Stats: 3,161,609 members, 7,847,541 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 08:20 PM

My Recommendation To Existing Oil Palm Tree Farm Owners And Managers - Agriculture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Agriculture / My Recommendation To Existing Oil Palm Tree Farm Owners And Managers (117 Views)

This BIKE Is Good For Farm Owners Movement In The Farm. / My 2022 Gift To Tomato And Pepper Farm Owners. / Palm Tree Growing Inside A High Tension Electric Pole In Delta State (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

My Recommendation To Existing Oil Palm Tree Farm Owners And Managers by Karbswell(m): 9:22am On May 18
My recommendation to existing oil palm tree farm owners and managers

The oil palm tree that are of 4 years old and above should be at their productive stage now .each of them should be producing between 10 to 12 fruits bunches yearly at year 4 to 5 and it will increase towards year 6 and above .at year 4 if the palms are not producing enough fruits then it could be as a result of two reasons ;

Planting of inferior seedlings called F2 instead of F1 hybrid seedling .But I belief your palm seedling are F1 of NIFOR origin .we will still talk much about this .

Lack of adequate soil fertilisation during the plant development in year 1 to 3 will cause low fruit production .

Solution and reccomendation

1 we will source for poultry manure around the farm which would be applied at the base of each palm trees .we will later add inorganic fertiliser like NPK to fruiting palms and UREA to young palm seedling of less than 3 years old ...if done we have solve the problem of soil fertility on your farm.palm tree are heavy feeder plant so require more basic nutrient to produce bigger fruits .

2. Weed management .there are so much weeds on the farm which are competing with soil nutrient and sunlight with the palm trees .There are better ways management weeds on palm plantation.cutting of all tall grasses and shrubs by first week of May and waiting for another 4 weeks to spray glyphosate
Herbicide such as Force Up which kills grasses to the root .Using cutlass to cut grasses and follow by herbicide will ensure that the farm is kept weed for a long time .this operation can be repeated twice in a year .For second time only herbicide can be used without engaging farm workers to cut weeds and shrub but we have to make sure the weeds are less than 1 meter height before spraying for the second time during rain season

To prevent fire out break ,at the end of rain season around November ring weeding using hoe of all palm trees be carried out at 4 to 5 meters circumference of each palm and then use cutlass to cut all shrubs and tall grasses on the farm .If fire should enter the farm because of ring weeding it will not get to burn the palm trees .

3 .after clearing of the existing weeds in the farm pegging with sticks should be carried out at every point where palm trees are missing .the number of sticks used for pegging will determine the number of palm tree seedling we will buy to replant missing palm trees .

4 . Your farm manager should try to create friendship with okada men on the village who are indigene .they are capable of connecting him with farm workers within the village .the okada man that took us to farm as a link to farmers and he is ready to connect Tolase with them .

If you find this interesting you can book a private session with to discuss the challenges you faced in your oil palm farm and you can also contract kkfarms to set up your plantation

Contact 07062053560

1 Like

(1) (Reply)

Get Your Super-gro(best Organic Liquid Fertilizer) Whatsapp Or Call....... / Get Your Super Gro (best Organic Liquid Fertilizer) & Super 10 Whatsap Us Or Cal / Get Your Super Gro (best Organic Liquid Fertilizer) & Super 10 Whatsap Us Or Cal

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 14