The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????

Welcome. Please Login, Register, Or Activate! 
type your username and password to login
Date: November 23, 2009, 12:30 PM
431212 members and 298271 Topics
Latest Member: Kwame Amea
Nairaland [Nigerian Forum] Home Help Search Who is currently online? Login Register
Nairaland Forum  |  Technology  |  Webmasters (Moderators: OmniPotens, yawa-ti-de)  |  The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
Pages: (1) Go Down Send this topic Notify of replies
Author Topic: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????  (Read 2029 views)
mutiu78 (m)
The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
« on: October 10, 2007, 10:53 AM »

Someone brought our notice (where I work) to the fraudulent Nigerian Immigration website - https:// portal.immigration.gov.ng/eImmigration/index.htm which looks resemblance with the http://www.immigration.gov.ng/
 
It will be of good interest of the public if The Comptroller General Nigeria Immigration Service; can disclaim this website to avoid people failing prey to these fraudsters.
Anyway, I am still investigating. I called the immigration office awhile ago.

Naija BEWARE


 

PDF
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website
« #1 on: October 10, 2007, 11:12 AM »

I do not think the site is fraudulent as you claim.  If you click on the ePayment link on the 'real site', it takes you to the supposed fraudulent site.

Check this yourself!
mutiu78 (m)
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website
« #2 on: October 10, 2007, 11:23 AM »

Im not sure because Immigration is based in Abuja while the other site based in Lagos.
mutiu78 (m)
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website
« #3 on: October 10, 2007, 11:40 AM »

Yes I can see it now. But look confusing because the email address is different from the IMS.
abhosts (m)
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
« #4 on: October 10, 2007, 12:47 PM »

False Alarm!

How can the sub-domain of a genuine domain name be referred to as a fraud? I advise seun to delete this thread, since it is capable of misleading the public.

believeme
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
« #5 on: October 10, 2007, 12:59 PM »

Please delete this
mutiu78 (m)
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
« #6 on: October 10, 2007, 01:20 PM »

Its confusing because the email (support@socketworksglobal.com) on is different from  info@immigration.gov.ng

and they posted http://www.immigration.gov.ng/scamalert.htm as scam alert on their website



Please be informed that www.immigration.gov.ng remains the only authentic and genuine website of the Nigeria Immigration Service whose registered office is now at Sauka Village, Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport Road, Abuja.

We have uncovered several fictitious websites of some unscrupulous persons sending e-mails, letters and telephone calls to unsuspecting members of the public by impersonating officials of the Operations Directorate responsible for Visas and Passports, claiming that on the payment of specified amounts of money to them, they will provide assistance for the procurement of travel assistance ie. Visa/Work Permit, Residence Permit, and Passports.

The Nigeria Immigration Service wishes to dissociate itself from any transaction entered into on the strength of such scam mails/correspondence or any other representation made via any of the fictitious website/e-mail addresses. Please be informed that the Nigeria Immigration Service does not solicit payment from individual through letters or any other means of correspondence.

The Nigeria Immigration Service will not be liable for any loss incurred by any person who deals with the imposters contrary to this advice.

In the event that you receive this kind of solicitation mails/letters, please disregard the sender. Contact the nearest Nigerian Consulate, Embassy or High-Commission nearest to your place of domicile for further information. You may also send mail to info@immigration.gov.ng or call any of these numbers:

+2348033048426
+2348035071298
+2348033047260
my2cents (m)
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
« #7 on: October 10, 2007, 02:08 PM »

Looking at both sites independently, based on what I see, in my opinion, the "http://www.immigration.gov.ng/" site is the on that looks fraudulent  Tongue

Be that as it may, I think the best thing the Immigration service can do is track down all such fraudulent sites and have them shut down.  It shouldn't be that hard.  With oil at least $80/barrel, we can afford to have an IT fraud department that does nothing but hunt down fraudulent sites, wherever in the world they may be and take the owners of such sites to court.  Next thing would be to undergo a big time ad campaign (billboards, tv, radio, newspaper) alerting the public to such sites and flashing the real url so many times that it gets permanently burnt in our subconscious.  Finally (and I say this one because I don't think either site is fraudulent), the "portal" site should be marked as such in the header.  As it is, both headers say the same thing and it does beg the question of which site is fraudulent and which site isn't.

As always, my 2 cents.
niyyie (m)
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
« #8 on: October 11, 2007, 01:15 AM »

Mutiu, you got it all wrong. The URL you pointed to is not fake.

My2cents, these fake sites come-up every day. Name it. Fake government websites, fake Nigeria immigration website, fake bank websites, fake telecom company websites etc.

I can assure you though that there are people actively working hard to have such fake sites shut down by their web hosts. An example is aa419.org

I did a post on my blog about these fake Nigerian sites, over a month ago. See Nigeria: Beware of Fake Central Bank, Immigration Service, oil company websites
my2cents (m)
Re: The Fraudulent Nigerian Immigration Website????
« #9 on: October 11, 2007, 01:23 AM »

Quote
My2cents, these fake sites come-up every day. Name it. Fake government websites, fake Nigeria immigration website, fake bank websites, fake telecom company websites etc.
No argument there.  All I am asking for is a solution.

Quote
I can assure you though that there are people actively working hard to have such fake sites shut down by their web hosts.
This is indeed a solution.
 How Do I Get Snails Out Of A Fish Tank  Nigerian "google Map"  I'm Testing Nairalist.com: What Do You Think?  Page 2
Pages: (1) Go Up Send Topic to Friend by E-mail Reply 


Sections: Autos/Cars (2) Jobs/Vacancies (2) (3) Career Talk Education General(2) Politics Romance Computers Phones Travel
Sports Fashion Health Religion Celebrities TV/Movies (2) Music/Radio (2) Books Webmasters Programming

Links: Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Page8 Page9 Page10

Nairaland is owned by Oluwaseun Osewa. See also: Nairalist Classified Ads
Nairaland Forum | Powered by SMF 1.0.12.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.