Stats: 3,149,939 members, 7,806,718 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 09:43 PM

Brain Teaser - Forum Games (22) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Forum Games / Brain Teaser (70988 Views)

Brain Teaser: Can You Crack The Code? (Photo) / Brain Teaser: Can You Solve These Riddles? / Brain Teaser- Question Of The Day! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) ... (43) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Brain Teaser by femi4: 4:43pm On Dec 30, 2016
annnikky:
A unique solo game of dice is being played. Two
dices are thrown in each turn and the scores are
taken by multiplying the numbers obtained.
Now talking about a particular game, here are
the facts:

1) The score for the second roll is five more than
the score for the first roll.
2) The score for the third roll is six less than the
score for the second roll.
3) The score for the fourth roll is eleven more
than the score for the third roll.
4) The score for the fifth roll is eight less than
the score for the fourth roll.

Reading the above facts, can you tell the score
for each of the five throws?
Let the score on the first row = x

Score on second row = x+5

Score on third row= x+5-6 = x-1

Score on fourth row= x-1+11= x+10

Finally the score on the fifth row = x+10-8 = x+2

The score on the first throw is 10.
The score on the second throw is 15.
The score on the third throw is 9.
The score on the fourth throw is 20.
The score on the fifth throw is 12.
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 4:53pm On Dec 30, 2016
annnikky:

D first throw score is 10 so solve d rest smiley
Haa, aunty annnikky you just told us the answer, I needed clues. tongue
Solution :
We'll express the values as a, b, c, d, and e.
From the events listed above :
b = a + 5
C = b - 6
d = c + 11
e = d - 8

Annnikky said a = 10
Therefore:
a, b, c, d and e = 10, 15, 9, 20 and 12

I think the trick to solving this question is "elimination" to get a value for (a)
- 36 is the maximum value you can get.
- prime numbers are not possible apart from 5==> (5,1)(1,5)
- numbers like 14, 16, 18, 22, 28, 32 are also out.
- values like 6, 8, 9, 12, are out also, because since b =a +5, if a =6 then b is 11(prime number), also if a=8 then b is 13 also not possible. .

- So just input the remaining values(3, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30,) for (a) and if the other values(b, c, d, e) does not satisfy the conditions above then it's wrong, the only one that would satisfy the above conditions is 10.

Cc: kretoz
Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 6:32pm On Dec 30, 2016
4kings:

Solution :
b = a + 5
C = b - 6
d = c + 11
e = d - 8

Annnikky said a = 10
Therefore:

I think the trick to solving this question is "elimination" to get a value for (a)
- values like 6, 8, 9, 12, are out also, because since b =a +5, if a =6 then b is 11(prime number), also if a=8 then b is 13 also not possible. .

- So just input the remaining values(3, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30,) for (a) and if the other values(b, c, d, e) does not satisfy the conditions above then it's wrong, the only one that would satisfy the above conditions is 10.

Now I'm more than confused but so far as 4kings talk am na true ,Femi, Annniky, Question cross checked, Answer is correct . grin
Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 6:38pm On Dec 30, 2016
femi4:

Answer Cross checked, Femi is correct too.
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 6:38pm On Dec 30, 2016
kretoz:
Now I'm more than confused but so far as 4kings talk am na true ,Femi, Annniky, Question cross checked, Answer is correct . grin
Wetin confuse you na... cheesy

Annnikky where you dey
Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 6:39pm On Dec 30, 2016
I don't even know what to do with 10,let alone proffering solution lo
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 7:09pm On Dec 30, 2016
kretoz:
I don't even know what to do with 10,let alone proffering solution lo
10, is just a clue for the first value to get the rest.
Look at the first event for example :

1) The score for the second roll is five more than the score for the first roll.

Using variables for simplicity sake :
Lets assume the first roll is (a)
And the second roll is (b)

This means b = a + 5
Since the score for the second roll is more than the first by 5.

With this, Annniky gave us a clue that the first roll is 10
Therefore ==> b = 10 + 5
= 15.

With this you can get the rest.

Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 7:32pm On Dec 30, 2016
4kings:

10, is just a clue for the first value to get the rest.
Look at the first event for example :

Using variables for simplicity sake :
Lets assume the first roll is (a)
And the second roll is (b)

This means b = a + 5
Since the score for the second roll is more than the first by 5.

