Stats: 3,147,910 members, 7,799,062 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 April 2024 at 02:43 PM

Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 (20520 Views)

Poll: Who Wins This Match?

Arsenal: 63% (40 votes)
Tottenham Hotspur: 31% (20 votes)
Draw: 4% (3 votes)
This poll has ended

Chelsea vs Tottenham Hotspur Capital one cup final-( 2 - 0) On 1st march 2015 / Tottenham Hotspur Vs Chelsea (5 - 3) On 1st January 2015 / Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On 17th November 2012 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (12) (Reply) (Go Down)

Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by mukina2: 12:57am On Feb 25, 2012
For Arsenal, the preparation could hardly be worse. Arsene Wenger described his side's disintegration in Milan last week as "shocking" and, although he felt Saturday's FA Cup exit to Sunderland was "unlucky", it is now clear that his team will go another season without silverware.

Wenger is now attempting to assuage supporters' fears by telling them that "the first trophy is to finish in the top four". They are at least on course for that particular goal, going into the weekend in fourth position, but the consequences of defeat to their fiercest rivals on Sunday may have greater consequences than the mere loss of pride. Should Chelsea and Newcastle win their respective games at home to Bolton and Wolves on Saturday, Arsenal could finish the weekend in sixth.

"It means more to Arsenal than us," Tottenham striker Jermain Defoe said when asked about the derby during the week, and it is difficult to disagree. Spurs were themselves viewed as a potential crisis club in August after beginning the Premier League season with successive heavy defeats to the Manchester clubs, but their recovery has been sufficiently impressive to leave them comfortably ensconced in third, ten points clear of Arsenal and Chelsea.

Even a 0-0 draw at Stevenage in the FA Cup was of little concern for Spurs, with Harry Redknapp - in stark contrast to Wenger and Andre Villas-Boas - in jovial mood as he took questions after the game at The Lamex Stadium.

Former Gunners full-back Lee Dixon has told BBC Sport: "This is the most important derby in Arsene Wenger's 16 years as Arsenal manager. It comes at a very poignant time in the club's history." His former team-mate Emmanuel Petit is more stark: "Spurs are a better team than Arsenal. In the last two years, they have signed so many good players and big characters that this team seems far more competitive than Arsenal."

Dixon points to a "gradual shift of power over the last few seasons", and Redknapp goes into the game holding a slight advantage over his opposite number. Since his arrival at White Hart Lane in October 2008, Spurs have won three, drawn three and lost two of their North London derbies. In the league, Spurs have taken ten points out of a possible 12 from the teams' last four meetings.

Arsenal still have injury problems - Jack Wilshere, Per Mertesacker and Andre Santos are certainly out, while several others face fitness tests - but Spurs are hopeful that Emmanuel Adebayor, Rafael van der Vaart and Luka Modric will all be available. William Gallas, though, will not face his former club.

Arsenal player to watch: Robin van Persie. By some distance the Premier League's top scorer, Arsenal will need their captain to rediscover his best form after indifferent showings against AC Milan and Sunderland. He has scored four goals in his last five starts against Tottenham and, with Spurs having managed to keep a clean sheet in just one of the last 32 North London derbies, he will be confident of adding to that tally.

Tottenham Hotspur player to watch: Emmanuel Adebayor. The on-loan Manchester City man provided four assists and a goal in Spurs' recent 5-0 demolition of Newcastle, and Arsenal fans will have been concerned to hear that he is winning the battle to be fit for the derby. He memorably helped Manchester City to a 4-2 victory shortly after departing the Emirates and could cause serious problems for the hosts, particularly if Laurent Koscielny fails to prove his fitness.

Key battle: Alex Song v Gareth Bale. Having made the transition from left back to left winger, Bale now spends increasing amounts of time infield. If Arsenal are to keep Bale at bay - and the Welshman has already scored three times against the Gunners - they will need to show more determination in closing down the opposition in the middle of the field than has been seen of late. Song, the nominal defensive midfielder, must bear in mind his primary role.

Trivia: If Adebayor scores, he will become only the second player to have scored for both clubs in the derby. Winger Jimmy Robertson, who left Spurs for Arsenal in 1968, is the only man to have done so to date.

Stats: Tottenham had gone 17 games without a win at Arsenal prior to last season's 3-2 victory at the Emirates.

Match
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by KayDee4: 1:33am On Feb 25, 2012
**yawns**
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by MeGaStReEt: 9:04am On Feb 25, 2012
More woes for the football academy
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by Basics007: 9:06am On Feb 25, 2012
Time to spank some a rse
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by adebayo201: 10:00am On Feb 25, 2012
MeGaStReEt:

More woes for the football academy

academy indeed! grin grin grin
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by Nobody: 10:19am On Feb 25, 2012
Have been a spurs fan for five seasons now and i know my yid army are in top form for now. I give it to them. 3-1!
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by Akainzo(m): 10:22am On Feb 25, 2012
This is a very important match for Arsenal. I do hope we get all 3 points at stake.
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by adebayo201: 10:32am On Feb 25, 2012
Akainzo:

This is a very important match for Arsenal. I do hope we get all 3 points at stake.

Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by manmustwac(m): 10:34am On Feb 25, 2012
i am so confident of our victory away to the arsenal that am going to post our celebratory pictures well in advance grin grin grin

Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by manmustwac(m): 10:56am On Feb 25, 2012
a

Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by bakila: 11:06am On Feb 25, 2012
Gunners are going to teach spurs a lesson
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by SportATM: 11:11am On Feb 25, 2012
Gunner 4Life

Money won is twice as sweet as money earned. @
http://www.SportATM.com/ , its all about winning.
Put your money on it if you are very sure of any of you choice.
me oh,  Gunner 4 life!
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by chelseabmw(m): 2:18pm On Feb 25, 2012
i need a draw
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by Krazylover: 5:48pm On Feb 25, 2012
This is a very important match for Arsenal.[img]http://www.lzxin.info/g.gif[/img]
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by manmustwac(m): 6:24pm On Feb 25, 2012
valacious:

Have been a spurs fan for five seasons now and i know my yid army are in top form for now. I give it to them. 3-1!
so why is it we never see you in the spurs thread then?

Krazylover:

This is a very important match for Arsenal.[img]http://www.lzxin.info/g.gif[/img]

you mean it was an important loss for the arsenal grin grin
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by Nobody: 6:31pm On Feb 25, 2012
I smell a draw in this match but spur to win by a big margin
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by sylve11: 6:53pm On Feb 25, 2012
chelseabmw:

i need a draw

abeg carry ur bend legs comort from here, thank u. cool cool
Re: Arsenal Vs Tottenham Hotspur (5 - 2) On Sunday February 26th 2012 by NaijaInspired: 2:34am On Feb 26, 2012
Get the best Nigerian albums on demand at
http://www.naijainspired.com/admin/deploy/index.html

Like us in facebook:

www.facebook.com/naijainspired.