The New Scam In Nigeria

A Member? Please Login  
type your username and password to login
Date: July 26, 2008, 03:07 PM
223824 members and 127137 Topics
Latest Member: jonnny
Nairaland [Nigerian Forum] Home Help Search Who is currently online? Login Register
Nairaland Forum  |  General Discussion  |  Politics  |  Crime  |  The New Scam In Nigeria
Pages: (1) Go Down Send this topic Notify of replies
Author Topic: The New Scam In Nigeria  (Read 209 views)
Radiant (f)
The New Scam In Nigeria
« on: May 01, 2008, 11:20 PM »

A friend of mine forwarded this to my mail. It goes:

"I received this e-mail yesterday and it sent chills up my spine.
Please read this. It is not a joke.

Dear Friends,

I am hoping you will share this with your wives, daughters, mother, sisters, etc. Our world seems to be getting crazier by the day. Pipe bombs in mail boxes and sickos in parking lots with perfume. Be careful.

I was approached yesterday afternoon around 13:30 pm in a car park by two males who asked what kind of perfume I was wearing. Then they asked if I'd like to sample some fabulous scent they were willing to sell me at a very reasonable rate I probably would have agreed had I not received an e-mail some weeks ago warning of a 'Wanna smell this neat perfume?' scam.

Someone walks up to you at the malls or in parking lots and asking you to SNIFF PERFUME that they are selling at a cheap price.THIS IS NOT PERFUME, IT IS ETHER! When you sniff it, you'll pass out. They'll take your wallet, your valuables and heaven knows what else. The men continued to stand between parked cars, I guess to wait for someone else to hit on. I stopped a lady going towards them, pointing at them and told her about how I was sent an e-mail at work.
If it were not for this e-mail, I probably would have sniffed the 'PERFUME' but thanks to the
generosity of an e-mailing friend, I was spared whatever might have happened to me. I wanted to do the same for you".
sheniqua
Re: The New Scam In Nigeria
« #1 on: May 01, 2008, 11:24 PM »

This news old na!
They've since moved on to higher things like knocking people gbowai ! on the head.
No need to sniff anything.
Radiant (f)
« #2 on: May 01, 2008, 11:27 PM »

Lol. . it's old? Shocked Just heard it.
sheniqua
« #3 on: May 01, 2008, 11:29 PM »

I got that email about 2 years ago.
Why would any reasonable woman be sniffing and buying perfumes at a street corner?
lucabrasi (m)
« #4 on: May 01, 2008, 11:33 PM »

im just hearing it now and i go to nigeria regularly on hols,nigerians are so ingeneous and its a pity the extent people who otherwise should be gainfully employed will go to,
@poster thanks for the tip will try n pass it on as well and be extra careful when im in naij this year of "cme and buy perf"
blush (f)
« #5 on: May 01, 2008, 11:35 PM »

t'was sumthin that went on in d states for a while
not in nigeria  Tongue
Radiant (f)
« #6 on: May 01, 2008, 11:38 PM »

Quote from: blush on May 01, 2008, 11:35 PM
t'was sumthin that went on in d states for a while
not in nigeria  Tongue

So it can't happen in Nigeria?
blush (f)
« #7 on: May 01, 2008, 11:39 PM »

Quote from: Radiant on May 01, 2008, 11:38 PM
So it can't happen in Nigeria?

don't know, don't live in Nigeria. but i do know for a fact that this email was generated from the states
blush (f)
« #8 on: May 01, 2008, 11:42 PM »

HEEEEEYYYYYYY

my post was messed with
i didnt type that [i mean i typed that but not those exact words]

whasss goin on? Huh
Radiant (f)
« #9 on: May 01, 2008, 11:51 PM »

lmao
lucabrasi (m)
« #10 on: May 02, 2008, 12:54 AM »

most crimes in nigeria happened once upon a time abroad  case in point"spanish letters,otherwise called 419 in the present form"
vikiviko (m)
« #11 on: May 02, 2008, 03:30 PM »

If you have a crime story or report, please forward story and reports to crimewatchnews@yahoo.com
revenge (m)
« #12 on: June 13, 2008, 06:12 PM »

dATONE NA SMALLTHING  WE NO BE MUGU OOOOOO, MAYBE You FIT BE MUGU BUTAS FOR ME , LIE LIE:P
 Equitorial Trust Bank site hacked!  Paid To Click Online  Rape: Tell Your Man If You Fall Victim?   Page 2
Pages: (1) Go Up Send Topic to Friend by E-mail Reply 
Google

Web www.nairaland.com
Sections: TV/Movies (2) Music/Radio (2) Celebrities Jobs (2) Career Romance Books Politics Sports Fashion Travel
Health Schooling Religion General(2) Business Webmaster Programming Computers Phones Cars & Trucks

Links: Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Page8 Page9 Page10

Nairaland is owned by Oluwaseun Osewa
Nairaland Forum | Powered by SMF 1.0.12.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.