Stats: 3,143,460 members, 7,781,325 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 12:31 PM

FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles - Autos - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Autos / FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles (16532 Views)

Ship Cheap Vehicles From California Via Container / Advice/ideas Wanted: Importation Of Car Parts And Accessories - UK To Nigeria / Kenya Govt Bans Importation Of 2nd Hand Vehicles Under 2011 (2) (3) (4)

FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Realsman405(m): 7:03am On Jul 19, 2018
On July 19, 20185:52 am
By Godwin Oritse

The Federal Government has placed a ban on importation of haulage vehicles that are 10 years and above old from the date of manufacture. The ban is expected to take effect from 1st of January 2020.

Vanguard learnt that the measure was one of the resolutions of the stakeholders’ forum organised by the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Boss Mustapha, for haulage operators following the recent road traffic inferno on Otedola Bridge in Lagos where over many lives and properties were lost.

The communiqué issued at the end of the meeting directed that mandatory certification of all haulage vehicles will now be carried out twice in 12 months.

According to the communiqué which was signed by Mustapha, the Federal Government will also work closely with the Bank of Industry (BOI) and other financial institutions towards the establishment of a Fleet Acquisition Renewal Scheme for haulage operators.

Other resolution of the meeting was that: “Standard speed limiters must be installed in all haulage vehicles in Nigeria, and that “tankers without safety valves and the required number plates will henceforth be disallowed from loading”.

The meeting also agreed that: Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR), Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) and other relevant agencies should immediately harmonize operating safety requirements at all tank farms”, even as it was agreed that “periodic checks of haulage vehicles must be carried out at relevant loading points”.

The communiqué also stated that, “payment of National Transportation Allowance (NTA) and bridging claims to tanker operators will henceforth be contingent on compliance to minimum safety standards” and that, henceforth “single operators of haulage vehicles must be duly registered with National Association of Road Transport Owners ( NARTO ) and comply with RTSSS provisions”.

www.vanguardngr.com/2018/07/fg-bans-importation-of-10-year-old-haulage-vehicles/

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by hisgrace090: 7:15am On Jul 19, 2018
An alternative rout or time for haulage movement will do.

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by mmadu5(m): 12:11pm On Jul 19, 2018
Bad news everyday

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by greatiyk4u(m): 12:12pm On Jul 19, 2018
H
Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by merits(m): 12:12pm On Jul 19, 2018
what's all this again?when money no dey man no go, go for fairly used car or old skull automobile in peace again.

the idea is just to be on wheel na,whether old or new

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by TFLAME(m): 12:12pm On Jul 19, 2018
I tire for this Country

As if they are the one giving us the money to buy the vehicle

Import duty is free ?

Na them wan buy fuel put inside the vehicle ?

Or they want to give us brand new vehicle for free ?

Useless people . Hiss

14 Likes 3 Shares

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by HAminat(f): 12:13pm On Jul 19, 2018
Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by mak81: 12:13pm On Jul 19, 2018
Always medicine after death

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by don4real18(m): 12:14pm On Jul 19, 2018
A step in the right direction

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by gisil9: 12:16pm On Jul 19, 2018
Get the hottest betting odds, latest Football gist and Free airtime only on Goal 9ja Prediction Forum!!

Numerous odds posted per day on goal 9ja Prediction Forum with numerous Green Tickets!!!

To Visit Goal 9ja: [url=nairaland.site/sports]CLICK HERE[/url]
Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by webmaster001: 12:16pm On Jul 19, 2018
Incompetent fools in govt always come up with rubbish policies, what they should be concentrating on is the year of manufacture of the thousands of trucks on our roads, and the failure of VIO, people just buy Road worthiness for vehicles that are not road worthy, but because people in govt have plenty of stolen monies and access to funds they make life difficult for the common man who doesn't. Like placing a huge tax on car importation to discourage car importation and local assembly and yet same govt agencies, ministries and politicians fail to purchase locally assembled cars from INNOSON, PAN ETC but import the foreign cars and pay the huge tariffs cus they have the Nigeria monies. HOW DOES ALL THAT NOW HELP THE COMMON MAN? is it any surprise why hardship, poverty and unemployment keeps increasing? with idiots who don't understand HDI? whose policies are not grass rooted and based on the masses? but keep appropriating trillions which 70% keeps going to politicians and political elites?

