Stats: 3,150,585 members, 7,809,120 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 11:59 PM

$60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator (2378 Views)

Appeal Court Sacks Rivers PDP Senator George Sekibo / Boko Haram’s Abduction Of Chibok Girls Was Real – PDP Senator, Ben Ndi-Obi / Another PDP Senator, John Enoh Decamps To APC (2) (3) (4)

$60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by OAUTemitayo: 12:42pm On Apr 11, 2016
"What I can confirm to you is that the N60b Lagos-Calabar project was in the budget. How it went out is what I don't know." - Senator John Enoh, Calabar North Central (PDP)
~~~Channels TV

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by chriskosherbal(m): 12:58pm On Apr 11, 2016
Na waoo

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Nobody: 1:02pm On Apr 11, 2016
good
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Nobody: 1:03pm On Apr 11, 2016
....For instance, Senator John Enoh and Chairman House of Representatives Committee on Appropriation, Abdulmunin Jibrin, disagreed over the inclusion of the rail project in the budget.

While Enoh said it was included and wondered who removed it, Jibrin said the Lagos-Calabar rail project was never included.
.......Rep Oghene Egoh, PDP, Lagos, said the removal of the the Lagos-Calabar rail line was wicked and uncharitable if it is true because “we provided for both Kano and Lagos rail lines in the budget but I’m shocked that Lagos that is the business hub in Nigeria was removed. To me, we must probe deep into why it was removed because it connects all the oil producing states in Nigeria”.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2016/04/2016-budget-palaver-presidency-gives-fresh-conditions-assent/

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by LadyExcellency: 1:07pm On Apr 11, 2016
We all have the said budget, let him quote the paragraph and page or stop making ridiculous assumption.

Premiumtimesng said it couldn't report the gossips flying around from presidential kitchen because the said proposal isn't in the copy of the budget in their possession.

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by abduljabbar4(m): 1:14pm On Apr 11, 2016
Pdp is a group of cursed liars.

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by prince088: 1:21pm On Apr 11, 2016
LadyExcellency:
We all have the said budget, let him quote the paragraph and page or stop making ridiculous assumption.

Premiumtimesng said it couldn't report the gossips flying around from presidential kitchen because the said proposal isn't in the copy of the budget in their possession.

How can u defend what was not included in the budget? I believe both Ameachi and the committee were working with the scripts of the Budget. Here you can clearly hear about the Kano-Lagos and its connecting routes. You can also hear the emphasis of Calabar-Lagos, stating all routes. Who is deceiving who now. Truth is many of the senators were not involved in the passage of the Budget....they left it only the committee hence they don't even know much details. Watch the defence below. Skip to about the 5th minute

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KE2XYj9Id4&app=desktop

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Nobody: 1:33pm On Apr 11, 2016
This is interesting cheesy

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by 9jii(m): 1:42pm On Apr 11, 2016
But ben bruse said it was never in the budget.
PDP God just de exposed your lie

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by aresa: 2:04pm On Apr 11, 2016
9jii:
But ben bruse said it was never in the budget.
PDP God just de exposed your lie

No way for Twitter based senator Twitter finger to know what's in the bill since he was elected to be and serve on Twitter and not the Nigerian Senate or Senate floor.

He spends more time spewing rubbish and fighting Nigerians on Twitter like a dann market woman.

And the useless joker is still being defensive instead of showing support for the project.

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by dustydee: 2:38pm On Apr 11, 2016
prince088:

How can u defend what was not included in the budget? I believe both Ameachi and the committee were working with the scripts of the Budget. Here you can clearly hear about the Kano-Lagos and its connecting routes. You can also hear the emphasis of Calabar-Lagos, stating all routes. Who is deceiving who now. Truth is many of the senators were not involved in the passage of the Budget....they left it only the committee hence they don't even know much details. Watch the defence below. Skip to about the 5th minute

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KE2XYj9Id4&app=desktop
Oga, this video is not for budget defence.

