Are Nigerian Men Lazy Or Just Completely Insensitive?

A Member? Please Login  
type your username and password to login
Date: November 19, 2008, 12:15 PM
262633 members and 159939 Topics
Latest Member: keanu4love
Nairaland [Nigerian Forum] Home Help Search Who is currently online? Login Register
Nairaland Forum  |  General Discussion  |  Culture  |  Are Nigerian Men Lazy Or Just Completely Insensitive?
Pages: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) Go Down Send this topic Notify of replies
Author Topic: Are Nigerian Men Lazy Or Just Completely Insensitive?  (Read 4510 views)
prince_onx
Re: Are Nigerian Men Lazy Or Just Completely Insensitive?
« #64 on: November 10, 2007, 09:05 PM »

Poor Chiogo let me not add to you pain but I'll advise you to proof read your topics next time before posting them and don't forget to use words like SOME, FEW, and so on instead of , you know lol. And did I hear you ask if cooking isn't enough work? I hope not! and lastly if you don't like or can't deal with Nigerian men, you might want to consider others when you're old enoughhhhhh!
j-girl (f)
« #65 on: November 10, 2007, 09:09 PM »

Girl, I agree with you. All the naija dudes I've met are downright insensitive. The day I meet a sensitive naija dude that can cater to a woman properly, pigs will fly.
Sensitivity is not only in carrying bags for the lady but also romantically. It's like they have no clue at all. Yet most of them make fun of white dudes for being too soft.
Naija life, US life - all the same no change. I don tire o!
lilrukevwe (m)
« #66 on: November 10, 2007, 09:12 PM »

This matter strong oh Naija men are not lazy they are practically playing the nigerian culture but that not a room to go with ur wife to the grocerioes store and watch her carry all the heavy stuffs
prince_onx
« #67 on: November 10, 2007, 09:15 PM »

This whole topic is funny! Grin where are those sisters and women that claim/call shopping one of their hubbies? instead of buying what they need! please help us here we need to know who carry them for you! soon some of you will ask men to share the nine months pregnancy period!
predi (m)
« #68 on: November 10, 2007, 09:16 PM »

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Hold on! Where do you reside? I guess the US based on your posting! Did I mention language? No I said “accent”!
So what was your question---- “Are Nigerian Men Lazy or Just Completely Insensitive?” My answer ----only Naija women who come to the US try to turn the naija men into complete nonsense, just because they cannot maintain a balance between their culture and the new environment they meet themselves. Did I answer you question or you still think I am digressing. Sorry to say your thoughts of how a typical Nigerian man must behave has been affected by the US environment, thus your question.

Sometimes a conversation might get a bit technical so you have to be able to think ahead. And based on the fact that you are not close to the age of marriage, that explains you are a bit immature to understand the depth of a response.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

femo- u wan kill d poor girl, she just suggested in her words ow yung she is- don't bash her in an adult manner.

chiogo- this is N-LAND, u don't ask questions anyow, i understand ur point, only, u didnt put it accross nicely. askin a question like that suggests so many things[u didnt knw, now u knw-lessons on N-LAND].

Quote from: d-thing on November 10, 2007, 09:01 PM
CHIOGO DON"T MIND THE HATERS> THEY HAVE ALL FAILED TO ANSWER A SIMPLE QUESTION?

I"VE ALWAYS LIVED IN NAIJA AND OUR MEN DO IT A LOT BECAUSE THEY THINK THAT IS THE WAY TO BE A MAN>
IT IS ABSOLUTELY WRONG BUT IT IS PREVAILENT IN OUR SOCIETY< IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN OUR WAY OF LIFE>
ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT CARRYING BAGS ALONE? WHAT THEN WOULD YOU HAVE TO SAY ABOUT WORKING MOTHERS IN NAIJA WHO GO TO WORK JUST LIKE THE HUSBAND< THEY BOTH RETURN AT THE SAME TIME BUT WHILE ONE SITS BY THE TV THE OTHER IS ON HER FEET IN THE KITCHEN OR WITH THE KIDS>COOKING< DOING HOUSE CHORES< PREPARING HER FAMILY FOR THE NEXT DAY WITH ABSOLUTELY NO HELP FROM HER "TIRED" HUSBAND>

