Stats: 3,148,768 members, 7,802,352 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 12:58 PM

Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze (20432 Views)

2019: INEC Has Serious Credibility Deficit -obaze / Osekola Obaze And Rotimi Akeredolu Resemblance Is Striking (Photos) / Oseloka Obaze Wins Anambra PDP Governorship Primaries (2) (3) (4)

Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Africonji: 7:22am On Oct 12, 2017
https://dailytrust.com.ng/ekwueme-disowns-obiano-endorses-obaze.html

By Emma Elekwa, Awka | Publish Date: Oct 12 2017

Nigeria’s ex-Vice President, Dr. Alex Ekwueme, yesterday, threw his weight behind the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Oseloka Obaze, ahead of the November 18 Anambra election.

The endorsement of Obaze’s candidature by the elder statesman has laid to rest speculations in the media of the endorsement of the second term bid of the incumbent governor, Chief Willie Obiano.

Addressing PDP faithful in his family house at Oko, Orumba North Local Government Area of the state, Ekwueme said time had come to unseat the ruling All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) to pave way for a PDP government in the state.

He noted that Anambra had been a PDP state, regretting that APGA was able to steer the affairs of the state for 12 years as a result of the protracted crisis in PDP.

“Anambra State is a PDP state from inception; we shall henceforth continue with PDP. Time has come for us to take away power from APGA,” he said.

Ekwueme, whose first daughter, Chidi Onyemelukwe, is the running mate to Obaze in the governorship race, insisted that the November 18 poll would bring to an end, the fame of APGA in the state.

On his part, Obaze described Ekwueme’s endorsement of his candidacy and that of his daughter as “eloquent testimony of his position in the party.”

He said the choice of his daughter as running mate was to compensate him for the enormous job he did in the transformation of Igboland.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by hisgrace090: 7:34am On Oct 12, 2017
That is ekwemes choice, so be it.

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by anitapreeti(f): 7:46am On Oct 12, 2017
He would definitely support his daughter.

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Kingsley1000(m): 7:51am On Oct 12, 2017
an elderstateman..........most respected Man in Anambra now

27 Likes 1 Share

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Spylord48: 8:21am On Oct 12, 2017
Put an end to APGA the only party that is trying to promote igbo identity.Politicians eh.
anyway goodluck after all ur daughter is PDP deputy gubernatorial candidate but it is the masses that will decide and not you.

25 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Kingsley1000(m): 8:47am On Oct 12, 2017
When last did Anambra export the $5 million dollar UGU? Where r the $7.5 billion investment companies? Look at the ebonyi flyover and compare with what obiano built for us at 15billion. Obi connected the urban areas with roads, obiano has neither done urban or rural. If obi owns sabmiller, it's welcomed. At least it has invested over $200 million in Anambra. Show me $100 million investment out of the $7.5 billion attracted by obiano............Mou governor must go

52 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by bestview: 9:02am On Oct 12, 2017
Kingsley1000:
When last did Anambra export the $5 million dollar
UGU?
Where r the $7.5 billion investment companies?
Look at the ebonyi flyover and compare with what
obiano built for us at 15billion.
Obi connected the urban areas with roads, obiano has
neither done urban or rural.
If obi owns sabmiller, it's welcomed. At least it has
invested over $200 million in Anambra. Show me $100
million investment out of the $7.5 billion attracted by
obiano............Mou governor must go
Kingsley1000:
an elderstateman..........most respected Man in Anambra now

Chike you are back again with your lies and useless comments? Ok I am coming

10 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Amarabae(f): 9:04am On Oct 12, 2017
Spylord48:
Put an end to APGA the only party that is trying to promote igbo identity.Politicians eh.
anyway goodluck after all ur daughter is PDP deputy gubernatorial candidate but it is the masses that will decide and not you.
dont play the party sympathy card here pls,
is it not the same Apga that always back any pdp presidential candidate?
Anambra is bigger thn any political party and deserves better,
Anambra is a strategic state in southeast and need to be a rallying state in the region interms of development,
Anambra need a "sam mbakwe type of leader"
foresighted, pragmatic and aggresive developer,
simple. And not a million fake MOU's signing governor nor an ugu exporter,
Anambra deserves better.

47 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by bestview: 9:05am On Oct 12, 2017
Amara, what will happen if you bring your father to contest?

Amarabae:
dont play the party sympathy card here pls,
is it not the same Apga that always back any pdp presidential candidate?
Anambra is bigger thn any political party and deserves better,
Anambra is a strategic state in southeast and need to be a rallying state in the region interms of development,
Anambra need a "sam mbakwe type of leader"
foresighted, pragmatic and aggresive developer,
simple. And not a million fake MOU's signing governor nor an ugu exporter,
Anambra deserves better.

