Stats: 3,149,970 members, 7,806,804 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 April 2024 at 01:05 AM

Ishilove's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Ishilove's Profile / Ishilove's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 1794 pages)

TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Ishilove: 9:04pm On Apr 23
Illusioneffect:

I need to rewatch the Shining. I taught is what not a good movie but maybe if I watch it on now it'll grow on me
Stephen King hated the movie
Romance / Re: My Boyfriend Had Sex With His Dying Female Friend As A 'final Wish' by Ishilove: 8:59pm On Apr 23
These people don chop belleful
Business / Re: Naira Depreciates By N64 Against Dollar At FOREX Market by Ishilove: 11:30am On Apr 23
Steadily depreciating. Una doh
Business / Re: Abuja Chinese Supermarket Shuts Doors by Ishilove: 4:55pm On Apr 22
sharpwriter:

She didn't mean in 1992, the sentence about Bruce is another story which I have read similar things about. Apart from having issues with the Triads, it was a known fact that the martial arts masters weren't happy he started teaching martial arts to all and sundry. He was even challenged to fights on some occasions in the United States.

However, due to his mysterious death, this scenario will of course be one of the controversies tied to his sudden death.
Okay. His death will always be a subject of speculation

Business / Re: Abuja Chinese Supermarket Shuts Doors by Ishilove: 4:23pm On Apr 22
sweerychick:
yeah it sounds nonsense but it's a fact they do that. Maybe not the way they do it in Africa but they don't like to intermingle. During the Rodney king LA riots in the US 1992, most Asian shops were attacked (although mainly Korean shops) because of their discriminatory attitude. Bruce Lee had to escape China to the US because he exposed Martial arts to the western world and Chinese people weren't happy about it. Hence his mysterious death. Those people are mysterious.
Hian
Business / Re: Nigerian "Denied Entry" Into A Chinese Supermarket In Abuja (Video) by Ishilove: 9:51pm On Apr 21
muyico:
Abi dey sell human being meat inside? Notinz china no fit chop
😂😂😂😂😂
Family / Re: See These And Decide If You Still Want To Have Plenty Kids by Ishilove: 4:03pm On Apr 21
We were all babies and toddlers at a point and I would never have tried this because my mother's hands are very fast and in perpetual factory reset mode. Try any shenanigans and you go collect. What is all these fuckery I'm seeing??
Sports / Re: Olympics Tribute To Apollo & Zeus (Paris 2024) by Ishilove: 8:12pm On Apr 20
Wonderful. Dedicating the sport activities to their idols. Una doh
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Ishilove: 4:35pm On Apr 20
oyaskii:
For Maria Èbún Pàtàkí (2020).

"When i no sleep, my mother no go sleep....she nor dey tire eh....oh really?"

There are times when Nollywood surprises me with thier strong storytelling which seems to always strengthen my convictions that this Industry can make gems like this, that touch on important topics without the usual trope of the "raz", crass, unnecessary loudness and prop, we have been used to in recent times.

Damilola Orimogunje's For Maria Èbún Pàtàkí, touch on a "forbidden" topic and dared where no other film maker in recent times in this clime has dared to venture. For a runtime of a little over an hour, it tells a story of "Derin", who after a traumatic birth experience, falls into postpartum depression and feels disconnected from the child, and basically everyone around her, failing to even realize what was going on and how to even help because the normal "Nigeria condition" doesn't allow for trivia stance like been "depressed" and any form of mental health check is taken with levity here, and so, our dear Aderinsola is easily just tagged as a "Bad mother".

The whole thing was done in basically one location with about 5 cast, but with this meagre resources they were able to tell a very important story with alot of takeaways. Gabriel Afolayan shines here, as he always do, but Meg Otanwa's Aderinsola portrayal of a new mother with zero emotional attachment, was the real deal.her mannerism and utterances were all too real, a clear sign of a supreme performance.

The set location and cinematography was blended in a gloomy and dark way, which horned home the narrative and made it easily relatable, they also threw in some macabre score to serenade the whole thing. They were sound editing and mixing issues but i will forgive those.

i can't promise this is a happy story, far from it, it is as gloomy and dark as they come, but it is a good watch, and i wish more Nigerian filmmakers are this bold to tell, these type of stories.

8/10.
I'm surprised I'm just reading about this movie. Is it available for download?
Education / Re: Faith Omodon, Missing Delta Student 'Spotted In Her Boyfriend’s Residence' by Ishilove: 1:44am On Apr 20
Her kids will do worse to her. You can't be stressing your parents and like this and making them go through so much emotional turmoil for your selfish reasons. You won't escape nemesis

Family / Re: No More Traditional Marriage List In Tiv Land by Ishilove: 8:13pm On Apr 19
joseph1832:

Na real sauce of the news.

