

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by nani667: 2:51pm On Apr 20, 2018
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Ovie56(m): 7:39pm On Apr 20, 2018
Lies everywhere.. imagine 12hrs of SOT on Redmi note 4 people can lie..

this is a real life test with looped video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YiRGR2jD48
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Gptech(m): 9:57pm On Apr 20, 2018
Ovie56:

Who do you think is lying, everybody using the Redmi note 4 or Umidigi that used the mtk version of Redmi note 4 for the test?
What most people around here use is the snapdragon version, and if you have the heart to try the kind of loop test above with it, you'll get around hours SOT depending on screen brightness
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Nobody: 10:05pm On Apr 20, 2018
Ovie56:

Lol I tell u. Lies everywhere. Like I said 4-6 hours SOT on a flagship phone is good enough. About 8 hours on those midrange phones with 720p display and 5,000mah battery. Anybody can make a mid range phone get 12 hours SOT but not on normal usage. Just set the screen brightness to minimum, turn off data and stop all background apps. But for normal usage at 50% screen brightness and data on all the time, 12 hours SOT? I laugh.

I remember when I was using galaxy s8 edge, when I first got the phone I was getting 7 plus hours screen on time, but after loading all my apps and email accts, SOT dropped to 4-5 hours which is the normal most users on Android authority and xda are getting. Same thing with LG v20. Before loading my apps and emails I use to get around 5-6 hours, after loading everything now I get about 4 and half hours SOT.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by BoluwajiPieters: 2:28am On Apr 21, 2018
XX

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 5:00am On Apr 21, 2018
BoluwajiPieters:
XX
Wow, it seems you are going to break the record. Anyway, keep us updated.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Gptech(m): 12:57pm On Apr 21, 2018
greenhulk:

Lol I tell u. Lies everywhere. Like I said 4-6 hours SOT on a flagship phone is good enough. About 8 hours on those midrange phones with 720p display and 5,000mah battery. Anybody can make a mid range phone get 12 hours SOT but not on normal usage. Just set the screen brightness to minimum, turn off data and stop all background apps. But for normal usage at 50% screen brightness and data on all the time, 12 hours SOT? I laugh.

I remember when I was using galaxy s8 edge, when I first got the phone I was getting 7 plus hours screen on time, but after loading all my apps and email accts, SOT dropped to 4-5 hours which is the normal most users on Android authority and xda are getting. Same thing with LG v20. Before loading my apps and emails I use to get around 5-6 hours, after loading everything now I get about 4 and half hours SOT.
Even if you made so many correct points, what do you mean by lies everywhere? The phone on the video comparison is Redmi note 4 with Mtk Helio X20, what most guys here use is the snapdragon 625 version, are you implying that those using the snapdragon version are telling lies?
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Ovie56(m): 4:59pm On Apr 21, 2018
Gptech:

Even if you made so many correct points, what do you mean by lies everywhere? The phone on the video comparison is Redmi note 4 with Mtk Helio X20, what most guys here use is the snapdragon 625 version, are you implying that those using the snapdragon version are telling lies?
sp the snapdragon version will give yoiu 12hrs SOT even with 6000mah you can NEVER get 12hrs... i wont ear anymore excuses.. because i know about phones to some extent.. you are lying
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by AkpaMgbor(m): 7:26pm On Apr 21, 2018
Hhenryy:

Alright, seen..... For now it's still a draw between hot 5 and redmi 4X. Both delivering 12hrs plus with 19/20% battery remaining. Let's see the beast that will beat the record. Itel and Tecno 5000mah users should come and take the test
Standby time is different from usage time hope you know? My iPhone 7 Plus can get upto 34 hours standby with 8 hours of usage..if I push it below 20% I can even get upto 10 hours of screen on time usage..I judge phone batteries by the usage time mostly..
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 7:40pm On Apr 21, 2018
AkpaMgbor:

Standby time is different from usage time hope you know? My iPhone 7 Plus can get upto 34 hours standby with 8 hours of usage..if I push it below 20% I can even get upto 10 hours of screen on time usage..I judge phone batteries by the usage time mostly..

I know, if you go through the thread you will see i have done justice to that. I said according to infinix, my standby time is over 800hrs which equates to about 33days.
But like I said, SOT is the best parameter to carry out the test, its the most common parameter used around the world for battery endurance test.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by AkpaMgbor(m): 7:50pm On Apr 21, 2018
Hhenryy:

I know, if you go through the thread you will see i have done justice to that. I said according to infinix, my standby time is over 800hrs which equates to about 33days.
But like I said, SOT is the best parameter to carry out the test, its the most common parameter used around the world for battery endurance test.
Ok..was trying to upload my battery usage screenshot but it seems the size is a problem for nairaland server or something..