THE NEXT MORNING SHE"S UP FIRST SO SHE CAN BATHE THE KIDS AND THEN REPEAT THE ROUTINE DUTIES>>>> FUNNY THING IS THAT AT THE END OF THE MONTH ITS NOT JUST THE MAN THAT PAYS THE BILL<<< THE SUPER WOMAN HAS TO PULL IN HER RESOURCES AS WELL><< SHE NEVER GETS PAID FOR THE EXTRA WORK AND THE HUSBAND DOESN"T PAY THE BILLS ALONE>>

THIS IS WHAT IS OBTAINABLE IN MOST HOMES IN LAGOS TODAY AND IT GETS WORSE THAN THAT>>>

BOTTOM LINE IS THAT IF YOU HAVE A MAN LIKE THAT< THEN DON"T BUY MORE THAN YOU CAN CARRY IF HE"S NOT going to HELP>

@ u
what re u yappin about,60% of working women in Lagos use dia hard earned mony to buy clothes for owambe parties, so the wife works what effect does her mony have in that home. u gals ehn!! u say the craziest tins.
toyinrayo (f)
« #69 on: November 10, 2007, 09:17 PM »

Quote from: j-girl on November 10, 2007, 09:09 PM
Girl, I agree with you. All the naija dudes I've met are downright insensitive. The day I meet a sensitive naija dude that can cater to a woman properly, pigs will fly.
Sensitivity is not only in carrying bags for the lady but also romantically. It's like they have no clue at all. Yet most of them make fun of white dudes for being too soft.
Naija life, US life - all the same no change. I don tire o!

LOL
j-girl (f)
« #70 on: November 10, 2007, 09:20 PM »

Quote from: prince_onx on November 10, 2007, 09:15 PM
This whole topic is funny! Grin where are those sisters and women that claim/call shopping one of their hubbies? instead of buying what they need! please help us here we need to know who carry them for you! soon some of you will ask men to share the nine months pregnancy period!

Is it too much to ask for guys to share our time of labor too? Shocked A lot of guys stick by their pregnant wives instead of running away or going out to get drunk. That's why people get married - to help each other through thick and thin. Afterall, didn't the guy put work into creating the pregnancy?
lilrukevwe (m)
« #71 on: November 10, 2007, 09:22 PM »

Una na get una mouth make una use am curse una boyfrds husband brother papa because all of them na naija men.But the fact is look at the closest of ur immediate family have they done that if not then Naija men are good and sensitive
sbm4real (m)
« #72 on: November 10, 2007, 09:26 PM »

hey guys,

the truth be told; Nigerian men are insensitive. i am a man and i know the way we think.men believe they marry those women to do the chores. i once heard a guy tell the wife during a quarrel that i married you to wash and cook for me. imagine that kind of a phrase, quite discouraging.

i am of the opinion that men and women should share equal responsibilities at home. as in no one is bigger than the other. they are supposed to be companions. when men help the wives, it is romantic and fosters love. the ladies don't really need the help, they need the feeling that their men are sensitive to their needs.

niger men, please love your wives and treat them right.
j-girl (f)
« #73 on: November 10, 2007, 09:29 PM »

Eh ehn! Even one of your own admitted it. Thank you for being real jare - sbm4real. All the other naija guys here defending their species are in denial.
predi (m)
« #74 on: November 10, 2007, 09:30 PM »

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Chiogo----
People who understand what I am saying do and i guess you are not one of them. When a Naija woman leaves Naija and come to the US (example) they change into something else. Asking if a naija man is lazy or insensitive is based on a lot of factors, one being comparism. There must be a basis for your comparism and that could be related to behavior of other races and even other Nigerians in general.
But I must tell you, when a woman calls her husband lazy, that is insulting to him and vice-versa. It goes on to say a man can no longer perform his duty. But when you say insensitive, it is another ball game on its own.
How many women based in Nigeria will bother if their husband carries a bag for them or not. If it is too heavy for a woman to carry a few bags, then all she need to do is ask for a hand and if the husband does not help then you can qualify that as insensitive not lazy.
But when our Naija women get to the US they make new laws, come up with new ideas that is novel and want to perpetuate it. The irony of it all is that it starts from a simple question like yours, then a notch further. Give an inch they take a mile. Are you still at awe
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

dude, u sabi talk person mind.CHAI!!!!! U be winch?

one of the repression women have faced and still face till today, the ability not to tackle real issues that affect them. SENSITIVITY my smelly socks. ow many of ur happy- very happy mothers back hia at home complained to you that ur fathers diddnt carry grocery bags? how many? omo mehn!! i tire 4 una o!!

una don come turn to the proverbial oyinbo people -wey don chop bellyfull, wey dey look for "bekun bekun". u re runnin my mony on clothes and shoes that u don't really nid and yet u want me to still help u carry them stuffs?

