₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 1,897,789 members, 3,861,293 topics. Date: Thursday, 19 October 2017 at 06:15 AM

Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! (8126 Views)

Ali-Baba Gets N2m From Jacob Zuma's Visit To Nigeria / Rapper 50 Cent Calls Out P Diddy Over Tupac Shakur's Death / Do You Think P. Diddy Looks Somali? (1) (2) (3) (4)

(0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply) (Go Down)

Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by chiogo(f): 2:41am On Jul 20, 2007
So Diddy recently came back from naija and he was interviewed on BET and asked how his trip was, he reported back sayin', "Too much poverty there" and that naija is one of the poorest countries he's ever been to. phewww!  I mean pple here already believe africa to be a jungle but him, saying that after visitin' there himself is really ignorant of him. My point is: whatever happened to all the beautiful hotels in naija? I know there are lots of them and whatever happened to the classy theaters?.

I don't believe he experienced any "poverty" during his stay.

And what's up with the story about Kelly Rowland fainting during a performance? Because she couldn't take the heat
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by ghettochyk(f): 2:47am On Jul 20, 2007
if she fainted then she's weak!!! grin

but seriously, i guess as much as we hate what Diddy said about Naija, we can't do much about it. It's been aired. US celebrity comments is definitely not enuff to hate Naija. They going have to come better than that. I don't think JayZ and Beyonce collapsed when they were there either. I'm still wondering which part of Naija Puffy stayed in.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by Nobody: 3:17am On Jul 20, 2007
at least we know he wasnt lying.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by nguage(m): 5:09am On Jul 20, 2007
poverty? i dont know what he is talking about. African - Americans dont live better!

@chiogo citation needed

1 Like

Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by Love44(f): 8:11am On Jul 20, 2007
Is that the only thing he could say about Nigeria. Black Americans try to portray Africa as a land with a bunch of savage people. They never say anything positive about any country that they go to in Africa,
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by delarontus(f): 9:00am On Jul 20, 2007
There is poverty in Nigeria and no matter how hard one tries to shield visitors from it, an eagle eye can see behind the facade. He only said what he saw!
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by Raymond88(m): 9:47am On Jul 20, 2007
The truth hurts.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by MP007(m): 10:16am On Jul 20, 2007
diddy is a glorified idiot, i dont blame him at all, i blame nigerian entr org that suck everytime, read that the show was resheduled because the stage wasnt ready .how ridiculous, and abt kelly whatever, fainting, the idiot tripped, i just hate her with passsion anyways , I think we should stop bringing old cargo's like diddy to play, stil happy that NE-YO came, but kelly and diddy? plzzzzzz

About diddy's comment.Let us be real, there is really poverty in the land, Diddy doesnt know how to talk, Jay-z was there and all he said was "we as black americans aint living in the real ghetto", to say that there is 2 much poverty ion nigeria aint a lie, THere is ,
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by trendy(f): 11:23am On Jul 20, 2007
diddy is mad what about the ghetto in the states and so on
i know naija is bad and poor
but must he say it like animals live here
at least we payed to watch his wack raps tongue
even better people, tighter mc's gave better comment about naija
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by ozigbo(m): 12:13pm On Jul 20, 2007
Trendy, go on ar dey fee u.
p diddy most be more than
mad for he to say such a
thing wit his mount.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by incubator(f): 3:57pm On Jul 20, 2007
hi,everybody, lets face the fact, nigeria is really poor.somebody has to say it.its unfortunate it came from p.diddy.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by zigbo(f): 9:17pm On Jul 20, 2007
you cant blame him everybody wan feel among, u know wen people like bono,madonna,brangelina even jay-z etc go to hardcore poverty stricken countries and see raw poverty nd comment and also try to help,people like diddy who come to africa to promote their music to the so called povertyrized people will want to talk too,so that he will add it to his resume nd be like "i've been there done that"