With this, Annniky gave us a clue that the first roll is 10
Therefore ==> b = 10 + 5
= 15.

With this you can get the rest.

Now, I only understood the answer but not the question, I suck in calculations grin
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 7:35pm On Dec 30, 2016
femi4:

Wow! Correct kiss kiss kiss bravo
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 7:45pm On Dec 30, 2016
kretoz:
Now, I only understood the answer but not the question, I suck in calculations grin
Nah, you just didn't give much attention to it. wink
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 7:52pm On Dec 30, 2016
4kings:

Solution :
b = a + 5
C = b - 6
d = c + 11
e = d - 8

Annnikky said a = 10
Therefore:

Yeeeaah.. Correct kiss kiss kiss
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 7:54pm On Dec 30, 2016
4kings:

Wetin confuse you na... cheesy

Annnikky where you dey
@ ya back cheesy

Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 7:59pm On Dec 30, 2016
annnikky:

@ ya back cheesy
Update na...
BTW hope you had a wonderful Christmas, and I wish you a prosperous new year. smiley
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 8:14pm On Dec 30, 2016
4kings:

Update na...
BTW hope you had a wonderful Christmas, and I wish you a prosperous new year. smiley
Yeah dear n i wish same to u smiley

Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 8:35pm On Dec 30, 2016
There stand nine temples in a row in a holy
place. All the nine temples have 100 steps climb.
A fellow devotee comes to visit the temples. He
drops a Re. 1 coin while climbing each of the 100
steps up. Then he offers half of the money he
has in his pocket to the god. After that, he again
drops Re. 1 coin while climbing down each of the
100 steps of the temple.

If he repeats the same process at each temple,
he is left with no money after climbing down the
ninth temple.

Can you find out the total money
he had with him initially?
Re: Brain Teaser by femi4: 8:40pm On Dec 30, 2016
annnikky:

Wow! Correct kiss kiss kiss bravo
kiss kiss

Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 8:55pm On Dec 30, 2016
Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 7:03am On Dec 31, 2016
Annicky Good am, please how many pockets does he have
Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 7:20am On Dec 31, 2016
I think it's Re.2700 coins he has total, Cos there were nine temples and each temple has hundred stairs up and downwards, if he drops one coin on each stair, he will end up dropping hundred coins while going up, when he gets up, he gives up half of the money in his pocket, if he has nine pockets, that's each pocket for each temple, that means that after dropping the first hundred coin on the stairs, he gives out half of the money remaining in his pocket and come down with the remaining half, that means he gives out 100 coins and comes down with the remaining half and it continues till he is done with the ninth temple, this means that he spends 300 coins in each temple, hence 300 multiplied by 9 gives you 2700, I hope I'm correct
Re: Brain Teaser by femi4: 9:15am On Dec 31, 2016
annnikky:
100 steps of the temple.

ninth temple.

Starting from the 9th temple.

Descending required (100coins)

At the top he had (100+100)= 200 coins (since he dropped half of the money)

So before ascending the 9th temple he had 100+200 = 300coins

In a backward manner:

Before ascending the 8th temple, he had
300+100(back to the top)= 400+400(since he dropped half at the top) + 100 (before ascending)= 900 coins

Before ascending the 7th temple, he had

900+100(back to the top)= 1000+1000 (since he dropped half) + 100 (before ascending) = 2100coins

Before ascending the 6th temple, he had

2100+100 (back to the top)= 2200+ 2200 (since he dropped half at the top) = 4400+100(before ascending) = 4500coins

Before ascending the 5th temple, he had

4500+100 (back to the top)= 4600+4600 (since he dropped half at the top) = 9200+100 (before ascending) = 9300coins

Before ascending the 4th temple, he had

9300+100 (back to the top) = 9400+9400 (since he dropped half at the top)= 18800+ 100 (before ascending) = 18900coins

Before ascending the third temple, he had

18900+100(back to the top)= 19000+ 19000 (since he dropped half at the top)= 38000 + 100 (before ascending) = 38100coins