IS IT UNTIL WE SAY -'YES MAAM, ' to everytin that we qualify to be called "SENSITIVE" and una go si don finish dey ask for equality of rights and all. yet when it is convenient u assume the weaker vessell posture and when it is not convenient u assume the 'equality war' posture. confusion confusion confusion
prince_onx
« #75 on: November 10, 2007, 09:30 PM »

OK! I'll breast feed the baby too because na me born am! Look sharing time of Labour is different from what I said! and like I said before, Nigerian guys/men is not a must! I know Nigerian girls that don't even say hi to Nigerian guys/men here in US! if you don't like them, date people from other places,  Good God!
adetina (f)
« #76 on: November 10, 2007, 09:33 PM »

see when a generalized statement is made, ie 'NIGERIAN MEN', offense is bound to be taken by some. that nigerian Manchester United speak of is only one, not all. that's as if someone asked, 'why are black people robbers and thugs?',  i'd be like, hey wait a min,  because i know i am not one. my boyfriend is from ogun state and is in no way lazy - he works very hard and goes to school. nor is he insensitive - he constantly thinks of his mum & family back home and sends them money all the time. as 4 bag carrying bags, when we have groceries he lets me carry nothing! i feel sheepish as he carries even the bread. i have to wrestle w/ him to carry even such a small package lol. my shopping stuff is different i guess he knows i'm too ecstatic to have them so he doesn't interfere and i don't mind.  Smiley all in all, its not a guy's nationality that plays a role, but his personality and how he was reared. this thing has turned into something else resembling an attack on naija guys, which i am sure is not what was intended. it's a matter of how things are worded. sorry to have begun a chapter lol, i'll stop now. oh and to the one who said who cares about the us (or something like that), well,  thanx!      
prince_onx
« #77 on: November 10, 2007, 09:34 PM »

Thank u Adetina
j-girl (f)
« #78 on: November 10, 2007, 09:36 PM »

Adetina - you're lucky in that case. There are not many of their kind.
Quote from: prince_onx on November 10, 2007, 09:30 PM
OK! I'll breast feed the baby too because na me born am! Look sharing time of Labour is different from what I said! and like I said before, Nigerian guys/men is not a must! I know Nigerian girls that don't even say hi to Nigerian guys/men here in US! if you don't like them, date people from other places,  Good God!
The fact that I think they are insensitive doesn't mean I shouldn't date them. It just means I shouldn't give too much thought into taking that relationship further. It's better that way. There's nothing worse than getting your heart broken by a guy who doesn't really care.
lilrukevwe (m)
« #79 on: November 10, 2007, 09:40 PM »

sbm4real,i agree with u on a light note i got an uncle that would even scrub the bathroom for the wife he works far away abeokuta but makes it to lagos every day to and fro and upon that he sees to it that the lady works less so were is the insensitivity in it
   what i see that make smen shy away from this responsibility is that when they get to do this the ladies uses it to brag among their frds my man did this my man did that and the next lady accuse her husband and the husband in turn yabs the guy that way the guy feels let down u know we men we savor our pride alot alot
  so please don't blame them
chiogo (f)
« #80 on: November 10, 2007, 09:40 PM »

damn, @sbm4real thank you, jare.
@j-girl, girl, i got u.

d-thing, thanks, girl, this is all a joke to me, so they can keep d disses comin' Smiley

@predi, ok, then. so what do u suggest??. i shld be scared to post my opinion because this is nairaland. This only shows a sissy, now why would a "man" go about exchangin' words with/callin' names on d internet with a girl too. Huh trust me, i ain't scared. 20 of 'em are not enough to bring me down, they shld go get more people 'cause this chick does not really care.

@Justgood, yo, leave my case alone!!! you bet am goin' to do good and even better than u think but unfortunately my dear, nobody really cares  what u think. If the topic irritates u so badly, why do u keep comin' back??

