Which Books Are You Currently Reading?

A Member? Please Login  
type your username and password to login
Date: May 13, 2008, 07:15 PM
200251 members and 112591 Topics
Latest Member: bancheka
Nairaland [Nigerian Forum] Home Help Search Who is currently online? Login Register
Nairaland Forum  |  Entertainment  |  Literature  |  Which Books Are You Currently Reading?
Pages: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) ... (37) Go Down Send this topic Notify of replies
Author Topic: Which Books Are You Currently Reading?  (Read 24178 views)
kodewrita (m)
Re: Which Books Are You Currently Reading?
« #32 on: May 25, 2005, 05:36 PM »

I will like to introduce you to a site i just learnt about. its called the Gutenberg Project. www.gutenberg.net you can download over a million ebooks and novels. I download around seven novels every time i surf the net. its a cheap way to read more.

@mamba you are lucky its on the web or i would have reached over and strangled you. better lover is not reading material its just a way for you to over-exercise your neurotransmitters without any physical stimulation (in your own case i don't know what you do for stimulation)
demmy (m)
« #33 on: May 28, 2005, 10:15 AM »

I'm currently reading John Edgar Wideman's Homewood Trilogy which include Hidden Place, Sent For You Yesterday and Damballah. 
emmlaura (m)
« #34 on: May 28, 2005, 10:28 AM »

i read a lot, like there is no tomorow. right now i read a lot of JAMES HADLEY CHASE. and boy i'm out to read all. like now i think i have read like 30 of his books and hope read more. anybody tried SIR HENRY RIDDER HAGGARD, of his books i liked the MONTEZUMA'S DAUTHER more though SHE and AYESHA (the return of she) was also thrilling. he has other ones like KING SOLOMON'S MINE'S and ALLAN QUARTARMAIN(if that one na d spelling). i also read a lot of NICK CARTER. romance, me that one no be my line. love the thriller thing or adventure Cool
Pinky (f)
« #35 on: June 07, 2005, 02:06 PM »

as for me.. am a freak & so Hadley chase is too small for me....
i hate romance except for writers like ...Jackie collins who mix romance & fictions

i just finished with silence of the lambs & am currently reading hollywood divorces from Jackie collins......
i read john Grisham (i love law), Sidney Sheldon, Jackie collins, David baldacci & some i can't remember.. once u tell me its not love story, its got to crime for me to read it
Pinky (f)
« #36 on: June 07, 2005, 02:31 PM »

Quote from: kodewrita on May 25, 2005, 05:36 PM
I will like to introduce you to a site I just learnt about. its called the Gutenberg Project. www.gutenberg.net you can download over a million ebooks and novels. I download around seven

kodewrita, wats this site about.. i visited it & couldnt make head or tail of it.. it seems like its filled with old books & journals.. please expanciate more
Vieira (m)
« #37 on: June 07, 2005, 02:34 PM »

Read all the enid Blyton books as a kid, and now I also read the Harry Potter books.

Read all the Hadley chase in secondary school along with Nick Carter, Jackie collins and Harold Robbins and .

Read most Grisham, Clancy, Forstyhe, Archer and co.

Ludlum was my favourite in the past but he is now dead and the new books are not by him.

Eric Van Lustbader is very good and he actually has been allowed to write the latest Jason Bourne story by the family of ludlum.

Mainly I now read Sci-Fi and also Fantasy:  Asimov, Kubrick, Peter Hamilton and many others.

The Da Vinci Code is about the search for the holy grail and the believe that a lot of past masters like davinci did not agree with the litral meaning of the bible,  and how the papacy in rome is trying to suppress that idea.

Could talk about books all day.
dafman (m)
« #38 on: June 07, 2005, 04:13 PM »

Just can't get enough of John Grisham--for now that's all I read though in the past I've read books from James Hardley chase, Nick Carter,frederic forsythe, jeffrey archer, stephen king (Misery)---really used to love enid blyton too as a
jogego (m)
« #39 on: June 07, 2005, 04:45 PM »

Just finished Bourne Supremacy by Robert Ludlum- the master of suspense. B4 that I read Odessa File- Frederick Forsyth.
demmy (m)
« #40 on: June 07, 2005, 04:59 PM »

James Hadley Chase (1906-1985) - pseudonym for René Brabazon Raymond - Wrote also as James L. Docherty, Ambrose Grant, Raymond Marshall

