Covenant University Stipulates Negative Test To Pregnancy, Hiv As Precondition

A Member? Please Login  
type your username and password to login
Date: October 14, 2008, 06:48 PM
249900 members and 148588 Topics
Latest Member: SoCiOpAtH
Nairaland [Nigerian Forum] Home Help Search Who is currently online? Login Register
Nairaland Forum  |  General Discussion  |  Education (Moderator: debosky)  |  Covenant University Stipulates Negative Test To Pregnancy, Hiv As Precondition
Poll
Question: Is it ok for them to do this sort of thing?
Please Login or Register to cast your vote and view the results of this poll.

Pages: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) Go Down Send this topic Notify of replies
Author Topic: Covenant University Stipulates Negative Test To Pregnancy, Hiv As Precondition  (Read 5812 views)
mamaput (f)
Re: Covenant University Stipulates Negative Test To Pregnancy, Hiv As Precondition
« #160 on: July 28, 2007, 05:49 PM »

Then maybe they should make it to an entry requirement.
That school sounds like a sect.
Well like someone has said nobody is forced to attend.
Galadriel (f)
Re: Covenant University Stipulates Negative Test To Pregnancy, Hiv As Precondition
« #161 on: July 28, 2007, 05:54 PM »

Exactly. You have a choice to go to that school and live with the rules or go somewhere else. Personally, after spending six years in boarding school with all the rules imaginable in this world, why I would subject ma self to another 4yrs of it is just plain overkill and suicidal for me!
just me (m)
« #162 on: July 28, 2007, 08:13 PM »

I think that is what people have to put up with when they decide to enroll in such trash-can schools.
9ja4eva (m)
« #163 on: July 28, 2007, 08:15 PM »

Correct talk guy.

I hear say d Bishop dey blast them @ times and dey tell them say if them no  dey Covenant them no dey skul.

I wonder
fellybabe (f)
« #164 on: July 28, 2007, 09:48 PM »

i personally don't have anything against that.they have rules and regulation so if u can't adapt or accept those rules, why don't u leave covenant univeristy and them be.

Mind u, it is private university and not an open/ federal university
9ja4eva (m)
« #165 on: July 28, 2007, 09:50 PM »

Nobody dey hold them.

Me gat nothing against them too but the school aint that bomb as projected
Esss (m)
Re: Covenant University Stipulates Negative Test To Pregnancy, Hiv As Preconditi
« #166 on: July 28, 2007, 10:41 PM »

Why are you guys sounding like this?? "If you can't adapt",  Adapt to what?? Adapt to not having HIV/AIDS either by sexual intercourse or otherwise?? Abi adapt to not gettin raped and impregnated or immaculate conception  Cool ?? or Adapt to not having a cellphone to use in an emergency?? Abeg adapt to what?? If u see bad thing make you shout am O!!

Many people go to these schools as a last resort, or there parents are church members and want their kids to attend the pastors church, or their parents are christians and want their kids in a christian school. If your papa send you go there, most people no go fit shout.

Judgement will not only begin in the house of GOD, but in the schools of GOD too.  Grin
texazzpete (m)
« #167 on: July 28, 2007, 11:10 PM »

If this is true (and it must be for y'all to be talking about this so fervently) then it's a crying shame. millions of people all over the world are suffering from HIV/AIDS, and the steer from the WHO (which has been accepted by the Nigerian Government) is that we should not discriminate against HIV positive people.  This is a great travesty indeed. How do these guys live meaningful lives if they aren't allowed to graduate and make progress with their lives?

As far as i know, he may not have commited any crime by pursuing this line of action. But Bishop Oyedepo should ask himself how much Christian Charity he shows by this action. Unfortunate.
honeric01 (m)
Re: Covenant University Stipulates Negative Test To Pregnancy, Hiv As Preconditi
« #168 on: July 29, 2007, 12:24 AM »

i wonder
samorijack (m)
« #169 on: July 29, 2007, 04:03 AM »