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by MANNABBQGRILLS: 12:17pm On Jul 19, 2018
Matters arising.....

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by spiritedtete: 12:17pm On Jul 19, 2018
mmadu5:
Bad news everyday

It's a bad news because it was suppose to take effect... "effective immidiatley"

Why wait 1 and half year

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by dayleke: 12:18pm On Jul 19, 2018
Safety first!!!!

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Nobody: 12:19pm On Jul 19, 2018
Another set of unemployment for drivers... 10 years from production as if we manufacture vehicles. Do they know what 10 year old trucks cost and how would the ordinary man afford such, wont the brand new trucks still ply the bad roads?

Dangote trucks are newer than the everyday truck but dont we still read disturbing stories about them?

A simple solution would have been, proper road worthiness certification for every trip on haulage vehicles by client organization, road safety and VIO, creating more jobs at the same time enhancing safety. If an accident occurs, the organization, the marshall that signed and the vio official are all going down.

With that measure, trucks would be properly maintained.

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Sharpshooota: 12:19pm On Jul 19, 2018
Useless government...

Which one can they produce in the country...

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by ibegeeee: 12:19pm On Jul 19, 2018
Another national tragedy, and as usual those with the greatest number of followers on their social media will retreat to their usual succour of calling on collective prayer for the country. Please continue to pray, God knows we need prayer, but perhaps not for the intercession you may think we need.

On the narrow matter of exploding fuel tankers (of which there have been dozens of incidents over the years, perhaps not catastrophic as the latest incident), the solution is not blindly calling for collective prayer, NO.....as long as we as a nation clamour to pay for fuel below the international production price at our fuel pumps, unfortunately we will continue to experience such accidents.
We blame tanker drivers and owners association of flouting highway rules and using substandard equipment, yet 'we' pay them below the cost of their services.
We want to pay fuel at the same cost in Lagos, Sokoto, Calabar, yet we give tanker drivers and owners a tiny addition to the cost of transportation.
A brand new tanker with all modern safety features will cost in excess of $150,000 each, yet we pay our tanker owners less than $300 a trip from Lagos to Calabar (bearing in mind they come back to Lagos empty).
Of course our tanker owners will use 20 year old rickety Mack Trucks imported from the junk yards of America. How do you expect the tanker owners to maintain these 'dead' trucks?
Factor in the driver has queued in Apapa for a week before loading, has been hassled by all traffic and ticket enforcement from Lagos to Calabar, has no control over driving time and rest time, and perhaps most importantly not a single driver in Nigeria under age of 45 had ever been trained or tested by anything that is comparable to any other decent country.
So if we are calling for collective prayer and our prayer warriors, let’s pray that we can afford to the real price for fuel so tanker drivers can buy brand new trucks, whilst in that prayer please for bus drivers, airline pilots and tricycle owners at the same tim
[b][/b]e

The article above I posted shortly after the Otedola tradegy, I was roundly criticised. Now the government wants to ban old unroadworthy trucks from being imported. As the article above states every truck owner wants to buy brand new trucks to run his or her business, put how do they recover the cost of the truck or vehicle when we will pay them less than $400 a week to travel to Sokoto or Calabar.

a litre of fuel is over N350 in Ghana - they have not died and they have much better and decent oil tankers. Which the Ghana government does NOT pay for, but private sector will run a good transport services if customers and passengers will pay for it.

We are here in Nigeria decieving ourselves that we are paying N145 a litre

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by GavelSlam: 12:20pm On Jul 19, 2018
Rail tracks are being laid.

Roads are being littered with derelict and antiquated lorries, endangering lives and constituting a general nuisance.

Reducing their proliferation is a necessity and a step in the right direction.

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Jethrolite(m): 12:20pm On Jul 19, 2018
Lol, even if the truck comes in brand new, it will be abused and such incident can still happen.

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Didi2d(m): 12:21pm On Jul 19, 2018
Why 2020? Why not now.
The other day, I saw an expatriate looking at a mark truck with surprise. I asked him if there's any problem, he said that the truck is just too old to be used.

