|
cooldud62*
|
There are several job vacancy ads all over the land, It is important you know how to detect these adverts so you don't fall victim of the unscrupulous members of the land, These are some things you should look out for when replying to an ad whether in the dailies or on nairaland! The fact that an ad appears in the dailies doesn't make it authentic! some people have gone ahead to host and run websites for scams mainly, so beware. 1) the ads don't have a secured email address like vacancy@zenithbank.com, vacancy@uba.com, they usually come with vacancy@yahoo.com or any of the free email providers! . I once received a mail in my box advertising a polytechnic (new) and one of the programmes to be run in the school is computer science. The sender of the mail listed a lot of email addresses in the to: and sent to everyone, that was too bad as i replied the person(school) to sack the guys in the computer department of the school because a mailer should be used for such, even scammers know that! 2) the ads dont come with office addresses, you don't have an address to look up in case you want to verify if the company actually exists 3) They tell you to pay to take tests 4) They send messages to you that you have been shortlisted for interview though you never applied to work with them! I read a post recently here where a lady was asking if anyone knew a company because they sent an IV to her meanwhile she couldn't remember applying! 5) They tell you to scan your certificate and send to them! ( I saw one like that on nairalist and wondered how it got there) This is the most criminal of them all. On no occasion should you do that. No company will tell you to do that! The best will be for you to bring original copies during interview and its not to be retained by your supposed employer! I think i have tried a bit and if you know others, please add so people will not be victims.
|
|
|
|
|
|
kufreabasi (m)
|
this is true. thanks for the alert.
|
|
|
|
|
|
cooldud62*
|
welcome 
|
|
|
|
|
|
tainot2002 (m)
|
Great Tips.Thanks in a million
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
olu4dayo
|
thanks for the alert
|
|
|
|
|
|
mayrho (m)
|
There are several job vacancy ads all over the land, It is important you know how to detect these adverts so you don't fall victim of the unscrupulous members of the land, These are some things you should look out for when replying to an ad whether in the dailies or on nairaland! The fact that an ad appears in the dailies doesn't make it authentic! some people have gone ahead to host and run websites for scams mainly, so beware.
1) the ads don't have a secured email address like vacancy@zenithbank.com, vacancy@uba.com, they usually come with vacancy@yahoo.com or any of the free email providers! . I once received a mail in my box advertising a polytechnic (new) and one of the programmes to be run in the school is computer science. The sender of the mail listed a lot of email addresses in the to: and sent to everyone, that was too bad as i replied the person(school) to sack the guys in the computer department of the school because a mailer should be used for such, even scammers know that!
2) the ads dont come with office addresses, you don't have an address to look up in case you want to verify if the company actually exists
3) They tell you to pay to take tests
4) They send messages to you that you have been shortlisted for interview though you never applied to work with them! I read a post recently here where a lady was asking if anyone knew a company because they sent an IV to her meanwhile she couldn't remember applying!
5) They tell you to scan your certificate and send to them! ( I saw one like that on nairalist and wondered how it got there) This is the most criminal of them all. On no occasion should you do that. No company will tell you to do that! The best will be for you to bring original copies during interview and its not to be retained by your supposed employer!
I think i have tried a bit and if you know others, please add so people will not be victims. But mind you the fact that they use emails from office does not make it authentic either as in the case of info@interswitch.com or info@gtbplc.org or www.xtracool.net just verify properly before you jump at any offer these scammers are getting real good God save us all
|
|
|
|
|
|
bsanya (f)
|
KUUL MEN!!! Tanx 4 d info
|
|
|
|
|
|
mauzi15 (m)
|
What will you say about interviews asking you to come with a consultancy fee of N1,500 or even to the tune of N2,000?? . smells like a big rat if ude ask me. i think its also a scam. jobs shoulkd come free without any price tag attached 2 it. !!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
yicob (m)
|
Job scam has gone techy
|
|
|
|
|
|
pek (m)
|
thanks a lot. i hope all job seekers will read this.
|
|
|
|
|
|
waterworks (f)
|
@ POSTER ok this is a good post. but i have to ask how do they scam you? i actually want to know thier aims.
they post a job and tell you to come for an interview right? how are you then scammed do they offer you the job on the condition that you give them money or what? (NO ONE IS THAT STUPID) even if they ask for money to pay for test it can't be more than 1k right? measly change in naija now so they cant posssibly live off that?surely they cant scam enough money to make a huge profit or can they? i dont see any main gain here. how do they hammer? what is the point?
