Kobojunkie
LMAO!!!!!! RUMOUR MONGERS !!!!! @Poster , here is a couple of questions for you 1) What country do you live in 2) Did you bother to research the real story behind those videos and the prisoners, if any that the group claims will be housed there ?? 3) Did you even make sure that that video is legit cause as I listed, the lady never really made any concrete claims but suggestions of what could be housed in such and you run away with the facility  ? 4) Do you know that having and owning many detention centers for housing illegal immigrants is not same as having concentration camps??
denex
If na Nigerian issue dey Youtube, none of you will want to double-check, now it's the USA and people are getting skeptical about this and that. Well, no be say I even care, na the peopl wey go USA go enter concentration camp.
Tayo-D (m)
@topic,
With the ever increasing number of nairalanders who are gullible enough to accept as truth a tripe like this, no wonder professional rumour peddlers who pose as reporters are making a very robust living.
Did anyone hear the reporter mention that this is actually an Amtrak facility? Shouldn't that put to rest any conspiracy theory as to the use of the facility? And by the way, the report was all speculation and no one should lose sleep over it. Una need to focus more on your troubles there in naija rather than spculating about all that you think is wrong with the US.
Afam (m)
If na Nigerian issue dey Youtube, none of you will want to double-check, now it's the USA and people are getting skeptical about this and that.
These people will rather die defending the US than face facts. Una need to focus more on your troubles there in naija rather than spculating about all that you think is wrong with the US.
Thanks for the advice, now would you and your gang focus more on your troubles in the US on an appropriate forum rather than sticking your noses in issues concerning Nigeria? Hypocrisy at its peak here. You live in the US and instead of looking for a forum where you can discuss the many problems of the US you keep defending and supporting the US even when the country is clearly doing something wrong and you have the guts to ask people here to focus on Nigeria issues. Seems you have mastered the art of double standards so well.
almondjoy (f)
@topic,
With the ever increasing number of nairalanders who are gullible enough to accept as truth a tripe like this, no wonder professional rumour peddlers who pose as reporters are making a very robust living.
Did anyone hear the reporter mention that this is actually an Amtrak facility? Shouldn't that put to rest any conspiracy theory as to the use of the facility? And by the way, the report was all speculation and no one should lose sleep over it. Una need to focus more on your troubles there in naija rather than spculating about all that you think is wrong with the US.
he he he he he he he! Pidgin English from Tayo-D? This must be serious oh!  These people will rather die defending the US than face facts.
Thanks for the advice, now would you and your gang focus more on your troubles in the US on an appropriate forum rather than sticking your noses in issues concerning Nigeria?
Hypocrisy at its peak here. You live in the US and instead of looking for a forum where you can discuss the many problems of the US you keep defending and supporting the US even when the country is clearly doing something wrong and you have the guts to ask people here to focus on Nigeria issues. Seems you have mastered the art of double standards so well. Hmmmmmmm. With all due respects Afam, nobody hates Nigeria here on this forum including myself--believe it or not. It is just that things have to be discussed without bias or malice. Sometimes it is difficult to understand why we as Nigerians focus on other peoples' and nations' problems when we have worse to contend with. It just does not make any sense. The fact that some of "us" live in the US does not make us love Nigeria less.
almondjoy (f)
Errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr?-----  --- Which history are you referring to please? Look, when it comes to America and Oyinbo people, we are enlightened enough to know that anything is "possible". My problem with this kind of topics is that it has no bearing on Nigerian affairs which ALL of us are concerned about. It may be "history" as you put it, but the current affairs in Nigeria are more horrifying than most "histories" in any other part of the world---I think.
RichyBlacK (m)
I'm not surprised: 1. they have secret prisons in Europe and other parts of the world 2. they tortured prisoners in Abu Ghraib (only expressed remorse because they were scandalously exposed) 3. they torture prisoners in Afghanistan 4. they torture and kill prisoners in Guantánamo Bay 5. they kidnap and extra-judicially transfer prisoners to countries where they're tortured (torture by proxy; extraordinary rendition) 6. they put Japanese Americans in concentration camps (inside the US) during WWII 7. they defend torture and ignore the Geneva Conventions when it rally matters
Only those who are clueless about the psychology, culture and Weltanschauung of the Bush administration would express any form of surprise at this.
A Wikipedia excerpt to corroborate the story:
Current Camps * Emergency internment camps are currently under construction on US soil by Halliburton’s subsidiary KBR (formerly Kellogg, Brown and Root). According to Business Wire, on January 24, 2006, KBR announced that it had been awarded a $385 million contingency contract by the Department of Homeland Security to build "temporary detention and processing facilities." Dave Lindorff has reported in CounterPunch that "these detention camps [are] reportedly capable of confining as many as 400,000 people, and a recent report [states] that the Pentagon has a document, dated June 1, 2007, classified Top Secret, which declares there to be a developing 'insurgency' within the US, and which lays out a whole martial law counterinsurgency campaign."[28]
almondjoy (f)
We know! How is all this helping Nigeria and all it's problems is what I want to know. Does it make you feel better that you are less adequate as a "nation"? 