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by gbengaizzHe: 2:47pm On Apr 11, 2016
And those IPOD bastard fools wil come and rant that it is propaganda.. Do you ever have sense? U criticize everything... even yourself, . Y'all are just worthless.. ur parents should have masturbated y'all away

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Tokety7: 2:54pm On Apr 11, 2016
LadyExcellency:

shaddoww:
Senator Gbenga Ashafa, who chairs the
Senate Committee on "Land
Transportation," has debunked the
assertion by the Speaker of the House of
Representatives, Yakubu Dogara and the Chair
of House of Representatives Appropriation
Committee, Abdulmunin Jibrin and other
lawmakers that the Lagos-Calabar Coastal
Railway project was never included in the 2016
budget.
In a press statement below, the Senator made it
clear that while the initial budget did not
contain the project, his Committee later
received an amended budget from the executive
branch through the Minister of Transportation,
Rotimi Amaechi, who also defended the budget
before his committee. He stated that the
committee decided to allocate money to
commence construction of the Lagos-Calabar
rail in 2016. A counterpart funding is expected
to be provided by the Chinese Export-Import
Bank for the project.

See full text of Senator Ashafa's Press
Statement below:
I have carefully followed the news items making
the rounds in relation to the budget presented to
the National Assembly and what was defended by
the Ministry of Transport before the Senate
Committee on Land Transport which I have the
privilege of chairing.
The focal points of controversy seem to be the
Lagos to Calabar railway modernisation projects
and the completion of the Idu – Kaduna rail line.
I confirm that the Lagos to Calabar rail line was
not in the original document that was presented to
the National Assembly by the Executive. However
subsequently at the budget defense session
before the Senate Committee on Land Transport,
the Hon. Minister for Transport, Rotimi Amaechi,
did inform the committee of the omission of the
Lagos to Calabar rail modernisation project and
indeed sent a supplementary copy of the
ministry's budget to the committee which
contained the said project.
The minister noted that the amount needed for the
counterpart funding for both the Lagos to Kano
and Lagos to Calabar rail modernisation projects
was in the sum of 120 Billion Naira, being 60
Billion Naira per project.
While the committee did not completely agree with
all the changes made in the subsequent
document, being fully aware of the critical
importance of the rail sector to the development of
our dear country, distinguished members of the
Senate Committee on Land transport keyed into
the laudable (Lagos to Calabar, rail modernisation)
project and found ways of appropriating funds for
the project without exceeding the envelope
provided for the ministry.
In so doing, the committee observed that the
Lagos to Kano rail rehabilitation project had been
allocated the sum of N52 Billion Naira as against
the sum of 60 billion which the Hon. Minister
requested as counterpart funding while no
allocation whatsoever was made for the Lagos to
Calabar rail line.
Hence, the sum of 54 billion Naira that was
discovered by the Senate Committee on Land
Transport to be floating in the budget of the
Ministry of Transportation as presented by the
Executive was injected into augmenting the funds
needed for counterpart funding of both projects
(Lagos to Kano and Lagos to Calabar Rail
modernisation), as at the time the committee
defended its report before the senate committee
on Appropriation. The Lagos to Calabar rail
modernisation project was therefore included in
the Senate Committee on Land Transports
recommendation to the Senate Committee on
Appropriations.
With regard to the Idu to Kaduna rail completion,
the Senate Committee on Land Transport did not
interfere with what was provided for in the budget
as sent by the executive, being approximately 18
Billion Naira hence I am equally surprised to read
on the pages of the newspapers that the amount
allocated to the said project was reduced by 8
Billion Naira.
While I would have preferred to wait till Tuesday
April 12th 2016 when the National Assembly
reconvenes in order to have the benefit of viewing
the details of the budget that was conveyed to the
executive as passed, I am compelled to place the
facts in proper perspective as it relates to the
activities of the Senate Committee on Land
Transport.
Without prejudice to the considerations and
powers of the Senate Committee on
Appropriations with regard to the appropriations
process, the foregoing is the true reflection of
what transpired at the committee level with
respect to the Land Transport sector of the
Ministry of Transport.
