Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb

A Member? Please Login  
type your username and password to login
Date: November 19, 2008, 12:23 PM
262636 members and 159941 Topics
Latest Member: 312niki
Nairaland [Nigerian Forum] Home Help Search Who is currently online? Login Register
Nairaland Forum  |  General Discussion  |  Business (Moderators: FOD, naijacutee)  |  Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
Pages: (1) Go Down Send this topic Notify of replies
Author Topic: Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb  (Read 157 views)
naira4doll (m)
Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
« on: November 10, 2007, 09:09 PM »

Nigerians, beware of this fake e-mails circulating asking people to update to GTB Account details online, it's a fraud to ripp off all your money. The link looks like it's from GTB but it's actually www.gtbple.com rather than the original www.gtbplc.com.
Thank God the site has been suspended!

Below is the message:


 Dear Valued Customer,

Guaranty Trust Bank eLectronic Notification Service (GeNS)
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
Due to concerns, for the safety and integrity of the GTBank
account we have issued this warning message.

It has come to our attention that your GTBank account information needs to be
updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to
reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes
out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into
any future problems with the online service.

Once you have updated your account records your GTBank account
service will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.

To update your GTBank records click on the following link:
http://www.gtbplc.com/ibanking/signon?LOB=CONS&screenid=Update_Acct

Regards,

Guaranty Trust Bank OnlineĀ® Banking Department

NB:
Our notification service sent this mail to you using a default setting and the
information you supplied to us when your account was opened. If you wish to limit
the type of mails you recieve or the email address(es) in use, please send a mail

Accounts Management As outlined in our User Agreement, GTBank will
periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements.

Visit our Privacy Policy and User


niceuzor
Re: Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
« #1 on: November 10, 2007, 09:32 PM »

OMG -  Shocked
foryou (m)
Re: Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
« #2 on: November 11, 2007, 05:29 PM »

naira4doll @ if i ask people to buy  from you what is my %? get back to me my mail my e-mail is on my profile thanks
naira4doll (m)
Re: Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
« #3 on: November 11, 2007, 10:54 PM »

Quote from: money4you on November 11, 2007, 05:29 PM
naira4doll @ if i ask people to buy  from you what is my %? get back to me my mail my e-mail is on my profile thanks

I have replied to that
crazyT (m)
Re: Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
« #4 on: November 12, 2007, 02:07 AM »

@ Naira4doll


Thank a lot, I received the same mail too (4 times) I almost replied to one of the mails before I recollect that the email they send the mail through it's not my normal email known to GTB, that is why I never used my official email address on public forum.
I now know where they get my email from; NAIRALAND!!!
naira4doll (m)
Re: Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
« #5 on: November 12, 2007, 07:28 AM »

[color=#000099]yes, especially if you display your e-mail here. As a business man, my e-mail cannot be secret, let them keep sending, they'll only get my "DELETE" button busy.
These days, i no longer respond to mails from any coporate body, i simply visit to confirm.
[/color]
foryou (m)
Re: Beware! Fake E-mail Claiming To Be From Gtb
« #6 on: November 12, 2007, 03:31 PM »

naira4doll @ if i ask people to buy  from you what is my %? get back to me my mail my e-mail is on my profile thanks


I have replied to that

i have reply to ur mail too check it and get back to me soon
 Any I T Student Needed?  Soap And Candle Making  Firstbank Or Union, Which Of These Has Stronger Capital Base  Page 2
Pages: (1) Go Up Send Topic to Friend by E-mail Reply 
Google
 
Web www.nairaland.com
Sections: TV/Movies (2) Music/Radio (2) Celebrities Job Talk Jobs/Vacancies (2) Career Talk Romance Books Politics Sports Fashion Travel
Health Schooling Religion General(2) Business Webmaster Programming Computers Phones Cars & Trucks

Links: Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Page8 Page9 Page10

Nairaland is owned by Oluwaseun Osewa
Nairaland Forum | Powered by SMF 1.0.12.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.