the pointa alot of against this obnoxious  edict are trying to make is that, the puritan approach never does not make a good person (or total graduate)  that choice is the reserve of the individual ,it's great P.R for convenant university in so religious a society as ours but that's about it. It's my opinion that if this was put to a democratic vote   within the management of the university ,it would'nt pass because some real intellectualls in the school know that this has nothing to do with academic standards,this is just a man Play GOD. HAVING SEX MAY BE A SIN BUT IT'S DEFINATELY NOT A CRIME  (AS LONG AS IT'S NOT WITH A MINOR) and i believe it's this autioratic style of leadership in our churches  that stiffle  democratic agitation in our society,  the truth is  a lot of our pastors do not have  a democratic disposition, that's why they  turn a blind eye when the Government does a number on us and their pacifist messages really underlines their aversion to the concept of democracy,other wise they would'nt weild  that much power ( and you know they're having non of that  Wink guess that's why they are so tolerant of politician,I believe they're two sides of the same coin,the nature of the power they weild may differ in form ,but it's power non the less, how else does a man act so riduculously in this  day and age  of enlightenment. May God help us (then again he may not  Wink
9ja4eva (m)
« #170 on: July 29, 2007, 05:13 AM »

Quote from: texazzpete on July 28, 2007, 11:10 PM
If this is true (and it must be for y'all to be talking about this so fervently) then it's a crying shame. millions of people all over the world are suffering from HIV/AIDS, and the steer from the WHO (which has been accepted by the Nigerian Government) is that we should not discriminate against HIV positive people. This is a great travesty indeed. How do these guys live meaningful lives if they aren't allowed to graduate and make progress with their lives?

As far as i know, he may not have commited any crime by pursuing this line of action. But Bishop Oyedepo should ask himself how much Christian Charity he shows by this action. Unfortunate.

I trip oh
Mustay (m)
« #171 on: July 29, 2007, 09:40 AM »

that school is really trash!!!

no phone, no toasting, no this and that.

How'll their students behave in the outside world?  like holly mallam abi?

when them go 4 nysc, them go see WWWWWUUHHWWEEEEN Shocked
MP007 (m)
« #172 on: July 29, 2007, 11:37 AM »

spread the word and not the virus,  don't see anything wrong , na by force to go to convenant? schools plenty now, u dey fear say u get AIDS,
shens2006 (m)
« #173 on: July 29, 2007, 02:36 PM »

na wa for that sch
dakmanzero (m)
« #174 on: July 29, 2007, 10:22 PM »

Denying someone NYSC clearance because of his health. What in the world next. As if premarital sex is the only way you can contact AIDS.

If they want to be all religous and holier than thou they should just subject the students to a virginity test. At least then they would be honest to themselves.

All girls hitch up ya skirts and let the cleric examine the integrity of thy holy hymen,

As for pregnancy, well, one can say since moral instruction is a part of the school's curriculum, contracting a pregnancy would be seen as a failure of said compulsory course.

It is however a double standard because what then do you do to victims of rape or harrassment. And why do the boys go scot free.
ebos (m)
« #175 on: July 30, 2007, 08:37 AM »

The students just graduated second week of July, 2007.  Just recently.
diyobdw (f)
« #176 on: July 30, 2007, 02:33 PM »

It might not be by force to sch @ Covenant but it is by force to lay good example as an institution.

They really can't go far with it, trust me,
first it was mobile phone now this ,

There is no use bending an bent dried fish,  or am i missing something?  Undecided
pplus
« #177 on: July 30, 2007, 04:21 PM »

So much for being Christains, there is something called second chance
MP007 (m)
« #178 on: July 30, 2007, 06:29 PM »

Quote from: pplus on July 30, 2007, 04:21 PM
So much for being Christains, there is something called second chance

yea right,   u didnt remember that when u was banged and knocked up all night long , abeg leave story
9ja4eva (m)
« #179 on: July 30, 2007, 06:55 PM »

University is a place for all.Most students get married and pregnant in the university.I don't think it is right for them to expel both worlds because as a church u should heal your students if any found wanting and of course you don't expect them to not get married.

The school is not worth the fuse
Galadriel (f)
« #180 on: July 30, 2007, 07:57 PM »

Man oh man, this topic is still going strong! Its good to know a lot of Nigerians are taking this issue seriously.
mgilesanmi
« #181 on: July 30, 2007, 11:43 PM »

Great arguements I must say.I do not intend to pitch my tent with any side of the divide.For those of us in support of the HIV test,what would you do if you are a parent to baby Eniola who was accidentally infected with HIV at the  foremost and prestigious Lagos University Teaching Hospital,LUTH, by eminent nigerian medical professors?What would you do if you discover that just like the over 400  Libyan children, a doctor had intentionally or unintentionally infected you with HIV, What will you do if you accidentally become infected with HIV just like Eniola?I hope some of us realise that in a country like Nigeria, a lot of HIV infections are not tranmitted via sex( could by among other thins, clippers or syringes!).I do hope if any pro HIV test fellow finds himself in any of these situations above,he will be very glad to be discriminated against in SCHOOL,at WORK PLACE, on the football  field ,In the house,By his parents,By his spouse, By his siblings and even in the Church and Mosque.AMEN and AMEN and AMEN.
CASE DISMISSED!
mgilesanmi
« #182 on: July 30, 2007, 11:45 PM »

