Stats: 3,148,894 members, 7,802,877 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 12:59 AM

15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List (32940 Views)

Nigeria Doesn't Need A Conference On The Economy / Nigeria Doesn't Need A Broke Man As President: Muhammadu Buhari / Nigeria Doesn't Want A Religious Fanatic Like You: Atiku Tells Buhari (2) (3) (4)

15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by monkeyleg: 7:43am On Dec 02, 2011
, (Reuters) - In the 2011 Corruption Perceptions Index, New Zealand came first, with Denmark and Finland tying for second place. Sweden was fourth with Singapore dropping to fifth in 2011. Norway came sixth. All the top six had a score of 9.0 or above.

Germany came in at 14th, one notch better than 2010 and tied with Japan which came in 17th in 2010. The United States ranked 24th in 2011, two notches lower than 2010. China ranked 75th, three notches higher than in 2010.

The 2011 index ranked 183 countries by their perceived levels of public sector corruption. The index also assigns scores of between one and 10, one being highly corrupt and 10 incorrupt.

Here is a list of the 15 most corrupt nations:

RANK COUNTRY SCORE

182 Somalia 1.0

182 North Korea 1.0

180 Myanmar 1.5

180 Afghanistan 1.5

177 Uzbekistan 1.6

177 Turkmenistan 1.6

177 Sudan 1.6

175 Iraq 1.8

175 Haiti 1.8

172 Venezuela 1.9

172 Equatorial Guinea 1.9

172 Burundi 1.9

168 Libya 2.0

168 DRC 2.0

168 Chad 2.0

168 Angola 2.0

Source: Reuters/Transparency International:

(Reporting by David Cutler, London Editorial Reference Unit)

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/factbox-transparency-internationals-global-corruption-index-000522529.html

Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Nobody: 8:21am On Dec 02, 2011
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Sike(m): 9:06am On Dec 02, 2011
Something must be wrong!
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by jmaine: 9:26am On Dec 02, 2011
Sike:

Something must be wrong!

As usual . . .we are so used to bad reports that anyfin [b]remotely [/b]good sounds absurd . . . we did celebrate if Nigeria made that list right embarassed . . .and notably Libya is popping up there . .
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Godalone(m): 9:37am On Dec 02, 2011
That means, things are getting better in Nigeria.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by jmaine: 9:40am On Dec 02, 2011
Godalone:

That means, things are getting better in Nigeria.

Others overtook us tongue . . .sounding naughty wink
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by olyivy(f): 9:42am On Dec 02, 2011
This country never comes first in anything again.

Even corruption! Common corruption!

Damnnnnnnnnn!
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Nobody: 9:50am On Dec 02, 2011
Corruption has been institutionalised and can no longer be called such. Receipts are now being issued when bribes are paid.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by cashmentor(m): 10:01am On Dec 02, 2011
olyivy:

Damnnnnnnnnn!
and your point is?

Nigeria isn't that corrupt as everyone seems 2 think nowadays, its just greediness at d highest level, one man wants 2 acquire everytin 4 himself, 2 me, Nigeria is currupt when it comes 2 Oil and Customs compared 2 the above nations, but our govts are just too greedy bloody thieves, my only suprise though is Libya and Angola?

Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by VoodooDoll(m): 10:02am On Dec 02, 2011
We are only as corrupt as Russia.  cool

http://cpi.transparency.org/cpi2011/results/#CountryResults

Transformation at work:
134: Niger
134: Pakistan
134: Sierra Leone
143: Mauritania
143: Nigeria
143: Russia
143: Togo
143: Uganda
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by engrj(m): 10:03am On Dec 02, 2011
smiley smiley smiley smiley smiley smiley Goodluck Nig.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Pennywise(m): 10:07am On Dec 02, 2011
This is a list of countries mostly at war or in some kind of political turmoil. What does TI expect from these countries. If these factors are discounted, we are king once more.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by drstan(m): 10:15am On Dec 02, 2011
Dis kal 4 celebrtn .Oyaa, make me pop al d popable , (note.greediness is difrnt from corruption. Ooo.)
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by lagerwhenindoubt(m): 10:18am On Dec 02, 2011
I fear for our future generations who have become so used to corruption they think they are the least corrupt. A nation where 79% of its budget is used in keeping incompetent, non-performing public officers in their jobs  grin  grin  grin I wish my country well, the day this oil finishes is the day we start seeing some peace
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by honeric01(m): 10:32am On Dec 02, 2011
useless list, they put countries that do not like them on the list of corrupt countries lol, because China and North Korea do not give them room to meddle in their businesses, they have them put up as corrupt lol,
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Chiori(m): 10:39am On Dec 02, 2011
Good news.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by essy1(f): 10:44am On Dec 02, 2011
this calls for celebration
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by BCuZiMBlaCk(m): 10:45am On Dec 02, 2011
Is this source a reliable one? 143-nigeria
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Chiori(m): 10:50am On Dec 02, 2011
BCuZiMBlaCk:

Is this source a reliable one? 143-nigeria
I have just confirmed, it's valid.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by giancarlo(m): 10:57am On Dec 02, 2011
Trust Naija, we don bribe them to put our name in no 30 grin
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Chiori(m): 11:03am On Dec 02, 2011
giancarlo:

Trust Naija, we don bribe them to put our name in no 30 grin
you are not nigerian. you are from Bribeville. LOL
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by solaceguy(m): 11:06am On Dec 02, 2011
K
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by JamesDoe: 11:10am On Dec 02, 2011
Isn't OBJ connected with Transperancy International. He doesn't want anybody to spoil his market.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Lacoolmley: 11:15am On Dec 02, 2011
olyivy:

Damnnnnnnnnn!

I'm almost choking with laughter, lol
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Nobody: 11:21am On Dec 02, 2011
olyivy:

Damnnnnnnnnn!
lol. Dnt worry, we will be amongst the first most corrupt nations soon. I keep wondering if that list is correct. I smell a rat.
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by llbhuds: 11:22am On Dec 02, 2011
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Adexchelsea19(m): 11:26am On Dec 02, 2011
olyivy:

Damnnnnnnnnn!
lol.Guy u won kill person wit lauf!
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by kbsheshe(m): 11:36am On Dec 02, 2011
Congrats! Thank GOD
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by monkeyleg: 11:38am On Dec 02, 2011
Listen guys. I am a die-hard critic of the falling system in our country, but we must recognise some good and take positives out of them. The job is far from done, but it si encouraging to see that there has been a slight shift in outside perception, it can only be a good thing for all Nigerians. However, the real cleanup job has not even started
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Chiori(m): 11:43am On Dec 02, 2011
monkeyleg:

Listen guys. I am a die-hard critic of the falling system in our country, but we must recognise some good and take positives out of them. The job is far from done, but it si encouraging to see that there has been a slight shift in outside perception, it can only be a good thing for all Nigerians. However, the real cleanup job has not even started
cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by sebastinta(m): 11:44am On Dec 02, 2011
hey op whr did u get dis list from, cos Singapore and Finland are d least  most corrupt countries in d world, probably dat list is from d bottom up,
Re: 15 Most Corrupt Countries Of The World And Nigeria Doesn't Make The List by Nobody: 11:44am On Dec 02, 2011
The more you do the will of the west,the more they legitimize your illegitimacy.

Again, Buhari Asks Nigerians To Vote For Tinubu / Breaking: Jonathan sacks NNPC Boss, appoints replacement / Saraki, Dogara Issue Joint Statement On National Assembly Invasion