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by AkpaMgbor(m): 7:54pm On Apr 21, 2018
Browsing and watching YouTube on safari takes most of my battery usage..I’m quite impressed by the 7 plus battery performance..it ‘only’ has a 2900 mah capacity..though my battery is over a year old but still holding up.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 8:24pm On Apr 21, 2018
AkpaMgbor:

Ok..was trying to upload my battery usage screenshot but it seems the size is a problem for nairaland server or something..

seen, but does it mean iPhones don't compute SOT stats? Or you couldn't locate it?

We can't equate your usage reading to SOT. Although it may be very close because most times your phone is in use, the screen is usually ON. Unless for few activities like playing music/radio or using hotspot with screen OFF.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by AkpaMgbor(m): 8:27pm On Apr 21, 2018
Hhenryy:

seen, but does it mean iPhones don't compute SOT stats? Or you couldn't locate it?

We can't equate your usage reading to SOT. Although it may be very close because most times your phone is in use, the screen is usually ON. Unless for few activities like playing music/radio or using hotspot with screen OFF.
Yea iPhones don’t show SOT stats but rather USAGE stats..as it combines both on and off screen usage into one...
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 8:37pm On Apr 21, 2018
AkpaMgbor:

Yea iPhones don’t show SOT stats but rather USAGE stats..as it combines both on and off screen usage into one...

Ok, 8hrs with 37% left is not bad considering your battery capacity and the fact that it's even over 1yr old makes it impressive.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by AkpaMgbor(m): 8:39pm On Apr 21, 2018
Hhenryy:

Ok, 8hrs with 37% left is not bad considering your battery capacity and the fact that it's even over 1yr old makes it impressive.
A year and 5 months to be precise..it has lost about 7 percent of it’s original capacity since then..still pretty much okay, atleast for another year.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Gptech(m): 10:08pm On Apr 21, 2018
Ovie56:
sp the snapdragon version will give yoiu 12hrs SOT even with 6000mah you can NEVER get 12hrs... i wont ear anymore excuses.. because i know about phones to some extent.. you are lying
Am not expecting any reward from you or anyone for this, so what's the point of lying? Imagine using the word 'lying'! That's very uncalled for especially for what you know virtually nothing about. Have you used the said phone before coming to the conclusion that I am lying shocked? It's like am telling you that you are lying about what your name is, when I don't actually know you grin.
Modified : This has nothing to do with bragging rights, I am not an average user, I sabi press phone well well, don't even have time for movies. Would have posted SOT but I charge intermittently these days. With my usage, I get approximately 1 hour SOT per 10% battery usage, making it a total of 10 hours. Watching a 2 hour movie with 720p resolution extends my SOT to 12 hours. I have seen others posting 16 hours for the same device, but I know the trick is from watching movies. Because of you, I have dug into my screenshot folder to get this. Mind you I use auto brightness and spend most of my time outdoors.

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by gidieberry(m): 10:30pm On Apr 21, 2018
Gptech:

Am not expecting any reward from you or anyone for this, so what's the point of lying? Imagine using the word 'lying'! That's very uncalled for especially for what you no virtually nothing about. Have you used the said phone before coming to the conclusion that I am lying shocked? It's like am telling you that you are lying about what your name is, when I don't actually know you grin.
Make we show am jare..... Dis na xiaomi redmi 5 plus, d ba3 endurance aint upto xiaomi redmi note 4(x) snapdragon variant standard....
Chop am

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Gptech(m): 10:46pm On Apr 21, 2018
gidieberry:

Make we show am jare..... Dis na xiaomi redmi 5 plus, d ba3 endurance aint upto xiaomi redmi note 4(x) snapdragon variant standard....
Chop am
Me sef tire ooo, I just keep mute make e nr blike say person dey promote one particular brand, until I hear the lying part, smh. Your bad network even affect your score sef.
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by JasonSleek(m): 10:52pm On Apr 21, 2018
Nokia 5 here.

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by kekilika: 8:29am On Apr 23, 2018
Updated. This time I tried to keep my screen on and it was awake as possible. The screen brightness was full. Played some heavy games. When I am not gaming or watch movies, music player was playing while I was on social media.

Redmi 4x 100-20%

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Nobody: 7:42am On Apr 25, 2018
LG v20.
6 hours

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by nani667: 2:45pm On Apr 25, 2018
✔️✔️

Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Hhenryy: 4:26pm On Apr 25, 2018
Hummn, thanks for your cooperation guys. So far, hot 5 and redmi 4X are still leading. We need the 5000mah users to upload their stats
Re: Screen ON Time Challenge (SOT) by Decale: 6:55pm On Apr 25, 2018
12 hours SOT? Lol

If you're having a staring contest with your phone screen, sure....

Turn A Balloon Into A Smartphone Case In Seconds! SEE How It Works / Did You Know: Women Watch More Porn On Their Smart Phones Than Men! ) / Help Please!!, I Cant Find The Gallery On My Tecno Spark 2

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48