Shocked I did't know that.
mamba (m)
« #41 on: June 12, 2005, 06:38 AM »

Quote from: kodewrita on May 25, 2005, 05:36 PM
@mamba you are lucky its on the web or I would have reached over and strangled you. better lover is not reading material its just a way for you to over-exercise your neurotransmitters without any physical stimulation (in your own case I don't know what you do for stimulation)
better lover is good sha, nice stimulating stories Grin
Pinky (f)
« #42 on: June 12, 2005, 10:31 AM »

Quote from: mamba on May 24, 2005, 01:02 AM
I'm reading better lover Grin
mamba u no just try at all
at this age & time? please tell me u were joking
mamba (m)
« #43 on: June 12, 2005, 11:18 AM »

I'm real serious, this mag is so addictive.

I've been reading them for over a month, my stepmom has like 100 copies of different issues so I've been keeping myself busy.

I like that Mr jerry guy Grin Grin
Kukura on the Move (m)
« #44 on: June 14, 2005, 11:40 AM »

Quote from: Seun on April 05, 2005, 11:33 AM
I am a big fan of Heartsong inspirational romance books (I don't buy them, but my sister does and I read them all!). I recently finished 'Frieda's Song' by Kathleen Scarth, about a marriage of convenience which blossoms into a loving relationship. Currently reading 'The Long Ride Home' by Andrea Boeshaar, about a nurse who falls in love with her cowboy patient who was injured while riding a bull!

A friend sent me 'Forgiving' by Lavyrle Spencer, about a female newspaper publisher who had to rescue her junior sister from a life of prostitution (her sister ran away from home at 15 to get away from her father who was violating her, only to go into prostitution). It's not in the Heartsong series, though.

So what are you currently reading!

Grin Cheesy Smiley
I can see where seun got his romantic, if not idealistic, traits or leanings from. Used when I was younger..... dumped them as fast as I could when I had opprtunities for others more real....now unfortunately, barely have chance to even read... pity

Sad Sad 
Made a mistake earlier on ..... don't want Seun to acciuse mpe of plagiarism, u know.... Grin
razor (m)
« #45 on: June 15, 2005, 05:59 PM »

I read a lot of books. Academics, Novels, Biographies, etc. Just give a book and l'll give u the summary in a week. Presently am reading a book tittled WHY YOU BEHAVE THE WAY YOU DO by Tim LaHaye. Great book, l'll recommend it to anyone.
Pinky (f)
« #46 on: June 15, 2005, 09:19 PM »

Quote from: razor on June 15, 2005, 05:59 PM
I read a lot of books. Academics, Novels, Biographies, etc. Just give a book and l'll give you the summary in a week. Presently am reading a book tittled WHY YOU BEHAVE THE WAY YOU DO by Tim LaHaye. Great book, l'll recommend it to anyone.
its a great book talking about knowing your temperament.. i keep reading it all over again & i doubt if am crossed, am a full sanguine!
laide o (f)
« #47 on: July 02, 2005, 01:28 PM »

okay nice book yall..but heres what ive been reading

DECEPTION POINT by DAN BROWN...a page turner i tell ya..u might get caught up with all the scientific talk....but ull get right back in later in the novel..

SONS OF FORTUNE by JEFFEY ARCHER.....absolutely amazing book.not going to spill the beans go and read it.

TELL ME UR DREAMS by SIDNEY SHELDON....actually i expected betta from a sidney sheldon novel...but it was okay all the same.

PURPLE HIBISCUS by CHIMAMANDA....the imagery employed in this book is magnificent..a gripping story.

THE LION AND THE JEWEL by WOLE SOYINKA

THINGS FALL APART by CHINUA ACHEBE....which has some similarities to PURPLE HIBISCUS.
WesleyanA (f)
« #48 on: July 03, 2005, 08:39 AM »

Quote from: laide o on April 30, 2005, 01:37 PM

I also got to read "SOPHIE KINSELLA'S (CAN You KEEP A SECRET)

"It was quite entertaining.. loved this amazing book. It makes you laugh and it makes ya cry"

I read this book. too bad I didn't cry. I laughed though.

well it seems to me you're into books I'll recommend
Da Vinvi Code by Dan Brown. since you love his books(I'm assuming) It's really good.
goodluck.(and keep drinking the panther cola)

laide o (f)
« #49 on: July 04, 2005, 11:44 AM »