Before ascending the second temple he had
38100+100 (back to the top) = 38200+38200(since he dropped half at the top) = 76400 + 100 (before ascending)= 76500coins

Finally, before embarking on the journey.... he had
76500+100(at the top)=76600 + 76600 (since he dropped half) = 153200+100(before ascending) = 153300coins

Hence, he started the journey with Re 153300coins
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 1:57pm On Dec 31, 2016
kretoz:
I think it's Re.2700 coins he has total, Cos there were nine temples and each temple has hundred stairs up and downwards, if he drops one coin on each stair, he will end up dropping hundred coins while going up, when he gets up, he gives up half of the money in his pocket, if he has nine pockets, that's each pocket for each temple, that means that after dropping the first hundred coin on the stairs, he gives out half of the money remaining in his pocket and come down with the remaining half, that means he gives out 100 coins and comes down with the remaining half and it continues till he is done with the ninth temple, this means that he spends 300 coins in each temple, hence 300 multiplied by 9 gives you 2700, I hope I'm correct
Wrong sad try again
Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 2:37pm On Dec 31, 2016
annnikky:

Wrong sad try again
Hiaa, OK let's assume that he drops 100 coins on each stair and when he gets to the temple, he drops half the money in his pocket, and drops another hundred coins while going down, that means that half the money is 50 coins, there for 100 while going upwards +50 coins offering +100 coins while coming downwards makes it 250, 250 multiplied by 9 gives 2250, if I fail this one, I will just hide my face, looks like Annnikky wants to make me look like a dummy grin

Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 4:32pm On Dec 31, 2016
annnikky:
100 steps of the temple.

ninth temple.

Starting from the ninth temple to the first to make the calculation easier:

Total Amount had = Amount spent + Amount leftover

Let (Y) be the Total amount he had

For the ninth temple:
Amount spent = 100 + (Y-100)/2 + 100
Since he gives 100 coins climbing up, Half of what is left(after deducting 100) to the priest and 100 climbing down.

Amount left over = 0

Using the formula above :
Total Amount had = Amount Spent + Amount leftover
Note: Y = Total Amount had
Therefore Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 0
Y = (200 +(y-100)/2)
Cross multiply or multiply each value by 2
2y = 400 + y - 100
2y = 300 + y
Take like terms
2y - y = 300
Y = 300
Therefore total amount had at ninth temple is 300

For eight temple.
Also apply the formula :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 300
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 +300
2y = 400 + (y-100) + 600
2y = 1000 + Y - 100
Collect like terms
2y - Y = 900
Y = 900
Therefore 900 at eight temple

For seventh temple :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 900
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 900
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 1800
Collect like terms
2y - y = 1800 + 400 - 100
Y = 2100
Therefore 2100 at seventh temple.

For sixth temple :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 +100) + 2100
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 2100
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 4200
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 - 4200
Y = 4500
Therefore 4500 at sixth temple.

For fifth temple :
Y = (100 + (y - 100)/2 + 100) +4500
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 4500
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 9000
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 9000
Y = 8700
Therefore 8700 at fifth temple.

For fourth temple :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 8700
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 +8700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 17400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 17400
Y = 17700
Therefore 17700 at fourth temple.

For third temple :
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 17700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 35400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 35400
Y = 35700
Therefore 35700 at third temple.

For second temple :
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 35700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y-100 + 71400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 71400
Y = 71700
Therefore 71700 at second temple.

For the first temple :
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 71700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 143400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 143400
Y = 143,700

Summary :
Ninth temple = 300
Eight temple = 900
Seventh temple = 2100
Sixth temple = 4500
Fifth temple = 8700
Fourth temple = 17700
Third temple = 35700
Second temple = 71700
First temple = 143700

I hope am correct
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 6:34pm On Dec 31, 2016
kretoz:
Hiaa, OK let's assume that he drops 100 coins on each stair and when he gets to the temple, he drops half the money in his pocket, and drops another hundred coins while going down, that means that half the money is 50 coins, there for 100 while going upwards +50 coins offering +100 coins while coming downwards makes it 250, 250 multiplied by 9 gives 2250, if I fail this one, I will just hide my face, looks like Annnikky wants to make me look like a dummy grin
Half of the money in his pocket is not half of the previous money dropped(100).
You have to determine it.