for those of you who are very -ve people,sitting in one western country or the other sayin yes the truth is bitter theres poverty in africa nd  blaa bla bla . . . . . ok nigeria is nt like america but poverty is nt the first thing you see wen you come to nigeria xcept for maybe the north which is slight nd kinda there culture moreover nigerians try to make everything work for them.So b4 diddy starts runnin his mouth and talkin abt sumthin he knows nuffing abt he shud stop nd think or better still go to real poverty strricken countries.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by ima1(f): 11:08pm On Jul 20, 2007
Nigeria is not a poor country, its all those people in power that drain naija of its resources for their personal gain
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by chiogo(f): 11:20pm On Jul 20, 2007
Thank u, oh, Zigbo.my point exactly. I agree with some people sayin' that naija is Kinda on d poor side but it's def. not d poorest in Africa for that to be d only thin' he could say about naija. I've never really liked d guy, he's too full of himself 'cause other celebs like Beyonce and Jay-z have been to naija but never made such comments. They loved naija and its people. Idk what's wrong with that diddy of a guy. I have teachers who visit countries in Africa and talk about nice things/places they saw. Him, being a celeb should be a little modest but oh well. That's that!

@n-guage, citation for what? lol
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by omogenaija(f): 11:26pm On Jul 20, 2007
i'm sorry to say but all those musicans that come to naija and say that nigeria is poor have issuses :

1. the people that watch them pay more money then we do in the US unless its back stage passes
2. not all shows arent all that either @ times 
3. and i'm sure that diddy didnt stay in the ghetto when he was in naija he probably slept @ the finest hotel
4. if he doesnt have nothing nice to say then he shouldnt say poo


i know naija isnt all that as a country , but i'm just angry that diddy went there and thats all he had to say bout naija
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by honeric01(m): 11:54pm On Jul 20, 2007
Bleep PUFF DADDY FOR THAT COMMENT IF TRULY HE SAID SO, INFACT I AM GOING TO DELETE ALL HIS MUSIC AND MUSIC VIDEOS FROM MY PHONE AND MY LAPTOP, HE SUCKS, WHEN THE LIKES OF jAY-Z, BEYONCE, ENVOGUE, CIARA , BUSTA RYTHMS, SNOOP DOGGY AND CO CAME TO NIGERIA, THEY NEVER SAID SUCH A STUPID COMMENT, WHERE DID HE GO TO IN LAGOS THAT HE HAD TO MAKE SUCH COMMENT? IF HE SAYS LAGOS IS A POVERTY STRICKEN STATE, THEN HOW MANY PLACES DID HE GO? DID HE SEE HUNGRY AND BONY PEOPLE ON THE STREET OR AT THE SHOW? YEA WE ARE NOT THAT RICH LIKE SOME PART OF AMERICA ( NOT ALL PLACES IN AMERICA CAN BE DESIRING, POOR PEOPLE STAY IN AMERICA TOO) PEOPLE THAT CAME TO THE FIRST SHOW PAID 100 THOUSAND NAIRA FOR VIP AND 30 THOUSAND NAIRA FOR NORMAL, AND PEOPLE PAID 30K FOR VIP AND 10K FOR REGULAR AT THIS ONE, SO IF WE ARE THAT POOR AND POVERTY STRICKEN, WOULD HE HAVE SEEN ANYONE AT THE SHOW? THE PLACE WAS FILLED TO THE BRIM, SO WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED TO HIS BRAIN WHEN HE WAS TALKING? WELL HE IS A PRODIGY SON, IF NOT FOR CONDITION, HE SHOULD HAVE BEEN IN SOMALIA ( HIS ORIGIN I GUESS) IF NOT FOR THE WHITES THAT CAME TO CATER HIS FOREFATHERS AWAY, WOULD HE HAVE ALLOWED TO BE SPOKEN TO LIKE THAT IF HE WAS TO REMAIN IN NIGERIA, THUNDER STRIKE AM,
INFACT I HAVE LOST RESPECT FOR HIM, HE SHOULD GO EAT JUNK IN THE STATES AND HAVE A 3D FACE ON THE TV,
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by chiogo(f): 11:57pm On Jul 20, 2007
lol
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by Esss(m): 12:12am On Jul 21, 2007
So P.diddy, or P.daddy, puff diddy, or puff Love Machine****whateva that ignorant, descendant of a slave, son of a bitch calls himself came to NIGERIA, and dissed us. Wonders shall never cease. That mutha Fuc.ker prolly stayed in Nicon or Sheraton or Le Meridean and was driven in an airconditioned vehicle with escorts and poo and just in a bid to say sumtin bad bout africa he started runnin his mouth off.

