teena (f)
Please am interested in this topic but I don't really understand the terms. What is the diff b/w money market and capital market?
Also, Hw do I know when I hv dividend if I buy shares?
freelance (m)
A money market is a financial market for short-term borrowing and lending. The capital market (securities markets) is the market for securities, where companies and the government can raise long-term funds. The capital market includes the Stock Exchange. The company will send you your dividend, that is your dividend warrant. You pay this into your current account and you are credited with the amount. Its like a cheque from the company. Godspeed
rukky82 (f)
Hi everyone,interesting topic!i want to commend all the knowledgeable posts that av been posted.I av recently developed interest in the stock market and i got a stockbroker who i gave instructions to buy about 3667units of gtb for 15.50,apparently the price closed at 14.97 yest but my stock broker bought at the said 15.50.I thought a stock broker was to use his discretion and buy at the lowest possible price but mine made me loose 53kobo on each units making the sum lost to about 1943.51 naira.Guys do u think this guy genuinly bought at that price and do u think i should change my stockbroker considering the fact that i av mandated him to buy ibtc and access?please give ure views
vizion (m)
u could have over 35% increase per annum, and it is much safer that the capital market. since u are abroad this may be better for you since it does not need as much monitoring as the capital market does
for investment in the money market, try visiting ibtc or counters trust securities limited ctsl they are the best two i know
Dumsky (m)
Hello Rukky82, Just seeing your post and a recent member so this might be a little belated but quite educational all the same. The thing is trading is done on the floor of the NSE for 2 hours everyday(but recently is being done remotely i.e. via computers from individual broker offices). There are day low and day high prices and as such you'll not always get to buy at the day low or the day's high. Imagine what would happen if everyone waited to trade at the day's low or day's high, there would obviously be no trading. My advise is that you watch the trend and speed of execution of your orders. Your broker might just be doing you a great service or reaping you off. Those fundamentals will tell.
Happy investing,
freelance (m)
CHANGE YOUR VIEW ABOUT MONEY  The foundation to building a financial fortune is to change your attitude towards money. Most people do not understand the nature of money and how it works. The first thing to do in building wealth is to have the right mental attitude towards money. Consider money a living thing i.e. a living asset which has the potential to work as you do. Once you come to this realization, you would have unleashed the power to creating wealth. You will understand that money is like an employee. Your objective over time is to make this “employee” work hard and eventually grow to multiplicity. At this point, you would have become rich when you would have employed (invested) enough “labourers” (assets) to work (earn) for you.The next is the fact that you must start building up your financial fortress. The greatest mistake people make in investment matters is that they think they have to start investing when and only when they have a huge amount in their hands. The fact is that every mansion or castle is built one block at a time. The key to success in investing is to build up a financial arsenal through small savings and investments as you generate them.Once you have a source of income, consider that every unit of money in your hand is a building-block required to build up your wealth – invest it, and you get richer; lose it and you get poorer. BE THE WISE MAN, INVEST FOR THE FUTURE  A lot of people would rather enjoy their money now rather invest it for the future. Some believe that they might not even be alive if they invested for the future and that they might thus miss the utility on their money completely. The truth is that the odds that you are going to be alive when the future comes! Investing now gives you freedom and ability to capture the future: freedom to stay at home, freedom to retire blissfully and travel around the world, freedom to do the things you’ve always wanted to do. The seed a farmer sows today is the bounty harvest of the future.Be a good farmer and ensure you sow on fallow ground. MINIMISE SPENDING ON CONSUMABLE… INVEST IN STOCKS  The most reason most people never really get rich is because they spend most of their incomes on consumable products rather than buying investment products. A common habit of the rich and wealthy is the fact that they spend 27-30% of all their income on investments and savings. To grow your wealth start spending more on savings and investment products. BE A STUDENT, COPY THE LIFESTYLE OF THE RICH It has been said that the best way to be successful in any endeavour is to study and copy lives of those who have made it. If you want to build up wealth, choose a successful and rich person known to you, study his traits, principles and lifestyle and try to copy those traits that could get you the desired objective. Break away from the old habits and characters responsible for where you are now. Avoid doing things the same old way, particularly if it cannot bring you any near to your financial success. BE THE PILOT, CONTROL YOUR FINANCIAL DESTINY  You must realize that one of the clues to financial success is investment in equities. Nowhere else can your money do so much for you as when you use it to invest in a business that has wonderful long-term prospects. Once you have made-up your mind to take control of your life by building up your net worth, you must be consistent with it. Moment by moment, you are building your wealth into a mighty castle. Every unit of money you sow into your portfolio will inevitably contribute in bringing you nearer to your financial prosperity. You will succeed Godspeed!!!
Rlst84sale (m)
Freelance
Thank you for the info. God will repay you in fold uncountable. The same goes for Seun and everyone that makes this possible. All that contribute to this and other threads alike. If we guys abroad (even many at home) have had this years ago, many of us would have been back home building the next generation. Now I know that we are moving forward. Thank you guys, you are really appreciated God bless you.
crito (m)
nice one. 
ckenneths (m)
If only people will listen, money will be the least of their problems, but they start celebrating too early, squandering their seed money.