This then brings a big problem, as you would have to calculate for the temples individually.
Re: Brain Teaser by Nobody: 6:56pm On Dec 31, 2016
4kings:

Half of the money in his pocket is not half of the previous money dropped(100).
You have to determine it.

This then brings a big problem, as you would have to calculate for the temples individually.

I don't know Maths, Kuku kee me, Let me come and be going, going goooone grin
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 7:02pm On Dec 31, 2016
kretoz:
I don't know Maths, Kuku kee me, Let me come and be going, going goooone grin
No go naaa. grin
Just look at the question again and come with a different approach...
I'm not completely certain of my answer...
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 7:55pm On Dec 31, 2016
4kings:

Starting from the ninth temple to the first to make the calculation easier:

Total Amount had = Amount spent + Amount leftover

Let (Y) be the Total amount he had

For the ninth temple:
Amount spent = 100 + (Y-100)/2 + 100
Since he gives 100 coins climbing up, Half of what is left(after deducting 100) to the priest and 100 climbing down.

Amount left over = 0

Using the formula above :
Total Amount had = Amount Spent + Amount leftover
Note: Y = Total Amount had
Therefore Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 0
Y = (200 +(y-100)/2)
2y = 400 + y - 100
2y = 300 + y
Take like terms
2y - y = 300
Y = 300
Therefore total amount had at ninth temple is 300

For eight temple.
Also apply the formula :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 300
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 +300
2y = 400 + (y-100) + 600
2y = 1000 + Y - 100
Collect like terms
2y - Y = 900
Y = 900
Therefore 900 at eight temple

For seventh temple :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 900
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 900
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 1800
Collect like terms
2y - y = 1800 + 400 - 100
Y = 2100
Therefore 2100 at seventh temple.

For sixth temple :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 +100) + 2100
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 2100
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 4200
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 - 4200
Y = 4500
Therefore 4500 at sixth temple.

For fifth temple :
Y = (100 + (y - 100)/2 + 100) +4500
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 4500
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 9000
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 9000
Y = 8700
Therefore 8700 at fifth temple.

For fourth temple :
Y = (100 + (y-100)/2 + 100) + 8700
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 +8700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 17400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 17400
Y = 17700
Therefore 17700 at fourth temple.

For third temple :
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 17700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 35400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 35400
Y = 35700
Therefore 35700 at third temple.

For second temple :
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 35700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y-100 + 71400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 71400
Y = 71700
Therefore 71700 at second temple.

For the first temple :
Y = 200 + (y-100)/2 + 71700
Cross multiply
2y = 400 + y - 100 + 143400
Collect like terms
2y - y = 400 - 100 + 143400
Y = 143,700

Summary :
Ninth temple = 300
Eight temple = 900
Seventh temple = 2100
Sixth temple = 4500
Fifth temple = 8700
Fourth temple = 17700
Third temple = 35700
Second temple = 71700
First temple = 143700

I hope am correct

HHmmmmm.... U really tried buh thats not d ansa angry
I think I'll give u 70% here
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 7:59pm On Dec 31, 2016
annnikky:

HHmmmmm.... U really tried buh thats not d ansa angry
I think I'll give u 70% here
Chai, not again. embarassed

70% ?, did I get any right?

KingEbukasBlog come and solve this.
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 8:00pm On Dec 31, 2016
kretoz:
cheesy cheesy no na hw can I do d@ to u angry angry
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 8:04pm On Dec 31, 2016
4kings:

Chai, not again. embarassed

70% ?, did I get any right?

KingEbukasBlog come and solve this.
U tried on d total figure embarassed
Re: Brain Teaser by 4kings: 8:06pm On Dec 31, 2016
annnikky:

U tried on d total figure embarassed
Hmmm.
Let me wait for femi4
Re: Brain Teaser by annnikky(f): 8:12pm On Dec 31, 2016
4kings:

Hmmm.
Let me wait for femi4
Buh where is he ?
Femi4 where r thou na? Ur presence is need ova here cool

(1) (2) (3) ... (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) ... (43) (Reply)

What Song Are You Really Feeling Now? / Will You Marry The Person Above You? / The Game Start With The Last Word Prt 2

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 77