I realised most of y'all are classifying or insinuating that poverty abounds in Nigeria, I say y'all are just myopic. Yes there are a couple of peeps who hustle hard and get peanuts for their efforts, yes our economy could be better, Yes we should be doing better than we are at the moment. But dont forget our past. It took america 200years to get to were they are today.

Now this is how it is
1. Is Africa a poor continent?? Hellz yeah.
2. Is Nigeria a poor Nation?? Bleep no.
3. Is P.diddy right to say poverty is all over the place?? No.
4. Name the poverty stricken nations in Africa. Rwanda (which is actually recovering quite nicely), Liberia, Sudan, Sierra Leone, e.t.c

Real MC's like Wyclef Jean, Jay-Z, Beyonce e.t.c have been to Nigeria, and performed at bigger concerts than diddy did, and actually enjoyed their stay. Wyclef even rode on a bike and somked 9ja weed (which I must add is the best I've ever tasted) . So what gives puffy the ballz to diss. If he wants to see poverty, he shoul go to Harlem, or Queens.

Naija is rich. We just dont like to front our paper. wink
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by chiogo(f): 12:20am On Jul 21, 2007
lol, it seems as if smone sent them. my bro was just watchin' 106&park and Rihanna came on d show. she also visited naija recently to perform. Her own comment was that "she had to use bottled water to brush her mouth 'cause there was no water and d stage wasn't arranged on time but above all, everythin' was fine. I had fun". lol, am just speechless at this point. That's their problem if they like, let them not see tissue clean their butts. *hisses*
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by nguage(m): 12:42am On Jul 21, 2007
there was no water? When did Nigeria become landlocked
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by chiogo(f): 12:55am On Jul 21, 2007
lol, go ask her. stupid people.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by finemocha(f): 1:00am On Jul 21, 2007
i dont know y u guys are surprised. everything time i come home and see lagos or abuja i am highly dissappointed. then imagine people like p diddy who live in high rise buildings and have houses in the carribbean, when tehy come to nigeria the comparison is a joke. Lagos is a really ugly place and there are few places in that city that actually look nice. so dont get mad at them becaeuse we nigerians cant clean our streets. DOnt get mad at them taht instead of us disposing our trash in proper plaecs we throw them out the windows of our car with no regard or respect for our country. i mean its not like the guy begged to come to nigeria, he was invited to come, so give thenm a break, the place is ugly ho ha, and though i live in abuja and its a nice looking place its no comparison to other places i have seen.

That is a real damn shame.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by chiogo(f): 1:08am On Jul 21, 2007
hmmm, very funny indeed comin' from u, finemocha. Nigeria does not have the kinds of sweeping equipments that America has. That's all I gotta say. Trash or not, you wouldn't see dirt because of this technological advancement.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by honeric01(m): 1:22am On Jul 21, 2007
no Mind people wey like to talk anyhow, yes, naija no fine reach usa, but is that what he suppose to talk? did he come to play for free? and when he was leaving, did he donate any amount or his pay to the so called poverty stricken country? how much did he give to the poor ones he saw on the roads, Bleep PENCIL DADDY or whatever, HE SUCKS
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by swing4real(m): 6:44am On Jul 21, 2007
In as much i dont like what diddy said that is if it is the truth coz i heard he has sick and he missed the show but is he wrong? What he said is the truth someone have to say it.Let this be a challenge for us and lets work together to make our place a better place for us and a proud place too so that when next time such people come to our beloved country they will have something nice to say about it.U and i can make it a better place.First lets stop dumping things on the road and tell people around you is wrong to do so .Lets start from some where and not expecting the government to do everything for us.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by ghettochyk(f): 6:56am On Jul 21, 2007
chiogo:

hmmm, very funny indeed comin' from u, finemocha. I live in d states and i , too throw thrash on d street be it canned soda and d likes esp. when am comin' home from school and a lot of people includin' my friends do that too. so, that is no point. d point is that in the US, they have a sweepin' equipment like a truck which automatically sweeps d street as d truck moves. who's fault is that in naija?d government. Americans are not that clean either but everythin' is right there for them. so i disagree with u. There are lots of nice-lookin' places in naija, please. I've been there. what happened to lekki, VI, VGC, Ikoyi. All these places are just in Lagos, oh. f*ck diddy or watever he calls himself. Naija might not be that rich but i will never agree it's that poor. ask me 2morrow, i'll tell u d same thin'.
i was gonna comment on Finemocha's post but i see most of what i wanted to say is in here.
It's not Nigeria's citizens fault for the condition of the country, it's the governments fault and I'll blame them till tomorrow. the govt is supposed to set standards for the citizens to follow. where i live in the states is VERY clean although it's the suburbs and even many urban areas are also clean because they govt organized it that way and also discourages people from littering by imposing fines of $200 and $500 for littering. at least that's something.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by hescool(m): 7:10am On Jul 21, 2007
Rihanna was on bet this afternoon, and she had the nerves to say the could not drink a drop of water while in nigeria and that the had to use bottled water to brush their nasty mouths, i wonder what hotel the stayed in, that comment made me angry the whole day, nonsense and okporoko!
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by omogenaija(f): 7:15am On Jul 21, 2007
hescool:

Rihanna was on bet this afternoon, and she had the nerves to say the could not drink a drop of water while in nigeria and that the had to use bottled water to brush their nasty mouths, i wonder what hotel the stayed in, that comment made me angry the whole day, nonsense and okporoko!

rihanna country isnt all that either
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by MayNjoku: 8:58am On Jul 21, 2007
They tell them what to say I imagine. They went to South Africa and all they could do was praise it, even though the crime rivals that of Brazil.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by ghettochyk(f): 6:54pm On Jul 21, 2007
hescool:

Rihanna was on bet this afternoon, and she had the nerves to say the could not drink a drop of water while in nigeria and that the had to use bottled water to brush their nasty mouths, i wonder what hotel the stayed in, that comment made me angry the whole day, nonsense and okporoko!

yeah I just seen the replay now. As mad as I got, it's prolly true. But whoever invited them should have made them comfortable. This is how our country keeps getting disgraced day by day. But I KNOW that it IS possible to have prevented them from making such comments. We have great resources, beautiful and well kept hotels, etc. I know that when i went to Nigeria the second time, the place I stayed (my aunts house) was top-notch, they had everything and i never had to "manage" anything. If I could enjoy my stay like dat (and I'm not even a celebrity), I'm sure it would also be possible for them to also feel comfortable while in Nigeria.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by hescool(m): 7:04pm On Jul 21, 2007
my thoughts exactly.
Re: Diddy's Opinion After Visit To Naija! by nguage(m): 5:56am On Jul 22, 2007
what hotel did they lodge?

(0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply)

See The "Sex Mountain" In Indonesia Where People Visit To Gain Favor Through Sex / Governor Okorocha, Alexx Ekubo, Liberian Ministers Endorse The SCREEN Magazine / Before And After BREAST Implants! Munachi Abii

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2017 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 208
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.