@princeonx, i suggest u go read my very first post. am sure u didn't bother to do that but if u did, then smthin' must be really wrong!!
predi (m)
« #81 on: November 10, 2007, 09:42 PM »

Quote from: adetina on November 10, 2007, 09:33 PM
see when a generalized statement is made, ie 'NIGERIAN MEN', offense is bound to be taken by some. that nigerian Manchester United speak of is only one, not all. that's as if someone asked, 'why are black people robbers and thugs?', i'd be like, hey wait a min, because i know i am not one. my boyfriend is from ogun state and is in no way lazy - he works very hard and goes to school. nor is he insensitive - he constantly thinks of his mum & family back home and sends them money all the time. as 4 bag carrying bags, when we have groceries he lets me carry nothing! i feel sheepish as he carries even the bread. i have to wrestle w/ him to carry even such a small package lol. my shopping stuff is different i guess he knows i'm too ecstatic to have them so he doesn't interfere and i don't mind.  Smiley all in all, its not a guy's nationality that plays a role, but his personality and how he was reared. this thing has turned into something else resembling an attack on naija guys, which i am sure is not what was intended. it's a matter of how things are worded. sorry to have begun a chapter lol, i'll stop now. oh and to the one who said who cares about the us (or something like that), well, thanx!      

adetina- girl-i give kudos to ur mum, she tot u well and u recieved training well. ur boi frend, should be proud of you.

prince_onx
« #82 on: November 10, 2007, 09:43 PM »

Put it this way! some African/American girls go through hell from their men, some Asians the same, some white folks the same, other African women the same! people from all colour and races go through one thing or the other intheir relationships but when it come to Nigeria, our women/girls will put it on the front page! Just because someone's LAZY uncle is Insensitive and won't help his wife doesn't mean someone that generalizes should come out here and say nonsense about all men from a whole country! NO! Hell NO!!
presido1
« #83 on: November 10, 2007, 09:45 PM »

Quote from: j-girl on November 10, 2007, 09:36 PM
Adetina - you're lucky in that case. There are not many of their kind. The fact that I think they are insensitive doesn't mean I shouldn't date them. It just means I shouldn't give too much thought into taking that relationship further. It's better that way. There's nothing worse than getting your heart broken by a guy who doesn't really care.
It will be good to break that your heart nearer to home than to break it in Somali land. The devil you know is?u know the rest.
Quote from: sbm4real on November 10, 2007, 09:26 PM
hey guys,

the truth be told; Nigerian men are insensitive. i am a man and i know the way we think.men believe they marry those women to do the chores. i once heard a guy tell the wife during a quarrel that i married you to wash and cook for me. imagine that kind of a phrase, quite discouraging.

i am of the opinion that men and women should share equal responsibilities at home. as in no one is bigger than the other. they are supposed to be companions. when men help the wives, it is romantic and fosters love. the ladies don't really need the help, they need the feeling that their men are sensitive to their needs.

niger men, please love your wives and treat them right.
Including you.
predi (m)
« #84 on: November 10, 2007, 09:49 PM »

Shocked j-girl i think ur issues are more dan what chiogo stated hia. u! have got more stronger issues, its sooooooooooo evident. omo mehn!! bois bad o!!!
toyinrayo (f)
« #85 on: November 10, 2007, 09:49 PM »

guys, dnt just say "carrying the bags". . . chiogo was using that as an example. . . all of you here denying this topic, may be and may not you're  what the topic saysbut you can't all also speak for other naija men ,na? there are naija men out there who are indeed insensitive. they think it'll will hurt their pride to help their wife,especially publicly helping their wife. that they're the head of the house and they should use that opportunity to be lazy.

and i know that not everybody knows everybody

now to clear the airnow i do indeed what to know myself. . . are some naija men purposely doing it or is there a more personal reason to that?
i've seen such occasion too, not only in the store. . .
prince_onx
« #86 on: November 10, 2007, 09:50 PM »

Chiogo what's in your first post that speaks morethan the Topic itself! Thats the first thing people read in most things they read! You messed it all up when you generalize Period.
j-girl (f)
« #87 on: November 10, 2007, 09:54 PM »

Quote from: predi on November 10, 2007, 09:49 PM
Shocked j-girl i think your issues are more dan what chiogo stated hia. u! have got more stronger issues, its sooooooooooo evident. omo mehn!! bois bad o!!!
Lol - it's not what you think o! I haven't had my heart broken by any naija guy. I'm just tired of the b.s. i keep hearing from my girls. They always turn me to counselor on top their useless relationship issues. As for me, I'm a big girl - I know how to handle myself with naija guys.