RichyBlacK (m)
It is foolhardy not to watch closely, the activities of a very powerful nation that is governed by people who: 1. Falsely accuse other nations of having WMD 2. Have a policy of preemptive strike 3. Use the fear of military invasion as a threat against nations they disagree with 4. Believe war is always inevitable with nations that don't follow their own ideology 5. Actually carry out invasions on other nations 6. Do not care about the civilian populace of nations they invade 7. Have a high affinity for all things OIL 8. Call for World War III 9. Encourage strife in the Middle-east so as to sell fear military equipment 10. Believe that the world is divided into two camps: those that support their stupidity the US and those against the US. America is one of the most powerful nations in the world, and the fact that a looney is her current president is enough reason for every person on earth to contemplate the future of this planet. George Bush, in his infinite lunacy, can drop a nuclear bomb on nations ( Nigeria is no exception) that he does not like. Basically, his actions can have dire consequences for Nigerians. So, we ALL have to be interested in what he does and says ("memorable quotes"  )
Tayo-D (m)
@Afam, Thanks for the advice, now would you and your gang focus more on your troubles in the US on an appropriate forum rather than sticking your noses in issues concerning Nigeria? Why shouldn't I be involved in naija. The last time I checked, I am still a Nigerian with heavy interests in the country. Now I am trying to find out what my troubles are here. I am not sleeping with one eye open as I used to in naija because of armed robbery. I am inspired by excellence with all around me compared to what I experienced in naija. The list can go on and on. Hypocrisy at its peak here. You live in the US and instead of looking for a forum where you can discuss the many problems of the US you keep defending and supporting the US even when the country is clearly doing something wrong and you have the guts to ask people here to focus on Nigeria issues. I can't remember defending the US here. That I pointed to the crappy reporting someone here is trying to pass out as facts is now supporting the US? You need to be able to understand what you read. I mentioned that the facility in question actually belongs to Amtrak, and I was hoping someone with brains will take that up, but y'all have carefully side-stepped the issue because it does not augur well for your delusion. Seems you have mastered the art of double standards so well. You say I shouldn't talk about naija and yet you are quick to talk about the US. I am far more qualified to talk about Nigeria than you are qualified to talk about the US, and you are no more qualified to talk about Nigeria than I am. And can I also add that I am more qualified to talk about the US than you are. In any case, your ability to leap-frog to a conclusion with no intellectual basis for that position is second to none in the history of nairaland. It would have been nice to engage you in this debate, but history has taught me that doing so would not enrich me intellectually because you have never made any meaningful intellectual contribution to any debate. As per personality attack however, you are second to none. I have no time for such. Until you learn to address the issue in question and provide some reasonable and intellectually stimulating posts, I will absolutely ignore you. In the meantime, I will be watching to see how quickly you bring the quality of this debate to the gutters like you never fail to do on every thread!
Kobojunkie
Fact remains that the video provides no solid evidence for the claim that these facilities are being used as concentration camps nor does it provide us with information supporting the assumption that these facilities are being modified for such. Unless you can provide evidence to back up that claim, you have nothing but the same old ramblings, which I am sure many of us are now used to.
rookie (m)
Hmmmmmmm. With all due respects Afam, nobody hates Nigeria here on this forum including myself--believe it or not. It is just that things have to be discussed without bias or malice. Sometimes it is difficult to understand why we as Nigerians focus on other peoples' and nations' problems when we have worse to contend with. It just does not make any sense. The fact that some of "us" live in the US does not make us love Nigeria less.
Look, when it comes to America and Oyinbo people, we are enlightened enough to know that anything is "possible". My problem with this kind of topics is that it has no bearing on Nigerian affairs which ALL of us are concerned about. It may be "history" as you put it, but the current affairs in Nigeria are more horrifying than most "histories" in any other part of the world---I think.
Suprisingly, I'm pretty impressed with both statements. This sheds a brighter light on your perspective. "Some people see a donut as it is while some see the hole in it" - It all balls down to the difference in the idealogies and perspectives we share.
analyt82 (f)
I do not see or hear any evidence in this video of that "facility" being a consintraion camp. Furthermore, even if it is (not saying that it is or is right), no one really has room to pass any judgement. B/c weather we want to admit it or not, EVERY country, nation, continent, however you want to refer to yourself, has had one, in one form or another.