Senator Gbenga Ashafa (Lagos East)
Senate Committee on Land Transport.

saharareporters.com/2016/04/11/federal-government-included-and-defended-inclusion-lagos-calabar-rail-2016-budget-senate
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by aresa: 2:55pm On Apr 11, 2016
This is why I didn't feel bad about this PDP nan when he won that seat in Lagos so I'm realy not duprised that he's fighting so hard for Lagos and lagosians.

Kudos and more power to him..

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Sunky200: 3:24pm On Apr 11, 2016
in every situation, we see what we (as individuals) want to see and we also believe what we want to believe.

as for me, i choose to believe that the calabar-lagos rail project was intentionally removed from the details sent to the presidency. reason being the series of senate and nass drama since this administration assumed office
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by prince088: 3:50pm On Apr 11, 2016
dustydee:

Oga, this video is not for budget defence.

The video is for what? Am not sure u even watched it.
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by charlzcavanni101(m): 3:50pm On Apr 11, 2016
it was never in the budget.. simple

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by dridowu: 3:55pm On Apr 11, 2016
APC = Yes, PDP members in NA throw out the Lagos - Calabar rail project from the budget
PDP = No, FG (APC) did not include the Lagos-Calabar rail project in the budget
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Jorussia(m): 4:07pm On Apr 11, 2016
The current controversy over the Lagos to calabar is simply uncalled for.This project was a victim of the padding that was carried by the civil servants on the original budget proposal,hence the reason Amaechi had to submit an amended version of the ministry of transportation budget to the committee of transportation to reflect the inclusion of the project.The President spoke on this project during the last presidential media chat
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by mars123(m): 4:08pm On Apr 11, 2016
only if you knew how useless your legislooters are, you wouldn't be surprised.
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by LadyExcellency: 6:22pm On Apr 11, 2016
Tokety7:

Can't the honourable Senator post the version of the budget he has online for Nigerians to read themselves?

Is there any secret addition that wasn't captured in the amended version posted online?
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Tokety7: 6:31pm On Apr 11, 2016
LadyExcellency:

Can't the honourable Senator post the version of the budget he has online for Nigerians to read themselves?

Is there any secret addition that wasn't captured in the amended version posted online?

He can but chooses not to afterall he isn't bound to do so. He is an authority on the subject and has spoken. Am certain ur unbelief doesn't in anyway invalidate the fact he spoke out.
Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by LadyExcellency: 6:45pm On Apr 11, 2016
Tokety7:

He can but chooses not to afterall he isn't bound to do so. He is an authority on the subject and has spoken. Am certain ur unbelief doesn't in anyway invalidate the fact he spoke out.

Nonsense, how can he claim an authority on a public document without proof?

Nigerians are not mumu, if he can't cite the reference then he is a liar. The burden of proof is on him and can only be confirmed from the revised version of the budget resubmitted by Udom, the special assistant to Mr President on Assembly matters and not a piece of paper Amaechi came with during budget defense.

Re: $60 Billion Lagos To Calabar Was In The Budget: PDP Senator by Tokety7: 6:54pm On Apr 11, 2016
LadyExcellency:

Nonsense, how can he claim an authority on a public document without proof?

Nigerians are not mumu, if he can't cite the reference then he is a liar. The burden of proof is on him and can only be confirmed from the revised version of the budget resubmitted by Udom, the special assistant to Mr President on Assembly matters and not a piece of paper Amaechi came with during budget defense.

Bunkum. Yes he can claim such because he has direct access to it and he isn't bound to publish such.
He isn't even in the business to convince u either. Who da Ffuck are u? What he did was to state what transpired in his constitutionally recognised committee. What u and ur inconsequential cohorts in current scheme of things talk, say or believe in ur beer parlour is inconsequential. U all can go to blazes.

PHOTOS: President Muhammadu Buhari Arrives China / PHOTO: See The Letter Buhari Wrote To Join Nigerian Army At Age 18 / Quote Of The Century By President Muhammadu Buhari - PIC

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42