Presido - getting your heart broken by anyone is not preferable when distance is involved.
chiogo (f)
« #88 on: November 10, 2007, 09:56 PM »

@prince_onx, That was not d real title, seun kind of modified it for me but he knows what he was doin' because i think what it is now is more specific. D title i gave it was "Is it that naija dudes are lazy or totally insensitive??" I don't see what's rude or generalizin' about that. What i posted was based on an experience which i posted on my first post. I don't know what's so difficult to understand. Anywayz, am done with u people. I think i got enough responses for just a simple question.
prince_onx
« #89 on: November 10, 2007, 09:56 PM »

No guy here atleast not me is defending Nigerian guys/men NO! Generalizing all of them is the ONLY problem here! we have some stupid nigerian men that hit their wife, someone here also admit that one of his uncle always tell his wife he married her for house work and so on, no doubt some won't even carry shopping bags regarless of how many the bags are or heavy they are but when you generalize the onces that do it with those that don't do it thats where you screw up! thats all we saying here atleast that's what I'm saying!
faketan (m)
« #90 on: November 10, 2007, 09:57 PM »

One good thing you guys will try to find out is the result of this being sensitive.

90% of nigerian women will take you as feminine. I was just telling a friend about an experience I had. You do everything to make a girl feel welcome as a friend and may be something more(being sensitive in you girls term) but it will now make the girl think you are not man enough.

It is perculiar with Nigerian women. So guys if want to be sensitive be careful because an average Nigerian girl does not grow up with soft dad or soft men. They believe being helpful is not manly.

It is not their fault.
chiogo (f)
« #91 on: November 10, 2007, 09:59 PM »

how is it generalizin' when my topic is a question??. it's not like it says" naija men are lazy and insensitive". ok, get it together.
Badman888 (m)
« #92 on: November 10, 2007, 09:59 PM »

nigerian men lazy what, Girls always keeps insulting us Nigeria girls they should kukuma just go find oyibo man and marry, no be by force
presido1
« #93 on: November 10, 2007, 10:00 PM »

quote author=prince_onx link=topic=92222.msg1668827#msg1668827 date=1194728196]
No guy here atleast not me is defending Nigerian guys/men NO! Generalizing all of them is the ONLY problem here! we have some stupid nigerian men that hit their wife, someone here also admit that one of his uncle always tell his wife he married her for house work and so on, no doubt some won't even carry shopping bags regarless of how many the bags are or heavy they are but when you generalize the onces that do it with those that don't do it thats where you screw up! thats all we saying here atleast that's what I'm saying!
So you have not seen nigerian woman that beat his husband? Can u because of this generalise that all nigerian women beat their husband.
Faketan has said it all.
predi (m)
« #94 on: November 10, 2007, 10:02 PM »

@toyinrayo my name sake, well true but u forgot to add that its evident with evry oda nationality not just nigerian men. and now that u re askin d question in a more incisive and matured manner, i bet u'll get betta replies
  Achiogo lern from ur elder sisters ow to 'geress' the naija man's ego and u'll go places. Cool Cry
prince_onx
« #95 on: November 10, 2007, 10:05 PM »

Chiogo you'll still get the same response if what I just read would have been the topic! You still missed the word  "SOME" I can even live with "MOST" instead of not using any atall! Nigerian men, Nigerian Dudes is the same! you generalized all of them and that's my only issue with you I'm not defending them! I'm speaking for me!
 Which State Are You From?  Where Are The Ibos, Hausas And Other Non-Yorubas?  Nigerian Proverbs (in English)  Page 2
Pages: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) Go Up Send Topic to Friend by E-mail Reply 
Google

Web www.nairaland.com
Sections: TV/Movies (2) Music/Radio (2) Celebrities Job Talk Jobs/Vacancies (2) Career Talk Romance Books Politics Sports Fashion Travel
Health Schooling Religion General(2) Business Webmaster Programming Computers Phones Cars & Trucks

Links: Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Page8 Page9 Page10

Nairaland is owned by Oluwaseun Osewa
Nairaland Forum | Powered by SMF 1.0.12.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.