Quote from: WesleyanA on July 03, 2005, 08:39 AM
Quote from: laide o on April 30, 2005, 01:37 PM

I also got to read "SOPHIE KINSELLA'S (CAN You KEEP A SECRET)

"It was quite entertaining.. loved this amazing book. It makes you laugh and it makes ya cry"

I read this book. too bad I didn't cry. I laughed though.

well it seems to me you're into books I'll recommend
Da Vinvi Code by Dan Brown. since you love his books(I'm assuming) It's really good. but I'll advice you to be careful because it might "shake your faith" a little if you're christian that is. goodluck.(and keep drinking the panther cola)

i take it your a guy..then your not supposd to go all teary-eyed for a book like that...its a girlie book.hmmm i just might read 'da vinci code' and find out what all the fuss is about..thanx fo recommendin'

one love!
badoski
« #50 on: July 04, 2005, 07:40 PM »

Don't read much of books though. I'm currently reading 48 laws of power and the art of war. Now these books are guaranteed to mess up your mind. i.e. it's really not for the morally upright. My thought though, butthey are fantastic msut reads.
WesleyanA (f)
« #51 on: July 04, 2005, 08:33 PM »

I'm not a guy!!!!! Angry

laide o (f)
« #52 on: July 06, 2005, 05:53 PM »

my bad!....i just saw wesley and assumed u were a guy.

u must be one tuff girl nt to have cried..or at least felt sum pity for the girl.
Chxta (m)
« #53 on: July 13, 2005, 10:34 PM »

Just finished Margaret Mitchell's Gone With The Wind. Great book. About to start William Peter Blatty's The Exorcist.
hot-angel (f)
« #54 on: July 13, 2005, 11:47 PM »

I used to read, not anymore. "Seventeen magazine" is the book i am currently reading. does that count?  Just kidding.

I an reading thi sbooking called "The last April Dancers".
babe (f)
« #55 on: July 14, 2005, 05:16 PM »

you all need to read PURPOSE DRIVEN LIFE, it will give you a new perspective on your life
hot-angel (f)
« #56 on: July 14, 2005, 05:20 PM »

babe I have read that book. isn't it by rick warren? I hope i am right. I read it because my cousin said I should read it...it was good.

What on earth are my here for? (if you have read the book, u know what i mean)  Wink
babe (f)
« #57 on: July 14, 2005, 09:58 PM »

no comments
the fox (m)
« #58 on: July 15, 2005, 01:16 AM »

i just finished reading ROBERT LUDLUM'S  JANSON DIRECTIVE
Ra (f)
« #59 on: July 15, 2005, 01:28 AM »

Now that is a MUST READ for people who love such books. Good for you Fox (?)
jogego (m)
« #60 on: July 16, 2005, 06:24 PM »

Damn Vieria, your book list looks like something out of my book shelf. Ludlum is the master of suspense. He keeps you on tetherhooks till the very last full stop.

I remember when I first read "Parsifal mosaic", I was  in university then and the queue for the book was so much that we actually split the book in two. Unfortunately, the guy reading the last part lost the last two pages. He promised finding them before I finished the book. I nearly went berserk because those pages were not to be seen.The first Ludlum I read was "Matarese circle"

Eric Van Lustbader is I think "Ninja" right? Another very memorable book.
Vieira (m)
« #61 on: July 18, 2005, 05:23 PM »

The Matarese Circle!!!

That book actually was making my head swell as I read it!! It was so exciting and breathtaking that I could not put it down!

To me that is one of the books that has tripped me the most in my life.

A great classic.
Bumzy (f)
« #62 on: July 22, 2005, 01:25 PM »

well i must say am a book freak! i read a lot, but more of inpirational, christian Fiction and motivational books.

Anyone with the same taste should check out Ted Dekker, Frank Peretti, Robert Whitlow! these authors will blow your minds!
olaide07 (f)
« #63 on: July 25, 2005, 03:49 PM »

I just read John Grisham'Time to kill'
Page 2
Pages: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) ... (37) Go Up Send Topic to Friend by E-mail Reply 
Google

Web www.nairaland.com
Sections: TV/Movies (2) Music/Radio (2) Celebrities Jobs (2) Career Romance Books Politics Sports Fashion Travel
Health Schooling Religion General(2) Business Webmaster Programming Computers Phones Cars & Trucks

Links: Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Page8 Page9 Page10

Nairaland is owned by Oluwaseun Osewa