If you wish to reply to th comments by mgilesanmi, I can be reached via mgilesanmi@yahoo.com or +234 802 671 3353 Grin
Esss (m)
« #183 on: July 31, 2007, 12:00 AM »

Quote from: mgilesanmi on July 30, 2007, 11:43 PM
Great arguements I must say.I do not intend to pitch my tent with any side of the divide.For those of us in support of the HIV test,what would you do if you are a parent to baby Eniola who was accidentally infected with HIV at the  foremost and prestigious Lagos University Teaching Hospital,LUTH, by eminent nigerian medical professors?What would you do if you discover that just like the over 400  Libyan children, a doctor had intentionally or unintentionally infected you with HIV, What will you do if you accidentally become infected with HIV just like Eniola?I hope some of us realise that in a country like Nigeria, a lot of HIV infections are not tranmitted via sex( could by among other thins, clippers or syringes!).I do hope if any pro HIV test fellow finds himself in any of these situations above,he will be very glad to be discriminated against in SCHOOL,at WORK PLACE, on the football  field ,In the house,By his parents,By his spouse, By his siblings and even in the Church and Mosque.AMEN and AMEN and AMEN.
CASE DISMISSED!

You just took a side. Is this your idea of sitting on the fence??
Saddam
« #184 on: July 31, 2007, 02:26 AM »

Covenant University Why?

its very unfortunate that a man of God of a high caliber like David Oyedepo in charge as a Chancellor of Covenant University is discriminating.

9ja4eva (m)
« #185 on: July 31, 2007, 03:22 AM »

Its nt even a matter of discriminating.We shld learn to speak and stay by the truth always.
Chiori (m)
« #186 on: July 31, 2007, 04:23 AM »

I won't waste my breath on this case again.
chickydee
« #187 on: July 31, 2007, 12:52 PM »

It's too bad! HIV discrimination should be stopped. People living with HIV needs more love and care and as for the pregnancy i guess it's their parents they should owe an explanation!
oyeb2003
« #188 on: July 31, 2007, 03:40 PM »

mgilesanmi

« #182 on: Yesterday at 11:43:06 PM » 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CASE DISMISSED!

;)This is a very good point. This is exactly my case. Thanks very much mgilesanmi Cool
Tundeadio
« #189 on: July 31, 2007, 07:24 PM »

This is not reasonable. Although we all know the University is a school with high morals, going this far is not really the solution to the problem. Students of nowadays, the 21st century are so wild and could be dangerous. Morals are very important. The bringing up of our youths from the teachings of the Quran/Bible should be emphasized more than other things. Mind you, HIV is not only contacted through sex. It is also better for a girl to be pregnant and keep the baby rather than abort. The school should be careful with the rules they made so as to prevent would-be students from registering.

Being HIV positive doesn't relegate one to a second citizen. They should be given a fair chance to live. I vehemently oppose it! They should know that the human race is a very complex race. What happens to us, we should deal with hem fairly.
HARWELL
« #190 on: July 31, 2007, 11:20 PM »

no, the bile the did not say anything about hiv, but will need to be carefull about this life.
sage (m)
« #191 on: August 01, 2007, 05:44 AM »

Nigerians are pathetic

Eating all kinds of garbage thrown at the masses.

Let them try this kind of nonsense in the States

A persons personal beliefs cannot be used to stop others from getting an education.

Whats next

Igbos have a tendency towards criminality and should not be allowed on campus Angry Angry Huh
 University Of Ibadan Special Announcement For Screening   Kogi State University Admission List.  The Best University In Nigeria  Page 2
Pages: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) Go Up Send Topic to Friend by E-mail Reply 
Google

Web www.nairaland.com
Sections: TV/Movies (2) Music/Radio (2) Celebrities Job Talk Jobs/Vacancies (2) Career Talk Romance Books Politics Sports Fashion Travel
Health Schooling Religion General(2) Business Webmaster Programming Computers Phones Cars & Trucks

Links: Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Page8 Page9 Page10

Nairaland is owned by Oluwaseun Osewa
Nairaland Forum | Powered by SMF 1.0.12.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.