Yet when it all comes crashing down, they blame the witches.
freelance (m)
Diamond Bank, Access Bank, Fidelity Bank and Costain West Africa Plc are expected to come to the market this year.
Get set for a barrage of public offers and/or private placements between now and December 2008.
There sure would be alot of offers in the market. Wise investors should take advantage of the best offers.
Godspeed!!!
hbrednic
@freelance thanks for the postings,please since you are in naija,can u tell us if there is any pp going on now and do let us know when this companies you mentioned are starting there pp. abeg oooooh
nathdcute (m)
Hello@freelance, Thanks for the detailed information on how to make money buying shares you critically analysed here, more knowledge to your brain. Moreover, I do wush to know the least amount of money that is needed before one can be able to buy shares, and please kindly suggest list of various companies where one can buy shares with little amount of money for a start. I shall appreciate it if you can drop the feedback here or better still if you send the details to me directly to my email; nathool2006@yahoo.com, 08069183277. Thanks!
Freekeezee (m)
Thanks so much my dear. With this,i can now know how to go about investing in shares
kelopez77
Hi freelance,
i wanted to invest my money in fidelity bank shares,but since you have given me the hint on buying shares,i think i have to decide on it first before putting my money in the shares, thanks for your advice
dafidixone (m)
This is very good post. I will like someone to link me with a good stockbroker.
kelopez77
Hi,
If i invest =N=20,000 in buying shares that is being sold at =N=8.00 per share,what will be my dividens at the end of each year?,plaese i need your help,
MyPeace (f)
no one will calculate your dividend for now as they are not WITCHES to see the future. on a serious note, it depends on how much profit they coy make and the dividend declared per share for the finanical year. your dividend could be N200 for the financial year, its possible 
freelance (m)
Hi freelance,
i wanted to invest my money in fidelity bank shares,but since you have given me the hint on buying shares,i think i have to decide on it first before putting my money in the shares, thanks for your advice
I think Fidelity bank is good for the long term  Also FCMB is a good buy  Cheers!
tflow
HEY MAN, YOU REALLY SPOKE WELL, AND I REALLY APPRECIATE THAT FACT FROM YOU. HAVE INVESTED IN CAPITAL MARKET, AND ACTUALLY MADE NO PROFIT, BUT THE POINT IS THAT MOST STOCKBROKERS DOESN'T ADVICE YOU ON WHEN TO BUY. PLEASE DO YOU OR CAN YOU RECOMMEND ANY BROCKER THAT CAN DO THAT ( TELL YOU WHEN TO BUY, AND WHEN TO SELL) THANKS FOR THAT. YOU CAN GET BACK TO ME VIA MY EMAIL t2dflow2000@yahoo.com
kingrd (m)
Noble2007: Please advise on how money market works. Give names of safe shops where one can invest.
alanbolo (m)
@ freelance, what is the analysis for Bank PHB? long time and short term prospect wise.
dollarmani
TFLOW Do not be discouraged at your one experience in the market. I have been involved for a while and i have made and lost money in the short run. What i have not done is lost money in the long term. it took me a while to determine that VALUE INVESTING was the way forward. Value investing essentially seeks to identify stocks that are cheap relative to its peers. There are some basic tools for determining this of which chief among this is the PE ratio which is a function of the earnings per share of a stock. Do a search on this topic and understand well. Use this together with other factors of which another important one is liquidity (volume of the shares trading daily- the higher the better) in detrmining what to buy. try to have a medium to longterm outlook and let the short term outlook be based on opportunities arising. A good site that i just subscribed to that has tools to help u do this complete with graphs and a portfolio manager to help uou manage and know the value of your portfolio at any point in time is www.nigeriansecurities.com. All the best
gbadeboy
My name is gbade and i work as Field executive officer for Visiontel Networks.It is a resource center that has partnership with some banks.We use our large membership to bargain on behalf of our members for favourable loan condition strictly for buying large amount of shares.Also the banks' stock brokers canntrade with the shares bought on your behalf and you keep the profit after thr normal stock brokers commission is deducted.We just act like a sort of consultancy agency.You are introduced to the suitable banks,you open an account with them and if you have 30% of the money you intend to collect as loan to buy shares in your account you request.we tell you what you need to know about what you need to repay and calculations,we introduce you to the banks stock brokers,the shares is bought in your name and kept by the bank as security.We give you regular update on the shares and when to buy and sell so you can call bank's stockbroker to trade on request and you retain profit.It is very lucrative and you can repay loan and still have more money on profit made trading in stocks.IMAGINE.when App WAS #47 and now goes has high as #275 and you bought #500,000 worth of it before increasing.You deal directly with the Bank and they are liable.You only pay us #2,500 for a year to be a member of our center and the benefit is much.my number is 07082715846.call or text for enquiries