Signonafrica.net?

A Member? Please Login  
type your username and password to login
Date: August 30, 2008, 09:44 AM
234950 members and 135098 Topics
Latest Member: arunkumar
Nairaland [Nigerian Forum] Home Help Search Who is currently online? Login Register
Nairaland Forum  |  Technology  |  Webmasters (Moderator: uspry1)  |  Signonafrica.net?
Pages: (1) Go Down Send this topic Notify of replies
Author Topic: Signonafrica.net?  (Read 707 views)
joobreel (m)
Signonafrica.net?
« on: July 06, 2006, 07:10 PM »

Just want to find out if any Nairaland member has a first hand experience with  Signonafrica,the company is a web hosting outfit based in Lagos Nigeria.

Do they provide good and prompt support,
how reliable their web servers are etc.
The company Url:www.signonafrica.net


Awaiting your responses.

Thanks.
smartsoft (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #1 on: July 06, 2006, 08:18 PM »

they sucks to me
buddie (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #2 on: July 08, 2006, 10:47 PM »

smartsoft,
Thanks but i like to know have you had cause to work with them before.I need to know before i talk some certain decisions soonest.
Thank you
WolGlobal
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #3 on: July 30, 2006, 02:13 AM »

I have heard that signonafrica.net hosts a lot of 419 online scams. see this site:
 http://www.joewein.de/sw/419-signonafrica-net.htm


If you decide not to go with signonafrica.net , you can try Earthlinks Cafe LLC. http://www.earthlinkscafe.com/ . The service is excellent.



WolGlobal Networks Inc. - Premium web hosting and design solutions
http://www.wolglobal.com/
buddie (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #4 on: July 30, 2006, 08:10 PM »

Thanks for that important information about Signonafrica, quite useful
smartsoft (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #5 on: July 31, 2006, 05:40 PM »

When i was try to get a domain from them, it took them severals days even week to point just a domain for me to my DNS why last year their server was kind of down due to 419  Website they hosted on their website, and EFCC was involved that i remember very well.
signon (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #6 on: August 14, 2006, 02:50 PM »

Signonafrica is committed to providing superb service to all our customers especially webmasters and designers.

In truth, we had issues with fake banks, lotteries and 419 letter writers in the past and all three of our servers were shut down in March of 2005 as part of investigations resulting from the activities of these fellows.

We have since resolved all these issues and currently operate with zero tolerance for fraud, spam, phishing and illegal activities of any kind (- http://signonafrica.net/about/terms.html).

The http://www.joewein.de/sw/419-signonafrica-net.htm information is dated and old news. Over 2 years old (August 7, 2004).  WolGlobal's post is thus not true with regards to the current operations of Signonafrica.

We host over 3000 domains for Nigerians from all walks of life - government, unversities, multi-nationals, churches, large and small businesses, schools and many others.

We have over 20 servers hosting sites for busineses in Nigeria on Windows and Linus platforms. When I comes to service delivery, we do our best to to respond within the shortest possible time. We have the expericence on to help people on the windows and linux platforms and nobody can really beat our prices unless the want to do it for free.

Issues arise when instead of sending email to support@signonafrica.com or support@signonafrica.net customers send support email to individual personnel mailbox.

In the event that your sales and  support issues are not resolved to your satisfaction, send email to me godwin@signonafrica.com and I will take care of the issue.  Satisfied customers keep us in business!


I believe that what happened in the past is part of our learning process in doing business in Nigeria. Signoanfrica Inc. hosts several thousand websites for customers in African countries and around the world. Nigeria is unique. We are however determined to provide the same quality of service to all our customers. If you want pay in Naira use www.signonafrica.net, to pay in US Dollars use www.goodoldomains.com. To set up you own reseller program for both domain name registration and hosting see www.SignOnDomains.com or contact me godwin@signonafrica.com


Godwin Okafor
President
Signonafrica Inc
Oceanside California USA


www.signonafrica.com, www.signonafrica.net, www.onenaira.com, www.goodoldomains.com, www.SignOnDomains.com
netzymes (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #7 on: September 11, 2006, 04:42 PM »

I don't think signonafrica are to blame for what people choose to do with the hosting space they are provided. If a shop sells a knife or a gun and you go out and stab or shoot someone is the shop to blame?

I am sure a simple request for information would have been complied with by signonafrica or anyother hosting company for that matter.

That is just my humble opinion.

Regards

Tim
leketoye (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #8 on: September 17, 2006, 06:29 PM »

Signonafrica sucks. They ruined 2 of my websites and almost ruined me. I personally wouldn't go near them.
Afam (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #9 on: September 18, 2006, 09:21 AM »

Quote from: netzymes on September 11, 2006, 04:42 PM
I don't think signonafrica are to blame for what people choose to do with the hosting space they are provided. If a shop sells a knife or a gun and you go out and stab or shoot someone is the shop to blame?

I am sure a simple request for information would have been complied with by signonafrica or anyother hosting company for that matter.

That is just my humble opinion.

Regards

Tim

Tim,

I disagree with you on this, it is the duty of a web hosting provider to ensure that the customers are not using their services to promote fraud.

Guns and knives are things you buy and go away with, web hosting is not the same, the sites are hosted on the web hosting company's severs, the customers don't take the servers away.

You analogy would have been ok if you are talking about selling computers.
ijebu (m)
Re: Signonafrica.net?
« #10 on: September 21, 2006, 03:14 PM »

There is no way a web hosting firm can know what the client intended doing with the services they are paying for. But the hosting company shuld regularly monitor the activities of  their clients, though most will not because of the financial gain.
If a web hosting firm has too many scam issues to handle then the IPs of the firm will surely be blacklisted and this will have an effect on all the sites on the server.
I will recommend ABIMCO WEB HOST, http://abimco.com, they provide excellent and affordable services, their service delivery after confirmation of payment is within 2 hours. But don't go near them if you intendend using your site for any illegal activities online, because they have A ZERO TOLLERANCE, your site will be terminated without warning.
 In Need Of Web Design Proposal  Which Postal Code Did You Use For Lagos With Google Adsense Registration  To Become A Pro In Web Design  Page 2
Pages: (1) Go Up Send Topic to Friend by E-mail Reply 
Google
 
Web www.nairaland.com
Sections: TV/Movies (2) Music/Radio (2) Celebrities Job Talk Jobs/Vacancies (2) Career Talk Romance Books Politics Sports Fashion Travel
Health Schooling Religion General(2) Business Webmaster Programming Computers Phones Cars & Trucks

Links: Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Page8 Page9 Page10

Nairaland is owned by Oluwaseun Osewa
Nairaland Forum | Powered by SMF 1.0.12.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.