17 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by anuoluwapo884(m): 9:08am On Oct 12, 2017
Hmmmmm
Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Amarabae(f): 9:08am On Oct 12, 2017
bestview:
Amara what will happen if you bring your father to contest?

oga, we are in democracy,
insulting opposition view is dictatorial,
we all want the best for Anambra state,
and we all must not be in the same party,
so being insultive is childish and does not potray you as an intellectual,
you win people with your brain and not verbal abuse.
thanks

58 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by bestview: 9:14am On Oct 12, 2017
You want the best, does it mean your father is not good enough to give us his "best"? Amara be very careful.

Amarabae:
oga, we are in democracy,
insulting opposition view is dictatorial,
we all want the best for Anambra state,
and we all must not be in the same party,
so being insultive is childish and does not potray you as an intellectual,
you win people with your brain and not verbal abuse.
thanks

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Amarabae(f): 9:15am On Oct 12, 2017
bestview:
You want the best, does it mean your father is not good enough? Amara be very careful.

[s][/s]
okay o,
God bless you

23 Likes

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by bestview: 9:18am On Oct 12, 2017
For the records, Ekwueme is the foremost promoter and founder of PDP via the G-34 which he convened in 1996 to fight General Abacha. It was the G-34 that metamophosed into PDM/PDP as we know it today. So it is understandable for him to support his party's candidate.

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by nonsobaba: 9:24am On Oct 12, 2017
Ekwueme is an elderstatesman and APGA fully understand the game he is playing and we know where his heart truly lies. Willie is an unstoppable force. November 18th will be a historic day.

Anambra leads, others follow.

11 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by nairavsdollars(f): 10:13am On Oct 12, 2017
Would he have said that if Obaze didn't pick her daughter as running mate? IPOB youths, use your brains. These people don't care about the masses...ON LY THEMSELVES

3 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by haffaze777(m): 10:13am On Oct 12, 2017
Obiano I know

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Mathe77: 10:14am On Oct 12, 2017
Na them them... Th same canoe Naim dey paddle them
Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by HIGHESTPOPORI(m): 10:15am On Oct 12, 2017
Why change it if its not broken, am from Anambra and would say Obiano has tried,paying workers and pensioners,building roads,creating jobs,what more can we ask for,Anambra is among the top 5states in Nigeria today with the least debt profile.

8 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by successking401(m): 10:15am On Oct 12, 2017
OK nah
Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by delugajackson: 10:15am On Oct 12, 2017

I thought they said no election in Anambra?

Well, I'll be watching you guys over here in 3D

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by omogin(f): 10:15am On Oct 12, 2017
IBO no get elders

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by tishbite41(m): 10:16am On Oct 12, 2017
no referendum, no election

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Cyjetty: 10:17am On Oct 12, 2017
SHAMELESS SELFISH POLITICIAN MASQUERADING AS ELDER STATESMAN. HAS ALWAYS BEEN SELFISH, EVEN TO THE DETRIMENT OF HIS ORUMBA PEOPLE. ONLY INTERESTED IN CONTRACTS FOR HIS SONS AND POSITIONS FOR HIS DAUGHTERS. THAT IS HOW OBJ DISGRACED HIM BY GIVING THIS HIS SAME DAUGHTER WHO IS NOW OBAZES DEPUTY A MENIAL JOB AS HIS ASSISTANT WITH NO OFFICE BUT A ROOM AT THE HILTON. DISGRACE.

14 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by GloryCardinal(m): 10:17am On Oct 12, 2017
This one is just making mockery of his self Willie is the governor

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by laurel03(m): 10:17am On Oct 12, 2017
Kingsley1000:
When last did Anambra export the $5 million dollar
UGU?
Where r the $7.5 billion investment companies?
Look at the ebonyi flyover and compare with what
obiano built for us at 15billion.
Obi connected the urban areas with roads, obiano has
neither done urban or rural.
If obi owns sabmiller, it's welcomed. At least it has
invested over $200 million in Anambra. Show me $100
million investment out of the $7.5 billion attracted by
obiano............Mou governor must go
but they said Obiano perform than Obama...dt Obiano and Mou.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Nobody: 10:17am On Oct 12, 2017
Obiano must go. Period!

Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Adaumunocha(f): 10:17am On Oct 12, 2017
Let the best man win.
Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Aikayy: 10:17am On Oct 12, 2017
E
Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Ebimor96: 10:17am On Oct 12, 2017
Re: Anambra: Ekwueme Disowns Obiano, Endorses Obaze by Ezedon(m): 10:18am On Oct 12, 2017
Obiano in HOT SOUP

2019: APC Leadership Sidelines Tinubu’s Reconciliation Committee / Jimoh Ibrahim Bags Cambridge's First Business Doctorate Degree (Video) / Enugu Will Become An Oil-producing State Soon