I'm telling you, even with this, many families won't listen. You'll start hearing lamentation upon lamentation like "shey when I fvck my wife dem dey Derek, wey dem dey talk say make we no collect bribe price" or "na when e reach my turn to collect their own, after dem collect for my own, nahim dem come dey talk say, no more bride price? Tufiakwa" etc. All this in their nature dialect of course. Lol.

Similar thing happen when I was staying in Otukpo. The Ochedoma gave strict warning that families should stop making bride price expensive etc. He even made sure the village chieves,, actually try to enforce it. It was in my presence, I saw when the villagers actually chased a village chief away, for trying to enforce it. The dude had to leave his vehicle and ran away, if not, dem for beat shege comot for him body. grin grin cheesy cheesy
Greedy mofos

Sports / Re: Guinness World Record: Davido, Sowore Turn Up To Support Chess Master, Onakoya by Ishilove: 8:12pm On Apr 19
Nigerians love supporting their own
Family / Re: No More Traditional Marriage List In Tiv Land by Ishilove: 5:03pm On Apr 19
joseph1832:
OH boy. If this is true, some elders, family members and parents will be very angry oh. Lmao.
That is why I asked for the sauce of this news grin

Family / Re: No More Traditional Marriage List In Tiv Land by Ishilove: 5:02pm On Apr 19
joseph1832:
With garden egg? grin
And peppered chicken grin
Family / Re: No More Traditional Marriage List In Tiv Land by Ishilove: 4:37pm On Apr 19
Omoluabi16:
chilli.
🤣🤣
Family / Re: No More Traditional Marriage List In Tiv Land by Ishilove: 4:37pm On Apr 19
Caleb15:

Na Bitcoin them dey collect
😂😂😂
Family / Re: No More Traditional Marriage List In Tiv Land by Ishilove: 3:56pm On Apr 19
Sauce?
Politics / Re: FG Grant Received (Picture Added) by Ishilove: 3:32pm On Apr 18
50k wey no fit buy a bag of rice

Sports / Re: Bayer Leverkusen Players Dance To Flavour’s Hit Song After Winning Bundesliga by Ishilove: 2:44am On Apr 17
naptu2:

They look very masculine. The only time they had any aura of feminity is when they got to the "kerewa" part of the song. 🙄
Sports / Re: Bayer Leverkusen Players Dance To Flavour’s Hit Song After Winning Bundesliga by Ishilove: 8:32pm On Apr 16
naptu2:

grin You remind me of Rasheedat Ajibade.
Who is she?
Sports / Re: Bayer Leverkusen Players Dance To Flavour’s Hit Song After Winning Bundesliga by Ishilove: 12:51am On Apr 16
Of all songs na 'Ashawo' song una dey use celebrate. Continue

Family / Re: Women Always Kill Goodly Children! by Ishilove: 12:49am On Apr 16
cococandy:
What a weird thread

Where do people like this come from?
I’d like to understand how your minds work.

Very strange
Many people need therapy, they just don't know it. The OP sounds pretty messed up in the head so what you're reading here is a product of a messed up mind

Celebrities / Re: Bobrisky's Male Biological Characteristics Are All Intact!— NCS Official by Ishilove: 12:39am On Apr 16
Shegzdave:
So he still Dey brotherhood grin grin
Don't mind the cloutinus. I blame bloggers for giving talentless folks like him a platform to misbehave and gain relevance.

Anyway, Portable must be having a very good laugh wherever he is now. After cursing Portable, it is Bobrisky that has been having the never ending problems, including public disgrace and jail term. The irony

Celebrities / Re: Bobrisky's Male Biological Characteristics Are All Intact!— NCS Official by Ishilove: 12:36am On Apr 16
joseph1832:
try me and see how serious I am. grin
Smh
Celebrities / Re: Bobrisky's Male Biological Characteristics Are All Intact!— NCS Official by Ishilove: 8:30pm On Apr 15
joseph1832:
Okay. WhatsApp it to me, along with those lovely things I love about you. smiley
You are not serious cheesy
Family / Re: Son Refuses To Bath by Ishilove: 8:29pm On Apr 15
Babies having babies. Instead of giving him factory resetting abara on his back, you're busy pampering him. Continue

Celebrities / Re: Bobrisky's Male Biological Characteristics Are All Intact!— NCS Official by Ishilove: 8:28pm On Apr 15
joseph1832:
where is the source of this?
I have the source link, but I won't post it. Let him go and look for it instead of being lazy
Celebrities / Re: Bobrisky's Male Biological Characteristics Are All Intact!— NCS Official by Ishilove: 7:27pm On Apr 15
Senior man grin

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 1794 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25