Also what is the aim of taking your document what can they do with it? surely as long as it a diff name its invalid right? nairalanders pls enlighten me.
thnx
|
|
|
|
|
|
butter (m)
|
@waterworks,
i think the whole idea behind these scammers is about volume, take the 1k fee issue for instance, and multiply that by several people gullible enough to pay it, you'll agree with me, that it adds up rather, especially when marketing techniques are added to the mix.
as for the document issue, don't even go there, what with "oluwole" around the corner, there's nothing they can't do. case in point, passports with the owners'names on it gets stolen to be used elsewhere by God knows whom.
|
|
|
|
|
|
opeyemi (m)
|
I agree with you except for the first and second points.
However, I will never encourage any of paying money, photocopying of certs etc.
I have posted some job ads on nairaland using may gmail and yahoo account and though it some respondents have gotten jobs while many others have attnded interviews (without paying a dime). Actually, the current frontdesk officer in my company is a member of nairaland and she was recruited through this medium. I posted another one for various posts about 2weeks ago and people have responded.
I think the thing is that we need to be careful about the ads especially if they request for payments and some very vital credentials.
Anyway, you have raised a very good point.
|
|
|
|
|
|
ojostephen (m)
|
thanks a million
|
|
|
|
|
|
spoilt (f)
|
No employer will ask you to pay a farthing. I cant believe people fall for that. Or they ask you to pay to register with their agency. agencies are supposed to be free too. They get their cut when you are hired! 
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
ramonacee (f)
|
good one.  though hard to belive, most people fall for the interview-fee-thing.
|
|
|
|
|
|
webdezzi (m)
|
Even when the email shows recruits@zenithbank.com or congrats@gtbplc.comit may have been spoofed. Try to locate a link very close the the message saying "Full Headers" 90% email providers have this option and you can see from what domain the email came from. even with the mail coming from the right domain it could still be fake. the best option is to confirm this in person. Imagine me sending a spoofed email that all recruits should get in touch with ABC company as they will take care of all vacancy issues for our bank from now on. and i happen to own ABC company. You may fall for it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
kshow1 (m)
|
what is our beloved country turning to ?
|
|
|
|
|
|
oluite (f)
|
wat can i say?poverty,no electricity,no water,unemployement probs n then sheer greediness may be a contributing factors to all these scams
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
RuuDie (m)
|
Who remembers the capable consulting saga at ABJ. . . . . was it December '06 or '07 
|
|
|
|
|
|
stanorah
|
Thank, you bro, people are taking advantage of the high rate of unemployment in the country to deceive people. Your information is highly wellcome
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
richkid09
|
there are a lot of ways to detect job vacancy scam. We need to do more investigation about the company.
|
|
|
|
|
|
vislabraye (m)
|
One of them i Know is estherbt, esther breakthrough website www.estherbt.com. You usually see their adverts on a tiny portion of guardian Newspaper. I strongly suspect dragnet because their charges are so high. i've not been hearing about them of lately. I am still pondering about Workforce(WFMC). The organised a programme title esdp( employability skill development programme.) The best candidate of the programme would be awarded a scholarship to Havard. Thousans of Nigerians applied, with the fee of#3,500. only few were accepted for the programme. But i'm yet to hear about the scholarship and/or the wonderful job opportunities promised . still waiting 
|
|
|
|
|
|
Elachuks (f)
|
This is really good, keep up with the good work
|
|
|
|
|
|