Before he went back to his office, he took pictures of the truck in and out

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by nextstep(m): 12:23pm On Jul 19, 2018
Wonderful... so now we can expect that 10-year old haulage vehicles will still ply the road 10 years from now, making them 20 years old...
And this ban does nothing about maintenance standards or existing old trailers plying our roads today. Of course the ban does not fix the roads or add pipelines or rails to keep these dangerous things off the roads. The ban also won't stop customs allowing import of anything so far you bribe them... after all 15-year old trailer+bribe is cheaper than newer. And the biggie: so far as you are Fulani and drive your old trailer from across the Niger border, nobody will mess with you. Abi kuo? angry

Carry on people, business as usual.

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Charly68: 12:23pm On Jul 19, 2018
When train system starts working ,haulage trucks importation will reduce

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by djbussy(m): 12:24pm On Jul 19, 2018
This is Nigeria! All Thanks" Folarin Falana" Falz the bad guy for that video. Many of these laws are just revenue for making more money to Oga's at the top and boys below." Opari"
Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by dramaqueenph(f): 12:24pm On Jul 19, 2018
ok
Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Mutemenot(m): 12:27pm On Jul 19, 2018
Time wey una go use build roads and railways for free movement of petrol and other heavy goods una go use am dey talk rubbish. Some 30 years old haulage vehicles in abroad still function with good look.

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by SNIPER123: 12:30pm On Jul 19, 2018
Custom Officers will be richer with this ban

Re: FG Bans Importation Of 10-Year-Old Haulage Vehicles by Nobody: 12:30pm On Jul 19, 2018
ibegeeee:
Another national tragedy, and as usual those with the greatest number of followers on their social media will retreat to their usual succour of calling on collective prayer for the country. Please continue to pray, God knows we need prayer, but perhaps not for the intercession you may think we need.

On the narrow matter of exploding fuel tankers (of which there have been dozens of incidents over the years, perhaps not catastrophic as the latest incident), the solution is not blindly calling for collective prayer, NO.....as long as we as a nation clamour to pay for fuel below the international production price at our fuel pumps, unfortunately we will continue to experience such accidents.
We blame tanker drivers and owners association of flouting highway rules and using substandard equipment, yet 'we' pay them below the cost of their services.
We want to pay fuel at the same cost in Lagos, Sokoto, Calabar, yet we give tanker drivers and owners a tiny addition to the cost of transportation.
A brand new tanker with all modern safety features will cost in excess of $150,000 each, yet we pay our tanker owners less than $300 a trip from Lagos to Calabar (bearing in mind they come back to Lagos empty).
Of course our tanker owners will use 20 year old rickety Mack Trucks imported from the junk yards of America. How do you expect the tanker owners to maintain these 'dead' trucks?
Factor in the driver has queued in Apapa for a week before loading, has been hassled by all traffic and ticket enforcement from Lagos to Calabar, has no control over driving time and rest time, and perhaps most importantly not a single driver in Nigeria under age of 45 had ever been trained or tested by anything that is comparable to any other decent country.
So if we are calling for collective prayer and our prayer warriors, let’s pray that we can afford to the real price for fuel so tanker drivers can buy brand new trucks, whilst in that prayer please for bus drivers, airline pilots and tricycle owners at the same tim
[b][/b]e

The article above I posted shortly after the Otedola tradegy, I was roundly criticised. Now the government wants to ban old unroadworthy trucks from being imported. As the article above states every truck owner wants to buy brand new trucks to run his or her business, put how do they recover the cost of the truck or vehicle when we will pay them less than $400 a week to travel to Sokoto or Calabar.

a litre of fuel is over N350 in Ghana - they have not died and they have much better and decent oil tankers. Which the Ghana government does NOT pay for, but private sector will run a good transport services if customers and passengers will pay for it.

We are here in Nigeria decieving ourselves that we are paying N145 a litre

Dont sit in an office and talk jargons, people that dont own a business or run one in NIGERIA are the ones who talk this way.

This Cars Link Is For The Men That Gat Money In Nairaland & 9jamarket.biz!: / 2000 Model Jeep Grand Cherokee For Sale. / Original Toyota Camry, Avensis, Corolla, RAV4 And Matrix IGNITION COILS

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39